Joke from Proton

TSmingyuyu
post Dec 9 2014, 02:03 PM, updated 12y ago

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

The Proton 2020 City Car Design Competition has ended and the winner have been announced.

http://paultan.org/2014/12/09/proton-desig...ners-announced/

Some examples from the winner of the secondary school category.

Here comes the 1st prize winner (rm3k cash + macbook air)

Although the contest listed that innovation and originality are being prioritized, but how realistic these entries looked? Is it even possible for our cars to look like that in 2020?

I am a car enthusiast and loved designing bodykits/ sketching cars when I am free, I entered the contest too with my following entries but I don't even get any consolation prize. Is it being realistic and getting the correct proportion wrong? I don't understand how the people at proton think, how is our car industry going to improve when you like childish drawing than a realistic sketch?

Comments and feedbacks are welcomed, especially honest ones.

SUSGoldenHorn
post Dec 9 2014, 02:06 PM

274 posts

Because first thought of your design is - suprima.

Why should they chose your design if they already produced it?
eatuup
post Dec 9 2014, 02:07 PM

189 posts

Possibly the judges are kids lel top kek
Saitama
post Dec 9 2014, 02:09 PM

308 posts

dude, even if u won something from it, who gives a shite? it's from proton.
it's like TVB actors winning their own TVB award. no real value. syok sendiri saja.

take your designs elsewhere.
GreenSamurai
post Dec 9 2014, 02:11 PM

The Green One
2,150 posts

But your design looks like suprimak. No originality?
zeliustitan
post Dec 9 2014, 02:12 PM

466 posts

eLuma looks cooooool
SUSMatrix
post Dec 9 2014, 02:13 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Shitz design only Proton will give any award...that first prize really facepalm...the runner ups and consolation actually much better.

No wonder Proton always comes up with design like Preve and Suprima. No taste in cars.

hafizhans
post Dec 9 2014, 02:14 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

no originality
-speedz-
post Dec 9 2014, 02:15 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 9 2014, 02:03 PM)

Although the contest listed that innovation and originality are being prioritized, but how realistic these entries looked? Is it even possible for our cars to look like that in 2020?

I am a car enthusiast and loved designing bodykits/ sketching cars when I am free, I entered the contest too with my following entries but I don't even get any consolation prize. Is it being realistic and getting the correct proportion wrong? I don't understand how the people at proton think, how is our car industry going to improve when you like childish drawing than a realistic sketch?

Comments and feedbacks are welcomed, especially honest ones.
eluma won, not the one you posted. That got first runner up. Still, I feel you man. Your's could have been in top 5.

This post has been edited by -speedz-: Dec 9 2014, 02:17 PM
TSmingyuyu
post Dec 9 2014, 02:17 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(-speedz- @ Dec 9 2014, 02:15 PM)
eluma won, not the one you posted. That got first runner up. Still, I feel you man. Your's could have been in top 5.
There's 2 groups. the Eluma won the university group, those that I posted are from the secondary school group which I am eligible to enter smile.gif

the Eluma was a really impressive entry by the way, that's how a futuristic concept car should look like.
TSmingyuyu
post Dec 9 2014, 02:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHorn @ Dec 9 2014, 02:06 PM)
Because first thought of your design is - suprima.

Why should they chose your design if they already produced it?
Mine might not be the most different one but hey.

Lets a take a look at Audi/ BMW/ Mercedes. Each of their models look identical with small similar elements, that's what makes people recognize your brand through the whole lineups.

I admit that mine looks a little similar to the Suprima, but I wanted it to be the bigger brother of Suprima or even the next generation Suprima, why not?

Side by side comparison, you can obviously see the unique bits from my design compared to Suprima.

You can go and take a look at various competitions organized by other car manufacturers, they don't take crazy drawings as winner as they are looking for production ready design or realistic ones which can really be considered to sell to the public.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 9 2014, 02:21 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Oh...didn't realized last entry is TS entry. No wonder didn't win. It's a Suprima rip off. Of course won't win anything!! Very Honest comments!!!
maraippo
post Dec 9 2014, 02:22 PM

~PoPoPoPoPo~
1,165 posts

yours was great looking though. no wonder proton is so lacking in design department
TSmingyuyu
post Dec 9 2014, 02:23 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 9 2014, 02:21 PM)
Oh...didn't realized last entry is TS entry. No wonder didn't win. It's a Suprima rip off. Of course won't win anything!! Very Honest comments!!!
can you point out which part of the car is ripoff?

Mind you, I took a Mazda 3 as the base proportion, no way that thing would be similar to a Suprima.
ThisIsAter
post Dec 9 2014, 02:24 PM

351 posts

2nd pic reminds me of salamence sweat.gif

btw your design quite good.. notworthy.gif
-speedz-
post Dec 9 2014, 02:24 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 9 2014, 02:17 PM)
There's 2 groups. the Eluma won the university group, those that I posted are from the secondary school group which I am eligible to enter smile.gif

the Eluma was a really impressive entry by the way, that's how a futuristic concept car should look like.
I see. Still, the one you posted was 1st runner up and not the winner. Don't despair, keep at it. I can't even draw a straight line with a ruler. biggrin.gif
Khai RULE
post Dec 9 2014, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 9 2014, 02:23 PM)
can you point out which part of the car is ripoff?

Mind you, I took a Mazda 3 as the base proportion, no way that thing would be similar to a Suprima.
The design should be relevant in 2020 not 2015.

They maybe considering other element such as design element competition not the the beauty drawing competition.
TSmingyuyu
post Dec 9 2014, 02:28 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Khai RULE @ Dec 9 2014, 02:25 PM)
The design should be relevant in 2020 not 2015.

They maybe considering other element such as design element competition not the the beauty drawing competition.
what kind of car do you expect to drive in 2020? with wings?
ruffstuff
post Dec 9 2014, 02:31 PM

3,345 posts

See. Bukan senang nak design car to please everyone. Even you design you already feel can syok and menang.. but still got people complain you rip off here and there.

topkek.
TSmingyuyu
post Dec 9 2014, 02:32 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Dec 9 2014, 02:31 PM)
See. Bukan senang nak design car to please everyone.  Even you design you already feel can syok and menang.. but still got people complain you rip off here and there.

topkek.
well i respect honest opinions and I know some are just trolls.

thanks for the encouragement guys. smile.gif

0.0183sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:00 PM