AMD K8 Family Overclocking (754/939/940/AM2/1207), General discussions and newbies' guide
PCcrazy
Jan 24 2006, 04:21 AM
http://math.gogar.com/athlon64.cgiThanks to gogar, this will help optimazation task easier. Powerhouse and Akane Soma, you might as well give this a go. This post has been edited by PCcrazy: Jan 24 2006, 04:22 AM
PCcrazy
Jan 28 2006, 04:50 AM
QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 26 2006, 09:08 AM) Guys....sigh. looks like i've maxed out at 243HTT. Tried to go 244 HTT tak boleh already (Bootup process hang). Running at 5:4. any ideas?
Using CGen to overclock? Hopefully not. Have you try reducing HTT multiplier to 3X (remember HTT multi is not similat to CPU multi). HT frequency must not exceed 1000 whatever you do. Another solution is, try gunning for maximum HTT first to see the whether it's the board limitation. Reduce CPU multi as well as HTT multi and raise the HTT. Provided you can reach a figure of 300HTT without problem, your board is fine. There must be something else that preventing you from scaling higher clock speed.
PCcrazy
Jan 29 2006, 02:55 AM
QUOTE(jarofclay @ Jan 29 2006, 02:26 AM) I think a Venice can easily hit 2.6ghz. From my experience, I used 1.55Vcore for 2.7ghz. I think 1.55 is a good start. Then, if all the other HTT or LDT multiplier fails, try to turn memory to 2T. That might do it. I've had tested dinster's venice before and to my surprise the most it can do is 2.4GHz. Not all venice is that good so to speak. But from my observation of databases btw, most venices easily hit 2.6 GHz however.
PCcrazy
Feb 27 2006, 08:08 AM
QUOTE(linkinpark @ Feb 27 2006, 06:40 AM) Cpu-z and CPID both give different reading revision and code name on my newly bought AMD proc. Which 1 is correct Venice or Manchester , E6 or E4? http://forums.amd.com/lofiversion/index.php/t67425.htmlCheck link above.
PCcrazy
Apr 4 2006, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(lichyetan @ Apr 4 2006, 01:07 AM) I currently using the pc as the spec at my signature, 1 weird problem is i can OC my cpu till 2.5Ghz without pumping up any voltage, but once i hit over 2.5 Ghz to 2.6Ghz, i can log on to windows without adding voltages but it freezes when running prime, after i pump up the voltages to 1.425, it stills same , freezes during prime stress test, could anyone give me some hint??? Make sure RAM and HTT are still within permissible limits as well. These are factor most of us sometimes ignore. Pumping the vcore should do as of now. I will avoid exceeding 1.65v on a decent aircooled setup.
PCcrazy
Apr 7 2006, 04:45 AM
Recently tested a frined of mine MSI K8N SLI-FI, the basic system consists of AMD64 x 2(4200+) + KVR 1GB/CORSAIR VS 1GB (tested both).
Overclocking wise this board is a dissapointment, while the AMD64 x 2 is capable of some serious performance but was letdown by the poor performance. The maximum HTT was not consistent, the highest being 240HTT which was really unstable and the lowest but competely stable was recorded at only 225HTT.
After some googling, there is no fix for this somewhat lacklustre performance via flashing the BIOS. Anyway I did flashed the BIOS but only having to noticed no improvement whatsoever. The BIOS is just to fix bug over some USB issues.
So I recommend you guys to stay away from this board at all cost, there is just no Nforce 4 SLI chipset that is cheap but provides the enthusiast with much needed performance. It was a letdown, MSI have certainly gone backwards with this value edition of its SLI chipset. Should have done better considering the K8N Diamond is a wonderful clocker.
PCcrazy
Apr 8 2006, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(gmail @ Apr 8 2006, 08:14 PM) ---snip--- any idea how 2 push higher then 2.6GHz? my memory setting: 333MHz 3-4-4-8 (2T) Both of your links are not working. Btw, change to a better cooler/hsf if heat is unbearable. If heat is not the problem, then try ramping up the vcore a bit higher. This post has been edited by PCcrazy: Apr 8 2006, 09:19 PM
PCcrazy
Apr 9 2006, 04:20 AM
QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 8 2006, 11:39 PM) 4*289 is alreaady exceed 1000 leh... try 3x instead...  Hmm, nicely spotted. Didn't pay much attention to that one but it's crucially important that you don't break this rule. Stick to it to achieve greater stability and overclock.
PCcrazy
Apr 14 2006, 06:29 AM
QUOTE(kev da man @ Apr 12 2006, 10:00 AM) more POWWWWAH! add more vcore lar. Or invest in a good cooling solution. OT: kev, what happen to the candidate for the overclocking event? any news as I would be interested to come and see.