LYN Almera Owner Discussion V3, Come Share Your Experience

Thrust
post Sep 15 2021, 03:39 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 15 2021, 09:44 AM)
actually there is no study saying the car that recommended originally with 0w20 need to change to 5w30 after hit high mileage. if the car was taken properly, service each interval following the recommended mileage, engine did not eat EO, retaining the 0w20 is the best for FC, make the engine "feel" light.
I had one car still retain with stock 0w20 on current mileage of 175k km. still no engine oil reduce issue after 7k-8k each interval, still at max level on 10k km mileage for each EO change
I think if you flip the owner's manual, the mentioned oil to be use was suppose to be 5w30.

I don't know why Tan Chong gave Almera owners to use 0w20. Although I believe 0w20 can be use, but I would rather stick to the oil suggested in the owner's manual.
Thrust
post Nov 2 2021, 07:15 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(ascariz @ Nov 1 2021, 11:51 PM)
if me, i remove that oil quickly. semi synthetic really damaging your car. i've been there. stop going there. find other workshop.
Bro.. don't spread fallacy here.. Semi-synthetic oil will not damage a car's engine. The only thing semi-synthetic oil needs is a more frequent oil change as compared to fully synthetic.

What the service centre did was they fill up with the incorrect grade oil which is 10W40 instead of the recommended 5W30 or 0W20.

Although the 10W40 oil can still be use but I would suggest TS to replace it sooner instead of later (Probably 5,000km).

The HR15DE recommended oil viscosity is 0W20 or 5W30. You can use either mineral, semi-synthetic or fully synthetic.

https://www.engine-specs.net/nissan/hr15de.html

This post has been edited by Thrust: Nov 2 2021, 07:21 AM
Thrust
post Nov 2 2021, 09:22 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(ascariz @ Nov 2 2021, 09:01 PM)
once a foreman suggest for me to use semi synthetic, Toyota brand. not cheap one.  Not remember the viscosity. Around RM300, forgot exact price. that time my car just pass 3 years old. soon after changed that, my engine vibrate rougher than normal. car feel heavy. i quickly remove it after 1 week. if i continue to use it until next change, i dunno what will happen. but im pretty sure it's not gonna be good.
Maybe you are being sold fake oil... No semi synthetic oil cost RM300.. Even Liqui Moly semi synthetic is less than rm150..
Thrust
post Dec 10 2021, 07:13 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(cheahhp @ Dec 8 2021, 10:59 AM)
My almera's engine mounting is due for change. SC has 2 types. Original nissan and local TC. Anyone tried the local TC mounting before? How is the feel compared to original nissan mounting? Reason is because price gap is huge. Thanks.
The local TC brand is called Denco right? Quite good I would say.. Been using it for more than 2 years and still no vibration on the dashboard.
Thrust
post Dec 24 2021, 12:28 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Anyone here experience watee seepage on the car's carpet flooring before?
Thrust
post Dec 28 2021, 08:01 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Dec 25 2021, 06:11 PM)
Due to? Front or back?
I did have once but that was resolved because I always open my boot. I noticed really early. The rest, I am lucky and I practice not parking under any tree so I don't clog the front drainage.
From what I saw, front driver side and both rear passenger side.

I suspect my father didn't wind up the windows when it rains. I hope that is the issue as I can't detect any leakage or water marks from the door seals etc.
Thrust
post Dec 29 2021, 07:59 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Dec 28 2021, 11:15 PM)
Then let's just hope it's a simple mistake.

Well if it helps. You could try hosing down the water on your windscreen. The water should flow in to the black plastic, to the sides... And you should see it flow out, near your front quarter panel. Just where the side skirt is. U can see by opening your door. If water didn't come out... Most likely there's a clog of leaves. Causing overflow into the outside air AC vents. Into your AC... And into the car.

If you have tools then by all means can remove your wipers and the plastic cover. Of not... Go workshop.
I think I'll try by removing the front cowl together with its wiper and inspect for clogging.

I did saw the wet carpet mark coming from where the cabin filter is located. I'll update again once I do the cleaning.
Thrust
post Feb 5 2022, 09:44 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Hi guys! I've managed to solve my dad's Almera wet floor water seepage issue. This issue had been plaguing for months and managed to get it fixed this morning.

I've opened up the wiper arms and look under the front wiper cowl. That part was normal and the water drain hole wasn't clogged.

I proceed to check the boot and the spare tire area looks dry but there was a bit of water patches on the rear right fender. I then opened up the boot carpet and saw a huge puddle of water accumulating inside the rear right fender. It seems the water can't flow out. The main culprit as shown below. This plastic water drainage plug was clogged with dirt and can't let the water flow out, thus accumulating puddle of water on the rear right fender.

What I did was to pull out this plastic and all the water finally manage to flow out freely.

I would say this was Nissan's bad design. That small plastic drain plug will eventually get clogged and owners will have trouble finding the water seepage.

This leakage stem from here (rear right fender) and water seepage went on to wet the rear passenger seat and the front driver seat.

Hope this update can help you guys to solve water seepage issues on the Almera.

You guys can also refer to the video below for more details on the issue.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJglPRpFILc

This post has been edited by Thrust: Feb 5 2022, 09:48 AM
Thrust
post Feb 6 2022, 10:33 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Feb 6 2022, 09:55 PM)
Oh but did you solve the water entering from that hole plug? The round hole rubber cap just behind the rear right side light. As long as you seal that, water should not enter anymore. I found this early due to habit of storing stuff in the boot. The funky humid/moldy smell.

