Nikon D750 vs Canon 5D mark2

TSlai_dm
post Nov 22 2014, 12:24 PM, updated 11y ago

1,777 posts

hi sifu,

I plan to sell off my Canon 5D mark2 for Nikon D750, i wish to get some input from all sifus here
i like to take portrait and Landscape, what is the advantage of D750 .. please ~~
WeBuyWeSell
post Nov 22 2014, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(lai_dm @ Nov 22 2014, 12:24 PM)
hi sifu,

I plan to sell off my Canon 5D mark2 for Nikon D750, i wish to get some input from all sifus here
i like to take portrait and Landscape, what is the advantage of D750 .. please ~~
Better Dynamic Range
More Mega pixels (Better image quality)
A brilliant 91,000-pixel RGB metering system
Tilting screen
Good at high ISO
Affordable 50mm f1,4D lense being new or used (For portrait)

A perfect recipe for landscape photography provided you marry it with a good glass.

But don't think is wise to jump to other system if you are heavily invested into good L glasses and others. Might as well source for a used 6D. But not much improvement in terms of Dynamic Range from you 5d Mark II though.

Cheers and happy shopping...... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by WeBuyWeSell: Nov 22 2014, 05:21 PM
TSlai_dm
post Nov 22 2014, 09:00 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(WeBuyWeSell @ Nov 22 2014, 05:10 PM)
Better Dynamic Range
More Mega pixels (Better image quality)
A brilliant 91,000-pixel RGB metering system
Tilting screen
Good at high ISO
Affordable 50mm f1,4D lense being new or used (For portrait)

A perfect recipe for landscape photography provided you marry it with a good glass.

But don't think is wise to jump to other system if you are heavily invested into good L glasses and others. Might as well source for a used 6D. But not much improvement in terms of Dynamic Range from you 5d Mark II though.

Cheers and happy shopping......  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks advice

how much is 50mm f1.4d ?

i dun have expensive L lens, i have Tokina 16-28 Wide Angle and 1 85mm 1.8 only

cynix008
post Nov 22 2014, 11:28 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(lai_dm @ Nov 22 2014, 09:00 PM)
thanks advice

how much is 50mm f1.4d ?

If you are into portraits then forget about changing the body, invest on lighting setup instead and set up your own mini studio for portrait shoots. Also if you wana be a pro u need to master on your post processing skills.

WeBuyWeSell
post Nov 22 2014, 11:29 PM

thanks advice

how much is 50mm f1.4d ?

Should be able to grab one new around RM9XX. And a used unit for about RM4XX to RM7XX depending on the condition.
SUSsupersound
post Nov 24 2014, 09:03 PM

11,554 posts

thanks advice

how much is 50mm f1.4d ?

https://photographylife.com/reviews/nikon-50mm-f1-8g/5
Read some online review and judge your self.

goldfries
post Nov 24 2014, 09:49 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(cynix008 @ Nov 22 2014, 11:28 PM)
If you are into portraits then forget about changing the body, invest on lighting setup instead and set up your own mini studio for portrait shoots. Also if you wana be a pro u need to master on your post processing skills.
the above.

I don't see a reason for anyone to go from 5D2 to D750.

Portrait and Landscape - none of them involve high-ISO unless you are the type that shoots those genre with high ISO.
mingyuyu
post Nov 24 2014, 10:00 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 24 2014, 09:49 PM)
the above.

I don't see a reason for anyone to go from 5D2 to D750.

Portrait and Landscape - none of them involve high-ISO unless you are the type that shoots those genre with high ISO.
the better dynamic range on the d750 does provide a little more advantage compared to the 5d2. but not a must anyways, you can always go for bracketing shots to get best result.

TS do you feel lacking from your 5D2? If so, why? If you don't then the buying is not necessary. smile.gif
goldfries
post Nov 24 2014, 10:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Nov 24 2014, 10:00 PM)
the better dynamic range on the d750 does provide a little more advantage compared to the 5d2. but not a must anyways, you can always go for bracketing shots to get best result.
biggrin.gif that's slight dynamic range, not many people will notice. Furthermore I don't know what TS's level of landscape photography is.

That slight advantage, I don't think it's worth the hassle and cost of system jump.
TSlai_dm
post Nov 25 2014, 12:54 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 24 2014, 10:16 PM)
biggrin.gif that's slight dynamic range, not many people will notice. Furthermore I don't know what TS's level of landscape photography is.

