I'm 16 and I'm back to piano. Is it too late?

TSXyreNNN
post Nov 20 2014, 09:58 PM

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Nov 20 2014, 08:14 PM)
Not true. If you are talented you can go straight to Grade 5 as your 1st exam.
But your teacher would prefer you to take one grade per year so you can pay her big bucks.
Do u mean I can just take my first exam when I reach G5?I think if possible I will just force her to let me go fast. If not? New teacher yeah~ XD

riku2replica
post Nov 21 2014, 12:17 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

learning is never too late. Go on and pass theory and practical.
wongpeter
post Nov 21 2014, 04:11 PM

973 posts

It means you do not have to sit for Grades 1 - 4 but straight away take Grade 5 as your 1st exam. That was my experience with the external grade exams of Trinity College. I do not know which examining body you are aiming for or if the rules have changed.

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 20 2014, 09:58 PM)
Do u mean I can just take my first exam when I reach G5?I think if possible I will just force her to let me go fast. If not? New teacher yeah~ XD
TSXyreNNN
post Nov 21 2014, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Nov 21 2014, 04:11 PM)
It means you do not have to sit for Grades 1 - 4 but straight away take Grade 5 as your 1st exam. That was my experience with the external grade exams of Trinity College. I do not know which examining body you are aiming for or if the rules have changed.
I'm taking ABRSM exam
Although I don't have to sit for G1-4 but I still have to learn all the grades before proceed to G5 right?
skypha
post Nov 21 2014, 05:00 PM

14 posts

Haha why think so much?? I'm 22 and now I'm learning how to play keyboard biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
wongpeter
post Nov 21 2014, 10:17 PM

973 posts

I will try to explain in a simple manner without further confusing you.
First you learn to stand up. Then you learn to walk. Then you learn to run. And then you advance to jumping and so on and so forth.
Let's say learning to stand is Grade 1. Learning to walk is Grade 2. Learning to run is Grade 3 and so on it goes.
You asked if you still have to learn all the Grades before proceeding to G5.
Let me ask you if you can jump without learning how to stand, how to walk how to run and so on.
I guess that answers your question.
Learning music is a cumulative experience. You learn 1 skill and then 2 skills and then 3 skills etc.
Initially you learn to recognize triads(simple 3 note chords). Then your hearing improves and you can recognize 4 note chords (Maj 7, Maj 6, min 7 etc). Then you learn to recognize 5 note chords(9th chords etc). More advance and you move on to altered chords like b5#9 etc.
How can you recognize altered chords when you are even clueless when it comes to triads?
How can you proceed to Grade 5 when you haven't even learned the easier stuff that is Grades 1-4?

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 21 2014, 04:55 PM)
I'm taking ABRSM exam
Although I don't have to sit for G1-4 but I still have to learn all the grades before proceed to G5 right?
TSXyreNNN
post Nov 21 2014, 11:28 PM

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Nov 21 2014, 10:17 PM)
I will try to explain in a simple manner without further confusing you.
First you learn to stand up. Then you learn to walk. Then you learn to run. And then you advance to jumping and so on and so forth.
Let's say learning to stand is Grade 1. Learning to walk is Grade 2. Learning to run is Grade 3 and so on it goes.
You asked if you still have to learn all the Grades before proceeding to G5.
Let me ask you if you can jump without learning how to stand, how to walk how to run and so on.
I guess that answers your question.
Learning music is a cumulative experience. You learn 1 skill and then 2 skills and then 3 skills etc.
Initially you learn to recognize triads(simple 3 note chords). Then your hearing improves and you can recognize 4 note chords (Maj 7, Maj 6, min 7 etc). Then you learn to recognize 5 note chords(9th chords etc). More advance and you move on to altered chords like b5#9 etc.
How can you recognize altered chords when you are even clueless when it comes to triads?
How can you proceed to Grade 5 when you haven't even learned the easier stuff that is Grades 1-4?
Okay, I think I know what to do already, Rome doesn't built on one day, I will learn piano step by step steadily. Hopefully I can be on grade 5 in not a long time to wait. Anyways, thanks for your explanation. =)
victorian
post Nov 22 2014, 12:34 AM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,644 posts

Started piano when I was 15. I'm 18 now and passed my Grade 4 last year. Taking Grade 6 ABRSM next year. Personally I think my progress is kinda slow because I don't really practice a lot. 2 years to Grade 5 is hard, but definitely manageable, also depends on which college exam you are taking (ABRSM being the hardest)
Emimarson
post Nov 22 2014, 02:57 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(syirbiznatch @ Nov 19 2014, 08:45 PM)
+1

I'm 26 and I just started Piano since cannot afford it when I was student. Go make a checklist:

- Do u want to learn coz u love it?
- or want to show off?
- Do u have discipline? time to spare for practice?

Normally people will go for keyboard if you are serious about forming a band, or becoming performers in night club. Piano is more soulful and you can play it anywhere. If you got the bucks, go buy KORG/Roland keyboard. It really resemble real Piano.
Hi, I just started piano 2 months ago, and I am 21.
Same as u, I can't afford to buy piano when I was student, been worked hard to earn money for piano.
I feel my fingers like cacat cry.gif
Sometimes I reli envy others who learn piano since primary or secondary school, I always feel upset of the distance between they and me, summore they are younger than me sad.gif
wongpeter
post Nov 22 2014, 11:00 AM

973 posts

It does not matter how old you were when you started out on your musical journey. Its for your own enjoyment. Why be envious of others who had an earlier headstart or are more talented than you?
Would you be jealous of Richard Clayderman because he can play better than you?

