PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V4, Turbo vrooom vrooom pssssstt

JollyRogers
post Jan 19 2015, 02:22 AM

141 posts

Im sure I've read this before but cant find it

Sometimes my 8mths old exora brake freezes !
Break peddle solid hard cant press down , and therefore cant stop the car !
Luckily this happened at very low speed , so quickly pull up the hand brakes to stop
So happen 11km already , so Brought it to Segambut SC and told them about it.
They bleed the brake lines and say problem solved .
But today happen again !
Thinking of going to Mutiara SC, but wanna know from LYN members experience on whats the problem and how it was solved and what to look out for

JollyRogers
post Jan 19 2015, 07:20 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 19 2015, 10:22 AM)
Bro, honestly your understanding is different from what I know.

There are overlap usage of terms of "brake booster". For clarity, brake booster refers to this:

Vacuum assist pump(aka the 2014 model brake booster) refers to this:

How brake booster works
How vacuum pump works

Below are the comparisons:
- Our EB with or without vacuum pump, are only vacuum assisted hydraulic, not electronic.
- With or without vacuum pump, if there is vacuum leak, after several succession of brake pressing, the pedal will become hard and no braking power. Again, when this happens, you have a weak brake because something is wrong.
- Difference with or without vacuum pump, is the feel of 'hardness' when pressing brake. But, doesn't cause lose of braking power.
- When aircon is on full power, it means the aircon compressor and alternator are both loading the engine. This causes the RPM to drop, and the vacuum pressure suffers. This in turns causes the lose of brake power. Increasing engine RPM, or adding a vacuum pump will solve this problem.
Does your unit have vacuum pump? Most likely not. And if you thought you got the 2014 model without the vacuum pump, then you've been short-changed.

The symptom usually means poor vacuum to the brake master pump. Could be caused by air leak. Need to find out problem first.

Installing vacuum pump is not a solution to the problem, but can solve it indirectly.

Here's a guide to troubleshooting:
JollyRogers
post Jul 22 2015, 09:07 PM

141 posts

I only got 16.4 L/100 for a 2hr drive to Melaka at average 120kph , 6 adults

Town use family , 17.6 L/100k

Should i go reprogramme the ECU ?
JollyRogers
post Oct 26 2015, 09:36 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(tehsarbat @ Oct 25 2015, 11:46 PM)
few times i used to play-play above 195, fully loaded. brows.gif
Whats the fuel consumtion on the newest Exoras ?
JollyRogers
post Nov 7 2015, 05:08 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ Nov 7 2015, 04:21 PM)
Ouch....my mom just reverse my sister car and bang my Exora back bumper. Heart pain see the 2 week old car paint peel off and some scratches. Don't know what to say.....
Dont worry , its just the begining tongue.gif
No matter how careful we are , other ppl are not as careful as us blink.gif
More scratches and bumps to come wub.gif

This post has been edited by JollyRogers: Nov 8 2015, 04:21 AM
JollyRogers
post Nov 8 2015, 05:49 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(tehsarbat @ Nov 8 2015, 02:58 PM)
don't say anything. just leave it. the more you sayang, the more it will kena. mines also scratches  everywhere just because i'm too cautious. sad.gif
my KEMBARA, i don.t care much, and nobody dare to touch it. shakehead.gif
I believe there is a Critical Level which we cross - when the cars shape is worse the the other guys , the other guy will take extra care not to damage his own car by knocking into yours ! drool.gif
Eg :
When i park my new EB nicely in parking lot , some idiot sure park close to me and when open door , scratch my paint.
When i park my old Wira ( lots of scratches) next to a BMW or Merc Who dunno how to park in centre of box, somehow they still manage to get into their own cars without scratching mine rclxms.gif

JollyRogers
post Nov 9 2015, 07:39 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Nov 9 2015, 11:25 AM)
Hi all EB owner,

Anyone here own year 2014/ 2015 EB model?
Mind to share how long you've own, total mileage, F.C. and problem encounter?

EB June 2014 model

1) rattling in dashboard at low speed
2) FC 17.3L/100km !!???!! rclxub.gif
3) Also , breaks stiff up and cant press down to start when first start car in morning .
Imagine reversing your car , u press the brakes and the pedal wont even move doh.gif have to use hand brake to stop
Brought to SC , was ok on 1st day , then after a week , same problem
JollyRogers
post Nov 23 2015, 12:16 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(B05 @ Nov 22 2015, 10:38 PM)
Ok....thx a lot...kinda worried that time

Ermmmm... Got to use own money la... Doesn't stated windshield in the policy... Anyone know the cost for replacing it?
Oi
How bad is it ?
Some windscreen specialist can patch it up , from little chips to spider webs
Cost 100-300 depending on how long the crack

Also if insurance ,did u buy with winscreen protection in the policy ?

