Health Healthy Food at the Mamak Stall, I'm stuck in Pelita and I need help

TSkoolbrader
post Oct 12 2014, 07:44 PM, updated 12y ago

53 posts

Hey guys, so I know eating at a mamak is not healthy but I'm sort of stuck with just eating at the mamak everyday. Let me explain.

I work in Cyberjaya on night shift for 12 hours. And in my job, I can only take 30 mins break. No longer. This limits my movement around Cyberjaya for lunchtime (usually 2AM). So in the end to stay close to work, the only option I have is Pelita and even if there was any restaurants open at that ungodly hour, it is usually a mamak stall.

Now I know what you are thinking, pack food. But I have trouble doing that for reasons. Let's just pretend that I have no other choice but to eat at the mamak. What should I order to stay full and sort of healthy?

Help me out! I can already feel the fat piling on!
danny_sp15
post Oct 12 2014, 07:48 PM

==============
3,045 posts

Tandoori and plain naan should be pretty good. You dont have to finish the naan if you think you're eating too much.

Capati also is a healthy choice, provided you cicah with dhal.
TSkoolbrader
post Oct 13 2014, 07:12 AM

53 posts

I like capati with dhal, thanks! What about drinks? I have a water bottle that I can use to bring plain water but if I forgot to bring, any suggestions?
-CoupeFanatic-
post Oct 13 2014, 09:16 AM

812 posts

Chapati with no sauce and plain water. Can't think of any other healthier alternative
yeezai
post Oct 13 2014, 03:13 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

roti kosong ais kosong no sauce ...if want fuller take 2 roti telur
UnknownDave
post Oct 14 2014, 06:21 AM

303 posts

lol take roti gardenia the chocolate one..am on 12 hours night shift also

works for me...

doing bench press currently @ 64 KG at 4x20 4-5 times a week.. protein shake blended with raw eggs and milk everyday once

last year i was 87 kg dropped down to 77kg this year back to 91kg and within 2 months dropped down to 84kg... this time the bodybuilding part will stay for years as i got my own dumbbell set up to 76kg in home. This time probably aiming to 70kg bodyweight to have a lean muscle popping out.

@ Below 2 pictures was 87kg dropped down to 77 kg at the next picture, that time my maximum bench press was 50kg

user posted imageuser posted image

@ below picture current 84kg bodyweight and bench press 64kg aiming for leaning body at 70kg - 75kg bodyweight while increasing higher benchpress

This post has been edited by UnknownDave: Oct 14 2014, 06:31 AM
sendoh_7
post Oct 14 2014, 08:25 AM

520 posts

tosai has low calorie
ExCrIpT
post Oct 14 2014, 11:05 AM

1,672 posts

It'snot about low calories, mamak food is notorious for being high in saturated fats (oily) and processed food.

Best bet is tandoori chicken and naan.
Drinks? Barli if the have or teh o ais with lil sugar or just air suam
sweet_pez
post Oct 14 2014, 11:05 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Yes tandoori - go for chicken breast! Mamak you can order ice water or teh 'o ais.

Agree on the tosai, naan kosong and chapatti. They have eggs too right? Hard boiled eggs on the table? If not, then telur mata kerbau works too.

I personally don't take dhal curry. I would minimize my dip on the curry chicken when i take chapatti. Just want the taste so whichever works.

Apart from going out to eat, you can also pack some food from home for your "lunch" occasionally.
TSkoolbrader
post Oct 14 2014, 11:14 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Oct 13 2014, 03:13 PM)
roti kosong ais kosong no sauce ...if want fuller take 2 roti telur
Is roti telur ok to take meh everday? 2 summore. Wahlao.

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 14 2014, 11:05 AM)
It'snot about low  calories, mamak food is notorious for being high in saturated fats (oily) and processed  food. 

Best bet is tandoori chicken and  naan.
Drinks? Barli if the have or teh o ais with lil sugar or just air suam
Thanks man. This is exactly what I need. I'll take your advice

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 14 2014, 11:05 AM)
Yes tandoori - go for chicken breast! Mamak you can order ice water or teh 'o ais.

Agree on the tosai, naan kosong and chapatti. They have eggs too right? Hard boiled eggs on the table? If not, then telur mata kerbau works too.

I personally don't take dhal curry. I would minimize my dip on the curry chicken when i take chapatti. Just want the taste so whichever works.

Apart from going out to eat, you can also pack some food from home for your "lunch" occasionally.
Chicken breast? I like drumstick. Must be chicken breast is it? cry.gif

If I take the eggs, should I avoid the yolk?
UnknownDave
post Oct 14 2014, 11:23 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(koolbrader @ Oct 14 2014, 11:14 AM)
Is roti telur ok to take meh everday? 2 summore. Wahlao.
Thanks man. This is exactly what I need. I'll take your advice
Chicken breast? I like drumstick. Must be chicken breast is it?  cry.gif

I personally would avoid those mamak flour as they are non healthy and have a lot of trans fat.

