Conversion AVI to DIVX or VCD for my DIVX/DVD player?, No loss of quality possible? DIVX FAQ?

TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 08:55 AM, updated 20y ago

490 posts

Believe me, I've tried many many software for conversion and ripping so far and all have produced video that has bad pixelation or lagging.

What's the best way to watch my AVI files on my Philips 530 player (which can play DIVX, dunno what that means)?

Isn't there any way to maintain the same quality of video? Is it dependent on software or codecs?

In order to play on DIVX/DVD player, can I put more than one AVI files in one CD or DVD? How about folders?

This post has been edited by laowai: Sep 13 2006, 11:44 AM
zeese
post Sep 13 2006, 09:00 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

I also used philips to play divx, the cheap model one.
It can play mpeg, avi, divx, xvid, etc. No need to do any conversion.
TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 09:08 AM

490 posts

No need conversion? You mean just burn the avi on CD-ROM and play?

I tried yesterday but got error saying unrecognisable. Do I need to do conversion?

I'm confused with DIVX. Is AVI = DIVX? If not, then why does some conversion programs show option to convert to "AVI/DIVX", as though they are the same?

TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 09:10 AM

490 posts

My model is Philips 530, I'm still trying to find the manual (not sure where I put it). Tried searching on net, but can't find yet.
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 13 2006, 09:12 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

DIVX files have the extension .AVI - which may be what confuses you, as Video for Windows ALSO uses the same extension.

The problem is (AFAIK) that even within DIVX or XVID (also AVI) there are a host of other issues going on (codecs, etc etc) that may affect final playback. If your DVD player already supports DIVX, the .AVI files should play as normal - if not some conversion MAY be necessary.
TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 09:20 AM

490 posts

Aha! Finally heard confirmation that AVI = DIVX and sometimes not. How do I know if it's DIVX or not?

I have been trying so many conversion softwares by converting the first few seconds of the AVI. The playback of the output files are very pixelated and worse than the AVI playback. That's how I compare.

Based on the bad quality, I didn't even bother to burn to CD for playback on my Philips.

Based on my tests above, it can't be due to codecs problem 'cos the original AVI playback shows no pixelation. The same codec can be used to convert, right?

This post has been edited by laowai: Sep 13 2006, 09:27 AM
TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 09:58 AM

490 posts

Tried right click my original AVI file and choosing "Properties" in Windows Explorer. In summary screen, it says "Video compression : DIVX codec"

This must mean it's already DIVX AVI ?!

What do I do next to play on my Philips DIVX/DVD Player? Convert to VCD or just burn direct?
SUSMatrix
post Sep 13 2006, 10:08 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Let me get this straight:

(1) ur original source file is already in DIVX format based on ur last post.

okay, so does playing the original file on PC produce good quality? No problem? If it does, you shouldn't need any conversion if ur DVD player support DIVX. Just burn the original file to a CD and it should play. Have u try just burn it as a normal data CD with the AVI file? Don't convert to VCD. VCD image will suck.

btw, i rip lotsa DVD=>DIVX and watch it on my XBOX. It has full DD5.1/DTS sound and the image quality is excellent and i usually set the rip quality at 60% to 75% of the original DVD.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 13 2006, 10:09 AM
TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 10:33 AM

490 posts

Is there a better way to check if my AVI is DIVX format, other than windows explorer? I tried with AVI player or Windows media player, but can't seem to see video info.

I guess if it's DIVX format, it should be able to play direct from my player then. Have to try burning again.

As for your XBOX playback, are u burning to DVD or CDRom?

If I get a DVD writer, would fitting all my AVIs into one dvd actually work during playback? Does the player (or your Xbox) allow you to choose?

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 13 2006, 10:08 AM)
Let me get this straight:

(1) ur original source file is already in DIVX format based on ur last post.

okay, so does playing the original file on PC produce good quality? No problem? If it does, you shouldn't need any conversion if ur DVD player support DIVX. Just burn the original file to a CD and it should play. Have u try just burn it as a normal data CD with the AVI file? Don't convert to VCD. VCD image will suck.

btw, i rip lotsa DVD=>DIVX and watch it on my XBOX. It has full DD5.1/DTS sound and the image quality is excellent and i usually set the rip quality at 60% to 75% of the original DVD.
shinjite
post Sep 13 2006, 11:05 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Sep 13 2006, 08:55 AM)
Believe me, I've tried many many software for conversion and ripping so far and all have produced video that has bad pixelation or lagging.

What's the best way to watch my AVI files on my Philips 530 player (which can play DIVX, dunno what that means)?

Isn't there any way to maintain the same quality of video? Is it dependent on software or codecs?
DivX is the fourcc of the video. If your video extension is DIVX, its a DivX file which can be played
AVI is just a container. So if you say that your player can play DivX, and if your avi file has a DivX encoded video in it? Just burn as data and play it straight into your player.

If your avi has the Xvid encoded video inside it, just change the fourcc to DivX and your player is able to play.

1 more thing that you need to note, if your player is NTSC and ur source is a PAL, better change the 23.976fps/29.9fps if not it will jerk throughout the video. I dunno about PAL players playing NTSC material, should be the same jerkiness....
TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 11:09 AM

490 posts

What's "fourcc"?
TSlaowai
post Sep 13 2006, 11:20 AM

490 posts

I just made a small breakthrough.

Using VIDEO CONVERT MASTER, I can view the AVI information. It seems my video compression is DIVX 5.0.5 Codec (whatever that means, but proves it's DIVX avi)

Also with this software, I got the best converted mpg, by tweaking the bitrates!

If I don't get my player to play the DIVX, looks like I have to do it the hard way .... AVI -> MPG -> VCD

SUSMatrix
post Sep 13 2006, 04:46 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Sep 13 2006, 10:33 AM)
Is there a better way to check if my AVI is DIVX format, other than windows explorer? I tried with AVI player or Windows media player, but can't seem to see video info.

I guess if it's DIVX format, it should be able to play direct from my player then. Have to try burning again.

As for your XBOX playback, are u burning to DVD or CDRom?

If I get a DVD writer, would fitting all my AVIs into one dvd actually work during playback? Does the player (or your Xbox) allow you to choose?
I transfer the DIVX file (in AVI format) to the XBOX Hard disk. Alternatively, i can just burn it to CD and pop it into the DVD-ROM and it'll play. And yes, it does allow me to select the files.

btw, my XBOX only has DIVX codec up to 5.x.x but it still plays the AVI i encode using the latest codec 6.2.5, except that it dun support the chapter splitter function of the DIVX 6 AVIs.

So i guess u should able to playback regarding of what version u encode it in.

shinjite
post Sep 13 2006, 06:45 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Sep 13 2006, 11:20 AM)
I just made a small breakthrough.

Using VIDEO CONVERT MASTER, I can view the AVI information. It seems my video compression is DIVX 5.0.5 Codec (whatever that means, but proves it's DIVX avi)

Also with this software, I got the best converted mpg, by tweaking the bitrates!

If I don't get my player to play the DIVX, looks like I have to do it the hard way .... AVI -> MPG -> VCD
It doesn't matter if its DivX 5/6 or lower, as long as the decoder is DivX capable, all DivX videos can be played smile.gif

0.0145sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:18 PM