Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 09:38 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 24 2016, 09:46 AM)
would making a concrete base with electric, water, communications connections for a 40ft container home be expensive?
it just like lying an ordinary floor slab, but advices thickness should be the range of 5" to 6" with reinforcement bar of Y12. If you cast on a hard ground are very much cheaper compare with a soft ground. Do factor in if you Santa do multiple stores.

Do a simple calculation of 40ft x 10'= 400 ft.sq. let say it's rm 12 per sq feet, that's mean cost about 4800.

Installation of pipeline and electrical cost not much unless you need to install a toilet.
leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 09:44 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Feb 18 2016, 06:36 PM)
Which type of flooring is most resistant to scratches/wear? Wanna change my house floor from linoleum type to something more resistant.
You can try rubber like laminated flooring. Do get a good quality one as the thickness and pressed texture will wear off if you get a cheap one. It is water resistant, stain proof, sound proof and most important cost and easy maintain.
leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 09:54 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(dps404 @ Feb 19 2016, 05:46 PM)
any idea why my screeding + hardener works  crack like no tomorrow after a month or so?

normally how do you guys rectify this problem?
Normally this happened due to poor mixture (cements, sand and water) and bad preparation on sub-base.
Too much cement, less water, it cracks
Too much water, less cement, also cracks or peel of when knock it with a finger.
Too much sand, it become sandy.

Sub base must be clean from dust or sand only can do screening, but most contractors and developers won't care much on this.

To rectify it, sell the property or hack and rescue ending again
leonard73
post Feb 26 2016, 01:14 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 26 2016, 11:07 AM)
thanks for the info guys.
at first i was considering one which have to plug the utilities in.
now thinking it might be too much trouble having to deal with the local authorities.
so i guess i'll go for the off-grid options to save myself of the headache.
just making sure there is a solid concrete base for the container would be cheaper, right?

this is for use in kampung area, not buying bungalow type land and put it on.
If for kampung land then much more easier...for sure it is much more cheaper...try to get ready made from China much more easier.
Depends which state u r in. Some states u can avoid the authority.
leonard73
post Feb 29 2016, 01:58 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(kecik_mieow @ Feb 29 2016, 01:37 PM)
Hi TS, are you familiar with the law regarding asbestos in Malaysia.? Is it true that older houses were build from asbestos materials? As we know asbestos is highly carsinogenic and will lead to lung cancer sooner or later in most people who were exposed to its dust.

Would love to know more about the practise and the law relating to it. smile.gif
Based on my knowledge, asbestos being banned in selling n use in Malaysia long time ago. Any houses which used that materials, I would suggest to change.

leonard73
post Feb 29 2016, 02:03 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Feb 29 2016, 09:19 AM)
u mean ready-made container house from china?

Yup

leonard73
post Mar 3 2016, 11:31 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Klonelshaw @ Mar 3 2016, 06:13 PM)
I want to become a subcon, what I should do first?
Any advice friend
Make sure you have enough bullets to be subcon. If you dealing business with developer or main on, do have a preparation of slow and bad paymaster. I would either suggest you go do renovation works or getting small or medium government projects.
leonard73
post Mar 9 2016, 12:24 AM

105 posts

Based on my observations, studies and experience. This is just sharing a piece of my thoughts and there is no right and wrong for property costing or any other fields such as cars, foods, clothes, private hospitals or schools and etc.

Since we are talking about construction costing and profits of each earning. I would like to break it down as below.

1. As developer, it is controlled by our local housing department. All developer license and sales permit mostly handling by this department including bumiputra lot and non bumi lots. One of the criteria is that developer must submit their gross developement value vs their nett sales margin. This value must be exceed of 15% margin. Duration of granted approval is another issue as wages are being paid monthly to the office employees.

2. Architect, C&S engineer, m&e engineer, surveyor, quantity serveyor (QS). This are major professional that developer will hire for a basic project. Their charges varies from 15% to 20%, it depends how big is your project and started engaging them one by one from your land purchased. This hasn't counted the land need to be clear, Level, reclamation, cut or remove excessive soil. Another aspects are soil investigation and load investigation.

3. Contractor. Contractors tendering each projects also based on their own rate as some factors do affects their rate such as overhead expenses and self ownered machineries or not, and their skills, but do not worry on this part as there is a market rate for this. But do remember costing for projects are much more different from renovation costing.

4. Materials costing. One of the key factors. This also depends on developer and architect as design concern or cost concern. For example floor tiles, floor types do have few qualities and types such as homogenous, marbles, timbers, cement screening and etc. all price are varies. Another aspect is suppliers, some can get a good deal for a same supplier and some not.

5. Workers, it depends on either on skills workers and local or imported. This is because their wages also one of the key factors.

6. Marketing. Normally fixed of this about 1~3% of total sales for dis department. It will cover all sales personnel wages, brochures, phone bills or some advertising and lastly commission. This allocation starts from first launching till completed sold all units. Time is a main key factor.
Marketing will determined by developer depends on few factors. Targeted market, demands and workmanship and services.

basically these are the factors influenced the property selling price. There are many more factors which I yet to fact in as if I do put in, then end up I will be writing a book.

Sorry if I wrongly mentioned as this is based on my area. All pricing are varies from each state. Sorry for the wrong msg.

leonard73
post Mar 17 2016, 01:40 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Mar 16 2016, 10:41 AM)
anyone know estimate cost to resurface tennis court?
It relies on what product u using. Range from 15 to 400 psf
leonard73
post Mar 17 2016, 02:57 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Mar 17 2016, 02:18 PM)
i was quoted RM20k for this (ignore the "kote", its coat) smile.gif

[attachmentid=6184254]
Any warranty on performance and labor?
leonard73
post Mar 25 2016, 12:43 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(Dupe5 @ Mar 24 2016, 10:42 PM)
Nope, using for school work lab testing, tried those road side farm gardening place, they dont have it. Actually, trying to look into those excavated soil from road side project work, normally those they still need it? Have yet to ask those contractor in charge
You may try to collect near river bank or swamping area. If want a convenient you may try look for pottery factory or shop.
leonard73
post Apr 23 2016, 10:08 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(pooglemoogle @ Apr 18 2016, 09:07 PM)
Hi, what is the average amount of concrete and steel bar in mt to be use for a unit terrace house. ?
Normally will be around 4 to 6 mt. for steel bar.
Concrete, if my memory is good, you can simply estimated more o less about 25m3. And included varies of grade.
leonard73
post Apr 26 2016, 06:19 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Apr 26 2016, 01:49 PM)
@iwubpreve

Is there any professionals out there you can check defect liability? It's really a painful exercise.
i used to startup a body of proffesional board for assist buyers to check defects on their properties before getting the key, but still a dream now.
leonard73
post Apr 26 2016, 06:20 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(pooglemoogle @ Apr 25 2016, 11:17 AM)
Thank you for your reply leonard73. In fact I just finished calculated it to be 4.9 Mt for steel bar. But my concrete is around 49 m3. With slab thickness around 115mm on average. Beams size on average is 200 x 450.
hmm...how come concrete so high? concrete roofing?

0.0530sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:33 PM