Project Final-Mod (Ex-Project Anti-Establisment), Start Jan 2011, End Jan 2016.... tbc..

TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 11:49 AM, updated 10y ago

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Huargh....

Been sleeping for on my case mod since 2011
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1738405

from like this:

to

Man! Did I let it go to rot.....

What you guys are seeing here..

As of September 2014, my rig:

Intel Core i7 2600K
Asrock P67 Profesional (fatal1ty) motherboard
4x 2GB DDR 1600MHz
2x Nvidia 9600GT 512MB
4+ HDD
Seasonic S12D 750W PSU
Dell U2414h (pictured here is Dell 2407WFP HC, which retired early Aug 2014)

What really re-boot back my old project?

This https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3323198&hl=
(for future reference if thread pruned, the link above goes to a selling page of MSI GTX680 Lightning at irresistible prices, for me at least)

And further compounded with the viewing of Nvidia Mod 24 (an event to commemorate the release of GTX980, with 3 teams to mod case withing 24hrs, and stream live in twitch)
https://www.google.com.my/search?client=ope...WHcvM8gWPv4LoBg

I got the GTX680 a week back and till now not yet connected... sad.gif
TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 11:49 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Okay so the knick-knack paddy-whack is clear up

Where is the current situation on this mod project

Well this is the overview of the case

Close up on the case

take out the 3.5" dvd cage. Lucky the rigidity is not affected sweat.gif
I guess the Exploded right hand / back panel here:

and the bottom panel

And below is the HDD plates for HDD cage

These plates is taken out of another case, since the original was destroyed in a futile effort to do some "mod"

Have to build up from scratch, since without support top and bottom
the plates warp like hell

so the only way is to hold up the top and bottom
and guess what...

tonnes and tonnes of aluminum profiles, free to boot

ALUMINUM PROFILES = LIGHT, STRONG, EASY. THE CHOICE OF MODDERS

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 26 2014, 05:18 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 11:50 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So my schedule is limited to weekends or late night (11pm -2am)....

so midnite cutting is not possible (apartment habitat)

What was done yesterday the list

1. Raise up the case from bottom panel with standoffs
--a) gotta get some screws
--b) washers
--c) screws and nuts for HDD cage

Some thing Finalized this week end (hopefully)

After a 3 years hibernate, I analysed what really happen that caused the previous project run to fail

1. I overestimated the possibilities of some modifications, like trying to fit the whole unit into this space

I now know it is impossible, and happy with the cpu place on the floor or on the table

2. Thinking too far ahead. Partially everytime i start to do something to the case, my mind wander of to all the future mods to do, while not really finishing the basic mods required before continuing.

3. Find ways to coat all the surface. Paint spraying is not my forte, anyone providing these kind of service? Hmm... maybe going to opt for powder coating the whole case....

Here i go again.. doh.gif rolleyes.gif thinking too far ahead...

This is the start of a reboot
Lets hope there is an end to it this time sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 26 2014, 06:17 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 05:58 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

My one day backup pic to google plus almost equals my one month imgur view... laugh.gif

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

STOP GETTING DISTRACTEDDD!!!!!!
FOCUS FOCUSSS.... FOCUSSSSS!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 26 2014, 05:58 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 12:14 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

As what Post #3
the addition of standoff to the base to raise the whole case

Why ?
well the original standoff was to raise the base so that I can fit some HDD, screwed to the black board

the spacing is really enough but the plan now changed

I am gonna fit in a dvd drive at the bottom thus need to raise the spacing

but alas, the measurement is a bit off

there is not enough spacing to slot in the drive much less spacing for routing cables and wires

so need to raise more, by using these

left, was the cut off, that i though it is enough, the right is the uncut version

so need to get some longer screws to screw them in

TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 01:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

New day new updates..hopefully

New screws

Taking out the old setup

Comparison old and new extender

All fitted in

And the DVD easily fit in, with some space to boot for use in cabling

Short term list
TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 06:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

afternoon progress.... fhew... sweat.gif

cutting my old acrylics,

simple man with simple tool

cut some Al profile... sheeeet long-short... LANAAA!!!!! WHERE'S MY CALIPER???!!! wait.. who Lana? When did I ever have a caliper?

Bust out my ol' trusty ~❤~Boschie~❤~

Screwed in One side

The other side

Remove all the drive and it stand straight enough
Lucky I go with the addition of the acrylic plates. I don't see the Al brace can hold the cage unwarped

Still very bendable to a degree, maybe 6 degree? #Bendgate

Light start to go out, shitty Xperia Z camera. How it looked in position

The location of the extra length AL profile

TBC
TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 07:00 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

What the function of the Extra AL profile length

the idea here is
- to place a brace below the metal case (blue)
- screw in two long screw (red)
- AL profile on the HDD cage has the middle straight down. The bottom would be shaved down to a radius (Black)
- Find the way to lock the opposite side to the case
- A simple relatively easy to remove whole HDD cage

Bonus:

Check the clearence

Lucky there is a gap there sweat.gif phew.... thumbup.gif

Thats for the day/night

see if there is any progress tommorow yawn.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 27 2014, 07:01 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 30 2014, 10:00 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Some last night updates

Got some AL profiles cut at various length

The special one (Chelsea! Chelsea!)

What exactly is this part?
It goes in here.... perfectly thumbup.gif

Close up of the slotting in progress... hnnnnghhh...

Some of the profiles was on the longer side. Need some elbow grease to shave down those millimeters sweat.gif

Reinforcement to the front of the Case

Basically it's to mate with the Special One @hdd cage so to hold it down
user posted image user posted image

Drills some holes through those two profiles and lock the bottom and walla! "Easy Move HDD Cage" (patent pending) whistling.gif

no pic here yet
Taking it slow and steady

TSmcchin
post Oct 2 2014, 10:22 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Yesterday night was a productive one

Vertical Mobo tray brace installed, the Horizontal Brace installed 2 years back

Front Mid Brace

For strengthening the soft thin metal and hold it back to straight line
user posted image    user posted image

Back Mid brace

Since we talking about the braces, a set of 3 bottom brace, really strengthen the whole case

The front mid brace connection with HDD cage
THIS NEED TO BE REDONE!

