6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Official Thread V4, Owner please register yourself in post 3

benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 07:16 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Nephrite @ Nov 4 2014, 07:08 AM)
Your really a bad boy. Influence my brain to root my phone. Now i saw many people root already me still stock. I am thinking to root. Arrrrrr cannot tahan. I think this Sunday i will root. brows.gif

The IMEI Backup is it compulsory to do ?
Please do it as it takes only few seconds to backup
Is not compulsory but a few secs extra work doesn't harm
Do keep a copy of the backup in ext sdcard
Accidents can happen n you could lose your phone IMEI which however is unlikely in rooting

benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 11:52 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rayhvs @ Nov 4 2014, 11:31 AM)
Nice root. After the root, will the S Pen still function well??
Rooting DOES NOT kill off any features or functions of the phone. Rooting infact open system access so that you can do much more stuffs with your phone

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 4 2014, 11:52 AM
benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 01:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ Nov 4 2014, 01:16 PM)
Uncle Benny... superSU say disable KNOX do i do that or just cancel?
I selected to cancel
benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 04:54 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Finger print recognition is out for me. Most of time I failed even to check in at immigration n each time failed at Maxis n Celcom centers. Didn't even bother to test this Note4. Even the superb iphone 6+ finger recognition I had to many times press on home button to get access. At the end of day I gave that up too.
benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 07:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Nov 4 2014, 06:39 PM)
Anyone has both Iphone 6 plus and note 4? Care to review?
I have both phones
Both had its pro and cons
Which aspect are you interested in. I am not going to write an essay on both
iPhone 6+ main advantage is its insanely great battery life, which I roughly estimate to be double that of Note 4
Functionality wise the Note 4 is very much better

benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 08:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Nov 4 2014, 07:54 PM)
I am interested in the photo quality.
I am sorry I am unable to answer you that. I am simply hopeless at taking camera shots
Both phones photo quality varies each time - sometimes the ip6+ is better while sometimes the Note 4 is better
Our forumer here Andrewtst had tested his Note 4 with ip6+ too and has posted photos here too - do a search
Heard so much how good ip6+ lowlight photos were and I tested it and it all turns out very very bad even worser than Note4
However both phones I am generally happy with their camera shots as I deemed it good enough to show/share with friends, post on whatsapp and Facebook. My camera shots is definitely not going to win any awards
I will try to post some shots but my internet upload speeds is terrible uploading it to photobucket

benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 08:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Here are just 3 shots to show the ip6+ and Note 4 photos. All shots just simple click and shoot using phone default settings. The top photo is ip6+ and the bottom is Note 4. You guys judge yourself which is better. I am happy with both phones camera shots

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/tt34/le...or/IMG_0565.jpg
http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/tt34/le...1103_164259.jpg

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/tt34/le...or/IMG_0564.jpg
http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/tt34/le...1103_163436.jpg

http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/tt34/le...or/IMG_0561.jpg
http://i595.photobucket.com/albums/tt34/le...1103_162717.jpg
benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 11:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SillJexster @ Nov 4 2014, 11:16 PM)
Do you guys use adaptive display or basic for the screen mode?
Is your choice which you prefer. I chose basic as I needed the colors be less bright and saturated
And my display is on bluish tone
benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 11:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 4 2014, 11:22 PM)
How u test iphone sot? Since ios only show Usage stats. N u know usage is not same as sot
Iphone doesn't has SOT measurement. What it shows is only usage hours. I had monitor my unit n must say it's reported usage hours is close to my actual usage. So you can take it quite equivalent to Android SOT. The ip6+ consistently reports 11-12 hours usage till 5% battery left. Assuming I less it by even 1-2 hours it's battery life is still insanely great n that is a fact.
And on standby mode battery level stays unchanged even over 2-3 hours. All these are default n no need any tweaks for such battery performance

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 4 2014, 11:51 PM
benny888
post Nov 4 2014, 11:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Nov 4 2014, 11:52 PM)
I really hope somebody will make a app to provide real scientific sot numbers then this can be put to rest...12h sot is impressive
My other Mediapad X1 will get you 12 hours SOT without any tweaks. On wifi be ready for 14 hours
This Huawei phablet has a massive 5000 mAh battery n it's firmware is indeed energy efficient
benny888
post Nov 5 2014, 12:01 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Nov 4 2014, 11:54 PM)
Yea coz my ip5s usage is definitely much more than my actual sot..thats why im being sceptical
You can easily determine how close your actual usage with iPhone reported usage. Just use phone continously for say an hour n check back on usage hours.
These days I charge my ip6+ only once every 2+ days
benny888
post Nov 5 2014, 12:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Nov 5 2014, 12:00 AM)
As u said massive bat  capasity...ip6+ dont have mass batt but relly on effcient power savin ...that said if 12h sot if proven true under normal app usage im impress regardless whether I hate apple or not cause 12h sot with ip6+ batt is impressive..
There are many ip6+ users reporting similar usage hours as mine. This is main advantage of the phone over Note4 or any Android phone with about 3000 mAh battery
benny888
post Nov 6 2014, 09:57 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(D_ACE @ Nov 6 2014, 08:47 AM)
Anyway, our battery test show the 10% difference in the Endurance rating - the Galaxy Note 4 gets 87 hours, while the iPhone 6 Plus gets 79 hours. Note that we used the Snapdragon 805 version of the Galaxy phable.

