Apr 18 2007, 10:08 AM
1,526 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Between Those Legs Position : Missionary |
wahh...
lucky ball ehh... hahaha... Sorry Kelvio, couldnt meet up with u when i was in KL. maybe next time |
Apr 19 2007, 09:45 AM
1,139 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: kota kemuning,puchong,penang |
if u come down longer maybe we can meet up lol nvm lar next time ony
Apr 19 2007, 10:13 AM
Apr 29 2007, 01:19 PM
1,850 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
Hello all bowlers!! I just finish reading all d 46 pages of this forum..he he
Look like a lot of bowlers starts during secondary school but stopped after that. Im one of them. I was active during form 1-form4 times.. everyweek will go bowling. But after that (coming to kl to study + work) until now nvr get serious with bowling anymore. Recently just bring my old ball from hometown to kl..cause feel like wanna get started again. Now im living opposite timesquare... so when c d pro playing my hand oso gatal. I play hook. D ball i have is my sister one. She gave it to me so i refill d hole n redrill d hole to my hand size. Highest scold i got is 230+ only.. (280+ for 9pin I hav a question here.. d Condition of d Lane will iffluence d ball movement right? like d oiliness... So d best time to play is after they Just "oil" d lane? I notice d last time i play with hook in BTW at night.. I get my technique right but d ball just cant Grip on d lane thus cant turn in at d end of d lane. I wonder is it bcause.. d oil on d lane already spread evently towards d end of the lane therefore my ball cant grip.. any such theory? bowling master pls share Added on April 30, 2007, 1:01 amAahh.. today i went to play bowling in timesquare n i did really really bad... I cant get my old technique back anymore. 50+,80+ , 90+ I cant believe i cant even get above 100! Try figure out all d movement.. recall all d techniques.. but still do badly. I cant get even one hook right for d whole night! I feel like my ball just drop off from my fingers b4 manage do pull n hook. So d ball most of d time end up just like a spin ball. perhaps my leg oredi don have d strength to hold my body while bending low.. can give me some tips how to get back my skill from 5 years ago~!? This post has been edited by clivengu: Apr 30 2007, 01:01 AM |
May 1 2007, 02:54 AM
871 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: A Galaxy Far Far Away... |
hey bowling pros. noob in bowling here and got a little question for you guys. i bowl for fun, and recently just got a second hand ball (Columbia 300 Quake Violet). i wanna re-drill the holes to fit my own hand. where's the best place i can do this? and should i drill for hook (second line of the finger) or spare (all finger in)? also i feel that my wrist is not strong enough sometime...i think i need to use a wrist support. any brand and model in particular you guys can recommend? thanks in advance
This post has been edited by Ryo: May 1 2007, 02:55 AM |
May 1 2007, 03:00 AM
QUOTE(Ryo @ May 1 2007, 02:54 AM) hey bowling pros. noob in bowling here and got a little question for you guys. i bowl for fun, and recently just got a second hand ball (Columbia 300 Quake Violet). i wanna re-drill the holes to fit my own hand. where's the best place i can do this? and should i drill for hook (second line of the finger) or spare (all finger in)? also i feel that my wrist is not strong enough sometime...i think i need to use a wrist support. any brand and model in particular you guys can recommend? thanks in advance hye Ryo.If you are in JB, i could show u a good shop to refill and redrill those holes. but. if you are in KL, any pro shop would be able to refill and redrill according to ur hand But if u want the best, have to contact kelvio or realizer or storm , they should know where to get the best drilling service erm, whats is the weigh of ur ball ? i used to have that problem when i started bowling, but as time goes by, ur hand will become immune to the weight If you insist on a hand guard, there