The back Vertical Mid brace

All assemble back for the night

Stuff to do:
1. Cut Acrylic for front
2. Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration
3. Cut holes on top panel for USB and power
4. Clean all cutting edges
5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel
6. Cut side panel
7. …
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint

TSmcchin
post Oct 8 2014, 12:51 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

It's Tuesday...

3 day weekend and almost nothing gets done... sad.gif

Partially... I live in apartment and there is not much common area and/or neighbour mad.gif for the bisingness of the grinder/ drill... sweat.gif

Well, Did get some work done on Monday, but no picture blush.gif
Basically got some acrylic cut out (a simple rectangle) and some Al connector re-imagined

Today, well with the part prepare and brought to work place
Finally go some professionally cut and drill done, by myself no less tongue.gif

Remember this one?

Shitty drill holes and not level shakehead.gif

So got some new replacement (Left Old, Right New)

You can see the old piece have the hole drill out in a sloppy manner, along with several re-drill
While the right pieces wan properly clamped and drill in a level from the edge
All using a milling machine. brows.gif

Here's the look on test attachment to the HDD cage

The long piece will be riveted to the case
with the shorter piece attached to the HDD cage and held together with 2 screw through them

Then there is the Acrylics
again showing side by side what a proper machined/drilled parts (left) thumbup.gif vs home free hand stuff (right) doh.gif (crack and broke into 2 pieces.. shakehead.gif )

Close up

Drill out the corners to facilitate the smooth cutting with an angle grinder

Acrylic installed, mind you this is not the Front Panel, just the Fan Jig/Connector to the case

Stuff to do:
1. Cut Acrylic for internal-front DONE but needs to touch up the edges
2. Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration DONE (show later)
6. Cut side panel
7. Cut front panel
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint

Next pictures hope to put in some milling machine area pics

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 8 2014, 12:51 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 8 2014, 08:19 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

As said yesterday
Some little updates on the acrylics and rubber mat/feet

The milling machine, for touching up the edges

Getting a straight edge so to look "professional"

End Product ... ssmmmmooottthhhh wub.gif

Looks much much better

much better than this .. sweat.gif

then the rubber mat/feet
Any one can guess what this is from?

Pliable rubber, should be good enough vibration isolation

Stuff to do:
1. Cut Acrylic for internal-front but needs to touch up the edges DONE
2. [s]Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration[s] DONE (show later) DONE
6. Cut side panel
7. Cut front panel
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint

SUSAmeiN
post Oct 8 2014, 08:33 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

unker.. any leftover gooding part sell cheap2 lar..huehue
TSmcchin
post Oct 9 2014, 11:33 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Oct 8 2014, 08:33 PM)
unker.. any leftover gooding part sell cheap2 lar..huehue
Ehh? DUN CALL ME UNKER!!! lol
but a lot of kids at my apartment called unker... sad.gif cry.gif

Really, afte I done, not much left over lehh...

Though I might have an 8mm thick acrylic 3' x 4' @ RM230
(I need not much but supplier selling @ 6' x 4')

or maybe I might go with a 6mm 3' x 4' @ RM180

whistling.gif

Any way doing some metal cutting

Top panel

Close up

The long holes is for
a USB 3.0 front panel connector

and the square is for USB 2.0 type (not pictured)
mapTray
post Oct 9 2014, 03:04 PM

36 posts

Nice hard work! tongue.gif

You should considering buying this dremel saw for you fancy cuts
price I guess between RM370-Rm400 but you can do as many fancy cut as you like..

Keep the update coming man! rclxm9.gif
TSmcchin
post Oct 9 2014, 07:08 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(mapTray @ Oct 9 2014, 03:04 PM)
Nice hard work! 

You should considering buying this dremel saw for you fancy cuts
price I guess between RM370-Rm400 but you can do as many fancy cut as you like..
CODE
[img]http://i.pictr.com/yfxrd1wozs.jpg[/img]

Keep the update coming man! 
I really did considered about getting a dremel and more equipment

but as you can see from the modding of a cheap old case
a RM 300 is quite a number, considering I still have to get some acrylics... sweat.gif

Furthermore, I lack the space area for a proper work place
as most of my drilling is done in my bed room shocking.gif

Very enticing..... but limited budget... sad.gif

Well the cutting updates!!!

Finnally got some cuts...or drills to be precise. Have to rope in a friends help. sweat.gif

Drill in action

Time to clean up my 2 y.o paint. My ex-workspace cleaning area(now I got someone to be responsible for this area... Tsk...tsk... so unkept shakehead.gif tongue.gif )

This stuff is MEK (methyl ethyl ketones) Stronk Stuff, can be considered paint stripper, eats up Road Line Paints like nothing
user posted image user posted image user posted image

All cleaned up

Close up on the holes, need serious touchup

With the USB adapter in place

Very Nice! Very Nice! thumbup.gif

Now have to touch up the holes, like seriously

Stuff to do:
2. Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration DONE (show later) DONE
3. Cut holes on top panel for USB DONE and power button moved to front panel
4. Clean all cutting edges - For the week ends???
5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!!
6. Cut side panel Acrylic - Find the acrylic FIRST!!!!!
7. Cut front panel - OII!!! NO SEE ABOVE??? FIND THE BLARDY ACRYLIC FIRST LAHHH!!!! Then we talk. wink.gif
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint or..or..or... hear me out... what if....Powder Coat?.... sheet... $$$ cry.gif $$$

TSmcchin
post Oct 11 2014, 05:02 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Friday no go
colleague wedding
$$$ fly, next week another... sweat.gif

Got some work done on saTURDay tongue.gif

FINALLY got the shape I want, USB 3.0 panel installed

Inside view:

the back view:

The place where the connector meet the mobo plug, this will be just long enough (might need to find extension cable)

Then onward to the square shape. Need to grind down rounded corner to fit in:
Another USB Header!!! ohmy.gif This time a USB 2.0

The internal look (dun mind the bent pin, fixed later)