it seem Note 4 SD805 have better battery life compare to exynos version.. need to wait for android L update to see if it can improve battery life.
Sometimes I really doubt the accuracy of such tests

I had both ip6+ and Note4
On sunlight legibility the ip6+ is way many times better than Note 4 and the reviewer says " The Apple iPhone 6 Plus doesn't do as well as its smaller sibling and while its result is certainly good enough, you'll have to bump up the brightness on a sunny day" - this statement is grossly wrong as far as I am concerned. The ip6+ in bright sunlight fares much better than Note 4 which one needs to drag up to maximum brightness while is not necessary as ip6+ at 20-30% brightness level is good enough. The best sunlight legibility phone I had ever used is still Nokia 1520

Battery life on my Exynos Note4 is worser than ip6+ and I guess estimate the ip6+ is way much better, probably double that of Note4

Lastly, He said Note 4 has best loudspeakers ?? Seriously the ip6+ is way much better and he rate it as the worst . I had compared these playing audio and several same video clips on both phones

I am NOT and NEVER a ip6+ fan but just pointing out the differences in my opinions vs the review

Overall personally I will rate the Note 4 as a better phone for my usage as its versatility in its Spen and functionality surpuss that of the iphone. The new ip6+ is NO longer that buttery smooth as previous ip5 and I would say the Note 4 is better in this aspect. I had posted few times on ip6 thread why I deem the Note4 is a better business phone vs ip6 and I do get some thrashback on that !!

This post has been edited by benny888: Nov 6 2014, 10:30 AM
benny888
post Nov 6 2014, 10:46 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ricadoe @ Nov 6 2014, 10:42 AM)
Each phone has their own strength and weakness. That is why it benefits us as consumers to have competition among phone makers. In the end, different users will find different phones more useful to them. I Don understand why some people will trash others for voicing out their opinion.
I am not thrashing him , just voicing my difference in opinion. Many users are easily influenced by these so called web reviewers. I always read them with open mind. And is good other users should know any other user different opinions
I only believe in my own personal usage to assess stuffs. As such I had always refused to answer which is a better phone if I had never personally used them before
benny888
post Nov 6 2014, 11:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(013 @ Nov 6 2014, 10:49 AM)
Could it be that your note4 unit have problems or could it be that all exynos note4 is not as good as SD version?
Definitely and positively my Note4 is fine. I had compared it with my friend's Note 4 too. I had been a Android user for past 7 years and having used a large variety of phones and if the phone is defective in anyway I would notice it straightaway
The only thing I do not quite like the Note 4 is its Amoled display which I still find the colors over saturated - I am now using its basic mode to tone it down

I had used all the Note series and I do know what I am saying and comparing stuffs

Loudspeaker quality - is quite similar to all previous Notes. And is still softer BUT the reviewer says is the BEST and ip6+ is the worst : a statement I really cannot accept. I had thoroughly compare playing many audio clips and video clips on both
Battery life - slightly better than Note 2/3 ( had hit best 6 hours SOT) and some users reported even hitting 7 or probably 8 hours which is still a far cry behind ip6+. I am already satisfy with its 6 hours SOT as it has a 2K display - I struggle with 3-3.5 hours on my previous Find7 which also has a 2K display. The reviewer is using a SD version but I don't think the chip difference can be so significantly difference in terms of battery life as most web reviews on SD version is reporting average 6 hours SOT too
Legibility in sunlight - the Note 4 is only slightly better than Note 3. And is very obvious the ip6+ is superb over it. You need to see it yourself to believe it

benny888
post Nov 6 2014, 01:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rusty @ Nov 6 2014, 01:42 PM)
Thanks Leo, tot this might not be the same issue with urs as the first few times the phone restarted itself i din even put in any sd card as it just fresh from the shop. Anyway i gave it a try ur way, nope... the issue still persist. 
Thanks Andrew, when i sent it back to samsung SC on Tuesday they reformat and reinstall the firmware but still restart still happen when i was stuck in jam heading home  vmad.gif
It is definitely motherboard issue with such restarts
Send in again to have it change

benny888
post Nov 6 2014, 02:29 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Mr.DC @ Nov 6 2014, 02:15 PM)
Taobao well known for selling imitation products. If is very cheap 100% is faked. Buy only knowing you won't be getting original stuffs at cheap prices
benny888
post Nov 6 2014, 02:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(DonDropUrSoap @ Nov 6 2014, 02:31 PM)
do u guys still gt do the 8hrs charging for the first time?
saw on the 1st post saying no need 8hrs charging
Modern LiOn batteries can be charge to any Level, any number of times, any time you so wish
The 8 hour advise is so ancient that is applicable to NiCad batteries only
benny888
post Nov 7 2014, 02:27 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alcali @ Nov 7 2014, 12:19 AM)
my batt sucker is google service....sighh
stock rom rooted with xposed/wanam/greenify premium/wakelock
don't know what is google service keep draining batt..but on avg I get 3hr sot
Did you try to greenify Google service ? This is always one of the Google stuffs I always greenify
benny888
post Nov 7 2014, 07:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Nov 7 2014, 02:29 AM)
Custom kernel for N910C but still in alpha stage , same developer as Ultimate kernel for Note 3
Thanks for the heads up
Those who want to try this kernel remember to use flashify first to do a backup of your stock kernel . You can use back flashify to restore the stock kernel if you do wish

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0458sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:16 AM