upgraded few days ago. after Win10 the fan spins loudly
i even re-apply the thermal paste but still the fan is noisily spins

so downgrade back to Win 8.1 64bit

i hope MSI can still have some love foe GE users here to upgrade to Windows 10
freddy manson
post Oct 18 2015, 05:44 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(outlife11 @ Oct 13 2015, 08:10 PM)
got it thank a lot  thumbup.gif

don have tat driver  rclxub.gif
http://www.msi.com/support/nb/GE60-2OC.htm...n-driver&Win8.1 64

no Realtek Wireless LAN driver. but it support 802.11 b/g/ n so any version that Windows Update can find for you should be fine.

just go to ur Device Manager, find the Network Adapter tab and update all the wireless drivers from there
freddy manson
post Oct 20 2015, 01:30 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

Anyone can help?
I just added 128gb mSATA to my GE70

But i cant seem to install my burnRecovery OS to it, it doesnt show in the BurnRecovery menu.
The OS will b installed to the 1Tb HDD

Ny setting on BIOS i need to mingle?
freddy manson
post Oct 30 2015, 07:58 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(mellovicious @ Oct 29 2015, 08:50 PM)
lol.

but the m.2 slot on gs60 seems quite difficult to access. need to flip over the motherboard =_=
BUT THOSE SPEED. IS WORTH EVERY FLIP

The hard part is transferring the OS to the SSD

haha thumbup.gif
freddy manson
post Nov 6 2015, 08:11 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(klmojuze @ Nov 4 2015, 03:46 PM)
Indeed. Flip It To Win It! smile.gif When in doubt, fresh install smile.gif ...For my GP62 2QE Leopard Pro I used the Windows 10 Home Single Language (English Internation) ISO and it will recognise the BIOS Windows key automatically.

Lord willing I will get my 256GB M2 after one (or more) successful projects. But for now, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9JVNMmsN3Co
128 is good enough.
i put all my games installation files on a partition on the HDD
so the SSD only for windows and office/softwares thumbup.gif
freddy manson
post Nov 9 2015, 01:03 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(klmojuze @ Nov 9 2015, 12:11 PM)
I prefer 256GB SSD, because I also like having 16GB to 32GB of swap space on SSD plus space for Hibernate files. And I have lots and lots of apps to put on SSD...  blush.gif

But indeed, for game files, don't put it on the SSD, except for the game you are actively playing (loading the game, etc. will be really fast). smile.gif

Cheers!
im not so pro about hardware but as to my undestanding, swap files will shorten the SSD life. and hibernate is a faster 'boot' in a way but booting up now on SSD (win 8.1) takes me less than 5sec so i never hibernate or hybrid sleep. i dont know if the 12Gb of RAM also contributes to these haha

a clean boots always boost the system performance thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by freddy manson: Nov 9 2015, 01:04 PM
freddy manson
post Nov 16 2015, 09:46 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Nov 11 2015, 03:45 PM)
Hello all, my MSI GE70 apache pro seems like kena virus already....

Very very slow now loading and sometimes the windows taskbar hang....can't press anything.....want to do a clean reformat....can any1 teach me how?? 1st time reformat a laptop...only do the desktop before....

Also, 1 question.....If I do a clean reformat, will all the MSI pre-installed apps gone?? or will it automatically reinstalled back?
your HDD comes with a recovery partition bro.
the steps to install back to factory default (including all the MSI softwares) like when u 1st bought it.
youtube "recovery of msi ge70" cause i had done it once.
prepare a USB disk (4gb and bove) and fire up the MSI Recovery software.. it'll boot up to recovery, format the drive and install windows 8.1 64bit just like from factory

but then, u need to update it back (windows update for all the drivers, updates etc)

this one is similar (just ignore the SSD and RAID part)
- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ArvWkGG_yu8

i follow that video. and now smoothly back on win8.1 instead of the laggy Win10

This post has been edited by freddy manson: Nov 16 2015, 09:50 AM
freddy manson
post Nov 18 2015, 02:28 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Nov 18 2015, 01:17 PM)
Yeah, Penang MSI new stock arrived.

Finally can bring home my 1st MSI laptop tomorrow (ssd arrive late)--> PE70 with add on 128G m.2 ssd pcie + 8G DDR4 Ram.

