please don't make it 20second

normally i will finish reading in 5-10s sometimes even faster
due to no result being found

than i have to go to cari waste 1~2 minutes before come back
Mowgli
post Sep 21 2006, 08:52 PM

1,865 posts

the flood control is to prevent unwanted SPAM.
awh85
post Sep 21 2006, 08:55 PM

2,156 posts

well ts does noe that. hes just asking for a shorter period. maybe 5 or 10 seconds. somehow i agree
fariz
post Sep 21 2006, 09:08 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

yeah.. do less spamming tongue.gif
goldfries
post Sep 21 2006, 09:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Mowgli @ Sep 21 2006, 08:52 PM)
the flood control is to prevent unwanted SPAM.
i've not come by wanted SPAM either. smile.gif

the flood control is here for a purpose. now think about the # of users on the system.

if you're just thinking about yourself, then yeah it's too long.

but if you put the consideration that there's # amount people on the board, then the fact is that flood control IS generous already.

sure, i'm sure you guys will be full of complaints. LYN could always reduce the flood control period. then server load will be higher, everything process slower............. so yeah, another complaint will come.
mcchin
post Sep 21 2006, 09:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

more over
longer time ensure you think things over

instead of just blurt/running your thoughts
KilJim
post Sep 21 2006, 09:56 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(alwaysCheap @ Sep 21 2006, 08:52 PM)

Wait a min, why is it that you'll have to waste 1-2 mins when the interval required is 20 secs?
eBola
post Sep 21 2006, 10:08 PM

blah
1,928 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Sep 21 2006, 09:51 PM)
more over
longer time ensure you think things over

instead of just blurt/running your thoughts
you, my man, deserve some applause, for the simple fact that you have a brain and can think rational and coherent thoughts. icon_rolleyes.gif
wKkaY
post Sep 21 2006, 10:21 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Hang on guys, I think he's talking about the search function.
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 21 2006, 10:24 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 21 2006, 10:21 PM)
Wats the difference?

Uh my post got deleted?
se7en
post Sep 21 2006, 10:30 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

flood control only applies to posting a new post/reply, it doesn't affect reading. i would be suprised if you are able to post something, jump to another thread and read through it and post again within 20 seconds. Unless you're spamming the forums with unwanted posts OR you're replying to your own replies in the forums.

And IF this is in relation to the search feature, then no, there will be a 20 second delay in between searches to avoid abuse of the search function.
FUZI0N
post Sep 21 2006, 10:40 PM

107 posts

he meant the flood control for searching isn't it?

i also kinda agree that the time is kinda too long 5-10secs will be better
Mowgli
post Sep 21 2006, 10:42 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 21 2006, 10:21 PM)
i think ur right. If its about search function, i dont mind it being shorter than 20 secs, faster searching. But i dont mind the current either....20 secs aint much of a time..
eBola
post Sep 21 2006, 10:47 PM

blah
1,928 posts

wait. search got time limit one meh.

<= noob.

here i was, thinking that wasnt the anti post flood limit 15 seconds?
WaCKy-Angel
post Sep 21 2006, 10:48 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

I've just tested with dummy search "fefiehief" and found no result..
Then i do a real search and it works...

So what do u mean?
driftmeister
post Sep 21 2006, 10:53 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

when search no result
then there will be no flood control

so if 1st time he search for abit...
he got results

afterthat within 20 secs
he wanna search for asus pulaks
then he need to wait until the search control is over

hope i am correct here
Mowgli
post Sep 21 2006, 11:03 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(eBola @ Sep 21 2006, 10:47 PM)
wait. search got time limit one meh.

<= noob.

here i was, thinking that wasnt the anti post flood limit 15 seconds?
search as in , when u search a guys profile for the posts he made, n then search for the topics he created, there is a time limit of 20 secs. meaning, after searching once, need to wait a little while. no biggie IMO.
mofonyx
post Sep 21 2006, 11:39 PM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

It is the search function. I don't like the 20 second timer either.

Anyway I'm not complaining, some forums have a 120second timer. :S
HMMaster
post Sep 21 2006, 11:40 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

please think of the server. you want to wait for 20sec or the "Server is too busy to handle your request" message?
gkl83
post Sep 22 2006, 12:11 AM

8,377 posts

otherwise use google instead if need fast response and dont mind plenty of search result
search by this method...
CODE
site:http://forum.lowyat.net [Search Words]

0.0151sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:19 PM