Glad you found the culprit. Yes seems to be the stupid gasket is just a flood waiting to happen.
I did not seal that hole because I've already removed the plastic drain plug.. Even if water enters through the hole, it can now flow out freely and water ahouldn't accumulate and flow the carpet floor.
Thrust
post Feb 13 2022, 11:57 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Feb 13 2022, 03:42 AM)
Hi everyone, I'm looking to buy a used Nissan Almera, 2018 or 2019, to replace my 10-year old Viva. It's about time and I can already foresee my car causing problems so looking buy in the coming months.

Is the new one (2022) that much better? Also, if my research isn't wrong, the 2018 and 2019 Almeras are the same, no major changes to the car, right?

I'm thinking of buying used because I see quite a few good options in the market and would rather save as much money as possible. Looking back at monthly repayments, it doesn't seem to be too different from buying brand new given the lower interest rate, but I'm also seeing it as being able to take a shorter term loan for the used one so I don't have to owe the bank for too long and being able to focus my finances on other things down the road, like a house. Coming from a Viva, the Almera is gonna be a huge upgrade as is, both internal and external, and might consider autofoam by year end.

Is it a good idea to get used (assuming the car isn't in bad condition) or just go brand new? And what would be considered too high for mileage as the ones I'm looking are pretty much 50K and below. Also, if there's anything I should keep an eye out, would really appreciate a heads up smile.gif
I would say Almera is a good car.. It can be finicky at times but once you've known which parts and areas are finicky, it is quite easy and simple to maintain this car.

Benefit is that the engine is smooth, suspension is very comfortable and it offers you a large cabin space for its class.

Well worth to get a used Almera (provided it is in good shape and not being abused by the previous owner).
Thrust
post Feb 14 2022, 03:32 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Feb 14 2022, 12:04 AM)
Thank you for the feedback. If it's just some issues here and there typically with the car, I believe it should still be bearable, given from what I see, the maintenance costs and parts are still rather affordable. Just to make sure I don't get confused, are you referring to the older Almera, before 2020 where it's a brand new model? Just making sure as that would likely be the one to fit my affordability level  biggrin.gif
Yes.. the 1.5 version.. not the 1.0 turbo.
Thrust
post May 1 2022, 07:17 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ Apr 30 2022, 05:12 PM)
Today get my rear bearing change with NTN and also the break shoe
Didn't know that the labour cost is RM140 for both left and right.

Is other place labour cost that high?

BTW the original bearing is NTN not Tan Chong brand. The foreman show me after he took out.
TBH, RM140 for the labour to replace both bearings is reasonable. It might seems like an easy job but I assure you, if you DIY, it will take hours to replace these bearings.

Nowadays, just changing engine oil, the labour cost is already around RM30-RM40.

This post has been edited by Thrust: May 1 2022, 07:18 AM
Thrust
post May 2 2022, 07:22 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ May 1 2022, 06:02 PM)
nobody?  sweat.gif
Hoo Car Cooler
Address: Ground Floor, No.13A, Jalan PJS 1/48, Taman Petaling Utama, 46000 Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Hours:
Closed â‹… Opens 9:30AM
Eid al-Fitr/Labor Day (Observed) might affect these hours
Phone: 019-226 8793

The shop is ran by an uncle with his young sons. Quite an experience aircond foreman and all my cars are sent to him for repair / service.

Price is not cheap and also not expensive. At least he won't con you into simply replacing parts which are still working.
Thrust
post May 16 2022, 05:04 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Anyone here experience engine knocking sound for the few 2-3 seconds from cold start... This happens only if the car isn't started for 3 days beyond..

If start daily, there's no such sound.
Thrust
post May 18 2022, 09:58 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ May 18 2022, 09:01 AM)
Nope never happen to me. erm perhaps its time to do some engine flushing or get new EO? Since its only 2-3 sec... i would say its normal. But on the safe side i think if its time to do some service maybe change a better or different brand EO? 

If not, maybe its wear and tear or sticky oil residue in the engine... or worse off there is some debris in the oil filter causing some delay in the EO to be circulated in the engine...
Plan to sell off the car soon as the condition is not in good shape now.
Thrust
post May 18 2022, 11:18 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ May 18 2022, 10:55 AM)
oh, whats your replacement ride then?
The Almera is now a spare car and nobody is using it... So better sell lor.
Thrust
post May 18 2022, 03:06 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ May 18 2022, 02:55 PM)
i see. Yes I agree. the longer you leave the car untouched, the more problems that pop up. Better to let it go before prices go down or more parts go bad.

Ehem, if there is any modded parts that you wanna let go. maybe got some ppl wanna buy LOL.
I have spare front brake pads for it... Tan Chong brand punya and it is new.
Thrust
post May 20 2022, 10:19 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ May 20 2022, 10:11 AM)
maybe compressor fan
Nope.. very obvious it is internal engine knocking sound.. due to starve of oil.
Thrust
post May 21 2022, 03:55 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

This morning I went to Carsome to get a quote of the car value..

Surprisingly the price they offered is quite reasonable.. Year 2013, Almera auto basic spec... Condition is quite bad with dents here and there, cracked rear lamp and etc.

They offer rm20k.
Thrust
post May 21 2022, 04:50 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ May 21 2022, 03:58 PM)
Wow, I'm impressed too. I guess now they have their own repair shop they don't mind the dents. So now head to myTukar and ask as well... Maybe you could just sell it off without putting in more money to fix it.
Lazy lor... I THINK Carsome price is quite reasonable already so most likely will proceed with them.

You dowan to upgrade to the new Almera turboe.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1483sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:22 PM