Steam Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V46

pikachu01
post Nov 3 2014, 11:08 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 3 2014, 11:02 PM)
Pretty much only Civ V had terrible AI. Gal Civ 2, Sword of the Stars, Age of Wonders 3 and Endless Space AI was usable. The way you are writing, you are implying that people who play Civ are people who enjoy "inferior" games are retarded to your "superior" grand strategy. Ie, this line:
And I never agree that grand strategy was any better than Civ V. Maybe it is dry for you but you do not have shit on other games while thinking that your taste is much more superior. History is not my thing so I choose to ignore it.

Please keep your arrogance and biased opinion with yourself if you cannot post a balanced discussion.
Umm, the AI being terrible is already a known fact for 4X games as in what it does is mostly to turtle/harass/expand. It doesn't really react to your own strategy which makes cookie cutter builds achieve victory without problems once you find it.

I didn't say people who enjoy 4X games are retarded. Please don't put words into my mouth. You really like to do thisa a lot, you know that?

People do enjoy 4X games as well. It's the same as Bad Rats or even Big Rigs. Even when the game is broken, it does bring enjoyment. Playing those games certainly ain't retarded but still comparing it to 4X is a little bit weird, but that's a point there if you don't realize what I'm talking about.

I'm not saying my taste is more superior. I'm saying that I don't have to deal with dumb AI in Grand Strategy games. But I have to deal with dull UI as well as steep learning curves. To each his own. I'm not saying Grand Strategy is the holy grail of strategy games. I'm just saying that I can't return to 4X games as I can never deal with it's dumb AI anymore.

I am posting a balanced discussion. You're the one reading it wrong. I still think 4X games are good but not for me as I can't deal with dumb AI that will always lose to cookie cutter builds.

Edit: And one more thing, if you just spend 5 hours to learn Grand Strategy, I'm pretty sure you'll come to same conclusion as I am. And I mean without the bias that you're feeling right now cause I hurt you when I said 4X games have dumb AI.

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Nov 3 2014, 11:13 PM
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 12:36 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 4 2014, 12:22 AM)
No offence, but I dislike people who think that they found a subgenre of more in depth games in a genre, then, start to look down on other games in the genres that generally that has less depth. It is common to find sim racer who enjoys Assetto Corsa, rFactor and so on that looks down on other racing games in the genre because they think they are more superior after being exposed to a more complex game.

Its good that you found something you enjoy but do not assume that people who doesnt play the same "superior" game you like are playing Bat Rats or Big Rigs equivalent of the genre. Different games are suitable with different people.
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Nov 4 2014, 12:27 AM)
Regardless, just enjoy whatever you like. Dont have to resort to looking down on the games that you dont like as you are comparing 4X like Civ to mediocre games like Bad Rats or Big Rigs. 4X are no way as inferior as those games.

Good for you that you dont have to deal with AI but I am not a fan of history in general so i'll skip EU4, CK2 or any Paradox grand strategy until they do a sci fi version of it.
The thing is, I'm not looking down at 4X games. That's what you need to understand. It's just like FPS vs Third Person Shooter. Some prefer FPS as it's precise and immersive. But some dislike it because it induces motion sickness. I understand Big Rigs and Bad Rats aren't good examples (I noted that as well, but that's just an example, can't you understand what I'm saying?)

4X are bad cause of it's dumb AI. That's one of it's traits. You can't run away from it. I bet you can't really say the AI is good as the best it could be is "usable". That's not enough for me. Yes, Grand Strategy games is historical. Some people might not like that, and I agree. However, that's one of it's traits as well and it cannot run away from being historical. Same thing like 4X can't run away from being ruined by cookie cutter builds cause it's AI can't cope with the player's strategy.
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 05:25 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 4 2014, 01:53 PM)
just started EU4.. single player is all historical game. which country and which scenario should i play first for noobie like me? unsure.gif
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 4 2014, 05:09 PM)
lost on Easy AI in EU4 1444 scenario.. playing as Castile. Suddenly got this civil war thing among the neighbors.. my country one of the 4 nations in it. 3 other nations attack. this one nation (with a France flag + a slash) sent 20 stack troops which all my other 20+ troops fail to beat against.. doesnt make sense zz.

sigh and I thought Castille was for newbies to play.. play on Easy also this hard?
As Castille, you have to make sure that your economy is sound (which is pretty easy as it's a rich base tax country). Also Aragon is your buffer against France. You can get a Personal Union with Aragon if luck is on your side, but if not, you have to find a way to chip away at them till you've fully annex them. In the meantime, get either France or UK at your side. Both of them are considered superpowers and getting on their bad side is bad. Send diplomats and improve relations with them. They'll ally with you. Portugal is also a good ally to have.

