How to survive with RM2500

skylee18
post Oct 8 2014, 03:11 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Pancake1234 @ Oct 8 2014, 12:25 PM)
I came across this article in Star today about "Experts are saying that RM2,500 is sufficient for fresh grads, provided they limit their expenses on luxurious items." What are your thoughts on this? Can we survive with RM2500 working in kl or s'gor area? hmm.gif
3 years ago when I still a fresh grad, my basic pay is 2400, deduct everything left 2000++
My expenditure per month :
Car repayment and petrol : 500 (saga FL)
house rental : 350 (include utilities)
PTPTN : 200 (sometimes pay sometimes don't)
Insurance : 150
Internet : 50 (share)
food : 600 (base on RM20 per day)
Car maintenance : 100
============================Until here [Total : 2000] already gone all

Still not yet count :
1)entertain GF
2)giving back to parents
3)hobbies
4)gadget
etc
etc
etc

5)SAVING --> Impossible

skylee18
post Oct 10 2014, 12:37 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Oct 9 2014, 04:10 PM)
It is possible to SURVIVE with rm2.5k.... if u're single @ single breadwinner.

Let's break the rm2.5k down:
600 = sewa rumah (low cost apartment) in shah alam
100 = utility (water, elec, maintenance fee)
300 = meals (rm10 daily x 30 days)
So, that's rm1k for ur necessity. U got a place to stay, sleep, bathe, pray, exercise.. and a whole month's horrendous dieting program.

Which leaves u with balance of rm1.5k for optional usages:
100 = parents
30 = prepaid topup
100 = petrol
50 = toll/touchngo
20 = cigarettes
50 = groceries (for home cooking, tapau later for work, save money?)
100 = insurance
50 = asb
Another rm500 used, leaving just rm1k in ur hands.

Ppl say save 30% from salary for emergencies, meaning rm750.. incase bike/car breaks down, or need to balik kampung due to relative pass away, or simply keeping for future use. U have rm250 to spare. Anything I'm missing here?  hmm.gif
Oh btw, fresh grad 2.5k is ok lar.. i got spm only, started to work 2005 at rm350 and ended after 7years in the same comp in 2012 at >rm1k  sweat.gif  then with hopes of 7years xp, jump to my 2nd work place.. thank god they somehow tripled. Now after almost 2years, twice increments + recently KPI.  *tears of joy*

Of coz, lifestyle MUST change, and stay closer to God (pray often, be a better husband/father, etc)..  notworthy.gif  and most important, always ALWAYS jaga hati parents esp mother. Being good to wife is one thing, but being good/cheerful to mother is the ultimate key. Trust me, I've learned the hard way, and God has rewarded me absolutely well (syukur alhamdulillah), surprisingly, esp in terrible and desperate times.  wub.gif
Is this your assumption or your real life expenses?
From your breakdown, I don't see any expenses related with CAR, so you might be having bike as your transport
--> Unfortunately majority of the ppl in Klang Valley are using CARs and how much they need to pay on their loan? 300-600 average according to 2500 salary earner

Besides, petrol wise impossible 100 can settle in a month and petrol is not belongs to optional category, it is a MUST spend category unless you walk to your workplace. So average 200-400 include toll according to 2500 salary earner

After that, utility 100? Internet usage plus all the electric bill , water bill , house maintenance etc can simply use more than 100.

Meal RM10 daily? Average RM15 a day also very very hard to get nowadays due to the F&B price getting higher and higher

RM20 for cigarettes?Do you think regular smoker will only spend RM20 a month?Obviously you are not a smoker my friend
--> A normal smoker average finished a pack in 2 days, max 3 day. 1 month by simple math simply can spend RM300, how about heavy smoker?

At the end, everyone can survive at RM2500 but hardly to SAVE at this amount of salary.

0.0194sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:10 AM