JollyRogers
post Dec 2 2015, 05:04 AM

141 posts

How many here using Ron97 vs Ron95 ?
When im in city , Ron97 vs Ron95 is like night and day
Power delivery and tork is there , the engine is more quiet and also all thos eirritating knocking and rattling sounds from the dashboard is lessensd coz the power delivered puts the engine under less strain and gives better performance and even better milage !! Huh ?!?
My other cars give same mialage but Exora likes the extra oomph !
Ron95 now reserved for the highways
JollyRogers
post Dec 29 2015, 12:28 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Dec 27 2015, 03:07 PM)
Previously when reaching such speeds, all I hear is tyre noise. Now all I hear is wind noise laugh.gif
How much are the Bridgestone tyre ?

Changed front and back or front only ?
JollyRogers
post Dec 29 2015, 12:41 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Dec 29 2015, 12:39 AM)
Changed all 4 tyres smile.gif
Cost ?
JollyRogers
post Dec 29 2015, 01:09 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Dec 29 2015, 12:44 AM)
Around RM1.4k for all 4 tyres including labor and everything smile.gif
Should have saved money and just change both tyres on only the driver side , then u wont hear the tyre noise ...on the drivers side whistling.gif whistling.gif

I will change mine ....... Once i settle the noise coming from the dashboard. Everytime bring to Mutiara SC , they say have to leave for 1-2days cry.gif

This post has been edited by JollyRogers: Dec 29 2015, 02:13 AM
JollyRogers
post Jan 6 2016, 12:02 AM

141 posts

Darn it !
So far , my ride OK , but suddenly read in this thread regarding ABS light , didnt think much about it
Till yesterday when noticed ....ABS light came ON !! Off engine and start again , then the light went Off . Happened again today
My ride is 21months old now , forgot to check the ODO
wondering if still cover d under warranty
JollyRogers
post Jan 8 2016, 12:26 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(carloompunk @ Jan 7 2016, 12:39 PM)
need help here..
my exora bold cfe 2015 steering bias to the left /stering lari berat ke kiri
hv done many time alignment at SC and also tyre shop cannot solve.
now my exora is at jalan pahang SC. left they from yesterday hopefully they can solve the prob. SC call bagitau kereta dah siap. they just do alignment again. can anyone help me on this. i ask to check steering related part and the rear axle but they on do alignment. after lunch will go to SC again. susah la SC proton kene tinggal ofis and ambek cuti utk cek kereta.
Since my steering biased to the right , i increased the tyre pressure to right tyre by 10psi.
Now get almost level steering :-)

Anyone wanna try it out and report how it works for u ?
JollyRogers
post Mar 26 2016, 12:11 AM

141 posts

Engine light came ON and car no power at all. Quickly drive to Jln 222 SC and they checked the engine
1) say engine oil dirty , clogged the turbo. Thing is did less then 10k km ( 10months ) but SC guy say should change every 6months and not milage
2) he said now cant repair , havd to set appointment , earliest is 3 WEEKS AWAY !! WTF ! Engine no power and cant drive car , still have to wait 3 weeks !?!?
3) went to Sec 13 SC and they say 1 week earliest
4) WTF ! This place lunch time no one working , even receptionist go lunch , all ctmers waiting
5) been there 3 times , aleays understaffed coz mechanic sick
6) today went again , as usual under staffed and the guy incharge of my claim is sick. Checked with another staff , she said my turbo cant claim warranty (22mths old car ) . WTF ! Asked why , she said have to check with guy in charge. WTF !

Proton SC really screwed up !
JollyRogers
post Mar 30 2016, 02:10 AM

141 posts

Exora TURBO replacment Rm6000-7000 in Proton Secvice Center πŸ’©πŸ’©πŸ˜‘πŸ˜€πŸ˜–πŸ˜±πŸ‘ΉπŸ‘ΊπŸ‘Ί !!
PROTON BUYERS BEWARE , only go to CONFIRMED PROTON Service Center !!
Even if the Bloody Service Centre has a sign board saying itsa a Proton Service it may not be an official Service Centre and it may void your warranty bangwall.gif

Brought Exora to service centre Sec 13 coz no power , they say Turbo is dead , have to claim warranty.
They checked system , say only have record for 1000km service, but i say i serviced 5k n 10k at Proton Service Centre.
Then only they tell me " It may look like a Proton Centre , it may Sound like a Proton Centre, but its not a Centre "
I wanted o %+%€£$& (censored censored censored )
WTF !! Proton Service Centre also got Celup one ???!!?!? ranting.gif ranting.gif
WHY NEVER ANOUNCE ????? mad.gif
Coz of that , my warranty void !
Are going to go into a KFC and ask is this an authorised KFC ? McDonalds ? ranting.gif
Also , they always mentione milage done or 12months which ever is earlier !

