6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V48

Davidtcf
post Dec 26 2014, 10:26 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

DA:Inquisition featured on Origin main page, 33% off for both standard and deluxe:
https://www.origin.com/en-sg/store/buy/7436...tandard-edition
Davidtcf
post Dec 26 2014, 12:22 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Dec 26 2014, 10:58 AM)
But still expensive than buying local DVD version from Impulse..because of our super weak MYR currency now  cry.gif
hmm true also... u have a point. Maybe wait our currency stabilize first?

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Dec 26 2014, 11:31 AM)
Hand itchy to buy something...Grid Autosport is on the list. Glad I waited from Halloween sale..

But thinking of getting either DA:I, BF4 Premium. But I know for sure DA:I won't be my cup of tea.

But would love to know Cheesenium thoughts on BF4...
DA:I more action focus now, very different compare to DA1 and 2. Physics and effects greatly enhanced in DA:I. Story is still awesome. I find it less complicated now with less conversation options compare to prev DAs. It's a good thing.. else spend too much time talking with NPCs and choosing a conversation answer.

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Dec 26 2014, 12:14 PM)
Shift 2 is quite good. The driving is immersive, tonnes of content and a decent customisation systems for the cars. However, if you are expecting it to be an arcade racer, i think its better you get Burnout Paradise because thats the best arcade racer by EA on Steam. Shift 2's handling physics does need a bit of practise to play, its not a racing game that you pick up and play. You need to go lighter on the accelerator especially late game cars. Gamepad is mandatory because this game is not calibrated for keyboard. There also might be some fiddling to get it to work now but if you like to mod, you could get a lot more cars than the game offers. The copy I have on my PC has almost doubled the car count with different interesting vehicles to drive.

Hot Pursuit is not worth buying because the single player races are awful. Blatantly obvious catch up AI and dull single player races. The strength of the game lies in MP which is probably dead now.

Personally, Steam review is untrustable. Too many circle jerk reviews and some of them are terribly written.
yea too tempted now.. after researching deeper it is meant to be a simulation, not an arcade racer. I have xbox controller.. yet it's my first time attempting on a race game using it.. hope it turns out well sweat.gif

Grid Autosport looks good too... somemore just released @@ .. only scare my rig cannot support if too high end. this game double the price of Shift 2... hmm.
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 08:39 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

bought all of Anno 2070 DLCs and also CS:GO.

Anno 2070 on 75% off... get the complete edition then don't have to be like me come back to get the DLCs later.. damn good city building game set in the future thumbup.gif

yesterday played Endless Space till 4am.. really blew my mind off as a 4X. didn't thought it to be so good since it's kinda dated. Next off to Endless Legend, my skills have improved after playing ES (both almost similar concepts). biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 27 2014, 08:41 AM
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 02:26 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

just bought C&C ultimate from Amazon (using fake US address) for USD5:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009IR1SR...iew_asin_detail

downloading now (most of them not exceeding 3GB in size).. hope can play most of it... this is nostalgia for me (completed most of it in pirate mode last time) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 27 2014, 02:27 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 02:53 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(croco_2002 @ Dec 27 2014, 02:37 PM)
Care to let me know how do u buy it.(using CC or PayPal )and how do u get the fake us address?want to buy also.my first pc game that I love tiberian sun.thanks
steps to buy a US download-only game on Amazon:

1. create Amazon account.
2. click buy. enter any local credit card (visa, master, amex all can go through even if it's not a US card)
3. enter US address at the "billing address section", use Google and find any generator. You can try this: http://fakeusaaddress.com/
4. the purchase should go through and you'll get the CD Key on the same page once done.

another guide online proves it: http://www.ghacks.net/2012/06/30/how-to-pu...outside-the-us/

note: pls make sure u buy Digital Download Only games.. else later end up it's a hardcopy they will ship to the said address sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 27 2014, 02:55 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 02:59 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Dec 27 2014, 02:42 PM)
really tempted to get anno but i really dont like uplay ~_~
that is not the worst part.. worst part is 3 times activation only.

u can only activate the code on 3 different computers .. once past that it won't work anymore doh.gif

so far i'm ok with Uplay. Only once it messed up my Farcry 3 saves... dunno where it went as i reformatted my desktop. Had to start playing from the very beginning. Kinda shitty that the cloud is not dependable.
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 04:21 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Dec 27 2014, 03:04 PM)
last time it screw up my save for AC:revelation. After that until now never touch uplay.

but i research on steam forum apparently the 3 activation will regen after 30days.

anyway. bought  sweat.gif
good.. although through all that Uplay shit the game is still very solid. one of my favourite city games now. biggrin.gif

campaign is very exciting.. watching your cities grow is fulfilling.. cleaning up those waste and pollution is also challenging. And finally undersea exploration! srsly no other city building game is like it biggrin.gif

SimCity I played the trial ... yet... they stupidly reduce the game size like 1/4 of normal Sim City 4's size. That part i really cannot accept.. mad.gif and they priced the complete edition so much more pricey than the standard (even after sales - Cities of Tomorrow expansion is very important for this game). So will wait till the price drops further before I buy it. For a 1/4 size of a normal sim city game i rather not pay so much!

other city building games all like City Life, City XL Platinum all I don't dare to buy.. read all the horror stories on the forums and reviews, where ppl play the game halfway got kicked out to desktop, game slows down past 50k ppl, etc etc..

