Conversion AVI to DIVX or VCD for my DIVX/DVD player?, No loss of quality possible? DIVX FAQ?

SUSMatrix
post Sep 13 2006, 10:08 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Let me get this straight:

(1) ur original source file is already in DIVX format based on ur last post.

okay, so does playing the original file on PC produce good quality? No problem? If it does, you shouldn't need any conversion if ur DVD player support DIVX. Just burn the original file to a CD and it should play. Have u try just burn it as a normal data CD with the AVI file? Don't convert to VCD. VCD image will suck.

btw, i rip lotsa DVD=>DIVX and watch it on my XBOX. It has full DD5.1/DTS sound and the image quality is excellent and i usually set the rip quality at 60% to 75% of the original DVD.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Sep 13 2006, 10:09 AM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 13 2006, 04:46 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Sep 13 2006, 10:33 AM)
Is there a better way to check if my AVI is DIVX format, other than windows explorer? I tried with AVI player or Windows media player, but can't seem to see video info.

I guess if it's DIVX format, it should be able to play direct from my player then. Have to try burning again.

As for your XBOX playback, are u burning to DVD or CDRom?

If I get a DVD writer, would fitting all my AVIs into one dvd actually work during playback? Does the player (or your Xbox) allow you to choose?
I transfer the DIVX file (in AVI format) to the XBOX Hard disk. Alternatively, i can just burn it to CD and pop it into the DVD-ROM and it'll play. And yes, it does allow me to select the files.

btw, my XBOX only has DIVX codec up to 5.x.x but it still plays the AVI i encode using the latest codec 6.2.5, except that it dun support the chapter splitter function of the DIVX 6 AVIs.

So i guess u should able to playback regarding of what version u encode it in.

0.0151sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:48 PM