post Dec 8 2014, 10:46 AM, updated 11y ago

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Mech keyboard club trackbacks:

Gatherings

Recommended brands and model for first time mechanical keyboard user (according to standard layout)

ABS vs PBT vs POM Keycaps (Ultra simple explanation)

Key caps profile explained

About Switches

Justin's guide on how to purchase from Taobao via agent (For Non-Chinese/Banana User)

This post has been edited by 168257061: Dec 8 2014, 12:22 PM
TS0168257061
post Dec 12 2014, 09:48 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Tex resin x Nerd 60%

This post has been edited by 168257061: Dec 12 2014, 09:49 AM
TS0168257061
post Dec 17 2014, 02:30 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Dec 17 2014, 01:58 PM)
Having not received my Korean custom, if LED light is not what's defining a Korean custom, then what is? It can't be the MX switches. Is it the acrylic or aluminum case? The legs? Or a combination of all?
Korean custom kbd is vast, they are many teams which stick to their own philosophy. For exam KBDMod team designed KMAC series, it is more to neat and simple looking.
OTD teams design is more traditional, no-frills pcb, combining both modern and classic design to achieve one of the most soulful (to date) keyboards to some people (including me)
Duck0113 and his team are more on modern design, offering feature-rich pcb with different led settings, macro, repeat rate..etc.

It is also MX switch to define custom mechanical keyboard. That's why we call custom, isn't it?
When we talk about mx switch, you get to choose different color switch stickers.
Then into springs, ranging from 35g springs to 100g springs, each spring can be swapped according to your likings.
Some people like 45g, some like 55g, while some prefer 62 or even 67g.
Move on to tuning. Tuning mx switches can be complicate, by using different lubing materials it gives different feeling to your fingers.

Whether acrylic or aluminium case, it is about series (or by authors).

Not to forget, there are too many pretty keycaps set available for MX.

Here are some photos for you, all belongs to korean custom.

This post has been edited by 168257061: Dec 17 2014, 02:31 PM
TS0168257061
post Feb 8 2015, 10:51 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Feb 8 2015, 09:23 PM)
Pictures Of The Night

extra note. F5-F8 , 9-funciton keys and arrow keys should follow modifiers color also

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Feb 8 2015, 10:51 PM
TS0168257061
post Feb 20 2015, 01:12 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

A little review about Gateron 2nd gen linear switch (prior knowledge about old/vintage mx black is required)

I have heard Gateron since its 1st gen switch, I never really interested to it back then, prolly because no one praises it back then.
Until 2nd gen switch, it has caugh my attention especially dat-translucent-top-and-bottom switch.

The original translucent cover switch could be found from vintage Cherry keyboards,
such as translucent black switch, and translucent clear switch (linear).
Refer to the photo below is cherry mx translucent black (they are vintage by default, ignore the dirt)

So I just bought 300 pieces Gateron switch last week. Of the 300 switches,
200 are mx black-like with 65g actuation, 100 are mx clear-like linear type with 35g actuation.
According to official, lifespan of each switch is up to 50 million actuations.
Also credits to Yuksti telling me their feeling is identical to Mx vintage black then I have the urge to try it and compare on my own.

They arrived to my doorstep few days ago, and I took the opportunity today to fully tune it. #syukurholiday
The most basic about tuning are stickering and lubing the switch housing, stems, and spring (not really necessary).
Of course, the veteran would know how to "tune" so you get the "max" result in handling, or rather typing experience.

//////

Test
In this test I have simply picked two reference from Cherry mx switch, also tuned by myself using Krytox GPL 107 solution.

1. WYSE black switch. They are cheap to obtain (140 Chinese Yua per keyboard), but you have to desolder, harvest and wash by yourself.
2. Cherry G80-2551HAD vintage black switch. These cherry vintage keyboards black switch are the best of linear feel until now (same goes to translucent black)

Just to be fair in this comparison I have also fully lubed the gateron linear switch (black).
To my surprise, the "linear-ness" is almost same as vintage black. You could really feel the "emptiness" inside the switch housing.
Meaning that you literally can't feel any scratchiness at all. If you were given a blindest, I don't think you can even feel the difference.

Lubed wyse black is completely out of league in terms of feeling this time. The only good thing about it is much more economical obtain compared to "authentic" vintage black.
Besides, it is exhausting to harvest and wash every single switch in WYSE terminal keyboard.

Cost & Benefit
With the cost of Gateron switch at 1.30 Chinese Yuan each, it is a no-brainer.
VS. vintage black
You don't want to spend 6.00 yuan for one vintage black which you could get something cheap but same performance , do you ?
VS.WYSE black switch
Again, WYSE Keyboard is out of league in cost benefit. After paying 140 yuan solely for a keyboard, you are yet to pay agent for shipping your stuff to doorstep.
Then, it takes a lot of effort desolder and wash all of the switches available.
With all these cost added and what not, an average WYSE mx black could simply fetch more than 1.60 yuan, while Gateron, brand new switch is just 1.30 yuan, and it is far lighter with packaging.

Conclusion
I have been using Cherry vintage black switch two years ago and touched more than 10 keyboards with old/vintage linear switch.
Gateron 2nd gen linear switch is something spectacular. Not only it does the same feeling as Cherry vintage black, it is a lot more times cheaper as well.
For people using Cherry MX Red or the new Black, you will definitely feel the "smoothness, linear-ness" once you have changed all the switches.
FYI, the new linear switch in keyboard nowdays always feel scratchy due to new mold which Cherry has made.

Gateron switch mounted on my "lube station"

110 Gateron switches opened up

Stickering process

This post has been edited by 168257061: Feb 20 2015, 01:13 AM
TS0168257061
post Feb 24 2015, 11:14 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

B.Face 60% keyboard. 512K warning laugh.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Feb 24 2015, 11:14 PM
TS0168257061
post Feb 26 2015, 10:17 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Feb 26 2015, 10:13 AM)
No sifu wants to answer my curiosity if I can swap gateron stem into cherry housing?  hmm.gif
Sorry forgot to reply,
both are compatible, u can swap vice versa

This post has been edited by 168257061: Feb 26 2015, 10:18 AM

0.0417sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:45 AM