TSdrumstix
post Nov 17 2014, 06:10 AM, updated 12y ago

103 posts

Hi guys, I'm torn between these 3 cars:

1. Mazda 3 2009
2. Honda City ivtec 2009
3. Proton Inspira 2011

Does anyone know the maintenance and ownership costs between them?

I have some rough idea about city and inspira's maintenance, but not so sure about mazda 3. (their fb group does seem to be accepting me in)

Which one will you go for? I'll be driving the car for 7 years if everything goes right smile.gif

SUSMatrix
post Nov 17 2014, 06:53 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I think the City should have lowest maintenance cost, being a 1.5L car and popular model with tons of 3rd party accesories and half cut parts.

Rare model always cost a lot more, wanna find half cut parts also difficult. You sure want 2009 Mazda 3?? IMO, the car is too cramp inside...worst than B-segment...

This post has been edited by Matrix: Nov 17 2014, 06:54 AM
heavenly91
post Nov 17 2014, 08:20 AM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

7 years?
The cars you listed above already clocked 5 years.
Most cars wouldn't last more than 10 years anyways.
Means you left approximately 5 years to use it.

Why don't settle for a new car instead.

edison1437
post Nov 17 2014, 08:46 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 17 2014, 06:53 AM)
I think the City should have lowest maintenance cost, being a 1.5L car and popular model with tons of 3rd party accesories and half cut parts.

Rare model always cost a lot more, wanna find half cut parts also difficult. You sure want 2009 Mazda 3?? IMO, the car is too cramp inside...worst than B-segment...
city mia airbag kill people wor icon_question.gif
SUSMatrix
post Nov 17 2014, 10:14 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Nov 17 2014, 08:46 AM)
city mia airbag kill people wor icon_question.gif
I think that was 2003 or 2004 city lar. Anyway, got recall what.
TSdrumstix
post Nov 17 2014, 01:08 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 17 2014, 06:53 AM)

Yup I'm ok with the mazda 3. I don't ferry a lot of passengers. Usually only me and my gf smile.gif

Maintenance even better than the inspira u mean? Wouldn't a local car be cheaper to maintain? hmm.gif

Can you/ anyone give me some numbers on the maintenance though? It would be great. Ty so much
TSdrumstix
post Nov 17 2014, 01:16 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Nov 17 2014, 08:20 AM)
7 years?

I could, but considering that I could be getting better cars for the similar price, it's a no brainer

That said, the maintenance and ownership costs play a role in my decision as well.
unitron
post Nov 17 2014, 01:31 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Nov 17 2014, 08:20 AM)
7 years?

If a car is well maintained, then shouldn't matter even if over 10 yrs old.
croomaniac
post Nov 17 2014, 01:38 PM

269 posts

Mazda is said to have them 'hard to resell', inspira is 'made by proton' and honda has a lot of parts. remember that all cars are made only to last 10 years before they 'are needed to be replaced' - no matter how good you maintain it..

Older cars are different. They are made for forever.. newer cars engineered and the companies have directions to 'force' people buy new models and ditch the old ones.. (so they'll be forever in business) Ha ha

so, mazda and city will last till 2019, inspira till 2021 (if the engineers calculation are correct).. hehehe
SweetTooth
post Nov 17 2014, 01:59 PM

2,650 posts

I have/have had all 3 in the garage coincidentally

I'd rank my preference as below, without knowing the prices that you have been offered for them

1. Mazda 3 2009 2.0
2. Proton Inspira 2011 2.0P
3. Honda City ivtec 2009 1.5E

All 3 cars maintenance is decent, no major problems with all 3. Inspira is most comfortable but service was the worst (Proton service centre). Mazda service is quite OK, Honda ok ok (my service centre usually washes the car for free)

Mazda 3 is best to drive, City is a whole different class from the other 2 (much less refinement, B-segment after all). Proton has a stigma attached to it, but if you can look beyond that, its decent
heavenly91
post Nov 17 2014, 02:05 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

QUOTE(drumstix @ Nov 17 2014, 01:16 PM)
I could, but considering that I could be getting better cars for the similar price, it's a no brainer

That said, the maintenance and ownership costs play a role in my decision as well.
Well if u estimate the car to last for 5 years then it should be a good buy

QUOTE(unitron @ Nov 17 2014, 01:31 PM)
If a car is well maintained, then shouldn't matter even if over 10 yrs old.
By the time the car hits 100k km above, a lot of things need to be changed
And the car have to undergo major servicing
TSdrumstix
post Nov 17 2014, 02:49 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Nov 17 2014, 01:59 PM)
I have/have had all 3 in the garage coincidentally

