Anime Kanon (2006), October 5

elfenrir
post Oct 7 2006, 09:24 AM

Hmmm, must wait how many episodes until i can see my Sayuri (point to avatar).

Missed her cute voice since the last time i heard it few years ago.

Kurata Sayuri Ending please.

Maa ikka, i guess i just have to visualise it in my head anyway.

Hmmm, where did i put my Kanon game again? 57% english patch or not, Kanon game here i come once again. Last time played got bad ending while pursuing Mai route. Bah.

elfenrir
post Oct 7 2006, 09:45 AM

First of all i played Kanon using the 57% english translation. Basically i'm concentrating on Mai storyline, maybe a bit on Nayuki but i totally ignored the rest. I got to the end of english translations halfway, continue clicking and choosing random answers FTL (too bad Yuuichi choices dont have voices, bah). Then i suddenly get to the title screen. Just like that. I don't even reach "past Mai with usagi mimi" scene. Aih.....

elfenrir
post Oct 7 2006, 11:03 AM

Hmmm, i know all hiragana & katakana. I remembered most of JLPT lvl 4 kanji and some random kanji based on my experiences with manga, anime & games (play Super Robot Wars games regularly and the oh-so-common-kanjis there got burned permanently inside your head. Heh). I even can understand spoken japanese decently. But my point is, i'm sort of perfectionist when dealing with anime or Visual Novel (SRW is an exception). Either understand everything or just screw it. So after i played through the translated part i just simply fastforward and choose random answers until end.

My history of Kanon is a funny one. I guess around 1/2 year before Kanon 2001 aired i stumbled into 2 AMVs with unknown game title and nice catchy songs to boot. I determined to search the game origin and there was my first encounter with the word "Kanon". Before that i've heard of Tokimeki Memorial, To Heart and maybe few randow h-games but those did not manage to convert me into the world on Visual Novel. But after i knew Kanon, soon after that i got to discover Key & Type-Moon, 2 companies with their 5 "King-Of-Visual-Novel" games, namely Kanon, AIR, Clannad, Tsukihime & FATE/stay night.

The rest are simply history. Few months later Kanon 2001 anime aired. THE ONLY ANIME WHICH I SPENT UNKNOWN AMOUNT OF OF TIME & MONEY JUST TO DOWNLOAD IT USING 56K MODEM. Later, the mediocre Tsukihime anime aired, following by excellent AIR TV then followed by another mediocre FATE/stay night anime. Now comes 2006 Kanon by KyoAni and soon movie a version of Clannad made by Toei (which made 2001 Kanon, ph34r the chin of death).

On semi-related note, Kanon game english translations has actually progressed very far already. 100% patch release can be possible within 1 more year. But BIG problem arised. Ever since the WIND (the h-game, not the fansub group) drama occured, the sole translator for Kanon got himself into a tight spot concerning his moral issue concerning Visual Novel translation. His condition (when i last checked his website) is that he'll gonna make a formal request to Key (the company that produced Kanon, AIR & Clannad) asking their permission to release english patch. But anyone who know how the politics at works concerning this kinda stuff knows that it will be 99% chance that Key will not approve thus resulting no more Kanon english patch until maybe another translator with lower moral ground will undertook the project back from scratch. So, let's pray that the 1% probability will happen in the end. Heh.

elfenrir
post Oct 7 2006, 12:19 PM

In term of the 5 main girls my ranking is always:

Nayuki>Ayu>Mai>Makoto>Shiori

I'm sorry but i'm a sucker for osananajimi and Shiori story is overall boring for my taste.

But.....If include side characters it's definitely be

Sayuri>>>>>>>>>>Nayuki>Ayu>Mai>Makoto>Kaori>Shiori>Mishio

Sayuri is <3. Her "Ahaha~" beats any "Uguu~", "Gao~", "Da yo~" and whatever not. (expecting mass fury from other fanboys tongue.gif)

I even rate Kaori above Shiori.

If its EFZ ranking, Shiori>>>>>>everyone else. Damn imba and easy to use. lol.

elfenrir
post Oct 7 2006, 12:49 PM

QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Oct 7 2006, 12:23 PM)

@elfenrir, you forgot 'nihaha~'. That's the most awesome.
OMG!!!! What a blasphemous error that i did. I must blame it on my "tentatively" visual novel fanproject which the main girl character always have the "Ahaha~" laugh as a tribute for Sayuri's "Nihaha~". I must have mixed them already. sad.gif

Sayuri-chan, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai, gomen-nasai. (Higurashi style)

elfenrir
post Oct 10 2006, 06:37 PM

Complain time!!!

First: Ayu!

She looks a tad more lolier in KyoAni kanon as compared to the game & Toei Ayu.

