30 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

USA Stock Discussion v6, Midterm Elections! U.S. Jobs Report!

AVFAN
post Mar 7 2015, 01:55 AM

24,454 posts

stocks down 1%, crude down 2.5%.

eur/usd down 1.6%, approaching parity!

monday, we'll see many currencies get whacked.

rm likely 3.70.

better go shopping for imported foodstuff soon, and before gst kicks in! laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 7 2015, 09:58 AM

24,454 posts

with miserable rm, still costly to buy more even with correction.

will really have to pick carefully.

xle... i'll buy more at 73; xlv, will top up at 69. tongue.gif

meanwhile, my holidays will be restricted to klang-pj-kl, very acceptable. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 7 2015, 11:43 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(watzisname @ Mar 7 2015, 11:18 AM)
How do you all buy ETFs? I cannot buy direct using my RHB account, need to go through remisier
cimb's itrade offer several overseas bourses to buy/sell online - nyse, nasdaq, hkse, sgx, thailand, indon. us markets include etf's. others like uk, australia - can only do offline thru broker.

not sure but i think mbb offers the same. rhb can't do us etf's online... not surprised becos recently someone reported hlb also cannot.

others may not be using local ib's but foreign brokerage houses. the former is a lot more expensive than the latter in terms of min brokerage, so not good for trading but ok for longer term holding. the former's main benefit is you can leverage yr total holdings in all bourses n currencies for any trade in any bourse, e.g. with sgx stocks paid up, you can trade us stocks if u wish.

my experience with cimb's itrade for foreign equities has been fine, incl reliability of platform, spread of fx and processing of dividends.

AVFAN
post Mar 7 2015, 08:53 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 7 2015, 06:42 PM)
but much could RM rebound (if ever)? that's the big question. 3.50? i bet the day of 3.30 may have left us far far, don't mentioned below 3.00.  unsure.gif
depends who u ask. ask jibkor or jeti, it shud be 3.00 becos everything is v good.

ask some experts, some say 3.73 is about right, some say it will go beyond that.

i only think about why it is the worst performing asian currency in the last 1 wk, 1 mth, 1 yr; what seeds have been sowed and if they will mean recovery or further depr. answer - i leave it to yr own analysis n imagination... tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 8 2015, 11:03 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 8 2015, 03:48 AM)
did zeti mention 3.00?

well, we are oil producer and oil is major contribution to the country, so that all make sense. Furthermore, 1MDB has serious problem on integrity which can lead to serious "asset quality issue" (if we look at a country in a whole as an asset). So for me, degrading of RM makes good sense actually. Lets see how they manage the 1MDB issue, and see how oil price going forward.  biggrin.gif
no specific no. has been mentioned so far. only "undervalued".

well, the strange thing is there is a now lot of contention as to whether msia is still a net exporter or importer of oil. gomen officials hv taken pain to say msia is now a net oil importer but is still a net petroleum exporter when gas is included. banks and intl analysts insist it is net oil exporter. while 30% of gomen revenues comes from oil, there is a huge oil import bill too. so, perhaps it is at a neutral point...?

i think the weak rm is not just about oil anymore. more to do with little fdi, decreasing foreign funds in bursa, illicit outflows, unrelenting habit of borrowing more, confidence, etc. 1 mdb is certainly having an effect - if gomen/fin ministry declares a total bailout (consistent with past records of such bailouts n rakyat forgeting quickly so can do it again), we'll see significant rm movement again.

