4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Oceanic Servers to be hosted in Australia, Free server transfers to Oceanic servers

TSKuroN3ko
post Oct 23 2014, 05:32 PM, updated 12y ago

So, news just hit, Oceanic servers will be transferred to Australia next week.
Free server transfers to Australia next week as well.

All oceanic servers to be ported over as is.

Australian and New Zealand players are obviously going to enjoy way better ping,
but how does this affect SEA players? From trying to play League of Legends and
Dota 2 on AU servers I notice the ping is even worse than America, 200~ping to US
350~ ping to Australia, probably due to the way its routed, will proxies help?

If not how will people handle an increase in ping? Will SEA players have to play
on US servers instead?

Sources:
https://twitter.com/AtticusThomas/status/525210205236117505

https://twitter.com/AtticusThomas/status/525210802794418176
khelben
post Oct 23 2014, 10:59 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Q: Where will the servers be physically located?
A: The game servers will be hosted within an Australian data centre, ensuring Australian and New Zealand players receive the best possible latency.

Q: Will I still be able to play with my friends who are on U.S. servers?
A: Yes! Because the new Australian World of Warcraft game servers will continue to communicate with the existing North American hardware, players will still be able to play with friends on U.S game servers, just as they can today. They’ll still be able to use their Battle.net friends list to easily group up and chat, regardless of where they are playing.
GingerbreadGirL
post Oct 24 2014, 06:51 AM

82 posts

Inb4 aussie is like a zoo nnt seber keep down animals makan on site engineer

In all seriousness this should improve our latency by a whole lot. Having blizz eyeing more to this part of the world maybe someday will hv blizz event in kl
rockets
post Oct 24 2014, 10:58 AM

No Recoil
509 posts

Our connection to australia is not really optimized. I played diablo3 on aussie server and the ping fluctuates alot between 150-350ms. Whereas connection to US is a stable 200-220ms, it feels alot more consistent and smoother on the US server.

I'm trying WoW taiwan now and ping is between 60-150ms.
Nickimaru
post Oct 24 2014, 11:25 AM

58 posts

As rockets has mentioned, it's the connection/routing to Australia that plays an important part on whether we can get better latency results with WoW. Of course, those playing in Australia will get the biggest benefits in terms of the latency.

For those interested, here is a quick result capture of speedtest results to Australian servers. Although it may not be 100% accurate, it should give an idea of the latency we could potentially get. I have no idea of the location of the servers so I just tried some of the potential cities.

My connection info:
ISP: Time Broadband 8Mbps
WoW Server: Tichondrius (US)
In-game latency: 187 - 195 ms

Once we have an idea of the physical location of the WoW data centres and (possibly) the ISP of those data centres, we may be able to see if we can get better results.
khelben
post Oct 24 2014, 05:04 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Try do a tracerout between these two: 103.4.115.248(D3 AUS) and 12.129.209.68(WoW Bloodlust).

jimmybachok
post Oct 24 2014, 09:54 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(Nickimaru @ Oct 24 2014, 11:25 AM)
As rockets has mentioned, it's the connection/routing to Australia that plays an important part on whether we can get better latency results with WoW. Of course, those playing in Australia will get the biggest benefits in terms of the latency.

For those interested, here is a quick result capture of speedtest results to Australian servers. Although it may not be 100% accurate, it should give an idea of the latency we could potentially get. I have no idea of the location of the servers so I just tried some of the potential cities.

My connection info:
ISP: Time Broadband 8Mbps
WoW Server: Tichondrius (US)
In-game latency: 187 - 195 ms

Once we have an idea of the physical location of the WoW data centres and (possibly) the ISP of those data centres, we may be able to see if we can get better results.
Well, not much of a difference though sweat.gif . But still better than 200 ms thumbup.gif

helven
post Oct 24 2014, 10:05 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

There is a difference I notice, better ping for aussie pvper means they got lower latency to pvp with us.
joeboto
post Oct 26 2014, 01:11 AM

insert title
913 posts

im hoping for sub 200ms ping but pinging to d3 aus and bloodlust wow almost same.
jimmybachok
post Oct 28 2014, 05:10 AM

64 posts

After reading all the post about ping in battle.net forum---> shocking.gif sweat.gif shakehead.gif yawn.gif doh.gif
aibo210
post Oct 29 2014, 01:53 PM

82 posts

server is up...i got 206ms...how about u guys?

abusive123
post Oct 29 2014, 03:01 PM

182 posts

shit what ping you guys getting..i was a little worried cuz i'm aware of the bad routing from australia to SEA.
khelben
post Oct 29 2014, 03:18 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

Still at work, can't test till at least 8pm laugh.gif
busbos
post Oct 29 2014, 03:32 PM

353 posts

i got 190-200ms on unifi

while my fren using maxis are getting 140-150ms
Hellcryer
post Oct 29 2014, 04:21 PM

149 posts

tested on unifi 5mbps and i got 190-200 ms ,
TSKuroN3ko
post Oct 29 2014, 05:19 PM

Using pingzapper to connect to a sydney server, get 260ms, if I connect to a singapore server I get 216ms. Weird.
aibo210
post Oct 29 2014, 05:58 PM

82 posts

i got 170 ms connecting with singapore server in pingzapper

rizvanrp
post Oct 29 2014, 06:08 PM

195 posts

105ms on Unifi via Singapore