Kung Fu Jungle (一個人的武林), Don't miss this one if you have time!

SUSInF.anime
post Oct 31 2014, 02:59 AM, updated 12y ago

2,695 posts

Hi watched it! It's very nice!
Best contemporary Chinese fighting action movie for me.

Its really worth a watch!

This post has been edited by InF.anime: Oct 31 2014, 03:18 AM
SUSSammich!
post Oct 31 2014, 07:41 AM

620 posts

What is the story about? DUn tell me fight from start to end only?

Like that better watch wrestling
SUSRaikkonen
post Oct 31 2014, 08:36 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Morning happy.gif

Hong Kong's version of hero tua (old hero) laugh.gif

uk15029
post Oct 31 2014, 09:30 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Oct 31 2014, 08:41 AM)
What is the story about? DUn tell me fight from start to end only?

Like that better watch wrestling
you compare chinese kung fu with wrestling?

Oh well, please do not watch this movie then.

uk15029
post Oct 31 2014, 09:31 AM

1,031 posts

its the best donnie yen 2014 movies.

Probably one of the best of donnie yen movie
tergezut
post Oct 31 2014, 09:32 AM

20 posts

i like chinese kung fu movie

This post has been edited by tergezut: Oct 31 2014, 09:32 AM
tonYe
post Oct 31 2014, 10:12 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

In terms of plot, it's the best Donnie Yen film in the past 2 years.
In terms of action choreography, Special ID was better to me.
mf_yamato
post Oct 31 2014, 10:41 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Oct 31 2014, 10:12 AM)
but special ID plot sucks big time.. all the product placement, those car chase were draggy... pppfffttttt
SUSInF.anime
post Oct 31 2014, 11:39 AM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Oct 31 2014, 10:12 AM)
If you learned any martial arts, then you will see choreography in this one is better. Special ID was just too fake.

This post has been edited by InF.anime: Oct 31 2014, 01:45 PM
geolee
post Oct 31 2014, 12:27 PM

135 posts

this action directing of course better as it highlight certain part of fights nicely. for example legs, fist, and etc..
tonYe
post Oct 31 2014, 02:20 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Oct 31 2014, 10:41 AM)
but special ID plot sucks big time.. all the product placement, those car chase were draggy... pppfffttttt
Indeed, not just the plot. The dubbing was annoying and the dialogues were cheesy as hell as well. But its fight choreography was way grittier than Kung Fu Jungle. But then again it really depends whether the audience would prefer to watch realistic fight action, or doesn't mind the old skool over-the-top traditional kung fu.

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Oct 31 2014, 11:39 AM)
If you learned any martial arts, then you will see choreography in this one is better. Special ID was just too fake.
LOL you trolling? You're comparing traditional Chinese kung fu to MMA. And yes, I've learnt martial arts. And I'm perhaps the only MMA blogger in Malaysia. What martial arts have you learnt that would allow you to fight on hanging artworks, breaking bones with fingers and jump a distance that's humanly impossible?

EDIT: Sorry, what I meant previously was Special ID's fight choreography of Donnie Yen, not the ridiculous car chase action or the chick's fight scenes.

This post has been edited by tonYe: Oct 31 2014, 03:49 PM
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Oct 31 2014, 03:04 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Oct 31 2014, 02:20 PM)
Indeed, not just the plot. The dubbing was annoying and the dialogues were cheesy as hell as well. But its fight choreography was way grittier than Kung Fu Jungle. But then again it really depends whether the audience would prefer to watch realistic fight action, or doesn't mind the old skool over-the-top traditional kung fu.
LOL you trolling? You're comparing traditional Chinese kung fu to MMA. And yes, I've learnt martial arts. And I'm perhaps the only MMA blogger in Malaysia. What martial arts have you learnt that would allow you to fight on hanging artworks, breaking bones with fingers and jump a distance that's humanly impossible?
if u know how martial art works, you will how a human can break bones of another human easily
even use the "grab" technique to grab the flesh off the joints

