QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 2 2015, 07:49 AM)
How is the O&G industry in S'pore doing right now?Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
Sep 2 2015, 09:00 AM
3,558 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Shenzhen Bahru |
Sep 4 2015, 10:39 PM
Sep 13 2015, 11:56 AM
Just been informed by a friend, those with DBS account can remit money to any M'sia bank account for FREE (S$0 fee). Rates are competitive, even better than money changer. Promotion until end of this year
https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/promotion/myr-remit |
Sep 21 2015, 09:09 PM
Sep 24 2015, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 24 2015, 07:16 PM) ^ Those on electric scooter need to use the pedestrian. Just fold up the scooterExactly. Officially, foot traffic is not allowed any more over the causeway (last time can). Nowadays they only open it up sometimes when there is too many humans overflowing the checkpoint(s). So you going to buy electric scooter and ... go with the pedestrians? Or go with the motorcycles? I saw Harbour Front selling Zoom Air model for $1k plus. Many people using this |
Oct 1 2015, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Oct 1 2015, 03:03 PM) Guys I've never been to SG so I need help with my travel plans. Just walk. Too near the cab may not want to take youI need to find a way to get to Swiber @ International Business Park. I believe the nearest MRT to IBP is Jurong East but I still need to take a 10 mins cab ride or walk for 30mins. Any suggestion? |
Oct 5 2015, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(megadisc @ Oct 5 2015, 07:17 PM) You must have never stayed in developed countries before. Spending 30% up to 50% of your income for rental is common in cities like Singapore, London, Hong Kong...Last time as student my scholarship is 550 pound per month, but I have to spend 300 pound per month for my room rental - exclude utilities. Anything less than 20%, then you really are sacrificing a lot of your comfort. If you have dependents staying with you, you won't care about saving for rental |
Oct 8 2015, 06:49 PM
Oct 11 2015, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 11 2015, 05:01 PM) just stand at road side flag cab, flag the comfort delgro mercs cab and sit like a boss. Other than Tuas, i think other place quite easy to get cab. Jurong Island as well. You are right, even when you called the cab hotline to ask for one, most cab won't even bother to drive all the way to these places. Consider very 'ulu' to them |
Oct 15 2015, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:37 PM) Anyone has any idea how long it takes for HR to produce the offer letter based on the new hiring policy for foreigner? To get offer letter doesn't have anything to do with government at all. If the HR is focus in their work, within a day you can receive itI have other offers to respond to and I'm not so sure if I get the job in SG. To get Emplyment Pass that depends a lot on MOM. |
Oct 21 2015, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(Kikokent @ Oct 21 2015, 04:08 PM) Hi, erm... For EP the health check is not require by MOM. If you are requested to do it then it's the company policy I thinkI'm not sure whether I mess up with the test my company assign, urine test, blood test and Chest-X ray for EP is a minimum must... There would be a form from HR specify which test you need to go through, don't worry the procedure is faster than MY government hospital... |
Oct 23 2015, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(darrenboy @ Oct 23 2015, 12:06 AM) Does all telcos in Singapore need to be on 2 year contract with 2B? I am shocked. You should worry about getting a job first, then only you think about getting a telco plan in SG. Without work permit or EP you can't sign up for 2 year contract telco plan in SGI am thinking of getting a iphone 6S which costs me about RM2100 (Maxis) with contract. I have no problem signing up with them if I am still working in Malaysia. The problem is, I cannot tie up with Maxis or any Malaysian Telco, because I will be in Singapore next year (at least I plan to). I was wondering if I should wait till I got a job in Singapore and buy the iphone there. What is the price of iphone 6S in Singapore? Any great offers from the telcos in Singapore? Cheaper than those offered in Malaysia? I am sure if we buy direct from Apple shop in Singapore, it will be expensive. |
Oct 25 2015, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(milque @ Oct 25 2015, 06:21 PM) Hi there, first time posting in this thread. I need advice from you kind people. At this stage it's better off that you ask friends & relatives to refer you into their network. Take up any offer that comes. Looking for job opening using online channel is frustrating because you are in competition with >100 applicants per position. With current social political turmoil in M'sia plus high SGD-MYR exchange rate this has aggravate the applications into SGI'm looking for a job in singapore, been looking a month already but no response at all, not even an email reply. A bit of background: I'm currently working in UK, I have an Aussie degree and a UK masters. Work experience almost 5 years total in Msia, UK and Aussie. My partner is being transferred to Sg so I need also find a job there to move with him. Looking for mid-level exec job/low level manager job in marketing field. I've been sending applications through recruitment agencies, some direct to companies, and some through LinkedIn. I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I haven't heard a peep from anywhere. Questions: Is my method of job search (online job postings etc) wrong? How can I improve my chances of success? How do other Malaysians get jobs there? Should I undersell or oversell myself? Partner is being transferred end of December, so I'm pretty desperate now. Please advice! Thanks very much If you decide to quit your job and follow your partner to come and live in SG, you are in for another disappointment. Custom here don't allow you to overstay. Last time a friend that I know brought his gf (an East Msian) into SG, she was denied entry during her 3rd entry - being forced to tumpang friends place in KL. What an inconvenience. If not you probably have to register ROM and using Dependant Pass to come. |
Oct 26 2015, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Oct 26 2015, 01:20 PM) hi, anyone can advise on changing money back to malaysia for SGD 60,000 ? Use DBS or CIMB online remit. Can open one if don't have. Currently both having no tranfer fee (until end 2015). Rates are competitive.to buy prop, to pay downpayment..... Way i can think of 1) withdraw from bank counter, ask for big note, 60 pieces of 1000 notes, go raffles do TT.... was wondering do they accept 60k transfer ? Any problem ? 2) direct transfer from my OCBC bank account to my malaysia bank account. But dun knw the rate and total charges, been asking OCBC and malaysia bank, both oso dun knw.... Wtf Anyone know which one is better or is there any other better way to do so ? P/s : legal money with salary slip, savings over 5 years, with tax paid every year https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/promotion/myr-remit I'm more interested in which property you are buying in M'sia |
Oct 26 2015, 04:03 PM
Oct 27 2015, 02:05 PM
Oct 29 2015, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Oct 29 2015, 09:31 PM) I drive a lot in SG. Trust me, those roads are so much easier to navigate. Signs are pointing to the correct direction unlike in M'sia. Other drivers are civilize when driving - give proper signal, don't simply merge into you lane, stop when lights turn yellow....The only dislike are the expressways where the speed limit is 90 kmph. Some stretch only 80 kmphWhich is why when most S'porean drive in M'sian highway they like to speed because such 'freedom' can't be obtained in S'pore This post has been edited by knwong: Oct 29 2015, 11:12 PM |
Nov 4 2015, 02:34 PM
I even worse. Went ahead for interview without even putting down my expectation. Not because I'm desperate but because I'm really interested with the role and wanted to find out more
| Change to: | 0.0648sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:09 PM |