Why do photoshop users LOVE Mac, help me dispel the myth....pleeeasse!

TSbledig
post Sep 6 2006, 06:16 PM, updated 20y ago

262 posts

Dearest arty mac ppl,

I have this collegue who LOVES to mouth off on every single thing whenever the boss is around...to show he knows EVERYTHING i guess.He states something recently which i am pretty sure is wrong.

He says "Ppl who use photoshop(illustrator etc) loves mac because mac processes up to 40% times faster than PC for graphic applications"

I always thought that u guys love the look and feel of a mac(sexay) and its ease of use (in a mac kinda way).

Is he just mouthing off again? or am i wrong blink.gif
wei
post Sep 6 2006, 06:37 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Depends what he's comparing to. A P3 with a Powermac G5? A Dell Xeon workstation with a iMac G4? With such an open statement it's very hard to say or judge.

I choose Mac for my work because it's less hassle, more reliable, color is more accurate, font management is good & easy. Its a good investment.

Oh, just to add on, I do have some friends that hate Mac because they said they cant afford one. Which I can understand. But they also wont want to listen, so I wont try to explain why to them. hahaha. Lives goes on, as long as you are happy. What's the point to prove someone rights or wrong? It wont change anything. hahaha.

This post has been edited by wei: Sep 6 2006, 06:46 PM
prasys
post Sep 6 2006, 07:45 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I just converted my mac mini into server. I admit , I am sorta broke and apple charges a lot to upgrade the RAM to 512MB ...So I had to switch roles...Macs are good , via VNC...I could use M$ word on that , I know my data would be safe !
MacDaNife
post Sep 7 2006, 08:20 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Sep 6 2006, 07:45 PM)
I just converted my mac mini into server. I admit , I am sorta broke and apple charges a lot to upgrade the RAM to 512MB ...So I had to switch roles...Macs are good , via VNC...I could use M$ word on that , I know my data would be safe !
I've read this a few times and cannot understand what you are trying to say.

You converted your mac mini into a server?

You've switched roles?

Take the time to construct your sentences so they make sense or don't post at all.
Deadman.Inc.
post Sep 7 2006, 09:53 PM

575 posts

QUOTE(bledig @ Sep 6 2006, 06:16 PM)
Dearest arty mac ppl,

I always thought that u guys love the look and feel of a mac(sexay) and its ease of use (in a mac kinda way).

1. Not all Mac ppl are "arty"/artistic, you'll be surprised that there are equally as much percentage of nerd/geek/non-artistic mac users as there are among Window$ users (put aside the population, just the percentage).

2. What you "always thought" is what everybody else thinks of Mac, that we buy/use Mac just because it looks good, like how girls would like Motorola RAZR. But seriously, I can't explain it better than you test-driving one yourself. Yes they look cool, and they are easy to use (in a Mac way of wateva...); yet these are on top of many other fundamental superiority over Windows such as stability, virus-free, much much much much... much lower crash rate.

This post has been edited by Deadman.Inc.: Sep 7 2006, 10:08 PM
lucifah
post Sep 7 2006, 09:59 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

i like mac as much as i like linux - they are both great to clear out boredoms - 99% of the time, it's windoze time

seriously, many graphic intensive users chose mac beacuse it's the INDUSTRY STANDARD. the de-facto governing the color palletes. and if you want your prints to be exactly the same as you had intended, then Mac is the easy way (not that i wanna say others are not good, it's just a lil bit harder)

lucifah
post Sep 7 2006, 10:35 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Deadman.Inc. @ Sep 7 2006, 09:53 PM)
of many other fundamental superiority over Windows such as stability, virus-free, much much much much... much lower crash rate.
please do not turn this thread into another "windows vs mac" war

in term of stability, windows xp (2kpro and also 2k3) are on par with linux and mac os x

Deadman.Inc.
post Sep 7 2006, 10:42 PM

575 posts

Hahahaha my bad, maybe I shouldn't use the word stability, that's too ambitious tongue.gif
cuoreboy
post Sep 10 2006, 05:33 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(Deadman.Inc. @ Sep 7 2006, 09:53 PM)
1. Not all Mac ppl are "arty"/artistic, you'll be surprised that there are equally as much percentage of nerd/geek/non-artistic mac users as there are among Window$ users (put aside the population, just the percentage).

2. What you "always thought" is what everybody else thinks of Mac, that we buy/use Mac just because it looks good, like how girls would like Motorola RAZR. But seriously, I can't explain it better than you test-driving one yourself. Yes they look cool, and they are easy to use (in a Mac way of wateva...); yet these are on top of many other fundamental superiority over Windows such as stability, virus-free, much much much much... much lower crash rate.
woi deadman r u david dont come here ka ka cau cau hehehehe

i also started love mac i have been used m$ for soo many years and i started TAK NAK Windows nowsdays virus , spyware arround always mess up ur Windows .... sad.gif and the famous problem BLUE SCREEN and hang keep restart.

i install Mac OS on normal P4 HT run to learn before get a real MAC now save $$$$$$ to get one(dont ask me how to install MAC on PC due to the privacy)

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Sep 10 2006, 05:41 PM
dreamthief
post Sep 10 2006, 06:06 PM

Banned
2,670 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Sep 7 2006, 09:59 PM)
i like mac as much as i like linux - they are both great to clear out boredoms - 99% of the time, it's windoze time

seriously, many graphic intensive users chose mac beacuse it's the INDUSTRY STANDARD. the de-facto governing the color palletes. and if you want your prints to be exactly the same as you had intended, then Mac is the easy way (not that i wanna say others are not good, it's just a lil bit harder)
Let me add on to that. Not just the color palletes but some other factors. ONe of them is the What you see is what you "really" get.

