Aircon Discussion v2, Continuing on from previous AC topics

Antzfield
post Jan 25 2015, 05:20 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 25 2015, 05:02 PM)
Star newspaper today showed air cond price will go down after GST.  hmm.gif
Yes, read that. Does that mean is good news and defer purchase after March?

Seriously, not sure can trust or not. By theory, it is suppose to be reduced but even lots of people confuse on GST impact, including business man. Perhaps taking advantage to increase and earn higher margin? Chance of a lifetime wor
Antzfield
post Jan 25 2015, 05:34 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 25 2015, 05:28 PM)
Hard to say. Other factors may come in. Like ME unit from Thailand, exchange rate, transportation/labour cost etc etc.  shakehead.gif
Agree on that. Since you mention ME which so many people giving a thumb up. Anyone can confirm that the ME heavy industries units better than Mr Slim units?

One 'famous' electrical shops promoting Daikin very hard and claim ME parts susah to get la, service bad and so on. Hmmmmm...
Antzfield
post Mar 4 2015, 10:27 AM

496 posts

One of my aircond which served us well all these years currently blowing lower air speed, as per aircond service guy, this is due to old liao, so need to change to a new unit.

He advises to get unit that with R410a instead of R22, as it will be discontinue wef June 2015.

Question: is that true? if yes, does that mean that in future R22 type will not be able to get parts / service? I know nuts on this so appreciate advise.

By the way, I prefer Mitsubishi, if so, which type to get? thought there is standard & Deluxe model (both also R22 I think). Appreciate all smile.gif
Antzfield
post Mar 4 2015, 06:16 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 4 2015, 10:30 AM)
I wanted to get ME unit also. But I heard starting March 2015, no longer available for R22 units. You can check if still old stock available in ur area. R22 phase out in stages over years.  biggrin.gif
Oh!! really? ceased available for R22 units?

If by chance I am able to find, what will be the impact in future? ie. able to get parts, service, gas, etc?

Otherwise, ME has any R410A units but not inverter?

Antzfield
post Mar 4 2015, 09:36 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Mar 4 2015, 06:23 PM)
ME maybe will launch few month ago I guess,
You can decide Pana R410a & Daikin GA non inverter
Thanks for reply. Will check it out these few days and get it install by next week.

Currently using Panasonic and not bad. As heard so much about ME in the forum and that's why will give it a try.

If this ME is satisfying, will get it for the new house later of the year brows.gif

Antzfield
post Mar 4 2015, 11:06 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Mar 4 2015, 10:01 PM)
ME more gooding, But Pana is optional
Honestly ME used for near 6 yrs the cooling coil still look new, unlike hitachi feel like 10 yrs condition.

For me I don't mind buy for used ME inverter unit brows.gif
Gee!! Thanks. I am having the same thought, go for ME, otherwise, Panasonic also safe bet. (some shops say Pana no longer reliable, sigh!! confuse)

Between, some shop also says ME *Mr Slim) is more for home, quieter whereas ME heavy industries is more for office. True????
Antzfield
post Jun 7 2015, 12:36 PM

496 posts

Lots of discussion and debate on pro and cons of R22 and R410A gas type Aircond.

My new house just too bad, piping given are of R22 type, if change, it will costs a bomb (atomic bomb)

There are even talk that manufacturer will cease production for R22 wef June, this add further to my agony.

Was at a fair yesterday, was told only Daikin continue production but till end of this year, whereas Panasonic yet to confirm.

Not sure how true it is, as I hope still stocks end of this year, as be getting it end of this year.

Hope the statement by salesman is true that still stocks end of this year sad.gif
Antzfield
post Jun 7 2015, 04:54 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jun 7 2015, 01:41 PM)
If that is brand new piping still never used b4, still can able to install for R410a any type.

Cause conceal wall to be more durable than run with trunking casing at all
Oh really? I thought I lost hope. I don't want to change all conceal piping as provided by the developer. Yes, it is brand new.

With this I may be able to use R410A type of air cond after all. Perhaps I will get my contractor to look at this possibility once his design proposal is out.

This thing has been causing numerous thought and really bothering me.

Thank you for the sharing and hope it is ok. Then I have more choices to choose from. smile.gif
Antzfield
post Jun 7 2015, 05:22 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jun 7 2015, 05:00 PM)
cause in SG have the same case, they still working in good condition, just depend one the installer experience only  rclxms.gif
Haha... Then hope the installer is experience.

On the side note, saw an ad in the newspaper that York is back with another company. Not sure how this going to turn up. Will see

As Renovation schedule is closer, extra effort in the next few months looking for good deal, especially warehouse sales smile.gif try to save some monies.
Antzfield
post Jun 7 2015, 11:13 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 7 2015, 10:24 PM)
For me, I'll just hack those conceal piping and change it.
As any hacking before you move in will be easier.
After insurance and trust fund agents that cheat and mislead to earn a living will be property developers shocking.gif
So if they never do a good work, you may end up with trouble later on, wait, it is cover by warranty, so hacking will be FOC. But does cleaning the mess FOC also?
Usually is the motor unit faulty, ask them to check and change if still under warranty.
Well! I do agree and change it, but reality check. If I do so (I really wish), budget kong liao sad.gif

Perhaps use this for now and finger cross. Hope luck will be on my side.

Antzfield
post Jun 7 2015, 11:15 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(K4iz3n @ Jun 7 2015, 10:32 PM)
How do I know the piping is for R22 or R410A?
My case, ask the developer, also my neighbour brought their Contractor and confirm what piping.
Antzfield
post Jun 8 2015, 02:17 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Jun 8 2015, 10:56 AM)
You may gamble, but if something happens, you will end up in mess.
Always shift the budget .
cry.gif what to do, just hope for the best lo.

I am hoping that no major issue later, to be fair, the defect list as of now is very minimal, and to my surprise.

0.1123sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:21 AM