is quite a few out there. What style of bowling do u play ? Hook ? Added on May 1, 2007, 3:02 am QUOTE(clivengu @ Apr 29 2007, 01:19 PM) Hello all bowlers!! I just finish reading all d 46 pages of this forum..he he Wow Bro,Look like a lot of bowlers starts during secondary school but stopped after that. Im one of them. I was active during form 1-form4 times.. everyweek will go bowling. But after that (coming to kl to study + work) until now nvr get serious with bowling anymore. Recently just bring my old ball from hometown to kl..cause feel like wanna get started again. Now im living opposite timesquare... so when c d pro playing my hand oso gatal. I play hook. D ball i have is my sister one. She gave it to me so i refill d hole n redrill d hole to my hand size. Highest scold i got is 230+ only.. (280+ for 9pin I hav a question here.. d Condition of d Lane will iffluence d ball movement right? like d oiliness... So d best time to play is after they Just "oil" d lane? I notice d last time i play with hook in BTW at night.. I get my technique right but d ball just cant Grip on d lane thus cant turn in at d end of d lane. I wonder is it bcause.. d oil on d lane already spread evently towards d end of the lane therefore my ball cant grip.. any such theory? bowling master pls share Added on April 30, 2007, 1:01 amAahh.. today i went to play bowling in timesquare n i did really really bad... I cant get my old technique back anymore. 50+,80+ , 90+ I cant believe i cant even get above 100! Try figure out all d movement.. recall all d techniques.. but still do badly. I cant get even one hook right for d whole night! I feel like my ball just drop off from my fingers b4 manage do pull n hook. So d ball most of d time end up just like a spin ball. perhaps my leg oredi don have d strength to hold my body while bending low.. can give me some tips how to get back my skill from 5 years ago~!? i thought i'd never say this, but i myself just stopped playing for 2 weeks coz of exams and when i played yesterday, i myself is having a hard time hooking the ball... not to mention the score. As for your question on the lane condition, YES It does make a difference... This post has been edited by zahri: May 1 2007, 03:02 AM |
May 1 2007, 12:49 PM
clivengu:
hi bro and welcome to this thread.. theres many factor that can make ur ball not to hook first we must see the thing near to us, the thing the nearest to us is us our own self, if u wanna hook the ball we must know our skill,ask our self,do we have the right technique,is our steping is correct,our timing,to learn this is hard by just reading and apply, go to youtube and find the PBA bowling video, dont look at their style,insted look at their timing of release,footstep timing,swing timing. then make friends with the proshop people,after that ask them question if u dont understand,ask for tips, u need some 1 to guide u so u wont go out of course. ball factor: ball also a factor that can make the ball not to hook.old ball or dead ball can go straight even how hard u lift it, lane factor: lane also can make ur ball to not hook, but lane is a dead thing what u can do is adjust according to ur ball entry angle. Added on May 1, 2007, 12:57 pmRyo: bro pls state ur location?? u can do ur ball equipment any where near u,all the proshop is the same, is only u can make friends with them or not, like me i only stick with 1 driller.i've already with him almost 5 years now why i stick with him; its because he knows what i need,he knows my bowling pattern,and the ball he drill for me fit nicely. my advice is stick with ur driller as long as possible cos they know what u want,if u keep changing driller they dont know what u want ,and end up u wont feel nicely fit to the ball, find a driller u like,that can talk and ask u question,make friends with them This post has been edited by kelvio: May 1 2007, 12:57 PM |
May 1 2007, 05:34 PM
1,850 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
HI kelvio thanks. Last time i can do well with my old ball.. but that time i play every weeks..