I'd rank my preference as below, without knowing the prices that you have been offered for them

1. Mazda 3 2009 2.0
2. Proton Inspira 2011 2.0P
3. Honda City ivtec 2009 1.5E

All 3 cars maintenance is decent, no major problems with all 3. Inspira is most comfortable but service was the worst (Proton service centre). Mazda service is quite OK, Honda ok ok (my service centre usually washes the car for free)

Mazda 3 is best to drive, City is a whole different class from the other 2 (much less refinement, B-segment after all). Proton has a stigma attached to it, but if you can look beyond that, its decent
Wow what a coincidence bro! Which one is the easiest to maintain?

Any ideas about the the services and maintenance when the cars are not within the warranty period?

Btw, I'm considering mazda 3 1.6 and inspira 1.8AT. As the 2.0 versions are out of my budget

This post has been edited by drumstix: Nov 17 2014, 02:51 PM
SweetTooth
post Nov 17 2014, 04:29 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(drumstix @ Nov 17 2014, 02:49 PM)

Any ideas about the the services and maintenance when the cars are not within the warranty period?

Btw, I'm considering mazda 3 1.6 and inspira 1.8AT. As the 2.0 versions are out of my budget
No ideas on the M3 1.6 and Inspira 1.8. Similar body shell but totally different engines.

I think similar in terms of parts availability and service centre wait time. All 3 of mine haven't had major issues that required warranty, so can't tell you much.

As for service centres, from my experience there are good and bad ones for every brand. Mazda used to be poor but have recently bucked up, but I'm not sure how it will be since their sales figures rose considerably.

Ironically, I find Honda the worst, mainly due to the fact that it is the most crowded.

Haven't paid much attention to cost, which means that they didn't cost a bomb tongue.gif
SUSbe7a
post Nov 17 2014, 04:36 PM

161 posts

Inspira>all

good secondhand price (meaning bad resale value for first owner)
high cc
spacious
cheap maintenance
lots of parts in market
no need to send back to proton. bawah pokok mechanics know the car.
mod potential for 1.8manual
fuzzy007
post Nov 17 2014, 04:45 PM

786 posts

mazda 3 and inspira is different segment compare to city but i heard many of user said that mazda 3 for that generation is not impressive,not sure what about the problem
while inspira will be suitable for sporty driver,handling sure will be better than city and u can transform it to lancer also biggrin.gif
city fuel consumption i think will be better on highway,city drive the fc is just normal,not so save like vios,other than that city space is quite big,506litre boot also,suitable for small family
K3nnYkl82
post Nov 17 2014, 04:49 PM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(be7a @ Nov 17 2014, 04:36 PM)
Inspira>all

good secondhand price (meaning bad resale value for first owner)
high cc
spacious
cheap maintenance  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
lots of parts in market
no need to send back to proton. bawah pokok mechanics know the car.
mod potential for 1.8manual
let me highlight some part price..

headlamp .. RM1700 each side.
aircon compressor .. RM3800
windscreen .. RM2500 ... (mitsubishi with rain sensor socket)
brake pads .. RM400 ++ .. front pair
brows.gif

cheap eh
iksern
post Nov 17 2014, 04:57 PM

26 posts

let's see the POSSIBLE comments of ppl who will say about your car when yamcha. laugh.gif

Mazda: how much you bought? maintenance high or not? got resell value? next time i want to sit your car lehh... drool.gif
City: not bad worrr... how much is your FC? why no buy the new one? rclxm9.gif
Inspira: doh.gif walao, with that money Y U NO BUY XXXX??? (you name it)

afterall, Inspira is not a bad car to begin with.
nagflar
post Nov 17 2014, 05:01 PM

1,813 posts

msian mentality only can accept TOYOTA AND HONDA. other than that all is shit car

so CITY FTW . even after 10 years u wont lost $$$ so much . tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nagflar: Nov 17 2014, 05:03 PM
Quazacolt
post Nov 17 2014, 05:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Nov 17 2014, 05:01 PM)
msian mentality only can accept TOYOTA AND HONDA. other than that all is shit car
this.
k!nex
post Nov 17 2014, 05:06 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(drumstix @ Nov 17 2014, 02:49 PM)

Try not to get the 1.8AT for inspira. A lot of things missing compared to 2.0L version. No paddle shifter, no leather seats, no auto wiper, no auto headlamp, no auto cruise and quite a number of other stuffs. Brand new that time, price difference around 6k difference I remember compare to 2.0P .

0.0236sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:57 AM