Both assembled

Internal look

The look from the back

Too bad the USB 3.0 header have blue colour plates
gonna clash with the future case colour sweat.gif

Plus a search online might solve the short USB 3.0 cable
http://www.lelong.com.my/usb-3-0-motherboa...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Stuff to do:
4. Clean all cutting edges - SEMI-DONE For the week ends???
5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!! FOUND!!!
6. Cut side panel Acrylic - Find the acrylic FIRST!!!!! Need buy, but that is maybe next month case liou... sweat.gif sad.gif
7. Cut front panel - OII!!! NO SEE ABOVE??? FIND THE BLARDY ACRYLIC FIRST LAHHH!!!! Then we talk. wink.gif
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint or..or..or... hear me out... what if....Powder Coat?.... sheet... $$$ cry.gif $$$
TSmcchin
post Oct 13 2014, 09:28 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Sunday comes and gone
not much was done

Morning B-ball
afternoon becomes too lazy to do anything

But whip out the trusty old equipments

Cut with scissor and pump out the holes

Close up

What is the function of the rubber pads?
This is the front of the case:

Along with the rivet heads and the side protrusion, the Acrylic cutout will not sit flat to the front of the panel.

Force clamping will just bend the thin acrylic to the shapes of this protusion

plus having some dampening effect would be nice thumbup.gif

Screwed down and close up

All six big screw clamp down and tested to be just.... flat enough

Stuff to do:
---4a. Prepare acrylic for painting
---4b. HDD cage screw alignment
---4c. Bottom Fan Holes, Acquire fan filters

5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!! FOUND!!!
6. Cut side panel Acrylic - Find the acrylic FIRST!!!!! Need buy, but that is maybe next month case liou... sweat.gif sad.gif
8. ..
9. .
TSmcchin
post Oct 16 2014, 11:16 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Man running out of gazzzz...

3 days since last uppie

Well lets get straight to it

Start with Tuesday, took a whole day off from work to do some serious work in

Bottom cutting plan for fan

The on Wednesday at lunch gone out to grab some nuts and screws, and washers

On today Thursday, Test install the screws and nuts, mostly would fit in, though a bit close to the moving edges

The look of the bottom cut out

Assembly of the screw/nuts/washer - Front

And these screws?

It would installed like this
The AL profile would have a hole drilled to the point of the screw, and the length shorten down with the hole is open with a gap to the edges. This is so the AL end can slide in and hole down by the Big black washer

Then at the front, be locked down with the through hole with a couple of screws

TBC next post

TSmcchin
post Oct 16 2014, 11:30 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

The after assembly
as you can see here

Though it seems like there is space to maneuver around
once the fans installed the removal of the HDD (either for servicing, add/remove HDD or moving system)
is very very hard

So the front fan plate needs an opening so that place to enable some fingering brows.gif of the screws, of course whistling.gif

On another note, projects bracing process is 80% done and only left with this much AL profiles..

ermmm.. wait...

Stuff to do:
---4a. Prepare acrylic for painting... wait
---4b. HDD cage screw alignment SATISFIED!!!
---4c. Bottom Fan Holes, Acquire fan filters ... 1st half done, 2nd half... eehh ...

5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!! FOUND!!! MID of THE MONTH... STILL HAVE $$$ MEH?
8. ..
9. .
Ulysses
post Oct 17 2014, 07:03 AM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

when i see ur place, so dusty...

btw, cant wait to see the outcome
TSmcchin
post Oct 17 2014, 06:37 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Oct 17 2014, 07:03 AM)
when i see ur place, so dusty...

btw, cant wait to see the outcome
The problem with open air setup with no aircon sweat.gif

In my mind, I keep imagining the end result
but the road to it is filled with tonnes of things to do

sigh... sad.gif sometime thinking about everything that needed to be done is so tiresome and taxing... rclxub.gif

So today we go back to the milling machine

Here's hoping that this will be the last time at the milling,
that is, before getting the 8mm acrylics (which itself entails another round of mad milling)

The Big daddy mill bit (not exactly the big one, but the one I found on my own laugh.gif )

Done!!! or so I thought.My chubby fingers not gonna pass through the gap :sigh:

Add another pass @ 70% more and WALLA!

Should be no problem getting the screws now

Simple mod for today
as the company have Deparaya celebrations icon_idea.gif
TSmcchin
post Oct 18 2014, 07:58 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Need re-editing

Another week another wedding dinner... Wait, crap...

Well got some work done in the afternoon

Drill some holes

Manual work this time

Close up of the holes, gotta be proud of myself tongue.gif

Now hafta cut it down to size, all manual work

Aww sheet, forgot to to take a pic, but basically open up the edge of the holes, so this can happen

So when the front screw is unlocked the whole cage can be tilted back to slide out the base from the screws

TBC next post

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 19 2014, 12:11 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 19 2014, 12:16 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Then there's the simple mod for the USB

Close up of the USB port, tested stronk enuff to withstand the plug in/out process

Nice didn't interfere with the USB 3.0

Going plug crazy!!!!

TSmcchin
post Oct 19 2014, 09:25 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

A simple update for a simple Sunday

back panel reinforcement

Then more acrylic cutting

OMG need to go back to milling some more.. sad.gif
What is it for?

will give more update tomorrow yawn.gif
TSmcchin
post Oct 23 2014, 02:29 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Finally got the Acrylics cut ans shaved down

1st edge done by myself
easy-peasy

then this happened

Left the other 3 bars to the pros,

Nice and straight

Yesterday have some free time so brought out the heater for bending acrylics

After some toiling and test, nice...
user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

tbc

TSmcchin
post Oct 23 2014, 02:47 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Add the top in...

Later on done some modification to make it more streamline

these panel will be painted black to cover up the back panel housing the wirings

at the mean time, some reminiscing

Some old drawings, on a stack of paper been crush over 2 years time:

now transfered to new filing

Basically the concept is still there
but it is cleaned up to simplified to realistically do-able

Stuff to do:
---4a. Prepare acrylic for painting... wait
---4b. HDD cage screw alignment SATISFIED!!!
---4c. Bottom Fan Holes, Acquire fan filters ... 1st half done, 2nd half... eehh ...
---4d. Sidepanel extension cover (acrylics) SATISFIED!!!
---4e. U-Channel edge trim

5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!! FOUND!!! MID of THE MONTH... STILL HAVE $$$ MEH?
8. ..
9. .

