Asus Zenfone Official Thread Version 4, ASUS 華碩 ZenFone 5 LTE (A500KL)
axxer
Oct 13 2014, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Oct 13 2014, 12:32 PM) just traded in my htc one x (old one from brother) to zenfone 4 people say it's a downgrade. but what I like is the smaller size, and the htc one x battery life is HORRIBLE. and this cheap zenfone can support usb-otg. just tested yesterday, connect directly to my digital camera, and the zenfone can recognise it. battery life is not as good as acer phones. but hmmm, how to check if the set is original ? it says Model number ASUS_T001.there was a 4.3update OTA. If it can upgrade OTA it means it is original ? frankly zenfones series also got terrible battery life compared to other droids using arm chipset  ori=distributor is dynamics, got dynamics sticker on box. This post has been edited by axxer: Oct 13 2014, 01:08 PM
axxer
Oct 14 2014, 11:50 PM
kk definitely need root, to enable access to sdcard for thirdpart apps. unless is a phone with no sdcard like original moto g that wont be a problem, but we got phone with sdcard and kk made sdcard useless for thirdparty app.
axxer
Oct 17 2014, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(Xierra777 @ Oct 17 2014, 02:22 PM) I already freezed most of pre-installed and some Asus services by using Titanium Backup. But battery is still pretty weak. Intel Atom consumes way too much while idle. Lowest frequency for each core is 800Mhz compared to Snapdragon/Mediatek, they runs as low as 300mhz-400mhz and they are faster SoC than Intel still. yes arm soc is more power saving than intel x86, but definitely not more powerful. currently intel soc only got dualcore but detected as quadcore due to hyperthreading, can beat the crap out of any dualcore arm processor out there.
axxer
Oct 18 2014, 10:30 PM
my zenfone 4 just got new notification for ota update, v6.5.30, 81.77mb in size.
axxer
Oct 19 2014, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(ada7914 @ Oct 19 2014, 11:17 PM) It comes with two battery..but the art of opening the back cover is challenging..hehe...i also waiting for the 1600mah to buy... the 1600mah batt wont fit 1200mah phone, the back cover wont fit. zf4 with 1600mah is slightly, just few mm thicker than zf4 with 1200mah batt.
axxer
Oct 20 2014, 12:05 PM
axxer
Oct 28 2014, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(xtrm_cdr @ Oct 28 2014, 06:37 PM) I've just got Zenphone 4 yesterday and would like to update to KK. I have some questions to those who have updated their Z4 to KK and hope someone can answer : 1. I want to manually download KK from Asus website but confused with 2 versions of the firmware: CHT and WW SKU. Which one should I download? My current build number is JSS15Q.WW_Zenphone-V4.3.11-20140804010151_201312100112 2. Is there any problem after which I install the update? I've read some of the previous posts that Zen 5 users have some problems with KK update. How about Zen 4 users? Thanks. yours should be ww. but why dont u just update via ota? for sure it'll give correct version. zenfone already got many update, zf4 already got two kk update so far and not to mention countless standalone asus app update from playstore. any bugs should be resolve fast by asus seing they gave update constantly. me got no bugs that i cant think of, just ram usage is abit high on kk compared to jb.
axxer
Nov 14 2014, 02:50 PM
axxer
Nov 14 2014, 02:56 PM
yes. currently asus kk update aren't that good. more battery drain, more ram usage, and not to mention the underlying problem of kk that thirdparty app can't properly access external sdcard unless rooted.
axxer
Nov 24 2014, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Nov 23 2014, 11:55 PM) y u sell off ur zen5 after one month use? i'm guessing its battery life issue, the well known drawback of zenfones
axxer
Nov 24 2014, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Nov 24 2014, 12:40 AM) lol....my side im still looking for buyer for zen 6 my zenfone 4 is collecting dust in drawer now. using my old nokia x for the time being until can get enough funds for new phone. yes it lags, but battery life is decent enough can get atleast 4 hours sot, not like zenfone which need recharge every 4 seconds no more stupid intel soc for my next phone.
axxer
Nov 24 2014, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(tsg_7 @ Nov 24 2014, 02:08 AM) dun la say like that..maybe u just got lemon for this time..other review ok wat... my zen 6 can last for 48 hours if not much call in/ out with data on (not browsing much) and bluetooth on. sure, if its only me alone saying zenfone are battery hog then probably i got lemon, but others said the same thing too. my usage pattern is almost the same for droid phone i use so far, apps also the same. i consider myself light to medium user, not heavy user. wifi 90% of the time, app usage mostly whatsapp, tapatalk, reddit, flipboard, no gaming, no movie, no music, no youtube. on zf4 with 1600mah batt, the most i can get is 3hours sot max, usually only 2.5 hours, with max i can get between charge so far in 5 months i own it is just 20 hours, usually after 15 hours need charge already. thats really, really unacceptable for me. This post has been edited by axxer: Nov 24 2014, 09:09 AM
axxer
Nov 24 2014, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(sanderz @ Nov 24 2014, 04:19 PM) Yup, I sell it off becz of batt issue, that time I m coming from Lenovo P780 4000Mah battery then drop to that is seriously unacceptable loh. Btw I ve my OPO as primary phone, so light usage should be okay I think? if i were u i'd go for moto e, another cheap phone suitable as second phone but with brilliant battery life.
axxer
Nov 27 2014, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 27 2014, 03:59 PM) anyone use super backup? how to set backup folder to sd card? assuming you're on kitkat and not rooted: thirdparty apps cannot access sdcard on kitkat without root
axxer
Dec 3 2014, 08:19 PM
u guys cant seriously compared the zf5 lte with zf5 non lte, both using different cpu which the arm cpu in zf5 lte will be alot better at battery saving than the intel cpu in zf5 non lte This post has been edited by axxer: Dec 3 2014, 08:20 PM