83 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official LYN Maxis Wireless (3G/3.5G) Thread, Now it comes with soap !

caerulln
post Jan 1 2007, 12:55 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(wr6969 @ Jan 1 2007, 11:33 AM)
Two quick questions - for those who are using the Maxis 3G unlimited at RM120:

(a) is the IP address assigned fixed or dynamic?

(b) when you sign up for the unlimited package, it is automatically assumed to be the HSDPA capable, correct?  So if the customer only has a normal 3G data card, it's the customer's loss, yes?

Thanks!
(a) dunno for sure. but best guess is dynamic. static ip would cost more.

(b) also not sure. but from my usage on my hotlink sim, when got HSDPA connection, it will show up in the program & download speed goes up through the roof laugh.gif

reason they would provide hsdpa at no additional cost : they still got 3gb limit
wr6969
post Jan 1 2007, 01:22 PM

314 posts

I must have dynamic. If static, no point going for it. I do lots of direct HTTP downloads, not BT, so I should be able to enjoy loads of downloads at max speed, but I must have dynamic IP!

Also, I thought the 3Gb monthly download data limit only applied to their residential wireless broadband which you need a modem to use, and not to their unlimited data package? I am confused rclxub.gif Can someone confirm please?

Cheers.

QUOTE(caerulln @ Jan 1 2007, 12:55 PM)
(a) dunno for sure. but best guess is dynamic. static ip would cost more.

(b) also not sure. but from my usage on my hotlink sim, when got HSDPA connection, it will show up in the program & download speed goes up through the roof laugh.gif

reason they would provide hsdpa at no additional cost : they still got 3gb limit
caerulln
post Jan 1 2007, 01:32 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(wr6969 @ Jan 1 2007, 01:22 PM)
I must have dynamic.  If static, no point going for it.  I do lots of direct HTTP downloads, not BT, so I should be able to enjoy loads of downloads at max speed, but I must have dynamic IP!

Also, I thought the 3Gb monthly download data limit only applied to their residential wireless broadband which you need a modem to use, and not to their unlimited data package?  I am confused  rclxub.gif  Can someone confirm please?

Cheers.
i hope what u said bout the 3gb limit is correct.
if so, i'm gonna register immediately!
cant wait to surf at 450kb/s again (and bt also)! drool.gif
elfreakz
post Jan 1 2007, 03:40 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(caerulln @ Dec 31 2006, 07:04 PM)
max 55 kbps? shocking.gif
of course it is abnormal
lower than dial up??

or maybe u dont have good line there.
or did u mean 55kb/s?
yea my direct download from http/ftp maximum speed is only 55kbps
do maxis limit it to that speed?

im not sure my signal is strong or not... my hp show the signal bar is full, and maxis website say my area have 3G (so do the hp show 3G icon)
blaxez
post Jan 3 2007, 08:28 AM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Jan 1 2007, 03:40 PM)
yea my direct download from http/ftp maximum speed is only 55kbps
do maxis limit it to that speed?

im not sure my signal is strong or not... my hp show the signal bar is full, and maxis website say my area have 3G (so do the hp show 3G icon)
Having 3G (UMTS) signal doesn't mean you can get HSDPA signal though...
Fearless
post Jan 3 2007, 11:45 AM

390 posts

5.3.1 Each customer's total usage per month shall NOT exceed 3GB of data volume transmitted (total upload and download usage). This is to ensure that no individual hogs the bandwidth at all times.

====

Maxis is suck! Total bandwidth is capped at 3GB per month. Meaning RM23 per GB.

Malaysia Boleh! Boleh wait until another 20 years to reach 50% broadband penetration in Bolehland.

Maxis is out from my shopping list for next three years.
madman.com
post Jan 3 2007, 11:52 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Jan 3 2007, 11:45 AM)
5.3.1 Each customer's total usage per month shall NOT exceed 3GB of data volume transmitted (total upload and download usage). This is to ensure that no individual hogs the bandwidth at all times.

====

Maxis is suck! Total bandwidth is capped at 3GB per month. Meaning RM23 per GB.

Malaysia Boleh! Boleh wait until another 20 years to reach 50% broadband penetration in Bolehland.

Maxis is out from my shopping list for next three years.
Totally agree!!!!!! Streamyx block the p2p service, maxis broadband limit the service upto 3GB, so what's the different??? Both also pay around rm70~80 per month for what? Just to SURF WEBSITE?? vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
Fearless
post Jan 3 2007, 11:59 AM

390 posts

Streamyx block the p2p service??

===

My streamyx can still use p2p before last xmas. No idea now since earthquake in south Taiwan have brought down streamyx to dial-up speed.