Macintosh has been very strong in the graphics rendering which really gives you what you see on screen to what you get on print outs. Windows has been ignorant on this part. Well they did buck up in XP, but still lacking behind. Vista would not have this issue any longer with the introduction, of aero or whatever the graphics rendering platform they have introduced.

Here's a good article, research paper that compares both.
http://www.jcrdesign.com/macsrule.html
goldfries
post Sep 10 2006, 06:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 6 2006, 06:37 PM)
Oh, just to add on, I do have some friends that hate Mac because they said they cant afford one. Which I can understand.

that i don't understand. mac expensive? win based laptops aren't cheap either unless you involve piracy.

i'm a Win based photoshop-user. i've used Mac OS X too. personally, i don't see any problem using either as long as you get the job done - in my case i get my websites done and that's the most important.

since most of my clients are Win based users, it's logical that i view websites through Win machines.

however what i like about Mac are the stuff like that nice keyboard they have (RM 1k+, damn) and software like Garageband, iPhoto and stuff like that.

to add MS Office package and Adobe / Macromedia packages would set me back a few k - which essentially isn't much difference from the Windows counterpart.
cuoreboy
post Sep 10 2006, 09:05 PM

81 posts

for software site i think both MAC n Windows not much different remember MAC sell wif hardware they can control the price by them and u want to buy just buy if not just leave it they wont reduced the price
wei
post Sep 10 2006, 11:29 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 10 2006, 06:18 PM)
that i don't understand. mac expensive? win based laptops aren't cheap either unless you involve piracy.
you dont get it. i said i understand them doesn't mean i agree to "mac are expensive". they just want to give an excuse, which i "understand" & doesn't want to waste time argue.
goldfries
post Sep 10 2006, 11:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 10 2006, 11:29 PM)
you dont get it. i said i understand them doesn't mean i agree to "mac are expensive". they just want to give an excuse, which i "understand" & doesn't want to waste time argue.
ok. now i get it. smile.gif i find that people are spoilt by piracy. we can get MS Office for less than RM er......20? (sorry as you can see i'm not familiar with pirated software pricing) so when asked to pay full sum for MS Office pack - people complain like silly.
MacDaNife
post Sep 11 2006, 07:19 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

Actually, buying Office for the Mac is in fact CHEAPER than for the PC.

The Student and Teacher version of MacOffice is only RM5xx and it includes serials for 3 computers.

Only catch is, you've got to be a student/teacher....
nazeemshah82
post Sep 11 2006, 07:40 AM

/

This post has been edited by nazeemshah82: Jul 16 2013, 01:03 AM
wei
post Sep 11 2006, 08:47 AM

6,496 posts

Guys, i think this is a bit way off the topic. The thread starter wanted to confirm this statement by his/her colleague: "Ppl who use photoshop(illustrator etc) loves mac because mac processes up to 40% times faster than PC for graphic applications".

Which for me is a big "NO".
cuoreboy
post Sep 11 2006, 06:51 PM

81 posts

hahaha ok lah back to the topic i not yet install any adobe photoshop yet i will try it out and let u guys know hehehehehe
lucifah
post Sep 11 2006, 09:59 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Sep 11 2006, 07:19 AM)
Actually, buying Office for the Mac is in fact CHEAPER than for the PC.

The Student and Teacher version of MacOffice is only RM5xx and it includes serials for 3 computers.

Only catch is, you've got to be a student/teacher....
who's gonna know? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nazeemshah82 @ Sep 11 2006, 07:40 AM)

The TAHAN LAMA factor is just becoz when we buy computers, we don buy the original MADE IN USA  parts. We onli use MADE IN TAIWAN which offer more lower quality products. If you want quality...try to buy a branded PC such as IBM. Then you know the difference. If ur into graphics... then mac is the best choice not because of the stability...but the color. PC's are good for games, internet and word processing. One good thing about mac is the KEKEBALAN from many spywares although they are some(kate org la...tak sure x penah kena).

yesh rite. go and dig any expensive, super high end pc, mac or wud eva and check them out. this is what u will most probably see:

high performance ram: made in korea
latest quad core 16-way cpu: made in malaysia / costa rica
super huge 500jigobyte hdd: made in thailand / malaysia
latest mobo: made in taiwan
latest graphic card: made in taiwan, ROC
super HUGE lcd screen : samsung, korea. yours truly
Lian Li casing: made in china (do i hear apple G5 at the end?)
1,000W psu: made in china

ok, i'm soooo off-topic now.

This post has been edited by lucifah: Sep 11 2006, 10:00 PM
TSbledig
post Sep 19 2006, 06:26 PM

262 posts

Sorry guys i was away to singapore for a few weeks. Thanks for the reply. Yeah i know i know mac ppl are not all arty farts smile.gif but i am refering to the group that uses it mostly for graphics, profesionnally or otherwise

I asked 3 of my professional friends and they told me its cause that's what they use in college and that it looks good...hah! and u guys are going off topicccc ... but its nice to see that u guys really love ur mac... smile.gif

So here's the question again

"Ppl who use photoshop(illustrator etc) loves mac because mac processes up to 40% times faster than PC for graphic applications"

YES - 0
NO - 1
In some parts - 0

Oh no need any testing ...thanks cuoreboy...i just wanna know the perception u guys have....don't exactly have to be the truth biggrin.gif

0.0160sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:49 PM