PROTON EXORA BOLD OWNERS THREAD! V4, Turbo vrooom vrooom pssssstt

JollyRogers
post Sep 27 2017, 01:48 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(mandrew @ Sep 26 2017, 10:55 PM)
Had the intermittent jerking issue right from day 1.
Many a times brought to SC, but couldn't replicate the issue for them to troubleshoot. Did few things like update ECU, TCU, change Oil valve, change CVT oil etc...
Occurs once in a while especially when moving slowly in traffic jam. Sometimes the vibration is so severe that we feel something like a gear slip....

Noticed that the problem does not exists for quite some time after every Service.
Based on this, Larkin SC narrowed down the diagnosis to Mounting issue.
Changed the Engine mount and the CVT mount last month. Now the jerking completely gone..

The one on the Left.
[attachmentid=9174066]

This one is on the right.
[attachmentid=9174068]
Bro , still Under warranty or had to pay ?
I had vibration issue and dashboard rattling since day 1 ,
Many times complained , they said settled , but no need to even leave the SC ( Mutiara , 222 , Sec 13 ), rattle still there
Finally SC Sg Buluh said problem caused by broken mounting rclxm9.gif
But !! My warrant is for 3 yrs , I'm 1 week out of warranty vmad.gif ranting.gif bangwall.gif
How much to repair there ?...... Rm700 rclxub.gif rclxms.gif bruce.gif
Anyone knows how much to do it outside ? I haven't asked yet
JollyRogers
post Dec 27 2017, 01:37 AM

141 posts

Any one can recommend a cheap good roof rack for EB ?
JollyRogers
post Dec 27 2017, 01:50 AM

141 posts

Steering bush worn ๐Ÿ˜ญ
Can turn the steering wheel 70degrees before the wheel turns !
Imagine driving fast then taking a sharp corner , turn the steering , car still heading straight to railing ! U have to change your pants and also wash the car seats and also air the car out for one week once u experienced it !
Dunno how much coz I no time to go to check , so used other car
JollyRogers
post Jan 18 2018, 11:16 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Joe Mayon @ Jan 16 2018, 12:00 PM)
My 4 1/2 years Exora CFE broke down last Sunday. Towed to Proton SC Glenmarie and today, after their tech, check advised that need to replace gearbox which will cost more than RM10k bangwall.gif . Currently they are requesting for discount from their management based on the car's service record. Wondering if anyone had this fix outside. Tam Turbo quoting RM4k for secondhand gearbox taken from proton demo car. Appreciate the help.
The mudah.my gear box looks too new to be a recon , Midas lots of con case , best COD no matter what

Got a company , say gearbox specialist , hang banner everywhere.
JollyRogers
post Jan 22 2018, 02:38 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jan 21 2018, 07:08 PM)
My 3.5yrs old Exora with only 35k (low mileage because i only drive short distances once a week or long distances only).

Does about 13L per 100km on 100% city driving. Is that normal?
I have tried running long distance and i got around:
9L per 100km if running on highway.
Close to 10L per 100km if i mix highway and city driving.

Used to love fueling up with Petron but lately i feel their fuel quality degraded, causing an increased of the FC. So now i am trying out Shell although i am a Petronas supporter.

Now running on 10w30 instead of the past 15w40.  I switched to 10w30 to see if it helps with the FC.
Same yr as yours , all housing estate and some shopping centre driving 15.5L/100km
JollyRogers
post Apr 16 2018, 11:48 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(nickl3ss @ Apr 16 2018, 07:43 PM)
Bros.... Planning to get exora 2018...so far any regrets from all the owners here...
You get what you pay for rclxm9.gif
JollyRogers
post Aug 3 2018, 09:00 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jul 30 2018, 02:56 PM)
Hie Alexei  smile.gif

Maybe this video and sound will give a clearer picture of what exactly happened.
Definitely not from the seat (as show in this video)
I used my body weight to push the side of the car, and it sure is tough to push, meaning the absorber is still in good condition. Only mystery is where does the sound come from..

If your car vibrates even when in N , then its the engine ountung
Rm500 per pair including installation cool2.gif
JollyRogers
post Oct 17 2018, 01:45 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(zudin @ Oct 16 2018, 04:30 PM)
service throttle body
Check oxygen sensor
JollyRogers
post Feb 10 2019, 11:41 PM

141 posts

This one confirmed is engine mounting gone case.
My Exora , when start car can see the engine really move .... i thought a Decepticon will jump out of the car. Whole car shake.
Then changed the mountings , Rm550 including workmanship ....... now BMW also more shakey than my ride ...... until my car move lor

case
QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Feb 10 2019, 11:27 PM)
Hi all,
Gong xi fa chai

I have just driven my cousin's eb (turbo version, not CFE but not the 4 airbags fl) for 3 days and would like to clarify some of the issues faced;
1. Rattling on the dash, both sides near the aircond vents
2. Rattling on whole car (like almost every panel & seats are loose) when going through rough roads / speed bumps
3. Exhaust booming sound when seated in rear most seats
4. Car vibrating when standstill, no matter in D or N

I guess my cousin don't look after his eb very well, but are those common problems? The car has not even covered 40k KMs but sounds like those Intrakota busses.

