The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V4, GAME ON! November 6th, 2014

slickz
post Nov 6 2014, 03:41 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

Come share your impressions of the phone biggrin.gif How do you find the phone's shape? Thickness?
slickz
post Nov 6 2014, 02:18 PM

2,149 posts

I wonder how many will decide to change to 6 after using 6 plus?

So far one of my friends did. Sold off his 6 plus for a silver 6
slickz
post Nov 6 2014, 09:50 PM

2,149 posts

Just had a brief hands on with the plus. It's certainly bigger than the 6 all right, but it's not as wide as expected.

I tried to type it one handed and sure enough the flesh on my thumb touches the return key. But amazingly, unlike when I tested on samsung's phone where it registered the touch, it didn't happen this time. I think it's the iOS preventing accidental touches from being recognized as valid input.

Tried to verify this but the demo unit battery died.

Yet still, even if this critical issue is solved, it doesn't get rid of the other issues with having a bigger phone. I still like how the 6 fits in my hand better.

This post has been edited by slickz: Nov 6 2014, 09:53 PM
slickz
post Nov 7 2014, 07:40 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 7 2014, 02:10 AM)
I don't find whatsapp ugly either on my ip6+

[attachmentid=4204491]

What is so ugly about it?
It's simply because it's too big for some tastes, and it should have been smaller if we turned the auto text resizing to the smallest in settings.

Try and set text to smallest in settings and open telegram and compare.

I just checked the App Store and there was no update since sept 23. I'm sure they're working on a fix.

slickz
post Nov 7 2014, 08:35 PM

2,149 posts

Btw Swype is currently free! I'm really trying to get used to it. Even going so far as to input some commonly used words
slickz
post Nov 7 2014, 09:08 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Renee @ Nov 7 2014, 09:02 PM)
Hi guys,

Why the whatsapp resolution and fonts so ugly on iphone 6?
Haven't updated yet lorr
slickz
post Nov 7 2014, 10:06 PM

2,149 posts

All quoting the same article that has no valid source. If it were legit news, we would have seen much more widespread reports about these "boot loops" even more than bend gate.
slickz
post Nov 8 2014, 11:31 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Nov 8 2014, 10:01 AM)
Huh F off la android paid fanboy. I monitored u and u have been posting negative posts in apple threads.
FYI apple has already blocked the malware coz by installing pirate apps. Check ur facts b4 spamming.
FYI that article is mentioning that apple IS blocking the malware. It's not an anti-Apple article.
slickz
post Nov 9 2014, 06:02 AM

2,149 posts

Day 22 of using the 6. Hmmm with my 6 so far the only repeated crashes are whatsapp. I've given up trying to use third party keyboards.

It wouldn't pop up during certain system functions and apps which is pretty damn annoying. Like during spotlight search, LYN forum popup box to jump to specified page in a thread, games where you need to enter a name, occasionally in whatsapp too.

Also the warning that the keyboard may transmit info to third parties when entering passwords or credit card info isn't doing much to my confidence using it.
slickz
post Nov 9 2014, 07:54 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(hafez13 @ Nov 9 2014, 07:40 AM)
Got this battery life on When 3G on for 3-4 hours and wifi on later

Expected a bit more , like 6-7 hours
Is this normal though?
always mention if it's a 6 or 6+. They have very different battery life.
slickz
post Nov 9 2014, 09:49 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(jin_akira @ Nov 9 2014, 01:23 AM)
yeah i always put my phone in my front pocket, never at the back. just worried that the case i got (or will get in the future) might not help provide a solid frame to avoid it from bending.
I'm about as concerned as you are on the bending issue. With this case, I'm quite assured the phone will never bend under normal circumstances. brows.gif

slickz
post Nov 9 2014, 09:54 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 9 2014, 09:51 AM)
Nice case smile.gif Does it add extra weight/bulk to the phone?
Not as much as most people would think. It's as thick as a naked iphone 4, except for the slight lip of the case.

It's holding a 0.235 kg 10,400mA power bank in the pic above, without an iphone inside. laugh.gif
slickz
post Nov 9 2014, 02:56 PM

2,149 posts

Weekend! Found that PQI lightning cable fits the phone with thile casing perfectly, and also RM20 cheaper than original lightning cables. Sold.

Oh, here's a macro shot with the phone, for anyone wondering if it can do good closeup shots

slickz
post Nov 9 2014, 11:18 PM

2,149 posts

-don't worry about the yellow tint, it's probably the same story like last time with the ipad's screen. The glue on the screen during manufacturing hasn't fully cured as its fresh from the factory.

-lag on whatsapp? uninstall and reinstall.

-charging with the iPad shouldn't be any problem, agree with what has been stated. The problem with your previous iPhone's battery may be due to other external factors like using substandard quality imitation powerbank, charging cable, or car charger.
slickz
post Nov 10 2014, 12:19 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Nov 10 2014, 12:05 AM)
Still can't satisfield with 6's battery life...
Is it related to I didn't charged it for 8 hours first time?
Nowadays technology no need to charge that long anymore right
What was your expectation on the battery life? Perhaps the battery life was overestimated.

Lithium ion batteries are not like batteries back then 6-7 years ago.

The way to treat them is now different. You do not need to charge them a long time before use, nor do you need to fully charge and discharge them like nickel cadmium batteries of old.

Read up on how to care for apple's batteries on the support page.

This post has been edited by slickz: Nov 10 2014, 12:22 AM
slickz
post Nov 10 2014, 12:23 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Nov 9 2014, 11:25 PM)
dont think so will fix anything for now, wait for them to update whatsapp. So far not really optimize yet.
It did solve the problem for some forumers. My whatsapp personally did not lag at all, just that it will crash.
slickz
post Nov 10 2014, 09:26 PM

2,149 posts

Super weird day. My friend got his phone delivered one day ahead of time, but few hours later poslaju came back and wanted the package back!

Apparently there was a f*** up in logistics and the actual unit will come later.

Imagine the feeling! If it were me I would.....
slickz
post Nov 10 2014, 09:55 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(sonic_sphere @ Nov 10 2014, 09:40 PM)
Thats really weird... How come they delivered the item to the wrong person... So ur friend already unbox the iPhone or not?
Nope, they were lucky he was at work. Free free can kena tiow in person. The proxy took photos of the man taking back the phone as well as his plate number to make sure no hanky panky.

slickz
post Nov 10 2014, 10:11 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(biatch0 @ Nov 10 2014, 09:58 PM)
IPhone 6+ battery life is impressive so far (assuming I don't use Waze)...
I wonder what it's like to not have to charge every night... haha!
slickz
post Nov 11 2014, 12:15 AM

2,149 posts

WSL999 I hope that's not your plate number lol

Have you updated your iOS? It could be the reason.

Btw, I have stopped letting my iphone discharge until it reach less than 10% batt life after I read that this hurts the battery's lifetime in the long run if done too often.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0485sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:26 AM