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 23 2014, 04:04 PM
TSmcchin
post Nov 8 2014, 01:52 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

after a silent week
I am BACK!!!

if anyone still reading this worklog unsure.gif

let get straight to the dirty grime

The thin acrylic need some cleaning

close up
Goddammnit, this stuff is hard

after scrapping with a aluminum bar

The goop is clean off by something not expected

The thermal compound cleaning solvent is very good in dissolving the protective layer melted glue

Finished products

so the product is cleaned
Not shiny, its okay, since I intend to paint over these part
if not, Acrylic is easily buffed back to shininess
(not a crack, but some lint wink.gif )

Then on the same day received this:

can't do anything in the weekdays since have to travel
then got some time off on Thursday and got down to cutting, with just an angle grinder

YEAH GOING FOR THE Lockheed F-117 Nighthawk/Northrop Grumman B-2 Spirit CASE LOOK!!!

eerrr.... no, it is just the left overs

this is the parts i cut out
the smaller piece is to replace the HDD cage plates
the long pieces is the front, the square is the side panel

A comparison between the old acrylic (~2.7mm) and the new one (~8mm)

So what will be needed to be done in the coming weeks

1. Clean the edge of the cut piece - Tommorow (or today, saturday)
2. Starts some base coat painting, if possible
3. Get some magnet-screws drilling done
4. PAINT!! PAINT!!! PAINT!!!!!
5. Then install the parts thumbup.gif laugh.gif
TSmcchin
post Nov 26 2014, 09:39 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

The closer it gets the harder for me, as always... sad.gif

the fire is just not there....

Well
I skip a lot of the milling/drilling process pictures
here's the side panel attached, paper yet to be removed

The other side

as you see, vertically on the left side

I got greedy and try to maximised the window size. Forgot to take account the frame thickness and in the end the big screw would not fit in, unless i cut away the frame (because the side panel need to slide in) as you can see the pencil marks

in the end settle for a small replacement holding screw inside and the 3 big screw will be just ornament stuck in for sake of filling up the hole

Some small mods

original

went back milling to open up the middle pocket to bigger size to facilitate easier screw removal

also seen in the picture above (forgot to take individual pic)
is the HDD cage assemble with the new 8mm plates on both end
Now the HDD cage is solid as fark!

A new addition

A partitioning plate to tidy up the cables
This only for sata connector drives

As you can see the 3rd picture the bottom of the plate doesn't run parallel with the body
so have to add in something to push it out

Taddaaa!!!

TBC(pic limits)

TSmcchin
post Nov 26 2014, 09:49 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Continuing from the previous post

Close up, as usual

if you look closely, between the two screws, there is a hole drilled out
and if you look up from that middle screw hole, you can see I cracked the plate drilling out the hole

Yeah, another one of those lack of foresight fakaps

Still the brace is able to hold the plate in place

Now at least the plate run (almost) parallel with the body

and if you are one of those with keen eyes
I uses a type of clips to hold the bottom part in place with the casing

its a type of clips use to secure lid to a container

which really is amazing it fits so perfectly

Now whats left?

1. Front panel - On going
2. Spray painting - The reason i dread when getting close to the project end
3. Assembly???? whenever that be
TSmcchin
post Nov 29 2014, 10:34 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

BIGGGGGG!!!!!!! UPDATE

One of the crucial process
but before that some smaller updates

Bought myself this
a 1/2 inch drill bit

Done a lot of this

and ...

Finally done this

Close up

If you read from the start, you can guess the function of the holes
if not, then this is it

not much deep here, just around 1/2 the thickness (4mm deep)
Not gonna hold well to knocks dislodging it ..

so..... sweat.gif unsure.gif
The hole here is 16+mm
while the the drill bit above is 1/2 inch (~12.54mm)
and if you notice, the drill bit is flatten at the end and the inside the big hole is another step down smaller hole

what is the use of the smaller hole?
for this....
magnets!!!! HOW DO THEY WORKSS????!!!

I have a bunch of them actually

Fit nicely in the slot

So the plan is like this,
Find a way to stick the magnets to the board (already thinking of clear epoxy
and the board will hold on to the 6 screw heads

continue next post

TSmcchin
post Nov 29 2014, 10:44 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So basically the front look of the front panel

What is needed to be done

1. Front Panel
------a. Stick the magnet to the acrylic
------b. Bend the top of the front panel
------c. Paint the FP

2. Side panel
------a. Paint or
------b. Apply tint layer + some design

3. The case
------a. Tear down???
------b. Paint
------c. re-apply brace

4. Misc
------a. Buy New Cooler Heatsink
------b. Buy Fans
------c. Drill hole for extra drive slot at the bottom

then end with whole system assembly

TSmcchin
post Dec 6 2014, 07:15 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Project realization:

Point of no return

A little bit of this

Initial test run, messy transfer to the hold

so changed to using this

tested to work flawlessly
epoxy parts mixed in-situ of the holes

to get this magnets stuck to the holes

and finally get this

Close up, the magnets totally encapsulated within the epoxy matrix

Pushed down as far as it goes, and use counter side magnets to apply constant force to be as flat as possible

So once the epoxy is properly hardened
the holes will be mill again to get the layer epoxy off and get as close to the magnet surface as possible

continue next post
TSmcchin
post Dec 6 2014, 07:29 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

What it would look like

tested to be able to hold onto the screw head with just enough force
while still maintaining ease to dissassembly

Screw stuck to the acrylic board

1. Front Panel
------a. Stick the magnet to the acrylic - [COLOR=red]Done[COLOR]
------a1. Drill holes for Power button
------b. Bend the top of the front panel
------c. Paint the FP or use sticker??