QUOTE(Emimarson @ Nov 22 2014, 02:57 AM)
Hi, I just started piano 2 months ago, and I am 21.
Same as u, I can't afford to buy piano when I was student, been worked hard to earn money for piano.
I feel my fingers like cacat cry.gif
Sometimes I reli envy others who learn piano since primary or secondary school, I always feel upset of the distance between they and me, summore they are younger than me sad.gif
TSXyreNNN
post Nov 22 2014, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Nov 22 2014, 11:00 AM)
It does not matter how old you were when you started out on your musical journey. Its for your own enjoyment. Why be envious of others who had an earlier headstart or are more talented than you?
Would you be jealous of Richard Clayderman because he can play better than you?
I'm now taking Alfred's basic adult course lvl 1 @@ hope that I can proceed fluently in order to play my favorite pieces ><[
syirbiznatch
post Nov 23 2014, 10:56 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 21 2014, 11:28 PM)
Okay, I think I know what to do already, Rome doesn't built on one day, I will learn piano step by step steadily. Hopefully I can be on grade 5 in not a long time to wait. Anyways, thanks for your explanation. =)
Just learn slowly. You can skip level. Even your teacher will recommend you if you worth that grade
Pop The Bubbles
post Nov 24 2014, 12:01 AM

219 posts

Never too late for anything. Do it or you will regret.
leeyinjong
post Nov 25 2014, 01:16 PM

14 posts

So excited to see this topic! I would say if you have keyboard basics, why not just learn the piano by yourself? Unless you really want to master the instrument then you would need an instructor. For me, I stopped piano when I was in standard 6 (12 y/o) and only picked it backup when I was 21 and it just came back naturally, and I even realized without the pressure of exams I enjoyed it even more! Since then, I started learning other instruments and all the skills from piano is just transitioned to all those instruments. Keyboard to piano transition would be quite seamless though.. And regarding your Yamaha piano question, if you are willing to go out and hunt for pianos, there are better pianos for the same price. I got my Petrof for RM3k, sounds much nicer and fuller than a Yamaha smile.gif Enjoy your musical journey!
funnybone
post Nov 25 2014, 01:19 PM

1,040 posts

My cousin was 20 plus when he learned to play the piano. No issue man
rocky_guitarist
post Nov 28 2014, 02:34 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 17 2014, 01:32 PM)
Hello there,

I started learning Keyboard when I was 6. When I was in Primary 4 I decided to pause due to UPSR until now...Now I dare myself to regain what I had learnt rclxms.gif . I had recently went to the Yamaha Music school and my teacher says she would recommend me to continue learning the Keyboard, as I have the basics there, but I do prefer piano more as I don't really like the sound of keyboard and its voice. Especially when most of the songs that i learnt is played with Syn.Strings or Strings, which makes me feel quite bored and unrealistic.

Is that okay for me to change to piano before I really step deeper in keyboard?
If it is okay then should I buy an Upright Piano(I am using Yamaha PSR-275 right now == the keys is soooooo fake)? 
Can I proceed fast in Piano(like reaching ABRSM G5 n above in 2 years time) if I am really committed? I don't have much time left as I will be sitting for SPM next year and might go overseas for tertiary study(If I don't tio PLKN @@).

Best regards  smile.gif [FONT=Arial]
I learned all the music scales in few months. Nothing is too late if you are determined.

SUSJyunkai
post Dec 6 2014, 01:01 PM

176 posts

I started piano at 15, got my grade 8 at 18
SUSmontyashley80
post Dec 16 2014, 03:18 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 17 2014, 01:32 PM)
Hello there,

I started learning Keyboard when I was 6. When I was in Primary 4 I decided to pause due to UPSR until now...Now I dare myself to regain what I had learnt rclxms.gif . I had recently went to the Yamaha Music school and my teacher says she would recommend me to continue learning the Keyboard, as I have the basics there, but I do prefer piano more as I don't really like the sound of keyboard and its voice. Especially when most of the songs that i learnt is played with Syn.Strings or Strings, which makes me feel quite bored and unrealistic.

Is that okay for me to change to piano before I really step deeper in keyboard?
If it is okay then should I buy an Upright Piano(I am using Yamaha PSR-275 right now == the keys is soooooo fake)? 
Can I proceed fast in Piano(like reaching ABRSM G5 n above in 2 years time) if I am really committed? I don't have much time left as I will be sitting for SPM next year and might go overseas for tertiary study(If I don't tio PLKN @@).

Best regards  smile.gif [FONT=Arial]
no it's never too late to learn again...still remember my friends grandma start tap dancing again when she was 70 yrs old la...

SUSMatrix
post Dec 24 2014, 02:11 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 19 2014, 02:23 PM)
here's a fact ts. the human brain doesn't stop developing until it is 40. go for it
I am old fag, now learning Piano Grade 1...because i have to teach my son....so i pratice the song he needs to pratice as well......if i don't learn and show him, he lose interest. WTF! Later i go Grade 1 test also can!!! LOL.

TS: Go for piano. I started with Keyboard....after you know piano, you can play keyboard no problem. I have a digital piano, if got bored can try other songs and play other style.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 24 2014, 02:13 PM
ciwi1166
post Dec 24 2014, 04:34 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

so how's TS piano adventure so far? smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0243sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:50 AM