Other than that if u don't mind lousy graphics (but i mind).. then Sim City 4 is currently the winner for a realistic city building game. Anno 2070 is not realistic.. a lot of fictional tech.. but believable.. as long as they are beautiful graphics + good gameplay + stable game, i'm happy thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 27 2014, 04:28 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 06:00 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Darkz01 @ Dec 27 2014, 02:50 PM)
good price...
previously i bought around RM60 physical...
comes with command and conquer t-shirt...
fabric quality is dayumm good...
still look like new...

eventho physical it doesnt contain disc...
just a card, credit card size with product keys...
u play on Windows 7? got any issues playing there? esp for games like Red Alert 1 ok?

hmm..
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 06:52 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Dec 27 2014, 06:41 PM)
Price error?
http://store.steampowered.com/app/289520/?snr=1_4_4__1302
Buy Kings Bounty: Dark Side Premium Edition RM14

Buy King's Bounty: Dark Side RM23.50

premium cheaper than normal ?
bro if u like turn based games, check out Age of Wonders series (2 is best, 3 also good), or Heroes of Might and Magic series (III, V and VI are good).

to me both the above is the best when it comes to turn based fantasy + strategy.
Davidtcf
post Dec 27 2014, 08:37 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

tried Red Alert just now... menu hang on me for quite some time.

Guess the game needs to run on VGA mode:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2M9xOXxwK1g

and also not sure if multi cores can give those old C&C games problems (all latest processors are multi-cores). will try default setting to see if they work normally, else switch to single core at command line.

---

edit: guide doesn't work don't bother. will just bear with it. well at least the game runs smile.gif shocked to see how polished Red Alert was for it's time.. those cut-scenes, acting.. just perfect. even with pixelated graphic they manage to bring the whole atmosphere of WW2 with it. And the soundtrack too.. just amazing for a game in the 90s.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 27 2014, 08:54 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 29 2014, 06:50 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

Max payne 3 complete edition worth it? Dirt cheap now. That 32gb space required tho.. @@

my dream came true.. finally AoE3 for cheaps:
http://store.steampowered.com/app/105450/

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 29 2014, 09:08 AM
Davidtcf
post Dec 29 2014, 10:27 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Pensuke @ Dec 29 2014, 09:29 AM)
total damage so far is rm192.55  shocking.gif
ok la.. worth it what for so many games.

see "chicken" one time also more than that la.. now that is a waste of money tongue.gif
Davidtcf
post Dec 29 2014, 03:08 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Pensuke @ Dec 29 2014, 10:38 AM)
bring it on!  biggrin.gif
yea, i just started on steam, and this sale is my first one, hence the shock. hehe
But yea, it worth the money since im picky about discount and game review.
I guess the lousy sale this time is good for newbs like me.  tongue.gif
there is much more to come.. u'll end up becoming greedy and not have enough time to play all of them.. Trust me that is genius Mr. Gaben's masterplan. biggrin.gif icon_question.gif

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 29 2014, 11:01 AM)
all DLC only for multiplayer mode. so if not interested in multiplayer, just get the base game. unless you wanna increase your DLC count whistling.gif
okok will get the base game then .. hope i'll end up finishing + love it unsure.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 29 2014, 03:33 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 29 2014, 05:04 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Dec 29 2014, 04:37 PM)
I also missed it, wait for encore sale.
I think it's worth it for RM25 Legendary Edition, will take you tons of hours to complete.
yaya i remember this... 1 to 2 days they repeat sales for ALL PREV SALES games for winter period. Damn dahsyat that time!

Davidtcf
post Dec 29 2014, 07:36 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

Age of Empires 3 better than I thought! recommended buy thumbup.gif
Davidtcf
post Dec 29 2014, 09:05 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 29 2014, 08:57 PM)
get GoTY Bethesda rarely put their DLC more than 50% off. Also

dont care.. will wait the complete edition drops in price further. Right now i still find Dishonored complete package kinda pricey with all that DLC nonsense, yet being a dated game. I have plenty of Action and RPG games to play anyway not in a hurry.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 29 2014, 09:06 PM
Davidtcf
post Dec 31 2014, 09:55 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(projectnew @ Dec 31 2014, 09:09 PM)
ff13 worth or not havent played it before...
get Final Fantasy XIII-2 instead.

