MSI Gaming Notebook Thread V3

TyroneS
post May 17 2016, 03:43 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 27 2016, 04:18 AM)
I'm considering GS60 6QE now since my 13" rmbp was stolen from me few weeks ago. Mac was an enjoyable experience but I do miss gaming.

First off is there any wide spread problems or issues with this laptop? I was actually considering the Xps 15 as well but the problems reported by users are putting me off.

Next is whether I should go for the 4k screen or the 1080p? I do a lot of photo editing and enjoy some occasional gaming so I reckon the 4k screen would be better, but I'll have to scale down to 1080p for gaming obviously. Will the scaling look obvious or bad? Or will the 1080p screen be good enough for both of my usage? I'm having the dilemma now because coming from the mbp's retina screen I'm not sure whether I would like the 1080p screen at 15".

I'm in the UK now instead of Msia btw. So put aside service related issues.
1080p would be enough since windows still very weak on tweaking font size on larger resolution.
personal prefer output to a better LCD since you can get a better LCD with almost same prize of 4k screen update in laptop unless you're rely on laptop to done your photo/video editing job most of the time.
970m 1080p gaming is good but for 4k still not recommended.

otherwise Alienware not a bad choice if u wanted for 4k gaming due to the graphic amplifier~

btw i'm using GS70,as a lightroom and vegas pro user i would prefer a better LCD output than rely on laptop screen since it's tn panel with 6bit colour processing.
*i did try to compared to ips panel on gs60,it look real good with better colour but lcd output still recommended if you're not fully rely on laptop for photo/video editing*
and also i heard some ppl suffer from screen light bleed issue with new panel or new panel in msi seem not good like older batch.
TyroneS
post May 17 2016, 03:46 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(501024 @ May 13 2016, 04:11 PM)
your oem windows key will be different from original.

I got my laptop with Win8, after send for repair, came back win win10.
Windows not activated.
Called microsoft, tell them my issue.
Operator ask me for some info like previous key etc
Ask me copy new key down, key in and activate.
Less than 10mins.

Dont even bother to wait for MSI personnel to help you out, they will tell you "checking"

Edit: basically, I mean is, if your OS is original, copy down the number first. that will be your proof of purchase and free upgrade to win10
last time my gs70 stucked for upgrading to windows 10,
loading to 15~17% then roll back to old windows and i tried many way including reinstall all bios,driver and windows 8.1 but no good news.
so i directly installed some windows 10.iso perform a clean install.
now it's say windows were activated,should be ok right?
haha...old oem cd key confirm lost since i clicked format on os drive.

TyroneS
post Dec 18 2018, 03:47 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(dexterdan @ Nov 22 2018, 10:08 PM)

Is this laptop worth buying ? Mainly i just used it for Lightroom/PS , occasionally Premiere Pro.

budget 3000-3,500
if you want smooth preview before rendering, u need at least 8gb of ram.
1050ti enought for smooth preview d.
and best way install your OS in SSD as main drive.

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Dec 18 2018, 02:10 PM)
Dear all msi sifu... My msi laptop is getting more n more slower day by day...
My model is msi ge70 2pe apache Pro... Is it my model already irrelevant and need to change?
Its so Lagg for me to play Dota2 now.. And also sometimes for loading nox emulator as well...

Any advise?
did you use SSD as main drive, games on other drive?
overheating issue?
updated the latest GPU driver?
make sure the game run on your GTX GPU,
sometime battery saving mode or did not plug the powerplug will run in Intel GPU only.

however, confirmed all above~
open task manager and set on top,
roll to CPU usage and run dota2 replay in high graphic.
check on your CPU Ghz...
Normal should be 3.xGhz~4.xGhz
if it drop to 0.xGhz or 1.xGhz mean it's overheating,
and you need replace the thermal paste d.

my GS70 also become lag after sometime gaming and after change thermal and under air-conditioner room,
1hours++ no lagging issue more.
my gs70 spec 4710hq+970m3gb+16gbram+256ssd+1tb hdd for refer.
TyroneS
post Dec 28 2018, 04:40 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Dec 28 2018, 04:00 PM)
Thanks for the replied.....I'm not using SSD as my main drive...just normal 1TB HDD.....RAM is 8GB....

Still with window 8......Is it worth to do the upgrade? I shall change to window 10 as well right?