2. Side panel
------a. Paint or
------b. Apply tint layer + some design

3. The case
------a. Tear down braces
------b. Paint
------c. re-apply brace

4. Misc
------a. Buy New Cooler Heatsink
------b. Buy Fans
------c. Drill hole for extra drive slot at the bottom

then end with whole system assembly

The colour scheme in mind right now is something like the Koenigsegg orange + black scheme
something like this

the case would have the whole case (include internals painted brilliant orange
and the side panel be black

could go ferrari red

nothing is certain even at this stage... sweat.gif doh.gif
Patent
post Dec 6 2014, 09:55 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Very entertaining.. laugh.gif

Keep it up! thumbup.gif
TSmcchin
post Dec 8 2014, 11:31 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Some micro updates
with some big results

Remember this piece?

anything off?

Then this ...

put 2 and 2 together

you have 22... *cricket chirp*
sweat.gif

Thank you, I will be here all week.

any way back to the picture,

The keen eyes would detect that the metal (test magnet)in the test acrylic board is gone
and the clump is what it has become, a clump of magnets.

Lucky I tested out on the test plate
*Remember guy, Measure x-time and cut once, here the "x" is >2, I prefer 5 times if permited

The idea is to mill the excess epoxy glue down to bare minimum
to get a flat face and to get maximum magnet strength
(just a tip, real magnets not like movie/cartoon magnets, every thickness in between will reduce the the pull force)
and somehow the magnet brittleness and maybe the cheap-er epoxy doesn't hold up to the mill process

So, it would be seems I have to use another way,
and the "crude" way

to get this

and this

and... this

So now the panel held on much more stronger and solid
no fear of falling off at mere touches thumbup.gif

no ending
this is a "micro" updates anyway... whistling.gif rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

Addendum: Looking back, I would have use a more precise epoxy glue quantity to have it stick to the bottom and maybe the side as well
but there is a fear of not enough to hold the magnets properly

live and learn I guess

This post has been edited by mcchin: Dec 9 2014, 10:50 AM
TSmcchin
post Dec 8 2014, 11:35 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 6 2014, 09:55 PM)
Very entertaining.. laugh.gif

Keep it up!  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the encouragement notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
TSmcchin
post Dec 12 2014, 01:32 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Here wee go again
another side project to derail this one

Jeng JENG JENG!!!!

Whzaat??? you say?

My phone casing modified with Note 2 Qi wireless charger receiver

Open up to reduce thickness

Then this is the Qi charging pad

the insides

The orange part

So basically a Phone holder for my Xperia Z with intergrated Qi wireless charging
Portrait mode okay, still need thinking on Landscape mode

The charge unit to be inserted into the 8mm acrylics ~2mm below surface

the back is the Heatsink to help with the heat dissipation

but the real idea here it to try bending the 8mm acrylic before trying out on the Front panel

Still, this phone stand is still in idea stage....
TSmcchin
post Dec 15 2014, 08:00 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

small info trickling in

big mess, but worth it!

Close up

Should be using this

but this one is not correct to work with

so in the end, use a big drill and grind to desired angle

THE RESULTS!!!

Chamfered edges which is the craze these days
area61
post Dec 16 2014, 03:04 PM

615 posts

Any new updates bro?
irienaoki
post Dec 17 2014, 08:19 PM

Janitor
3,428 posts

Please la bro.
we need more.
feed us more.
TSmcchin
post Dec 18 2014, 05:05 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(area61 @ Dec 16 2014, 03:04 PM)
Any new updates bro?
QUOTE(irienaoki @ Dec 17 2014, 08:19 PM)
Please la bro.
we need more.
feed us more.
Yes... yes
I trying my best... sad.gif

Yesterday just done the final mass mill/drill/cut on the whole project

Will later get some pictures in

but now the final stretch is right around the corner

1. Bend the Front panel + take pictures
2. SPRAY!!!SPRAYY!!!!! SPRAYYY!!!! paint
---------> my worst enemey because a) i have no proper spray pain place and b) really bad in spray painting aka impatient

3. then assembly, which itself is a chore.... sweat.gif

the place i intend to do spraying.....

sum live cables to hang the case for spray tongue.gif
TSmcchin
post Dec 19 2014, 08:15 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

This is the last drilling done.... rclxms.gif flex.gif icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

the switch added in

now on the heater to heat + bend

and later with a hair dryer used tried to add more heat to the help with the bending...no luck
in the end have to crank from 5v to 12v on the PSU to heat up the board

Bang-Bang..

The whole thing

Here is the problem plaguing my whole life... sad.gif

bad bend...like bad to the bones..... all because of impatient plus unknown properties of thicker acrylics doh.gif

see the bad bends and the burnt mark from the overheat of high volts

Lucky for me, the original intention has been always to spray paint the front panel
so the irregulars can be sand paper before spray painting

more pic in the next post

TSmcchin
post Dec 19 2014, 09:13 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

more pictures gallery

Side profile of the unit

the side window itself weigh 1/3 of the empty case sweat.gif

Straight as I want it to be, angle just enough

The reason why I want to cover up the FP with paint
those 6 magnets didnt come out as I expected, but my expectation is very high here. shakehead.gif

inside view

the view on the other side

yawn.gif
still 1/4 of the way to go, the home strech... sweat.gif

1. Smoothen the FP bend and sand down the whole thing, prep-ing for Paint
2. Remove all braces, label and prep for paint
3. decals/ tint layer for side window sweat.gif rclxub.gif shakehead.gif shocking.gif
4. Additional accessory:
---------> a. edge rubbers
---------> b. extension wire/cables (Front USB, Power/Reset button, etc)
---------> c. Internal lighting (red or white?)
---------> d. A new CPU cooler
---------> e. Fans (2x140mm Front, 1x140mm Bottom)
---------> f. Cable managements system
---------> g. Wheels on the bottom for movement

Some item/planned ops that is dropped
1. Disassembly of RAM heatsink and repainting
2. Intergrated Qi wireless charging on the top

This post has been edited by mcchin: Dec 19 2014, 09:14 AM
snjvirtual
post Dec 24 2014, 03:25 PM

116 posts

wow lot of work there. good luck and looking forward towards finished build
efariz
post Apr 9 2015, 02:44 PM

Network Engineer To Be
1,030 posts

moar! moar! rclxm9.gif
makky
post Apr 10 2015, 01:17 PM

314 posts

Nice..keep up bro
BuckRoger
post Apr 10 2015, 03:16 PM

Sakit Perut
903 posts

Nice stuff u have there!! smile.gif
TSmcchin
post Apr 14 2015, 05:04 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Hi guys

sorry for the no show for almost two months

The whole project was intended to finished up before CNY (HAH!!!)

but CNY come too fast, and the best was to Clean up the current Open air setup ....

