I'm 16 and I'm back to piano. Is it too late?

TSXyreNNN
post Nov 17 2014, 01:32 PM, updated 11y ago

Hello there,

I started learning Keyboard when I was 6. When I was in Primary 4 I decided to pause due to UPSR until now...Now I dare myself to regain what I had learnt rclxms.gif . I had recently went to the Yamaha Music school and my teacher says she would recommend me to continue learning the Keyboard, as I have the basics there, but I do prefer piano more as I don't really like the sound of keyboard and its voice. Especially when most of the songs that i learnt is played with Syn.Strings or Strings, which makes me feel quite bored and unrealistic.

Is that okay for me to change to piano before I really step deeper in keyboard?
If it is okay then should I buy an Upright Piano(I am using Yamaha PSR-275 right now == the keys is soooooo fake)?
Can I proceed fast in Piano(like reaching ABRSM G5 n above in 2 years time) if I am really committed? I don't have much time left as I will be sitting for SPM next year and might go overseas for tertiary study(If I don't tio PLKN @@).

Best regards smile.gif [FONT=Arial]
djboycalvin
post Nov 17 2014, 01:33 PM

282 posts

just go ahead
noobiedonkey
post Nov 17 2014, 01:40 PM

810 posts

as long as you are determined, nothing is impossible.
kuntilanak
post Nov 17 2014, 01:45 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 17 2014, 01:32 PM)
Hello there,

I started learning Keyboard when I was 6. When I was in Primary 4 I decided to pause due to UPSR until now...Now I dare myself to regain what I had learnt rclxms.gif . I had recently went to the Yamaha Music school and my teacher says she would recommend me to continue learning the Keyboard, as I have the basics there, but I do prefer piano more as I don't really like the sound of keyboard and its voice. Especially when most of the songs that i learnt is played with Syn.Strings or Strings, which makes me feel quite bored and unrealistic.

Is that okay for me to change to piano before I really step deeper in keyboard?
If it is okay then should I buy an Upright Piano(I am using Yamaha PSR-275 right now == the keys is soooooo fake)? 
Can I proceed fast in Piano(like reaching ABRSM G5 n above in 2 years time) if I am really committed? I don't have much time left as I will be sitting for SPM next year and might go overseas for tertiary study(If I don't tio PLKN @@).

Best regards  smile.gif [FONT=Arial]
Why not try Electone? More 'fun' than piano... laugh.gif I know I had fun. tongue.gif
TSXyreNNN
post Nov 17 2014, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Nov 17 2014, 01:45 PM)
Why not try Electone? More 'fun' than piano... laugh.gif I know I had fun.  tongue.gif
I only like the original tone of the piano ><
kuntilanak
post Nov 17 2014, 02:19 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 17 2014, 01:50 PM)
I only like the original tone of the piano ><
Since you're so 'fixed' on taking piano lessons, I don't really see your point of asking about it here. yawn.gif
TSXyreNNN
post Nov 17 2014, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Nov 17 2014, 02:19 PM)
Since you're so 'fixed' on taking piano lessons, I don't really see your point of asking about it here.  yawn.gif
I am asking it here to know what to do next before I really change to piano course. It doesn't mean that I am 'Fixed' to take piano lesson. I just not sure whether i am right to take piano course as my teacher is encouraging me to continue on keyboard. Cheers smile.gif
kuntilanak
post Nov 17 2014, 06:17 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 17 2014, 02:26 PM)
I am asking it here to know what to do next before I really change to piano course. It doesn't mean that I am 'Fixed' to take piano lesson. I just not sure whether i am right to take piano course as my teacher is encouraging me to continue on keyboard. Cheers  smile.gif
I know. What I meant was that since you very much prefer the sound and feel of piano, might as well change now. Keyboard play style is totally different than piano on the scope of emphasis (piano more on fingering techniques; keyboard more on finding your own style of playing). Better choose something that you like. I nearly took on piano, which is not bad but boring to me in the long run. Electone suits me better. Cheers. laugh.gif
ciwi1166
post Nov 17 2014, 08:35 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

if u enjoy playing piano then piano it is. music should be enjoyable right. smile.gif
MysticShadow
post Nov 19 2014, 12:33 PM

250 posts

It's never too late. You can pick up and learn any instrument at any age as long as you practice consistently smile.gif
TSXyreNNN
post Nov 19 2014, 12:44 PM

I had asked my teacher but she says I can only pass one grade per year for piano == is dat real?@@
Everdying
post Nov 19 2014, 01:23 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(XyreNNN @ Nov 19 2014, 12:44 PM)
I had asked my teacher but she says I can only pass one grade per year for piano == is dat real?@@
i think u need to find a new teacher.
eventually you are the one paying.
and if u get bored of piano after awhile can always go back to keyboard...not like its the end of the world already.

pipedream
post Nov 19 2014, 02:23 PM

2,353 posts

here's a fact ts. the human brain doesn't stop developing until it is 40. go for it

+3kk!
post Nov 19 2014, 02:30 PM

8,275 posts

if you go too fast, teacher lose income

so in a way its real
mgb
post Nov 19 2014, 07:47 PM

385 posts

Im 30+ and learning sax.
The key is consistent practice.
Go for it.
syirbiznatch
post Nov 19 2014, 08:45 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(mgb @ Nov 19 2014, 07:47 PM)
Im 30+ and learning sax.
The key is consistent practice.
Go for it.
+1

I'm 26 and I just started Piano since cannot afford it when I was student. Go make a checklist:

- Do u want to learn coz u love it?
- or want to show off?
- Do u have discipline? time to spare for practice?

Normally people will go for keyboard if you are serious about forming a band, or becoming performers in night club. Piano is more soulful and you can play it anywhere. If you got the bucks, go buy KORG/Roland keyboard. It really resemble real Piano.
TSXyreNNN
post Nov 19 2014, 10:31 PM

QUOTE(syirbiznatch @ Nov 19 2014, 08:45 PM)
+1

I'm 26 and I just started Piano since cannot afford it when I was student. Go make a checklist:

- Do u want to learn coz u love it?
- or want to show off?
- Do u have discipline? time to spare for practice?

Normally people will go for keyboard if you are serious about forming a band, or becoming performers in night club. Piano is more soulful and you can play it anywhere. If you got the bucks, go buy KORG/Roland keyboard. It really resemble real Piano.
I do love piano more than keyboard due to the 'feel' of piano, for me the keys r way different from keyboards... I practice 2-4 hours per day, even I am still learning keyboard. As I know the basics are important. If I change to piano should I buy an upright piano? Any recommendations? 😃
quarantined
post Nov 20 2014, 10:12 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Dont overthink, go for it.
Nogol
post Nov 20 2014, 10:39 AM

273 posts

2 years to grade 5 is possible. I took saxophone lessons for two years and passed my grade 5 exam.

Since you've learned keyboard before, I guess you already have some understanding of basic music theory, so it's probably not too hard for you.

One grade per year for piano is too slow...
wongpeter
post Nov 20 2014, 08:14 PM

973 posts

Not true. If you are talented you can go straight to Grade 5 as your 1st exam.
But your teacher would prefer you to take one grade per year so you can pay her big bucks.

0.0192sec    1.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:18 PM