Final Fantasy XIII very linear.. i tried to played it.. but fail to catch my attention coz basically the devs got lazy and make u walk in a straight line to your next destination. The most change characters or a side path for some loots. Really cannot accept this as part of FF game. mad.gif

FF XIII-2 fixes the linearity after all that fans' outrage (got areas to roam, explore - very important after you've played XIII and realize how bad linearity is... might as well just play an iPad game). So yes wait for XIII-2 price to drop further.. right now still kinda pricey. Skip XIII.

Read this as proof:
http://kotaku.com/5979711/lets-rank-the-fi...s-best-to-worst

12. Final Fantasy XIII

Best known as The One Where You Walk In A Straight Line For 25 Hours, Final Fantasy XIII takes some really great components—eye-popping graphics, a killer battle theme, and fascinating combat—and packages them in a mediocre game. FFXIII's biggest problem, as I've written before, isn't that it's too linear: it's that the game discards all illusion or pretense of being an RPG. While games like Final Fantasy VII don't let you veer from the main plot all that much, you can still visit towns, talk to NPCs, and do interesting things that don't involve walking in a straight line, fighting, and watching cut-scenes. Gone are brilliant dungeons like the Ghost Train or the Babel Giant. Say farewell to fun mini-games like blitzball and Triple Triad. FFXIII is a shallow, lifeless experience that might be more forgivable if its writing wasn't so wretched. But hey, moms are tough.

me personally waiting for this la.. really hope one day will port it to PC.. had many good memories playing it (pirate) on PS2 (too bad it crashed halfway through, couldn't complete the game sigh):

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 31 2014, 10:01 PM
Davidtcf
post Jan 1 2015, 12:24 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

get Endless Legend guys.. u will love it if you love Civ 5.
Davidtcf
post Jan 1 2015, 02:09 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Jan 1 2015, 01:12 PM)
I bought the Amplitude pack laugh.gif
yeah Endless Space is wonderful too. 4X in space.. woohoo!

Dungeon of the Endless i didn't buy.. not into pixelated graphics style. smile.gif
Davidtcf
post Jan 1 2015, 08:06 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

my damage so far for winter sales (check yours easily by opening Steam at browser, then navigate to right side your username, click on drop down arrow > Account Details > choose Store Transaction (2nd tab):

1 Jan
RM41.85
Purchase
PAYDAY 2: GOTY Edition

31 Dec, 2014
RM16.80
Purchase
GTA IV Complete Bundle

28 Dec, 2014
RM24.50
Purchase
Age of Empires III: Complete Collection, Max Payne 3 (ROW)

26 Dec, 2014
RM44.25
Purchase
Anno 2070 - Deep Ocean, Anno 2070 DLC Complete Pack, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

26 Dec, 2014
RM11.20
Purchase
Need For Speed Shift 2

23 Dec, 2014
RM45.50
Purchase
Endless Space + Disharmony, Endless Legend - Classic Pack

22 Dec, 2014
RM32.30
Purchase
Dynasty Warriors 8 Xtreme Legends Complete Edition

18 Dec, 2014
RM27.75
Purchase
Dark Souls II

Total: RM 244.15

And not regretting it. thumbup.gif

sales on certain games seldom come by.. better buy now than later when it's dirt cheap! Or end up waiting for a game to be discounted... Awww... (went through that before)

best on the list so far is Endless Legends (Endless Space is good too played it for 4 hours on first try and satisfy.. but now too busy with EL haha). Already clocked up 28 hours since I started the game.. and a few nights of less sleep till kena wife scold sweat.gif reminds me so much of Civ 5 - just one more turn - when I first played that game last time thumbup.gif

the rest that I feel it's are a good buy are: Age of Empires 3, Need for Speed Shift 2 (cheap during voting sales.. using a controller to play is a must), Dynasty Warriors 8 (a bit sucky is need to play windowed mode for more smooth experience). (Payday 2 had yet to try.. will update this post once I downloaded it)

the worst buy? Max Payne 3. Don't even bother. Terrible LONG cutscenes poorly written, 35gb of space, and many many crashes especially when re-attempting a failed mission! (not me alone, many reported crashing issues in MP3). Uninstalled it after playing for an hour. shakehead.gif GTA IV (by the same publisher) is a different story.. game seems good so far.. will come back to it when I wanna roam around the city bashing ppl up lol ...

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Jan 1 2015, 08:20 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.2261sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:15 PM