Then After CNY, too into holiday mood to start back anything

Chap goh meh come and gone... same, like somehow lost that feeling

Enter March, was no better, with ChingMing around the corner, taking up 3 weekends of the month

Now April, with my birthday past,
Its getting hard to find reasons for the delay

But Luckily!!
Rainy days!!!, recently been quite consistent in the evening for the weather to turn bad

and why would weather be any effect on what I do?

cause its the Point in the mod i dreaded the most,

Spray Painting................. .... ... .. .

any hooo,

rant over,
some pics in the next post
and see if i can start the rusty ol' engine this weekend

TSmcchin
post Apr 14 2015, 05:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Here's how it sits,

1. Basic cut, drill, bend, file, riveting etc is all but completed
2. Assembly-wise, the Case "is" usable, forcefully but i choose not to doh.gif
3. The dreaded Painting process awaits but...
4. Do I,
----> a: do a shoddy job and just paint the case just like that? or,
----> b: take apart every bracing on the case and paint it separately? or,
----> c: take apart everything, find a Powder coating and my wallet moneyflies.gif ... or,
----> d: just scrap the whole project and close this thread

what you guys think?

5. Place for me to paint is i choose to DIY painting is virtually nil, as been living in apartment

Some badly taken pics coming, all taken in the event to dismantle all braces before painting

the main back, T brace

The front mid, HDD cage brace

clearer picture

the back mid

the bottom braces, all you see is the rivets

bottom pic of the braces

bottom other side

all these pictures is showing nothing new
as I will maybe use to mark the braces with number to record the positions
as most probably the braces will not be painted over

so until the next update bye.gif
TSmcchin
post Apr 16 2015, 11:29 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

some current system picture to tide you guys over
user posted image    user posted image

Oredi seeing dust on the GTX680 cooling fins..grumble.gif

Here is a picture that was, since before CNY 2015 shakehead.gif

Have to move quick before the onset of grease.... and throw everything down the drain mega_shok.gif
y4ng
post May 4 2015, 11:24 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

i wanna ask...where u got the switches from?
TSmcchin
post May 7 2015, 02:13 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ May 4 2015, 11:24 PM)
i wanna ask...where u got the switches from?
what switch?
y4ng
post May 8 2015, 10:58 AM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

power / reset switch =)
TSmcchin
post May 8 2015, 01:11 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(y4ng @ May 8 2015, 10:58 AM)
power / reset switch =)
oth that is vandal resistant switch i bought back 2 years ago

from a lowyat forumer as well limhongwan or something
y4ng
post May 8 2015, 01:18 PM

Kambing Lembu
639 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ May 8 2015, 01:11 PM)
oth that is vandal resistant switch i bought back 2 years ago

from a lowyat forumer as well limhongwan or something
okies! thanks for the help!
TSmcchin
post Jun 3 2015, 03:17 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

slow slow slow day

weehheelllllll, what do we have here...?
Sand paper in sink????!!!

Super simple setup for "super simple" job

The best sandpaper block i can find sweat.gif

Sanded down the corner to a smother surface

as compared to previous

it seems i lost some of the picture of the whole case sand down....

now all unit is sanded down and readied for Painting...

Now where to buy spray primer... hmm.gif
TSmcchin
post Oct 4 2015, 06:23 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

After a hiatus

I AM BACK!!!!!!!!!

Lets see, what would be my excuse(s)
1. GTX 680 Lightning?
2. CG:GO at RM 15.50?
3. Workload?
4. Life crumbling around me
5. Just lazy
6. All above??

Well installed GTX680 (finally rolleyes.gif ) and just started to play a slew of games my old 9600GT cannot handled

Then CS:GO happened, and this is from Mar till now.. almost 5 month and chalked up almost 600hrs gameplay sweat.gif

also coupled with work load from my life-paying job
and just a sudden bout of laziness, apathy really, and my life equipment sort of strat to break down around me
(my phone DIY wireless charging is a NG, GPS unit acting up, car start to sputters, line shaft cover broken.... sad.gif )

things just sort of slowed down

well I did get to go to Germany for a week, all expense paid...

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3682120&hl=

just recently fixed my GPS unit

and this Case mod feeling is coming back, BABEH!

before anything lets see the setup as it is now..

My Components:
Processor : Intel Core i7 2600k @ Stock
CPU Cooler : DIY Mod from Gigabyte 4 Heatpipes Cooler + Freaking Loud Delta Fan
RAM : 16GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance Light Blue Heatspreader rolleyes.gif
GPU : MSI GTX 680 Lightning @ Stock
Display : Dell U2414h FHD LCD
PSU : Seasonic S12D 750W
Storage :
---> 2X 256GB SSD (Plextor M6S and Liteon L9s) in Raid-0, Mod BIOS for Trim Support **NEW**
---> 3X 2TB HDD (2X Samsung HD204UI, 1X WD Red )
---> 1X 320GB Seagate
---> 2X 80GB WD Black

Peripheral :
---> El-cheapo Keyboard,
---> Gigabyte G402 Mouse **NEW**,
---> REAL Carbon Fiber Mouse Mat
---> Sony In-ear headphones, very nice for CSGO (bundled with Xperia Z)
etc etc...

well enough chit chat,
you all here for the pictures, right?
a disaster waiting to happened, perhaps?

A disaster you say?
well you're in the right place!

a 5 months open air setup and the system is hocked full of dust!!!!
this is the Graphics and mobo, with fins filled with dust!

then this is above it, all HDD/SSD with the PSU
Active air will kill your system guys...

the back of the system, filled with hanging wires and co...