Go for the meat only etc..chicken.
sweet_pez
post Oct 14 2014, 11:45 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(koolbrader @ Oct 14 2014, 11:14 AM)
Chicken breast? I like drumstick. Must be chicken breast is it?  cry.gif

Nay, not a must to go for chicken breast. Just that it is leaner. Go for whatever you like, diet should not be so stringent that you don't enjoy your food.

Yolk is sedaps, how can you waste it? tongue.gif Just eat!
TSkoolbrader
post Oct 14 2014, 12:15 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(UnknownDave @ Oct 14 2014, 11:23 AM)
I personally would avoid those mamak flour as they are non healthy and have a lot of trans fat.

Go for the meat only etc..chicken.
But mamak only have fried chicken and tandoori chicken. So just eat tandoori chicken without naan is it?

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 14 2014, 11:45 AM)
Nay, not a must to go for chicken breast. Just that it is leaner. Go for whatever you like, diet should not be so stringent that you don't enjoy your food.

Yolk is sedaps, how can you waste it? tongue.gif Just eat!
Taw xpe! I don't wanna waste the delicious olk! Hahahah. Thx 4 the advice. Will keep it in mind thumbup.gif
esy
post Oct 14 2014, 12:49 PM

160 posts

... I was about to say - where got mamak food healthy wan? ... tongue.gif ... ok, let just say and I won't say I am saint myself to avoid mamak stuff -- I would go for the veggies (favourite bayan or fried taufu), telur mata or fried egg with onion, and meat (either mutton, fried chicken or fried fish). As much as I can is to avoid the oily santan kuah. Oh, with a cup of milo kurang manis ... laugh.gif ... ha ha ha ha ... dirty bulking ... ha ha ha ha ... laugh.gif ...

This post has been edited by esy: Oct 14 2014, 12:52 PM
ExCrIpT
post Oct 14 2014, 02:31 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(koolbrader @ Oct 14 2014, 12:15 PM)
But mamak only have fried chicken and tandoori chicken. So just eat tandoori chicken without naan is it?

Tandoori is just chicken, u can't be eating only chicken for ur meal. Ull be hungry in no time. Naan is High in carbs as it is made of wheat flour yet I'd say it's the healthiest carb food u can find in a mamak. Eat it with some sauce and u won't have to worry that much with clogging ur arteries heh

TSkoolbrader
post Oct 14 2014, 02:59 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(esy @ Oct 14 2014, 12:49 PM)
... I was about to say - where got mamak food healthy wan? ...  tongue.gif  ... ok, let just say and I won't say I am saint myself to avoid mamak stuff -- I would go for the veggies (favourite bayan or fried taufu), telur mata or fried egg with onion, and meat (either mutton, fried chicken or fried fish). As much as I can is to avoid the oily santan kuah. Oh, with a cup of milo kurang manis ...  laugh.gif  ... ha ha ha ha ... dirty bulking ... ha ha ha ha ...  laugh.gif ...
The sayur at the mamak does not look appetizing at all but I guess theres no harm in trying. I've never ordered telur mata with onion. Looking forward to trying that. I'm trying to stay away from mutton and fried stuff so I guess tandoori chicken will have to be my fave source of protein aside from steamed soft tofu.

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 14 2014, 02:31 PM)
Tandoori is just chicken, u can't be eating only chicken for ur meal. Ull be hungry in no time.  Naan is High in carbs as it is made of wheat flour yet I'd say it's the healthiest carb food u can find in a mamak. Eat it with some sauce and u won't have to worry that much with clogging ur arteries heh
Thanks mate~ That's my plan from now on.
TSkoolbrader
post Oct 14 2014, 03:01 PM

53 posts

Thanks everyone for all the input!! notworthy.gif

I really appreciate it and I'll try my best to follow the sort-of-healthy diet at the mamak from now on.

My decision is to take tandoori chicken drool.gif with plain naan and bring along plain water in my tumbler.

Hope I wont get fat!! thumbup.gif
Xccess
post Oct 14 2014, 06:18 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Eat almost daily at mamak??? Why not make some sandwiches for a change, at least it's healthier plus won't take a lot of your time.
ExCrIpT
post Oct 14 2014, 09:43 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Oct 14 2014, 06:18 PM)
Eat almost daily at mamak??? Why not make some sandwiches for a change, at least it's healthier plus won't take a lot of your time.
he already said to pretend that he has no other choice but to eat mamak food only.
danny_sp15
post Oct 14 2014, 10:44 PM

==============
3,045 posts

Drinks: sometimes they have milk. Can try ask for that. Once in a while teh tarik is ok. tongue.gif

others: half boiled eggs are alright as well. just that pricy la, when u think one egg is 30sen and they just boiled it.

0.0161sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:02 AM