Photos attached , last year the Proton signboard n Logo still up .

Can some one tell me that this is not an Authorized Service Centre ?!? vmad.gif
JollyRogers
post Mar 30 2016, 02:13 AM

141 posts

Exora TURBO replacment Rm6000-7000 in Proton Secvice Center πŸ’©πŸ’©πŸ˜‘πŸ˜€πŸ˜–πŸ˜±πŸ‘ΉπŸ‘ΊπŸ‘Ί !!
PROTON BUYERS BEWARE , only go to CONFIRMED PROTON Service Center !!
Even if the Bloody Service Centre has a sign board saying itsa a Proton Service it may not be an official Service Centre and it may void your warranty bangwall.gif

Brought Exora to service centre Sec 13 coz no power , they say Turbo is dead , have to claim warranty.
They checked system , say only have record for 1000km service, but i say i serviced 5k n 10k at Proton Service Centre.
Then only they tell me " It may look like a Proton Centre , it may Sound like a Proton Centre, but its not a Centre "
I wanted o %+%€£$& (censored censored censored )
WTF !! Proton Service Centre also got Celup one ???!!?!? ranting.gif ranting.gif
WHY NEVER ANOUNCE ????? mad.gif
Coz of that , my warranty void !
Are going to go into a KFC and ask is this an authorised KFC ? McDonalds ? ranting.gif
Also , they always mentione milage done or 12months which ever is Also , they always mentione milage done or 12months which ever is earlier !

Photos attached , last year the Proton signboard n Logo still up .

Can some one tell me that this is not an Authorized Service Centre ?!? vmad.gif
JollyRogers
post Mar 30 2016, 03:49 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Mar 30 2016, 03:12 AM)
Dude, obviously this looks like a ahbeng workshop who took advantage of the branding to lure customer.
All authorised service centre have proper branding usage lar, from exterior, interior,mechanics attire,until letterhead.

Workshop standard la put all those logo to appear like they specialist with that brand. Many workshop also put mercedes, bmw logo but that doesnt mean they authorised service centre for mercedes liao.

J

The sign at entrance saying " Proton Service Centre " and the Proton Logo sign board doesn't ring alarm bells bro
Should it ? puke.gif
Also last year , only had the Proton sign board , no other brands and all cars in the work shop was Proton... ranting.gif

........so i didnt think "Shitz i walked into a BMW workshop ! doh.gif " innocent.gif

This post has been edited by JollyRogers: Mar 30 2016, 04:01 AM
JollyRogers
post Apr 16 2017, 11:41 AM

141 posts

Just came out from Pak Tam Turbo - Rm2000 vs Rm6k from Proton
Noticed that now my fuel consumption is down to 13L/100k ve 14L on highway
Pak Tam asked to not put back the engine cover as there may be friction between the cover and the cables underneath and it may cost Rm800 to replace
Anyone got the same advice from him ?

Also now going to Proton Sg Buloh and finally they identified the rattling sound from my dashboard - engine mounting pecah
%^+*^%* i have had this problem from day 1 of delivery , pointed it out to them tolook thru the records , so asked them to fix .
They say CAN -Rm700 to fix coz my car 3 days just over the 3 yr warranty !!!
Proton quality %^*+%%^** !!!
FYI - its a weekend car done 27k km in 3 yrs ,

JollyRogers
post May 22 2017, 11:35 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ir5 @ May 17 2017, 03:42 PM)
anyone already changed the ABS sensor module at Proton SC? how much they charge total cost?
Rm98 inc GST

1yr after bought car had the sensor light ON
Everytime went to SC , they just erase the computer notification. other time , always no stock
Last time i went , finaly got stock and they CHATGED me for it ......coz 3 days past the 3yr proton warranty bangwall.gif
2yrs complained no action done !

Now ......... dashboard still rattling , they say have to leave in sc 2-3days , but they say cant 100% fix the problem puke.gif

This post has been edited by JollyRogers: May 22 2017, 11:40 PM

0.1091sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:53 AM