Any hoo, my road back to finishing this project starts...

on the next post tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 9 2015, 09:33 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 4 2015, 06:35 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Here is the start

have to take a Leave on Friday to get self motivated to start

a simple setup, with lots of cellophane tape to bind those newspaper together

closeup,

Parts to spray Base Coat

Self Etching basecoat for steel parts

Sprayed Main Body case with white colour base coat

Some plastic parts test spray

metal top is base coat, plastic parts is white colour
can you all guess what colour I am going for here?

After some time, lets start the Spray paint process!

TBC next post

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 9 2015, 09:32 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 4 2015, 07:00 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

HUHU~~... cry.gif cry.gif

Spray 4 coats of white, and need only one mistake....
have to add more layers again to cover up the mistakes

Another 3-4 layers of paint and the defect is barely able to be covered up

night comes and 1st round of painting is finished

the main body, painted white as snow....

a few layers of paints and the colour is solid

parts solid colour

Front panel

Still some imperfection, might fill up with something for next round of spray

TBC next post

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 9 2015, 09:31 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 4 2015, 07:31 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Another day, another zzzzz

Hazy as FK!

Not much happen
today, just laze around

but heres something interesting

its a Firewire External DVD player writer from Acer Ferarri
from here

company have this laptop, and after much abused
the unit finally breath it last breath last year
and now the company going to scrap the asset and I swoop in to get this rarely used gem

the firewire plug, luckily my mobo have such port at the back and the mobo header as well
So Got me self some couple of them mobo headers

Something unused for so long, dunno whether this is grime or just the Soft-touch layer breaking down... sweat.gif

so some methanol and some elbow grease walla!

nice and clean, not so much for the methanol tissue laden with the gunk

This is a slot based drive

Max pic achieved
so TBC next post for the conclusion....... of this week updates

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 9 2015, 09:35 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 4 2015, 07:45 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

and it fits the ODD bottom slot just nice on the front panel

Wadaya know rclxms.gif

then there is this..

Here's the thing
top Picture is the normal spray on 1 side
the bottom picture is spray with a clear coat on the other side

It seems that this clear coat gives a yellow tint to the white... hmm.gif
this won't do... this won't do one bit shakehead.gif

So my conclusion for this week and more planning to be had
1. First round of Paint done, Parts are touched up on rough sprays area with Wet sandpaper, so another round of spray paint is needed
2. HDD cage need to be dismantle from current system to be spray paint
----> 2a. More Base coat spray needed
----> 2b. More paint require
----> 2c. What colour for the front panel ?
----> 2d. Clear Coat for all???
3. Clean System
4. Remove the Heatspreader from ram, Spray paint perhaps?
5. Buy Noctua U14s or D15
6. GET FANS FANSSS FANSSSSSSS!!!, also some Fine Fan Filter
7. Clean up the fking ROOM!

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 9 2015, 09:28 AM
ntw
post Oct 5 2015, 01:19 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

bro i think you forgot to set your pictures as public... cant see them laaa
TSmcchin
post Oct 5 2015, 08:56 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Oct 5 2015, 01:19 AM)
bro i think you forgot to set your pictures as public... cant see them laaa
oh... rclxub.gif

Thanks for the heads up...

old rant

btw...
if anyone have issue with the picture formating
my apologies while I fine a more permanent solutions sweat.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 5 2015, 10:17 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 9 2015, 09:24 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

some weekdays updates:

the bane of my system :

The RAM...
Bought this back in 2009???, 16GB babeh...

but sadly the colour clashes with the mobo
and the height makes it impossible to use a dual stack heatsink such as Noctua NH-D15 or Phantek TC14PE
with the fans for-sho overhangs the ram slot and what not... sad.gif

so IT HAS TO BE DONE!

RIP THEM APART!!! vmad.gif bruce.gif

And some of this

and with the trusty ol' elbow grease, and two hours sitting on the floor

and the RAM now is happy with all the gunk cleaned off
and currently back to running the system

and the heat spreaders?

lets see shall we? hmm.gif

and thats all for some weekdays updates wave.gif
TSmcchin
post Oct 9 2015, 07:29 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Phriday's here and I'm stuck at my work

luckily sneak some time to do some stuff

these is all the sticker to the ram heat spreader
remove slowly to retain structure, shape (will it be reused? Dunno...)

here is the stripped Heat spreader
if you look closely, there is a two tone to the anodized layer
covered layer is bluer than the exposed

then the Thermal tape remove and left with the double sided tape

off we go to the Chemical Lab
Today we have two choice
Both is very capable to clean off gluiee stuff

Top is un-touch
bottom is dip in MEK for ~5 sec and wiped off a bit

Hand with the chem, so no pictures until finished and wash with soap and water
Clean as a whistle thumbup.gif

TBC next post on the reason of this job

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 9 2015, 07:29 PM
TSmcchin
post Oct 9 2015, 07:54 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Now why I go to the length to Do this RAM thingy

well

Noctua NH-D14/15 or Phantek TC14PE

I could go the way of Noctua NH-U14, but let see how

I have been visualizing stuff only in my head so it can be a bit daunting to get things right

but a video in youtube subscription by Linus gave me a great idea

www.sketchup.com <-- nice beginner 3D program

So apparently Linus did a project build by 1st making a 3D sketch (when I say Linus did, the 3D is done by Taran)
and he found out that there is quite a lot of available 3D sketch of PC Component already done and on the internet/web

So.....

Got a precise mobo as reference
Not my model, but it will do

This Noctua NH-D14 seems good thumbup.gif

Then my current ram, with the ridiculous Heat spreader

The Heat sink just fit in nicely

So lets add the ram
WTF!!!!!!
So.. the two item, mobo and HS is spot on to real life scale
the Ram not so, with measurement made in Meters doh.gif

So with some self adjustment, Walla!

So you see where the problem starts already, right?