Im very much concern with d way i release d ball. I feel d ball so hard to grip nowadays. and as if it is "dropping" when i release that time. So my hook bcome spin~~ Anyway.. tat day in TImesquare Competition lots of people name Kelvin.. R u there? on Sunday. [quote=kelvio,May 1 2007, 12:49 PM] clivengu: hi bro and welcome to this thread.. theres many factor that can make ur ball not to hook first we must see the thing near to us, the thing the nearest to us is us our own self, if u wanna hook the ball we must know our skill,ask our self,do we have the right technique,is our steping is correct,our timing,to learn this is hard by just reading and apply, go to youtube and find the PBA bowling video, dont look at their style,insted look at their timing of release,footstep timing,swing timing. then make friends with the proshop people,after that ask them question if u dont understand,ask for tips, u need some 1 to guide u so u wont go out of course. ball factor: ball also a factor that can make the ball not to hook.old ball or dead ball can go straight even how hard u lift it, lane factor: lane also can make ur ball to not hook, but lane is a dead thing what u can do is adjust according to ur ball entry angle. |
May 1 2007, 07:31 PM
871 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: A Galaxy Far Far Away... |
QUOTE hye Ryo. If you are in JB, i could show u a good shop to refill and redrill those holes. but. if you are in KL, any pro shop would be able to refill and redrill according to ur hand But if u want the best, have to contact kelvio or realizer or storm , they should know where to get the best drilling service erm, whats is the weigh of ur ball ? i used to have that problem when i started bowling, but as time goes by, ur hand will become immune to the weight building muscle at the same time If you insist on a hand guard, there is quite a few out there. What style of bowling do u play ? Hook ? hey bro, yea im currently in KL. the ball weighs about 13 pounds i think. and yea, been searching the net for a good adjustable wrist guard found some i like. will check them out at local shops this weekend QUOTE bro pls state ur location?? u can do ur ball equipment any where near u,all the proshop is the same, is only u can make friends with them or not, like me i only stick with 1 driller.i've already with him almost 5 years now why i stick with him; its because he knows what i need,he knows my bowling pattern,and the ball he drill for me fit nicely. my advice is stick with ur driller as long as possible cos they know what u want,if u keep changing driller they dont know what u want ,and end up u wont feel nicely fit to the ball, find a driller u like,that can talk and ask u question,make friends with them Im in KL bro, found a friendly proshop at The Summit mall in Subang. Is it a good place? the guy there is very friendly, better than the proshop i checked out in One Utama. Will ask about the drilling there. thanks for the info guys, will keep you updated no doubt |
May 1 2007, 10:29 PM
hope to hear good news from you Ryo
as kelvio said, if u can stick to 1 driller then it would be great like me im still sticking to this 1 driller, uncle edward |
May 2 2007, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(clivengu @ May 1 2007, 05:34 PM) HI kelvio thanks. Last time i can do well with my old ball.. but that time i play every weeks.. hmm i think ur thumb hole is too big,so it's hard to grip and the ball will drop earlyIm very much concern with d way i release d ball. I feel d ball so hard to grip nowadays. and as if it is "dropping" when i release that time. So my hook bcome spin~~ Anyway.. tat day in TImesquare Competition lots of people name Kelvin.. R u there? on Sunday. try to consult ur driller,if too big then u have to re-do ur thumb hole if just lil too big buy a finger insert tape and stick it,dont stick it too much till too tight,test it first every tape u stick on 1 more thing we dont grip the ball just rest your thumb in the hole Added on May 2, 2007, 12:22 pm QUOTE(Ryo @ May 1 2007, 07:31 PM) hey bro, yea im currently in KL. the ball weighs about 13 pounds i think. and yea, been searching the net for a good adjustable wrist guard found some i like. will check them out at local shops this weekend summit 1 also very good, both also good inside the alley and outside the alley.Im in KL bro, found a friendly proshop at The Summit mall in Subang. Is it a good place? the guy there is very friendly, better than the proshop i checked out in One Utama. Will ask about the drilling there. thanks for the info guys, will keep you updated no doubt u can try there. This post has been edited by kelvio: May 2 2007, 12:22 PM |
May 6 2007, 10:10 PM
177 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Hi Everyone