The car is great to drive and the FC was decent, covering close to 500KMs with RM80 worth of RM1.93/L Petron RON95 fuel. No complaints on the pickup but it did not want to downshift up steeper climbs unless floored to the max. Interior space is good, but sadly the mid-row seats cannot be adjusted forward/back to increase leg space. I do hate the engine braking and the misaligned rear view camera.

I'm considering the 4 airbags version of the eb to replace my Gen2 CPS, but the above issues is really making me look elsewhere.

TQ in advance.
JollyRogers
post Feb 22 2019, 01:08 AM

141 posts

Turbo = 15.3L/100km
CFE = 12.L/100km
๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ’ฆ๐Ÿ’ฆ๐Ÿ’ฆ๐Ÿ’ฆ
JollyRogers
post Apr 2 2019, 05:10 PM

141 posts

Wah ! Sliding door for EXora ?
JollyRogers
post May 2 2019, 10:54 PM

141 posts

My ride 8yo suspected fuel pump failure .
Engine can turn but will cut off ๐Ÿ˜”
Anyone change and know the cost SC vs outside mechanic ?
JollyRogers
post May 3 2019, 02:51 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(JollyRogers @ May 2 2019, 10:54 PM)
My ride 8yo  suspected fuel pump failure .
Engine can turn but will cut off ๐Ÿ˜”
Anyone change and know the cost SC vs outside mechanic ?
Called SC , pump is Rm550++ , workmanship Rm150++ ...... which is same amount as what outside mechanic quoted ......... but SC needs 3 working days to order the parts ..... and also have to tow the car to them. Outside mechanic is 2 min walk from where the car stalled, work almost done

JollyRogers
post Jun 12 2019, 11:53 PM

141 posts

Both my Exora
1) Engine mounting have to change - both done , cars from vibrating like disel powered Transformers , now quiet like magic carpet

2) now new problem .......clocks have problem with display .
Have to press on the plastic cover to see the time ........ but with 1 finger covering the clock , irritating, so have to fish out the smart pong

Anyone else got this problem ?
JollyRogers
post Sep 12 2019, 12:36 AM

141 posts

Next time keep a pack of ubat tikus near where unpark ur car or be good friends with some cats
JollyRogers
post Feb 8 2020, 01:42 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(20v_ke35 @ Feb 4 2020, 07:12 PM)
My Exora Bold suddenly overheated due to the radiator cap neck cracked. Does anyone know why it crack all of the sudden? It doesnโ€™t shows any sign for it like high temp indicator, fan failure. The coolant level is always in good condition.
Probably Slammed the bonnet down too hard
JollyRogers
post Oct 31 2020, 11:27 PM

141 posts

180k Exora , Petronas most powerful Shell is last
JollyRogers
post Nov 9 2020, 10:42 PM

141 posts

Today Ayam Exora Turbo like a rocket ๐Ÿš€ on the highway !
Ayam flying 140km and cant see behind road coz all white with smoke ..... Batmobile smoke screen also kalah๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น
Then can smell oil and see low oil light ๐Ÿช” on console

Call mechanic , told him Turbo like ๐Ÿš€ , straight away he know problem and ask to tow to shop.
At shop , up the hoist , straight away he point to a metal hose about 2-3 inches about size of ayam finger , he said Exora very normal fault.
Ayam ask , if this is so common failure ,why Proton no say anything during checkup , mechanic say โ€œProton mah !โ€

Sekian Timakasij

This post has been edited by JollyRogers: Nov 9 2020, 10:43 PM
JollyRogers
post Nov 11 2020, 02:15 AM

141 posts

Back of rocket all covered in oil ....... soli to ahpek on Ex5 that ayam zoom past , have to go for facial
Mechanic said lucky ayam like to look at ah pek on Ex5 and see smoke ,then stop car.
Otherwise no more engine oil but continue driving , the. Ayam got a good paper weight

OCH = Oil Cooler Hose ,
masalah OCH pecah ,menghantui semua pemilik Exora & Pereve Turbo
Until now Proton cant solve this problem

Turbo OCH Rm70 x 2
Engine oil and new filter
Workmanship
Towing Rm120
Total Rm455.
Temia KasiH Proton

This post has been edited by JollyRogers: Nov 11 2020, 02:20 AM
JollyRogers