Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience

pangping1510
post Jan 16 2007, 05:35 PM

1,007 posts

any other stuff thats better for us to bring there from here?
pangping1510
post Jan 16 2007, 09:24 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jan 16 2007, 05:54 PM)
Off the top of my head: Clothes, laptop (or small portable PC), mobile phone, adaptor (different plugs), money (some cash and rest as bank draft), documentation (enrolment stuff, visa, OSHC, etc.), travel essentials (medications, toiletries, etc.).
It's best to open a bank account as soon as possible as I think there is a 10-point ID check beyond 7 days of arrival or something (last I remember), which is quite a hassle.
It's not worth it to bring in any foodstuffs (you can't bring in dairy products anyway), neither is it worth it to bring in a bucketload of toiletries to last you a year or so. Such things are pretty affordable there.

IMO, racism is more prevalent in Malaysia than it is in Australia, so you have nothing to worry about really.
what is 10 point ID check? smile.gif
pangping1510
post Jan 19 2007, 04:42 PM

1,007 posts

need help here...for temporary accomodation...should i stay into my basser college straight away or stay in malaysian hall for a couple of days first...goin to unsw...
pangping1510
post Jan 25 2007, 12:52 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(knuxed @ Jan 24 2007, 10:56 AM)
I was just wondering,how long does DIMIA take to update the student evisa status page?I sent in a copy of my passport on monday morning but they still say that the information is required.Shoot this is getting really scary
normally can get visa 3 days after you did your medical check up...
pangping1510
post Jan 30 2007, 11:38 PM

1,007 posts

if i starve till death how...goin unsw...
pangping1510
post Jan 31 2007, 11:45 PM

1,007 posts

sometimes they saman u on the spot leh...
pangping1510
post Feb 2 2007, 10:41 AM

1,007 posts

how abt those health supplement?

and to bring in cabin, can i like get a backpack,a laptop bag and a hand carry(dimension and weight as stated)?
pangping1510
post Feb 5 2007, 03:59 PM

1,007 posts

wan to ask, can we bring toiletries?like shampoo,shower foam etc...need to declare?
pangping1510
post Feb 14 2007, 11:40 AM

1,007 posts

in unsw now...need help...

pls suggest places to buy stuff at cheaper prices, and maybe include directions as well?

1.electrical kettle-more important
2.rack to dry my clothes(dunno what its called)-more important
3.groceries
4.idd card-more important
5.toiletries

and i selected turbocharge for optus while i registered just now..and found out its not valid anymore...zzzz...how to change to other plan?

This post has been edited by pangping1510: Feb 14 2007, 11:42 AM
pangping1510
post Feb 17 2007, 11:33 AM

1,007 posts

i am using estar now...0.5c i think...

sydney is getting hotter and hotter since i arrived here 5 days ago...my god...
pangping1510
post Mar 11 2007, 09:19 AM

1,007 posts

syd very cold la now...cold...cold...and darn basser college(UNSW) always has false fire alarm...3 times in 2 days!!4sth in the morning some more...zzz
pangping1510
post Mar 25 2007, 02:49 PM

1,007 posts

day light saving is cool...and its getting freaking cold here in sydney!!
pangping1510
post Apr 8 2007, 10:27 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Estrella @ Apr 2 2007, 06:37 AM)
hows medicine in aus?
in the first year, cant say much. my senior in third year says that at least first two years of med in unsw is the easiest in aussie. cuz my second yr seniors can still play poker cards and ping pong with me. haha...
pangping1510
post Apr 10 2007, 11:06 AM

1,007 posts

JPA ar. A lot universities. It's not about 'sending'. It's about using your own ability to get into the university(you have to apply on your own!), if you can't get a place, there is a few possibilities.

1. uk med->aus med
2. aus med->indon med

'normally' there are not many scholars who can't 'fly', a few exceptions might be med scholars to uk/aus. they can still do med, just that in countries like indon.

most of the scholars doing med or science related courses are in unsw, anu, melbourne, queensland, monash, adelaide; some in usyd, utas, rmit etc.

This post has been edited by pangping1510: Apr 10 2007, 11:07 AM
pangping1510
post Apr 20 2007, 03:44 PM

1,007 posts

me too

pangping1510, UNSW, Medicine, 1st year
pangping1510
post Apr 25 2007, 11:06 AM

1,007 posts

I heard from my friend that the top engineering schools in australia are UNSW and UniMelb. And UNSW has taken the first spot from UniMelb recently.
pangping1510
post Apr 28 2007, 03:38 PM

1,007 posts

aus is all about alcohol. =.='''

i am so tempted to get the e65 from 3. XD
pangping1510
post Apr 29 2007, 02:50 PM

1,007 posts

ya. new nokia by 3.

any opinion ar?
pangping1510
post Apr 30 2007, 03:56 PM

1,007 posts

i dun like 6288. k610 still ok though.

hav to pay $10 for the e65.

ahhhh. cannot tahan d. feel like getting it!!
pangping1510
post May 3 2007, 10:31 AM

1,007 posts

engineering? UNSW. muahaha.

i only change my phone once in 2 years. been using the phone i using now for 2++ years. so thinking of changing.

might change in winter session. =)

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0488sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:56 AM