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Mar 8 2015, 09:17 AM)
Lower rm can have advantages too. Declining exchange in asia can attract western monies and who knows they could be rushing in for our local equities.
Having said this, local arena looks bleak with 1mdb and political sh@t !
advantages of weak rm... only for exporters in usd like rubber glove and palm oil cos., their shareholders, directors and employees, maybe tax dept too. disadvantages, no need to list....

weak currency->attract foreign money to local equities...? i think they will come if they can see the currency strengthening and not continuing to depr against their own currency. as it is now, i believe foreign funds are still net sellers every month for the past 1 yr or so. which probably partly explains bursa's sterile behavior lately - 54% bursa is owned by glc's, local funds like epf, local syndicates and punters trading but little foreign participation. and dun forget not only the rm is the worst performing currency in asia in 2014; bursa is also the worst performer among asian bourses in 2014, losing 13%:
http://www.therakyatpost.com/business/2014...ian-currencies/
http://www.bourseinvestment.com/content/wp...utlook-2015.pdf
looking ahead, have things changed or major efforts put in place to reverse the trends? that's the big question, isn't it?!

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 8 2015, 10:22 AM)
Not sure about equities but maybe some fixed assets.
But then asset price in Malaysia gone up faster than declining ringgit.
10 yrs ago, I can buy a fairly nice house in Klang Valley for US100K
Now, same house cost US200K.

Inflation in Malaysia --> like rocket ship!  shocking.gif
quite true - house prices doubled in last 10 years. some doubled in last 5 yrs!
food prices (except some veg, i suppose) have also doubled in last 10 yrs.
salaries probably average 30-40%.
the effects are clear!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 8 2015, 11:50 AM
AVFAN
post Mar 9 2015, 07:17 PM

24,454 posts

looks like a very uncertain, maybe volatile session tonite.

aapl launches apple watch-spring forward

if well received, price rise, nasdaq rise, all is good. laugh.gif

oil is dead... xle/oih will weigh...
AVFAN
post Mar 10 2015, 09:43 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 10 2015, 08:41 AM)
Very close to 75'ish... almost there.  brows.gif
haiz...

even at 75, very hard to buy with rm.

now 3.69 - that's more expensive than buying at 77@3.50!

will have to sit out for a while... sad.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 10 2015, 09:58 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 10 2015, 09:48 AM)
Why? I thought you have a USD denominated funded account already.

Do they charge you the conversion rate on the spot only when you ready to buy ?  hmm.gif
yes, spot rate used each time i buy with rm.

becos i dun wanna keep unused funds in usd for too long - no int earned for fx.

usd only with dividends or proceeds from selling.

still, glad that my holdings were all bought at 3.45-3.60. hence some profit in rm! laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 10 2015, 03:16 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 10 2015, 03:02 PM)
gotta wait for RM to rebound....maybe 3.50  laugh.gif
think not so easy...

everyday, there is some report saying "msia abc.xyz worst performer..."

today, this one:
Malaysia company dollar bonds are Asia's worst performing this year
http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/stocks/mal...rming-this-year

fyi, rm touched 3.70/usd this morning.
AVFAN
post Mar 11 2015, 12:36 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 10 2015, 08:41 AM)
Very close to 75'ish... almost there.  brows.gif
one more bust session and you're there! brows.gif

but i can't join you - rm too weak.
AVFAN
post Mar 13 2015, 01:01 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 12 2015, 10:01 PM)
I'm in!   sweat.gif
oil n energy looking pretty weak...

will oil go to 30? hmm.gif
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...her-price-crash

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 10 2015, 03:02 PM)
gotta wait for RM to rebound....maybe 3.50  laugh.gif
some speculation on the subject... sweat.gif
Rate cuts: 24 so far and there's more to come

An interest rate cut from South Korea Thursday takes the number of central banks that have stepped up their monetary easing this year to 24 and that number is likely to rise, analysts say.
South Korea's decision to cut its key rate by 25 basis points to a record low of 1.75 percent follows a rate cut by Thailand's central bank on Wednesday and easing by central banks in China, India and Poland since March began.

Russia and Malaysia are among the countries that economists say could join the growing list of central banks that have slashed borrowing costs since the start of the year.
http://www.cnbc.com/id/102499561

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 13 2015, 02:19 AM
AVFAN
post Mar 13 2015, 09:15 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 13 2015, 07:46 AM)
Ssh...don't say that.