Uh, i'm not against loli but this new lolier Ayu, which although looks just a lil bit different than her other 2 versions but in my purist eyes it seems like "WTH?!? Why Ayu's younger & cuter in this version?". Mind you, my liking to original Ayu is mostly about her childish & playful nature, not her lolier & cuter looks. Anyway this is just my personal view and preference which then leads me to.....

Second: Yuuichi!

The moment is feast my eyes on Kanon 2006 prelude for the first time i said to myself, "Who's the f*ck is the main male character?". Making a facelift to the main protagonist to make him looks much cooler and much Kyon-ner might make many positive response from most of the people but definitely the opposite for me. I have no comparison pics but you can just refer to the pics that Naga Jahat posted above for Toei 2001 Kanon Yuuichi and then compare it to the newer Yuuichi. My point is that in Kanon universe, Yuuichi is just a normal high school boy which slightly good looking and also a kind person. In Japanese words he's a "Futsuu.................." kind of guy. I'm not sure if in the original game have shown a full face Yuuichi but Toei's Yuuichi is how Yuuichi should looks and not what KyoAni's "Hello, i'm a Kyon-look-a-like guy that happens to be the main character of Kanon. What's happened to the original guy? I dunno." gave us in Kanon 2006.

My point Yuuichi is not some "supposed to be jsut a normal guy but has hidden imba power" like Shiki Tohno or Emiya Shirou. He's not "i'm supar kewl purple hair guy who can transform myself into crow" Yukito. He's not t3h stalker Mayama nor he's t3h Kyon's Kyon. He's Aizawa Yuuichi, which was potrayed wrongly (the only other blasphemy that i can think of now is the different between Sound Novel Maebara Keiichi & anime Maebara Keiichi for Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni which i already ranted in Higurashi forum) and that's my biggest gripe for Kanon 2006 for now.

Sigh.......

This post has been edited by elfenrir: Oct 14 2006, 10:21 AM
elfenrir
post Oct 10 2006, 08:44 PM

Is hot-linking an offense here? I hope not and i rarely do hot-linking stuff anyway.

BTW, i also think that 2006 Yuuichi is taller and have a bit bigger body frame which further disassociate me with this new Yuuichi. Also IIRC, i'm 51% sure that there's a version of Kanon game which have Yuuichi voices. I think it's the PS2 port. Maybe i confused it with voiced Yukito for PS2 AIR or maybe both games also have voices for their protagonists.

If i'm not wrong, since most if not all older seiyuus from 2001 Kanon anime are back with 2006 Kanon, and if both the anime Yuuichi still voiced by the same person, why he can't just copy paste his old Yuuichi voice? I guess maybe doing Honey & Clover II, Melancholy Of Suzumiya Haruhi and Kanon project consencutively made it hard for the Yuuchi seiyuu to forget his recently previous voices. Maa ikka, this is not my primary concern as compared to my previous rant.

Tonikaku, i'm happy KyoAni made Nayuki's "Oide~" scene in episode 01. Although Ayu got her "Uguu~", Sayuri got her "Nihaha~, Mai got her "Zen zen" and Misuzu got her "Gao~"(lol, wrong anime), Nayuki wins down with her more "moe" lines. If by slight chance KyoAni don't show Nayuki's "Neko~, neko~, neko.........." scene, head will roll!!

As final note, i'm basically very happy with the pace and details showed in episode 01. The slow pace really feel like i'm playing the game once more. Not to mention the background musics which enchanced the Deja Vu feeling 10x. The scene where Yuuchi mimicked Ayu's "Uguu~" is priceless. Pls remember that Ayu's warning not only applies to Yuuichi but also to any male and uncute females out there whistling.gif . The characters cameos and Yuuichi's fiddling with the machinery are also a nice additions in the new Kanon.

elfenrir
post Oct 14 2006, 10:25 AM

Owell, i already removed the link. Better that than having it replaced by 3 Naruto images. tongue.gif
elfenrir
post Oct 15 2006, 09:27 AM

Gee.....No talk about ep. 02 yet? Right now i'm currently downloading the episode. 1 more hour before seeing my Sayuri.

Sayuri x Mai x Nayuki ep. 02 pile-up = t3h w1n

Sayuri x Mai x Nayuki h0t yuri s3xx0rz = notworthy.gif wub.gif

Hmmm, made me wonder why One & Pia Carrot had both normal & H anime while AIR & Kanon don't. Heh.

elfenrir
post Oct 16 2006, 06:11 PM

"Ahaha~", "Zen zen" & "Auuu~" in 1 episode = Moe overload. Not to mentioned the unhealthy amount of "Uguu~" are still there.