Meanwhile, expand your trade, build light ships to protect trade and hire advisors (your income is more than enough to hire +1 (or even+2) advisors. That way, you can improve your military tech.

You can set "Bonuses" to Player for an easier experience.

Also, if you're overrun by the enemy, you can concede defeat and suffer some losses (provincial or money/prestige).

Edit: France is OP as their generals have better modifiers than other countries. This makes it dangerous as their 20stack army can pretty much decimate other countries 20stack army. Best if you stack up to 40 to defeat their 20 stack. Also, crossing rivers will give you a penalty when attacking.

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Nov 4 2014, 05:27 PM
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 06:52 PM

1,510 posts

EU4 Collection 75% off:
http://www.reddit.com/r/GameDeals/comments...ions_999249975/
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 07:33 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Nov 4 2014, 07:30 PM)
Walao I didn't know that .. How to know which country got what strengths? Was not mentioned when I'm starting the game? If I knew that will sure send diplomats and fast fast become their ally liao.
I conquered Granada without the mission asking to since I saw their military is so weak.

Even helped allies attack Africa morocco... Then after morocco surrendered this France threat thing came... Totally demotivated me from playing further seeing their OPness
That's one of the things when playing EU4. You got to check if your neighbours are threats. You can check the Generals when you want to attack an army (the stars that represent the army represent the General strength). France is always known as the Big Blue Blob as it's army is always OP, but a good Castille can still take it on without much problems in mid game.

Edit: EU4 automatically saves your game every year. You can rollback to the previous years and start diplomatically kissing up France tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Nov 4 2014, 07:34 PM
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 08:32 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 4 2014, 07:44 PM)
Hi Davidtcf and pikachu01,

Would suggest using the dedicated thread below for grand strategy games which talexeh has created previous.

Link as follows: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1669545

Thank you for your consideration.
Haha, I've seen people talking about babies and girlfriend as well as porn. I'm guessing Grand Strategy still falls under steam games.
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 08:36 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 4 2014, 08:35 PM)
Up to you.

You would note there is no dedicated threads for babies, girlfriends and etc.
Yes there are, there's this:
https://forum.lowyat.net/Pregnancy&Parenting
https://forum.lowyat.net/CupidsCorner

And under those subforums, even more dedicated threads for whatever that suits your need.
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 08:38 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 4 2014, 08:38 PM)
I mean in this gaming subforum.
Umm, parenting and girlfriends don't fall under gaming subforum. sweat.gif
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 08:41 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Nov 4 2014, 08:40 PM)
Exactly.

Anyway, up to you only. Dedicated threads for grand strategy would help others since they may also ask the same questions.

Just saying you know.
Yeah, though I do see the thread there untouched for years. I'll spruce it up a bit and see if anyone bites.
pikachu01
post Nov 4 2014, 09:06 PM

1,510 posts

This seems interesting. You can pick and choose your Grand Strategy games here:

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Nov 4 2014, 09:06 PM
pikachu01
post Nov 5 2014, 10:19 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Nov 5 2014, 10:18 AM)
I have a question regarding Unifi and Huawei modem. Hoping someone has experience with this. So yesterday, the model DSL light was off and VoIP light was red the whole day,  tried restarting modem all that, didn't work. Then at night, I turned it off, but someone turned it back on.

This morning I noticed that the VoIP light is gone and this time, it seems like the modem is restarting itself? Basically what happened was that the power light will turn on, then followed by Lan (cable to my conputer). No DSL light, no VoIP light. Then when Ethernet light turns on, all the lights (power, Lan, Ethernet) goes off. Then power goes up again, lan, Ethernet, then lights go off again. The cycle keeps repeating.

Is the modem faulty? I suspect it might be the modem overheating as it was hot this morning and You can smell the smell you get when electronics are hot.
Try unplugging everything and just plugging the power.

If it's power cycling, then something is really wrong with the hardware.
pikachu01
post Nov 5 2014, 12:49 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Nov 5 2014, 12:03 PM)
Oh man I always wanted the Novelist.. Regret not getting Humble Bundle beat the average early lol
The Novelist isn't that good anyways actually judging from the reviews.
pikachu01
post Nov 5 2014, 01:46 PM

1,510 posts

pikachu01
post Nov 5 2014, 01:53 PM

1,510 posts