I stop using p2p for this month as a responsible netizen to ease congestion. :-)
elfreakz
post Jan 3 2007, 12:16 PM

3,905 posts

althought maxis 3G limit to 3GB, yet after that still can be use... like i said i get 55-60kbps for http download, and as for torrent depends on seeder (like i saw 12 seeder = 35kbps)...

so i can see that still worth to pay rm120, rather than streamyx rm99 (my previous account) for only surfing...
august8
post Jan 3 2007, 05:48 PM

178 posts

There seems to be major confusion over this 3Gb limit. Can someone in the know clear this up? As far as I understand, the 3Gb limit applies to their home/residential wireless broadband where you rent the HSDPA modem from them which costs in the region of RM68 for access and rental (IIRC). It does not apply to the RM120 unlimited data only plan. With the data only plan where you use a HSDPA/3G PCMCIA data card to access through your notebook no such limitations apply.

Where was clause 5.3.1 above copied from, BTW?
caerulln
post Jan 3 2007, 07:41 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

clause 5.3.1 is from here:
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/hsdpa/wireless_packages.asp
check under maxis broadband fair usage policy.

i also just realized this.
the 3gb limit may apply only to maxis broadband users & NOT to the unlimited 3g (rm120)
i hope the "unlimited" they use is really unlimited

MAXIS BROADBAND FAIR USAGE POLICY 

1. Introduction 
  1.1 This Fair Usage Policy ("Policy") sets out an acceptable level of conduct between Maxis Broadband Sdn Bhd or Malaysian Mobile Services Sdn Bhd (both shall be referred to as "Maxis") and its customers using the Maxis Broadband internet service. Maxis believes that all internet users should be responsible in their usage and how it affects other users. 
the Maxis Broadband t&c does not include Maxis 3G Unlimited package.
i cant find any of the limitation in the General t&c

can anyone pls confirm this..
if really unlimited, i'm gonna register asap.
my torrent REALLY REALLY slow now (after the earthquake issue)
getting 1kb/s also very hard. cant download anything.
august8
post Jan 3 2007, 07:49 PM

178 posts

I've been told that with Maxis 3G, you get assigned an internal IP address, not publicly accessible, ie. you are behind a Maxis firewall or "NAT". If this is true, it would be almost impossible to do any port forwarding that P2P apps require. I've been told that HTTP surfing is blazing fast though, and so is direct HTTP/FTP downloads.

Since you don't need to sign up with a minimum contract (I understand if you just buy the USIM from them, there is no minimum contract, whereas if you get the Vodafone HSDPA data card from them, there is a 1 year minimum contract period, and the damn data card is also SIM-locked), just try it out for a month, and if dissatisfied, cancel the service after a month!

Please do keep us updated!
wufei
post Jan 3 2007, 07:51 PM

3,039 posts

UNLIMITED = UNLIMITED
august8
post Jan 3 2007, 07:59 PM

178 posts

If you check out this page which describes the 3G Connect packages, there is absolutely no mention of a fair use policy ---> http://www.maxis.com.my/3g/3gExperience_CPackages.asp

And you probably can't use P2P apps if they are not worried about "overuse" of the network tongue.gif
caerulln
post Jan 3 2007, 08:04 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

QUOTE(august8 @ Jan 3 2007, 07:49 PM)
I've been told that with Maxis 3G, you get assigned an internal IP address, not publicly accessible, ie. you are behind a Maxis firewall or "NAT".  If this is true, it would be almost impossible to do any port forwarding that P2P apps require.  I've been told that HTTP surfing is blazing fast though, and so is direct HTTP/FTP downloads.

Since you don't need to sign up with a minimum contract (I understand if you just buy the USIM from them, there is no minimum contract, whereas if you get the Vodafone HSDPA data card from them, there is a 1 year minimum contract period, and the damn data card is also SIM-locked), just try it out for a month, and if dissatisfied, cancel the service after a month!

Please do keep us updated!
oh.. sad.gif
maybe i'll try for 1 month.
postpaid which is rm30/month access fee also can test for 1 month rite? no long contract?
Expanded
post Jan 3 2007, 09:08 PM

131 posts

Maxis 3G isnt that bad. You get low latencys <350ms
Fearless
post Jan 3 2007, 09:29 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(august8 @ Jan 3 2007, 05:48 PM)

Where was clause 5.3.1 above copied from, BTW?
http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/broadband/termncon.asp
caerulln
post Jan 3 2007, 09:46 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

one of my buyer who bought the t-mobile hsdpa card told me that he get 550kb/s speed!!
& said torrent 250mb took only 30min = 139kb/s
certainly faster than streamyx.

so that means can use torrent on 3g unlimited package.
Fearless
post Jan 3 2007, 10:36 PM

390 posts

Your buyer's HSDPA service is from Celcom or Maxis or Time?

caerulln
post Jan 3 2007, 10:49 PM

Crazy. Not stupid.
1,096 posts

maxis 3g unlimited package

83 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:48 AM