Been looking for m.2 ssd pcie everywhere in penang ... mostly din keep stock ...
how much cash u burn for those?
freddy manson
post Nov 18 2015, 03:54 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

hence the SSD and RAM upgrade is a good choice~
m.2 is a smaller SSD, doesnt take as much space, but 128gb wont be enough,
for gaming purposes

:hooray:
freddy manson
post Nov 19 2015, 08:21 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(kyox88 @ Nov 18 2015, 07:31 PM)
hi..how much is the ddr4 ram and where did u buy it? i just bought a GE62 6QC. What a wonderful laptop.
edited..

is this suitable ?
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/kings...2133mhz-9038089
i didnt buy the DDR4 RAM it was someone else

but looking at google, GE62 6QC uses the DDR4-2133
so ur link: http://www.11street.my/productdetail/kings...2133mhz-9038089
should be able to fit in nicely and runs okay~
but why not get the 8Gb instead?
so if u want to run heavy rendering then should be enough buffer also

happy buying! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by freddy manson: Nov 19 2015, 08:23 AM
freddy manson
post Nov 20 2015, 10:08 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Nov 20 2015, 09:42 AM)
Yeah!  Finally got my PE70 but not with m.2 PCIE ssd due to shipment delayed.

So, swap my internal 1TB HDD with Samsung 850 Evo 250g ssd at RM580 bought from other shop. sad.gif kinda expensive .....

Overall PE70 build quality is very impressive except the keyboard size and the Font style kinda weird ... caused many typo ....
i envy you man.
but nvm, have fun playing games on it bro!

btw, 8Gb seems like not good enough for Win10, they said..
terus upgred ke 12 or 16Gb ahahahahahahaha

rclxm9.gif
freddy manson
post Nov 21 2015, 10:26 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Nov 20 2015, 11:08 AM)
Thx bro, upgraded to 12G Ram... initially plan to take out the stock 4G Ram and replace with 2 x8G  but the 4G will be wasted bc cannot sell due to no warranty to the buyer.... so try out 12G 1st .... if not enough then only try 16G.
im also 12Gb hahahaha

my spec. old but gold. still reliable~
freddy manson
post Dec 29 2015, 10:15 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(meh_man @ Dec 29 2015, 09:50 AM)
Hey thanks for the reply guys. Just ordered the SSD and decided on regular m.2 drive instead of NVME.

A clean install is way too much hassle for me so I think I'll live with the bloatware.

Read online that some people where experiencing slow down on their cloned SSD drives. Granted is was NVME drives. How true is this Dannyoski ? Have you experienced anything similar ? Did you tried running some benchmarks ?
i pop up my ge70, and install mSATA SSD and take out the HDD
then i insert the disk recovery usb and restore the recovery to SSD
then i put the HDD back in and format the HDD
long way to do things i know but i like it like this not so much hassle bah like this (for me lah)
fresh install is better, those bloatware wont bother much, boot time is less than 15sec hahaha
freddy manson
post Jan 29 2016, 03:30 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(raven143 @ Jan 29 2016, 07:43 AM)
Nice TS. Looking forward to the Division. Anybody played it yet?
- http://tomclancy-thedivision.ubi.com/game/en-us/beta/
freddy manson
post Feb 2 2016, 11:03 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(hansko94 @ Feb 2 2016, 05:18 PM)
Hello guys!! i need some advices from u guys =D
What is the safest temperature for gaming on MSI GE62 6QC?
What temperature range considered as danger zone?
Is it okay to run turbo fan boost during 1-2 hours of gaming?

Thanks for answering!! =D thumbup.gif
i dont know also about "safest" temperature. i gues that the lowest it is should be the safest.
GE62 have 2 fans, one each for the processor CPU and GPU..
so if u enable the Cooler Boost (that button beside on top that turns the fan to boost) it'll definitely helps to cool down the temp some more

safest, i think u should to up to 80*C on a notebook.. because u can never gets the superb 30*C unlike a desktop unit can
hitting the 80 will definitely be noticeable.. sweaty palms and heat can be felt on the laptop unit..
turn the boost as long as you like, it'll just add more noise fan brows.gif
freddy manson
post Feb 5 2016, 09:55 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(pokute @ Feb 4 2016, 11:00 PM)
Arghhhh shit storm today. Horsecrap MSI! I was expecting an IPS panel laptop, ended up getting a TN panel instead!

On top of that, this is my first MSI laptop. It's a PRESTIGE PE60. Even in the bloody quotation stated "IPS display".

The bummer is that every shop including online stores are advertising this laptop using IPS panel. Very effing misleading.

Example one:

http://www.techhypermart.com/msi-pe60-6qe-...x960m-w10h.html

Example two:

http://www.lazada.com.my/msi-prestige-pe60...ok-7919618.html

Sheesh.  vmad.gif
how to check if your screen is TN or IPS?

0.0475sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:26 AM