tonYe
post Oct 31 2014, 03:11 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Oct 31 2014, 03:04 PM)
if u know how martial art works, you will how a human can break bones of another human easily
even use the "grab" technique to grab the flesh off the joints
If you know how to read, you would understand that I did not say that it's impossible for a human to break another human's bone easily.
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Oct 31 2014, 03:19 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Oct 31 2014, 03:11 PM)
If you know how to read, you would understand that I did not say that it's impossible for a human to break another human's bone easily.
if u really know MMA, there is no difficulty in body slamming a tiger or even a bear

all it takes is determination and will power
tonYe
post Oct 31 2014, 03:23 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Oct 31 2014, 03:19 PM)
if u really know MMA, there is no difficulty in body slamming a tiger or even a bear

all it takes is determination and will power
You don't need to know MMA to body slam a tiger or a bear, my friend. All it takes is strength and animal sedation.
greyshadow
post Oct 31 2014, 03:53 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

IMO, this is definitely one of the best martial arts movie in recent years

lots of tributes to the old school HK martial art movies contributors, and a few familiar faces as cameo as well.

For the plot, nothing new and surprising, but you don't need a special plot for a good martial art movie, as all of the fighting scenes is top notch and keeping you at the edge of the seat
Most of the fighting involved different disciplines of chinese martial arts, and you may see a few moves of Judo as well in the final fight scene.

Any fans of martial arts or action movie definitely should go watch this!

overall, I give it 4.5/5 just for the action alone

* another reason I go watch is because of Charlie Yeung, my goddess of yesteryear wub.gif oh man, she doesn't age well cry.gif
SUSInF.anime
post Oct 31 2014, 05:08 PM

2,695 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Oct 31 2014, 03:53 PM)
IMO, this is definitely one of the best martial arts movie in recent years

lots of tributes to the old school HK martial art movies contributors, and a few familiar faces as cameo as well.

For the plot, nothing new and surprising, but you don't need a special plot for a good martial art movie, as all of the fighting scenes is top notch and keeping you at the edge of the seat
Most of the fighting involved different disciplines of chinese martial arts, and you may see a few moves of Judo as well in the final fight scene.

Any fans of martial arts or action movie definitely should go watch this!

overall, I give it 4.5/5 just for the action alone
* another reason I go watch is because of Charlie Yeung, my goddess of yesteryear wub.gif  oh man, she doesn't age well cry.gif
Yes, I saw one nice Uchi mata and some Jujitsu techniques. Kam nah is quite impressive too.
But my favourite is the long pole part, as this weapon is very very hard to master.

The fight scenes at the road is impressive, real man fight on the street.

Teddy Wong was not bad too (ShaoLin practitioner himself), just that I didn't expect Donny can win such easy. Actually I saw Donny starting to win after using Judo technique.. haha guess Teddy not yet familiar with it that's why he get whack.

This post has been edited by InF.anime: Oct 31 2014, 05:16 PM
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Oct 31 2014, 05:32 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Oct 31 2014, 05:08 PM)
Yes, I saw one nice Uchi mata and some Jujitsu techniques. Kam nah is quite impressive too.
But my favourite is the long pole part, as this weapon is very very hard to master.

The fight scenes at the road is impressive, real man fight on the street.

Teddy Wong was not bad too (ShaoLin practitioner himself), just that I didn't expect Donny can win such easy. Actually I saw Donny starting to win after using Judo technique.. haha guess Teddy not yet familiar with it that's why he get whack.
u tahu ini movie kan?
tonYe
post Oct 31 2014, 07:38 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

I'm surprised nobody mentioned about the hilarious CGI, especially the fight sequence under the moving vehicles at the end.
party
post Oct 31 2014, 08:44 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Oct 31 2014, 05:32 PM)
u tahu ini movie kan?
Jangan persoal. He learnt /k board martial arts.

On a side note..thanks for the review from everyone. Will definitely pick this up to watch in cinema. smile.gif

0.0214sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:35 AM