That slight advantage, I don't think it's worth the hassle and cost of system jump.
thanks Goldfries,

i read some reviews , they claimed Nikon has 14.5EV Dynamic Range, while Canon 5Dmark 2 only 11.9EV

if both cameras compare side by side, same environment, angle, setting, can i see the different in liveview ?

lightning
post Nov 25 2014, 02:26 PM

34 posts

Potrait and landscape, Nikon D750 with Sony Sensor have a major advantages over Canon Sensor. With 5 Stops under recovery/detail retain, it makes your workflow in term of editing faster and easier (unless you do not edit your photo) which makes Canon sensor at least 5 or so years behind Sony sensor development. Secondly, comparivetly, Nikon has the advatages of wider angle lense...The only advatages of Canon right now is handling and faster autofocus which cater for more towards sports photographry or press photographer as they do not edit or heavily edit their photo. I am a Canon user for many years with too many expensive lens on Canon which makes me kinda piss off...lolx
goldfries
post Nov 25 2014, 07:07 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(lai_dm @ Nov 25 2014, 12:54 PM)
thanks Goldfries,

i read some reviews , they claimed Nikon has 14.5EV Dynamic Range, while Canon 5Dmark 2 only 11.9EV

if both cameras compare side by side, same environment, angle, setting, can i see the different in liveview ?
What sensors see and what you see on LCD are different. smile.gif

the 3EV dynamic range also depends on the scene.

goldfries
post Nov 25 2014, 07:08 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(lightning @ Nov 25 2014, 02:26 PM)
Potrait and landscape, Nikon D750 with Sony Sensor have a major advantages over Canon Sensor. With 5 Stops under recovery/detail retain, it makes your workflow in term of editing faster and easier (unless you do not edit your photo) which makes Canon sensor at least 5 or so years behind Sony sensor development. Secondly, comparivetly, Nikon has the advatages of wider angle lense...The only advatages of Canon right now is handling and faster autofocus which cater for more towards sports photographry or press photographer as they do not edit or heavily edit their photo. I am a Canon user for many years with too many expensive lens on Canon which makes me kinda piss off...lolx
eh Canon lens cheap la. 17-40L and 70-200 F4L both can be acquired with RM 4k, used unit. Try that for Nikon.

Canon AF faster? c'mon la, cannot be. 5D Mark II focusing is slow, that's why people buy cameras like 50D / 60D / 70D to supplement it.

5D3 would have good AF but I don't see how much better can it be compared to D750.
TSlai_dm
post Nov 25 2014, 08:44 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 25 2014, 07:07 PM)
What sensors see and what you see on LCD are different. smile.gif

the 3EV dynamic range also depends on the scene.
hahha true also

must own a d750 for testing / edit / compare only can come out with the result
TSlai_dm
post Nov 25 2014, 08:45 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(lightning @ Nov 25 2014, 02:26 PM)
good info
did u own a nikon as well ?
SUSsupersound
post Nov 25 2014, 09:32 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(lai_dm @ Nov 25 2014, 12:54 PM)
thanks Goldfries,

Numbers mean nothing. The only thing Nikon I like that it has 2 dials, easier for you to adjust.
TSlai_dm
post Nov 25 2014, 10:21 PM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Nov 25 2014, 09:32 PM)
Numbers mean nothing. The only thing Nikon I like that it has 2 dials, easier for you to adjust.
must be something , bro
or else why put higher DR, let me buy D750 experience myself, then update u guys
i have 5d mark2 now, so i pretty clear what is the different after getting nikon
LegendLee
post Nov 25 2014, 10:36 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

When I did flame photography earlier this year.
The D600 was way way better than my 5D2.
I expect the D750 to be even better.

Dynamic range is one of the most important specification in fire themed shoots at night as you've shadows and really really bright lights.

cynix008
post Nov 26 2014, 12:14 AM

40 posts

Its all about personal preference, for portrait work there is not much difference between the two bodies. Nikon sensor produces less contrast and more natural color pictures if thats what you like then go for Nikon. it will save you from post processing.

at the end of the day its not the camera that makes the pictures its the man behind it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cynix008: Nov 26 2014, 12:15 AM
Rice_Owl84
post Nov 26 2014, 12:37 AM

603 posts

Or you can wait for what Canon has offer in their new FF line up in march/April 2015. Last thing you want to do is jump over and realize Canon's new stuff is what you really wanted. Sony is also updating their A7 series next year, which is weird considering how nice those cameras are already.

These are all rumors. But since you already have a FF camera you might as well wait.

Unless you really need something from that Nikon D750 now. i suggest waiting til next years offerings come out. More choices the better right? Maybe Canon will release a monster that beats D750 or release out something disappointing that you can be relieved to just get the D750 without any regrets.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:46 AM