As for Nayuki voiced alarm clock, i guess that Toei version voice is a bit cuter than this one. I guess having the making of 2001 Kanon video that featured Mariko Kouda saying that line at the end of the video made me insanely biased to that version voice. smile.gif

As for the "jam" scene, it's funny that the BGM suddenly stopped after Yuuichi took a bite of that toast. Although i would prefer that the BGM suddenly become distorted after the bite but the message was delivered anyway. Akiko's jam = Her lvl 3 Eternity Special in EFZ. 4000 dmg. lol.

All 5 main girls and 2 side girls introduced in ep. 02. Only 1 more left, the one that have "relation" with Makoto. I hope she'll get introduced soon and get some side characters love like Kaori & Sayuri.
elfenrir
post Oct 17 2006, 10:15 PM

A bit off topic but it's somehow related anyway. lol.

QUOTE(Hikki Kokurabuji @ Oct 17 2006, 10:56 AM)
elfenrir: do you, by any chance, play Eternal Fighter Zero, too?  shocking.gif
Fufufu. Doujin Fighting games FTW!!!

Eternal Fighter Zero, Melty Blood: ReACT, Immaterial and Missing Power, Hinokakera, 2 FATE/stay night fighting games which names eludes me and maybe a couple more crap level games which i don't wanna remember.

Top 3 definitely EFZ, IaMP & MB:R.

Honestly i do think that EFZ is on par or even superior than Guilty Gear XX in term of combos possibilities & coolness. I'm lucky to get my copy of EFZ with 100 replays included which most of them are replay of high level game & awesomeness.

I used to go "ga ga" over MB:R combos in the olden days but since the game's final patch nerfed a lot of characters & combos, most of the coolness became history. No more Shiki Tohno Last Arc then followed by Eyes of Direct Death super. Bah.

IaMP. Now this is a unique & fun fighting game. Imagine games like Sonic Wing, Raiden, Zero Type. Imagine the absurd-ness of missiles/projectiles/whatevernot things that fill the screen so bad only "pro" & "luckyshitperson" can dodge those things. Now imagine fighting characters that let loose those kind of projectiles for their special moves, super moves, and even THEIR NORMAL ATTACK BUTTONS. And we got Immaterial and Missing Power. Highly recommended for those who are confident with their skills or just plain like to get their @ss pwned in the story mode hard & insane difficulty level.

Uh, to get into Kanon topic back. Nayuki hairs really resembles Asakura Ryoko's. No wonder when i watched SHnY when Asakura Ryoko was introduced for the 1st time i got a very familiar vibes out of her. Nayuki clone FTW!!!
elfenrir
post Oct 29 2006, 03:31 PM

I'm all for Sayuri x Mai faction.

But if Sayuri need to pair with a guy i will totally support Sayuri x me faction. tongue.gif
elfenrir
post Nov 10 2006, 08:59 PM

Uwah, Ep. 05 had been released for almost a week and no one ever talk about this awesome episode? I only managed to get myself the episode last night so that's why i'm posting about the episode now.

In due respect Ep. 05 is the best Kanon 2006 episode so far, where each minute of it screaming of awesomeness from beginning until the end. Too much interesting thing happens in this episode which make me not to list them one by one other than:

1) Sayuri and her full 3:45 minutes of glory. Wai wai Sayuri-chan~. You definitely pass to be my bride~. (Fanboy moe mode to the MAX! wub.gif )

2) Makoto and her 3 seconds of "Kaenai! Kawanai! Kaerunda!" ("I can't! I won't! I wouldn't!") scene is definitely my current most favourite scene/line/voice in Kanon 2006 as for right now. Insanely funny and moe at the same time.

After finishing this episode it suddenly comes to me. Apparently from KyoAni presentation of Kanon 2006, i'm equally attracted to all 5 main girls of Kanon, actually make it 7 females including Akiko & Kaori (even with Kaori's limited screentime as for the moment). This was different from my TOEI's Kanon experience where my favourite was Nayuki followed closely by Mai, Ayu was so-so, and i was not interested much on Makoto & Shiori other than Makoto's touching ending. So this means that KyoAni really know how to charm up their girls. I'm more interested with Makoto & Shiori now as compared to before. Aih, poor Nayuki. Her ranking now is being equal to all other females in Kanon. But off course Sayuri's reign will never be affected by this revelation.

It seems that evens while only 5 episodes through the story, given KyoAni presentation it can be safely said most Kanon virgins (people that never been spoiled of Kanon spoilers before) can figure out Makoto's story and even have big clue on Ayu's story. With 19 more episodes to go, i hope Mai story will be fleshed out flawlessly next because i heard that her story is the most complex in Kanon as compared to the other 4 main girls.