Between 47 and 52 is sweet spot for Oil (WTI). Don't go lower.. ok?  sweat.gif
hehe... biggrin.gif

i had hoped it stay above 48 but has gone to 47 again.

usd seems to keep going up, not good for oil price.

will hv to watch closely...
AVFAN
post Mar 13 2015, 10:51 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Mar 13 2015, 10:19 AM)
maybe USD correction is on its way.... biggrin.gif
doesn't look like it for now.

more countries do easing or lower rates while us hawkish on rate rise!

i see yen, won, sgd, myr all losing every week! laugh.gif

it will stabilize sometime... just dunno when...?

AVFAN
post Mar 13 2015, 06:30 PM

24,454 posts

something to watch tonite; it's a friday....

Brent falls below $57 on dollar rally
http://www.cnbc.com/id/102501923

and futures showing flat-lower...

i got my coffee ready. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 13 2015, 06:31 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 13 2015, 10:15 PM

24,454 posts

sea of red....
AVFAN
post Mar 13 2015, 11:16 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 13 2015, 10:25 PM)
Still less than 1%.. don't panic yet.
i see the oil stocks, i panic! biggrin.gif

xle not too bad, think excellent support at 74.

AVFAN
post Mar 13 2015, 11:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 7 2015, 04:42 AM)
Wow... USD to Euro going parity soon.
Good time to plan for vacation in Europe..  laugh.gif
it's not too early for you to plan yr holiday in europe.

parity might be achieved within days! laugh.gif

looks like another round of battering for many asian currencies next week.
AVFAN
post Mar 14 2015, 11:23 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Mar 14 2015, 11:05 AM)
Chances are the US will want to make hay while the sun shines and delay the rate hike a bit.
i think so too. while yellen/fed maintains their hawkish stance, they r not stupid not to see what other nations r doing to their rates n currencies now. likely they will take their time to hike rate since other nations may already be doing the job for them!

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Mar 14 2015, 09:05 AM)
If rm hits 4.0 i just cant imagine what could be the impact. dont think i can last another round of  'crisis' ?
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Mar 14 2015, 11:06 AM)
Don't worry. If you're like me, you've been through tough times.
yep, the old gets wiser. biggrin.gif

at this time, indications r the usd trend will continue given europe only just started a massive qe program and all commodity prices - from oil to gold to sugar - continue to slump to multi yr lows. all emerging markets and commodity exporting nations are pretty helpless as this time. what is scary is if and when china do a massive qe too! it's currency wars at work.
AVFAN
post Mar 15 2015, 11:12 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 15 2015, 09:00 AM)
at USD brokerage acc, i'm fully invested, no more fund to buy stock.

that why seeking opinion whether is it good time to TT in more RM to USD brokerage account but the forex too high rm3.7=usd1.
i faced this challenge when rate was 3.4, 3.5, 3.6.

i place more emphasis on the usd price of the equity, if it is a good price to buy at any time. if i m targeting a certain stock at a certain price, i most likely will just go for it if it hits the price.

but yes, it is more difficult now that it is 3.7. the only thing i can do now is get really picky and patient. if it is simply too costly in my view, i just don't buy.

fx spread at even 0.3% is not a big problem unless u trade a lot, which i don't.

scenario of 3.7->3.5... in the foreseeable future, if one actually think that may happen, it will make no sense to buy us stocks. better off putting in bursa or vanilla fd.

as to the question will it go from 3.7 to 3.73, 3.77, 3.80, 4.0... who knows, who dare to say? everyone assesses the variables differently. what i read, there is no consensus where it will get to and stabilize. so, for now, i just to watch the number every morning.

AVFAN
post Mar 16 2015, 10:37 AM

24,454 posts

this may be interesting and significant on the usd:

Beware the $300 Billion Shift Into Treasuries Coming From Japan

The greenback is forecast to climb 4.6 percent further against the yen in the coming year.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ming-from-japan

30 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0412sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:38 PM