Just noticed there's a thread on bowling over here .. there's this 1 question that I would like to ask of you .. well you see, first of all .. i'm not one of those .. started young and bowled like pro ... stopped for a while and continuing again now .. I do play during secondary school .. but those are straight balls ... then i stopped .. now I've started to play back again .. probably around once a week with my friends .. and I'm beginning to learn hook .. no teachers, etc etc .. I've been reading a lot lately .. regarding the oil lanes stuffs, the core of the balls that helped hooking better .. my question here is .. is it a must to have a ball of your own in order to learn hook faster and more effective ? .. those house balls .. first of all .. the finger placement thing is off .. i couldn't use the top segment finger for my middle and other finger .. since the holes are positioned so close to the thumb .. secondly, perhaps due to the core of the balls, they're meant for straights .. thus .. not that good for hook as well .. what I noticed is that .. my balls .. they .. doesn't really hook that much .. and it just wouldn't get better .. of course, all I've done has been reading around .. and trying to apply it .. some sites/forums even said that .. the way to throw hook balls are just like using 2 fingers .. well, with 2 fingers, yea .. the ball does hooked more .. but we're also applying strength to carry the ball instead of moving it according to pendulum action cause we're not using our thumb and so afraid that it might fall .. now that i'm trying to use 3 fingers, including the thumb, i just couldn't help noticing it doesn't hook much .. close to minimum actually .. my question is still back to .. am I not being able to hook properly because .. the finger placement thing on house balls is not correct .. and the ball is not meant for hooks .. or .. it's plainly my own problem ? .. hope to get an advise from everyone regarding this .. thanks ! This post has been edited by Biscuit: May 7 2007, 01:47 AM |
May 6 2007, 10:12 PM
473 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
long time no bowl de... the last time i bowl is during january
May 7 2007, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(Biscuit @ May 6 2007, 10:10 PM) Hi Everyone Hye bro,Just noticed there's a thread on bowling over here .. there's this 1 question that I would like to ask of you .. well you see, first of all .. i'm not one of those .. started young and bowled like pro ... stopped for a while and continuing again now .. I do play during secondary school .. but those are straight balls ... then i stopped .. now I've started to play back again .. probably around once a week with my friends .. and I'm beginning to learn hook .. no teachers, etc etc .. I've been reading a lot lately .. regarding the oil lanes stuffs, the core of the balls that helped hooking better .. my question here is .. is it a must to have a ball of your own in order to learn hook faster and more effective ? .. those house balls .. first of all .. the finger placement thing is off .. i couldn't use the top segment finger for my middle and other finger .. since the holes are positioned so close to the thumb .. secondly, perhaps due to the core of the balls, they're meant for straights .. thus .. not that good for hook as well .. what I noticed is that .. my balls .. they .. doesn't really hook that much .. and it just wouldn't get better .. of course, all I've done has been reading around .. and trying to apply it .. some sites/forums even said that .. the way to throw hook balls are just like using 2 fingers .. well, with 2 fingers, yea .. the ball does hooked more .. but we're also applying strength to carry the ball instead of moving it according to pendulum action cause we're not using our thumb and so afraid that it might fall .. not that i'm trying to use 3 fingers, including the thumb, i just couldn't help noticing it doesn't hook much .. close to minimum actually .. my question is still back to .. am I not being able to hook properly because .. the finger placement thing on house balls is not correct .. and the ball is not meant for hooks .. or .. it's plainly my own problem ? .. hope to get an advise from everyone regarding this .. thanks ! From my opinion and my own experience. It is best if you could have ur own ball In order to throw hook, the placement of ur thumb and two fingers are apart and not as close as the house balls + it is best if it is customed for ur hand While choosing a ball, you have to consider lane conditions as well... Hope this helps, im kinda sleepy already ... ( If the statement i gave above is wrong, please correct me, i am no pro bowler, just based on my experience ) THANKS:) |
May 7 2007, 01:21 AM
1,009 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Shah Alam |
wow..this threat is getting bigger and bigger..
i also wanna start to play bowling again but i have to start from basic...have to play straight ball again..my left leg have to be strong but quite difficult to find the nearest bowling centre in KLIA... ANyway,hopefully u all have fun playing this game.DOnt play too hard.Some of bowlers out there will going crazy if they didnt hit the pin..then they will start to kick the machine..Vandalisme...and stupid..DONT TRY THIS AT BOWLING CENTRE KID... |
May 7 2007, 07:38 PM
this thread so long edi..... still going same place to bowl.... maintain the best also.... 1 utama U-BOWL
May 7 2007, 08:26 PM
Hehehe...
ITs Good That its growing So we Know who is who ? Who knows i might be playing next to you in your next game ? btw, its been kinda silent this few weeks, REALIZER & KeLVIO kinda bz ehh ? |
May 7 2007, 08:34 PM
no they got post la....
May 8 2007, 10:45 AM