Microsoft Windows 10

terence_nwb
post Jul 16 2015, 06:35 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jul 16 2015, 06:12 PM)
where can we upgrade to win 10? can we upgrade from win 8.1 pro unlicensed to win 10 free?
Coming this 29 July. Non-genuine Windows 7/8.1 won't receive free upgrade.
terence_nwb
post Jul 16 2015, 08:12 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 16 2015, 07:23 PM)
running it now. the watermark is now gone for good.

i did a clean install (vm). it will not get activated. from the error message said ms.server blocked the default key.
I upgraded mine from 10166 to 10240 via WU and then did a clean install, it activated straight away after the install.
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2015, 12:20 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Jul 25 2015, 11:04 PM)
Is Cortana available here? As in I can use it by will be USA setting
Not available by default, need to switch region to US or any other Cortana enabled country.
terence_nwb
post Jul 26 2015, 01:09 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Jul 26 2015, 12:39 AM)
should not be a problem setting as usa region right?
I am using US region, no problem so far laugh.gif
terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2015, 03:21 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(young_97 @ Jul 29 2015, 03:09 PM)
I'm still finding out how to use cd or usb to clean install.

But most say using the reset pc function
QUOTE(horns @ Jul 29 2015, 03:17 PM)
officially there is no iso available for download yet. (which ms has announced that there will be one at later dates)

unofficially, you can grab a copy of leaked w10 rtm iso from the internet and use it to do a clean install.
Yes there is, MSDN image is up and the download links from MS server are as below.

Pro & Home x64
CODE
software-download.microsoft.com/pr/Win10_English_x64.iso?t=f7639f22-d112-406d-acf0-661b4176e7b3&e=1438234269&h=c94434dda0eea54356bfdb128a16317e

Pro & Home x32
CODE
software-download.microsoft.com/pr/Win10_English_x32.iso?t=9fa1d5a3-6da7-4318-8289-df899a564942&e=1438232778&h=e1526da47439a6689dcfa3a39aac1f90

terence_nwb
post Jul 29 2015, 09:44 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ Jul 29 2015, 09:38 PM)
so i just finish install my Windows 10 (fresh install from iso). but when i applied my Windows 8 product key it didnt work.
You need to upgrade from your current 7/8.1 first only can do clean installation. Windows 10 uses different authentication method, MS will remember your hardware ID now instead of key, so by upgrading from your genuine 7/8.1, your OS generates a hardware report which consists of your hardware ID and this will be sent to MS server, so next time when you do clean install, you don't have to insert any key, it will auto activate by itself.
terence_nwb
post Jul 30 2015, 02:27 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jul 30 2015, 02:20 PM)
Let me get this straight. I already downloaded the ISO last night in preparation for a clean install.

So I can just straight away upgrade from the ISO(via USB of course). I am worried I will mess up the activation process.
Mount the iso in your current windows, then click setup.exe in the mounted iso and let the upgrade process to complete before clean install.
terence_nwb
post Jul 30 2015, 04:37 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 30 2015, 04:22 PM)
so just extract the ISO using 7-zip > open setup.exe > run it and choose upgrade
once finish run then can do clean install by using windows 7/8/8.1 cd key to activate windows 10 right ?
Yes, mount the ISO in your current Windows, run setup.exe and let the upgrade process to complete, when boot into Windows 10, check if Windows is activated, if yes, proceed to clean install and just skip whatever screen that is asking for product key, it will be activated automatically after you finish the installation.
terence_nwb
post Aug 3 2015, 12:47 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(one_guy @ Aug 2 2015, 10:37 PM)
I have a question...
Currently I upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 8...
After installed, i checked via AIDA64, my product key for Windows 10 is different from Windows 8...
So, is it work if later i do format Windows 10 using product key i get from AIDA64?
If you have upgraded from Windows 7/8.1, then you can just format without inserting any product key next time, Microsoft remember your hardware ID now instead of using key.
terence_nwb
post Aug 3 2015, 03:23 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(one_guy @ Aug 3 2015, 03:15 PM)
I mean, if next i want to do clean format Win 10 without upgrade from Win 8... Is it the key for current Win 10 can use?
As explained earlier, if you have upgraded from previous Windows (7/8.1), then you can format anytime without using any key on the same upgraded PC.

When prompted to insert product key, just press "Skip" and it will automatically activated itself after boot into Windows if you are connected to the Internet.
terence_nwb
post Aug 4 2015, 12:30 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(one_guy @ Aug 4 2015, 12:02 AM)
Let say my HDD spoil and i would start from scratch.
It would take time if i need to format Window 8 first then upgrade to Windows 10.
So my question, just format direct to Windows 10 using key i get from AIDA64 "WITHOUT" install and upgrade from Windows 8..
It seems like you don't get my point.

Once you have upgraded, you can clean install anytime on the same PC (same motherboard, HDD/SSD/GPU etc can change), the key you get from AIDA64 is a generic key, everyone who upgraded from Windows 7/8.1 will get the same key, it is not your unique Windows 10 key.

terence_nwb
post Aug 4 2015, 04:49 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(doolichan @ Aug 4 2015, 04:43 PM)
Dumb question here. No need to change any settings to get Cortana? Like region change?
Need to change to supported region (US, UK, China etc.) to use Cortana in control panel.
terence_nwb
post Aug 10 2015, 01:29 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(rara_ana @ Aug 9 2015, 11:29 PM)
anyone knows how long the background download?i am downloading now and my internet become very slow
It is around 3GB in size, do the maths laugh.gif
terence_nwb
post Sep 27 2015, 12:50 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Omgf @ Sep 27 2015, 10:13 AM)
Hi, guys.
Can help to solve my problems?

My windows 10 installed in chinese version, I dunno why.
And I'm planning to do a clean install so that it will run in WIndows 10 english version.

Any advice which ISO file i can download from?

[attachmentid=5010568]
Direct link from MSDN

http://download.msdn.microsoft.com/pr/en_w...dvd_6846432.iso
terence_nwb
post Sep 27 2015, 05:37 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(udin901 @ Sep 27 2015, 05:13 PM)
hi guys,

i have Win7 Ultimate 64 original but i didnt us it now for my current OS, soo i just kept it the oem disk in my drawer..

soo is it possible for me to fresh install windows 10 without the need to fresh format my current os to this win7 first? do i able to activate the fresh installed windows 10 just by entering my win7 key written on the disk??

thanks in advance!

=)
You need to upgrade to Win 10 from Win 7 first then only can clean install Win 10 next time.

Win 7 key cannot be directly used on Win 10.
terence_nwb
post Nov 12 2015, 10:52 PM

7,016 posts

First major update for Windows 10 is now available

Blog

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Nov 12 2015, 10:52 PM
terence_nwb
post Jan 12 2016, 10:56 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jan 12 2016, 10:08 AM)
Eh, now latest Win10 build can activate using Win8.1/8 Key liao?
Even Windows 7 key can also brows.gif

0.0450sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:34 PM