Still thinking should I upgrade or not because I forgot to mentioned that my screen monitor also have 2 vertical line after 3 years......zzzz
i think that's the issue,
if you're loading dota2 from same drive will get stucked for a long loading time,
dota may shown error force close msg but just ignore it...
you need load a long time around 1minutes++
and you only using 1 drive, that's mean system and game load at the same time,
your hdd respond time will get a huge delay.
which mean your hdd reach it's peak so getting a slow load and busy traffic when re-cache data making delay/lag/hagging.
here's how you check, open task manager and set on-top
after run dota 2 and go replay or watch people play...
set your eyes on CPU/GPU/HDD usage,
which ever reach 100% means that CPU/GPU/HDD are hitting peak bottle neck need to upgrade.

after checking 100% you should check on CPU Ghz,
if you notice the dota start lagging and the CPU clock Ghz drop to 1.x or 2.2Ghz as example,
this mean it's overheating.

my friend do face the same issue but after he add-on m.2 sata and use sata ssd as main drive, problem solve at 1st.
windows i cannot comment since it due to people liking, some people like windows 8,some 8.1 some windows 10,
so far i don't see big issue from windows 10 recently due to stable upgrading after 1years patch.
*yes,there is 1 update will make your file lost but latest update no problem*

TyroneS
post Jan 8 2019, 07:15 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Jan 8 2019, 09:15 AM)
Hi.. Thanks for the head up.. I just bought a ssd drive... So I should install my window to my ssd now correct? How about others program like steam, nox? Also to my ssd drive? While my hdd only using for storage?
if your ssd memory huge enough, just stuck all the thing u used most into ssd. =D
TyroneS
post Jan 14 2019, 10:55 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Jan 14 2019, 05:36 PM)
oo...fk...i just a wrong ssd drive with different type of connector.....GG... sweat.gif  sweat.gif

Could you tell me which type of ssd that I should look for my msi ge70 2pe laptop? I have long time didnt follow hardware technology......

the ssd that i bought is WD Blue 3D NAND SATA SSD M.2 2280..........or is there a converter to use that ssd inside my laptop?
din't you bring your laptop along during purchase sweat.gif sweat.gif
old gen laptop do not fully support m2 ssd,
msata ssd only.

here's a link you may download and check ur laptop port,
http://forum.notebookreview.com/attachment...826-pdf.128196/
you can just look for msata ssd which is now very cheap compared to last time.

you also can see 1 msata ssd slot, and 1 normal 2.5inch hdd slot after open backcase right?
can try look for 3rd party shell but no guarantee that it's work due to some device not compatible...

Edited: After all it's the best to bring ur laptop along during purchase,
some ssd not support untill u update the bios or new ssd not support on old machine and sometime 1tb not working on old device too.
wish you luck thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TyroneS: Jan 14 2019, 10:59 PM
TyroneS
post May 27 2019, 10:24 AM

431 posts

Hello to all senpai/sifu notworthy.gif
may i know which place have official cert to upgrade my gs65 ram + extra ssd?
what the price around for 8/16gb ram & 1tb ssd.
currently with SN720 500 gb ssd & single channel 16gb ram,
any recommendation for cheap and value ssd?
could tell me the price if anyone did it before also.

not for gaming purpose, mostly adobe & vegas pro job.

anyhow, my 6 sense also tell me not to upgrade...
wait another 3~4years straight upgrade.
but i will want to know the price for upgrade maybe 1day gatal go upgrade.
TyroneS
post May 28 2019, 07:41 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(LeeroyJenkinss @ May 28 2019, 03:39 PM)
yo, wish to know is your GS65 still have warranty? if your warranty still valid, you need directly go to their shop or service center to have them upgrade / get the parts for you where they can help you test out the parts for compatibility. Price wise might be around RM900 (cheapest) with your criteria.
yes, just bought it last october 2018...
if not that warranty sticker & gs65 build issue,
i would already opened it up and upgrade myself like my old gs70 mega_shok.gif

thanks anyway~ thumbsup.gif
TyroneS
post May 31 2019, 01:10 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(RocketShooter @ May 31 2019, 10:11 AM)
GS65 interior have very unique design compare to the rest, i opened it and checked it out before, not too user friendly if you upgrading it on your own.
i had experience on opening couple of laptop and help replacing part from helping friends before ,
that's not the biggest issue...
Just the build quality of 1st gen gs65 is lousier,
so i worry it may broke something not due to my issue...
Also they improved the hinge,
add-on supportive bar around screen
and sticker to prevent static on board to latest gs75 and new gen gs65.

0.0191sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:38 AM