All in all, Kanon 2006 is still going great at the moment. If this excellence can continue on for the following episodes i might consider this title for a contender for Best 2006 Anime candidates alongside Suzumiya Haruhi No Yuutsu & Ouran Kokou Host Bu. May the force be with this anime.
elfenrir
post Nov 11 2006, 10:48 AM

Kanon 2006 Yuuichi is too smooth, too playa. If he's playing the Kanon game, he's like cheating his ways through all the flags, choosing the right option for Girl A, reload, choosing the right option for Girl B next while still maintaining the "result" of his previous options. Rinse and repeat. There is no such thing as "opportunity cost" for this Yuuichi. So, in another way, this Kanon 2006 Yuuichi will unlock all 100% game CGs within his 1st gameplay. Too l33t. lol.
elfenrir
post Nov 11 2006, 01:42 PM

QUOTE(amacharu @ Nov 11 2006, 11:08 AM)
ZOMG! Are you and haruji sora twins? Both of you seemed similar in some aspects.

lol. But to somehow answer your question, i've known Haruji Sora in forums & IRL since around 2001-2002 but i'm not sure if he realised who i am since i used other nickname by that time. Anyway, you can safely say that him & i do have somewhat similar taste in anime/games.

p/s (to Haruji Sora & off topic) : I've recently discovered nice site where you can submit your anime karaoke songs which is http://omgsong.net/. So, did you still have your rendition of "Tomorrow" & "eX-Dream"? If you do go submit there. lol. BTW, got some guy who can sing "Sore Ga Ai Deshou" quite nicely there.

elfenrir
post Nov 21 2006, 06:20 PM

OMG, i almost have a 2-post-in-a-row despite posting 10 days later since my last post here. Aih~ i sense a lack of Kanon love and i also guess that Haruji Sora is taking a break from this forum at the moment. lol. Maa ikka, atleast it's not as bad as the previous lack of Higurashi love.

Anyway, continue on with ep. 07:
1) "Neko~"x20 within 1 minute span = t3h Nayuki win. KyoAni had already granted my wish that i made back then at page 4 of this thread.
2) "Ichigo jamu~ Ichigo jamu~" = Another t3h Nayuki win. My current most favourite catch phrase right now. I wish i had a better handphone so that i can make a ringtone using that sound. ORZ
3) "Hoe~" = Sayuri is <3 wub.gif

Speaking of Sayuri, i need to correct-o my double mistakes made on page 3 & 4 posts (although i bet no one else bother or care anyway tongue.gif ). "Ahaha~" = Sayuri, "Nihaha~" = Misuzu. What a waste of Higurashi-class gomen nasai. dry.gif
elfenrir
post Nov 23 2006, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(miloy2k @ Nov 22 2006, 11:04 PM)
there r shinny animu.. juz that most of them the anime fan specially from m'sia MAYBE not really hook to into it....

example  such as Mushishi and so on...

then again diff people diff taste  icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm more inclined to say that most m'sia anime fans that are not in Naruto/Bleach/"Yaoi loving fangirls" community are not vocal enough to express their opinions, thought and discussions about the animes of their taste. They enjoy the anime they watched, occasionally visited m'sia anime forums yet only minimally contribute in their respective anime thread, just enjoying reading them.

I for many years (since early 2000) involve posting in anime forums only in m'sia anime forums because it just feel nice to converse with fellow m'sians albeit the problem faced above. But now i'm starting to go a step further by joining international anime forums so that i can posts more freely without feeling ackward cos i feel that i'm the only one that been compassionate with my posts and usually having insanely long posts to boot.

But, i'm still scared to join animesuki forum. For some reason i still feel it's out of my league yet tongue.gif.
elfenrir
post Nov 23 2006, 06:32 PM

Animesuki is kowaii yo~. I bet even profesors, scientists & engineers lurks there. Some of the discussions there are out of this world, too deep & too detailed (recalled some experience in animesuki GSD forum). That's why i only read the posts there & not registering.
elfenrir
post Nov 23 2006, 08:25 PM

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Nov 23 2006, 06:49 PM)
They are Professional Anime Watcher/Analyzer lol
Really.
I read the Higurashi board in Animesuki, the way the solve the mysterious..They can be a detective!
We usually watch for enjoyment, but they seems they are thirst for something else more than pleasure.
Ah, thanks for the unintentional reminder about the Higurashi board there. I do need to visit it every week or so for new updates on their Minagoroshi & Matsuribayashi threads. That Higurashi board is my personal best reading material of 2006. Insanely informative & entertaining.
elfenrir
post Jan 11 2007, 01:53 AM

Kanon 14 = t3h WIN!!!

Wife material Sayuri-centric episode.

What? Mai arc? Maa ikka, as long as i can get more of my Sayuri dose anyway.

loli Sayuri FTW!!!

/me bliss

[End comment]

0.0219sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:26 PM