Not only the Fans will have issue, the inner two Ram slot will interferes with the Heat Sink as well

Problem can be alleviated with the Use of Noctua D15
but the fan, in push config would still be the same
The recommendation by Noctua to push the fan up higher would spell a problem to the top clearance within the case
sweat.gif rclxub.gif

So Now the most logical choice to move forward is to cut down the Ram Heat spreader height and while at it, spray to a more thematic colour
That 2nd part of colour changing to anodized part gives tonnes of problem in it self

A check on the net, say anodized part not gonna hold well with spray paint
and it is better to remove this layer before spray painting...

more work more problem....

doh.gif

NewbieTech
post Oct 29 2015, 09:49 PM

83 posts

Hi and good day sir
Cant wait ur modding hardwork to be continued...
TSmcchin
post Nov 16 2015, 12:22 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(NewbieTech @ Oct 29 2015, 09:49 PM)
Hi and good day sir
Cant wait ur modding hardwork to be continued...
To be Honest, I cant wait for TS to finish the blardy project. It like TS doesn't care at all....
oh wai... doh.gif

work work work
stationed to indo for two weeks threw a spanner in the works

Need to help setup Indo plant...

The hostel I am staying in

well on 30th Oct I AM BACK!!!!!! (pic of Indo airport)

Lets see...

Just yesterday done something....
hmm... hmm.gif
dunno whether to share or not....

awwww what the heck

Some things done before I went to Indonesia

tried painting over the Ram Heat spreader

Not good... not good at all

Direct paint would not really adhere well sad.gif

Well off with the paint

The idea now is to put a light coat of white base before spraying the wanted colour

which is...

Red, Candy Red to be precise....

Those were test colour on matte spray paint
good enuff for me

So on Saturday did this

and dangnamit!!

Who would have guess... 1 can of spray paint is not enuff rclxub.gif rolleyes.gif

so try to get sum more paint and the shop is closed for sunday..... cry.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Nov 16 2015, 12:23 AM
TSmcchin
post Nov 17 2015, 11:56 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

project get moving along again... thumbup.gif

more coats of the paint

same goes with main body

(sorry for the crap pic)

as usual, close-up

This is for Today
maybe another 1-2 coats of paint before calling it

TSmcchin
post Nov 23 2015, 10:29 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Remember this one?

and latest iteration

Cause it been on the system all this while
It have finally been dismantled for prep

washing all the dirt and grime

nice and shiny

so while prepping the HDD cage
Found out I missed one crucial part

yup, the front panel, DOH'!

Learned to be patient
Spray lightly each coat to enable quicker drying time between coats
and no sagging happening

But by golly the orange peel... sweat.gif

hmm.gif
Should I go with the textured feel?
TSmcchin
post Dec 5 2015, 11:09 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Alright alright....

it is now officially 1 month before the 2016 be upon us
TSmcchin
post Dec 5 2015, 11:30 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Alright alright....

it is now officially 1 month before the 2016 be upon us
And I'll be damned if this project bleeds to the new year mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

Now, to be clear,I really have another couple of weeks to work on it
since I am shipped off to Indonesia for 10 days in mid Dec

so My target finish Date : Before CNY 2016 sweat.gif tongue.gif

now where was I...

This is the last of the major Paint, which takes up like 2 + month?

nothing much, lazing around waiting for the paint to dry

Now the above was done on Nov End

For Dec, this is it

The HDD cage,

The Gold Tape is Kapton tape, used here to prevent paint scratch
Yes I know it is leaning, nothing wrong with my *New Z5 Premium* whistling.gif phone camera

Install some unused HDD as place holder to get the sizing right, then tighten

Then we move on to the main *Dish*

The aluminium frame is slowly install back and riveted
I had to look back my own post to see which part goes where laugh.gif

speaking of rivets
next post would be some tips to rivets mod

This post has been edited by mcchin: Dec 5 2015, 11:32 PM
TSmcchin
post Dec 5 2015, 11:53 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Now the tips on modding rivets

I dunno about you
but precise rivets is hard to come by in my place
(more like, lazy to go to search it out)

So here's a tip

you have here is a typical rivet, correct diameter, but a tad too long

now you knock out the mid pin, very easy to be done

now find an used broken pin and inserted into the middle

use a plier, or cutter, with sharp cutting edge and pinch the rivet
the pin in the middle to prevent the collapse of the soft and hollow alluminium rivet
used pin is to ensure the original pin is is unharmed

now you have this and remove the mid pin from the rivet

you get this

knock back the ori mid-pin to the rivet, use the rivet plier to do it

and there you go, custom sized rivet, precisely what you need thumbup.gif

normal program will resume after this

TSmcchin
post Dec 6 2015, 12:02 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

cont'

here's the look of the build so far

Side view

front view

Back side view

back view

*pardon the pants, old cloths used as safety layer between build tongue.gif

so that's it so far thumbup.gif

TSmcchin
post Dec 6 2015, 10:09 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Sunday come and have some updates

some rubber U-Channel to cover up the cut

close up on the U-Channel rubber

inside view of the CPU Cooler hole

the bottom hole (pardon the blue *dick* sweat.gif )

The following is a sequence of picture of the build so far

So being like this... whats next??

well let me list them out for you

Things to buy
1. 140mm Pressure fans X2, for the front
2. 120mm Airflow fans X1, for the back
3. Possible 140mm X1 Airflow/Pressure fans, for the bottom
4. Fan Filters according to input fans Qty
5. Noctua UH14 or DH15

Things to do
1. Disassemble the system
2. Clean the graphix Heatsink and everything
3. More to come when remember.... tongue.gif

Bonus!!!

Patent
post Dec 8 2015, 02:19 AM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Dec 6 2015, 10:09 PM)

Holy crap all that dust shocking.gif
nikaizad
post Dec 9 2015, 05:08 PM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

fuck man so much work on a cheap ass case. why so much dust. why your house so empty one
TSmcchin
post Dec 9 2015, 05:37 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Dec 8 2015, 02:19 AM)
Holy crap all that dust shocking.gif
yep
even on floor 6 and still a lot of dust

couple with open air style (no aircon)
and 24/7 system....

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Dec 9 2015, 05:08 PM)
fuck man so much work on a cheap ass case. why so much dust. why your house so empty one
yep
My brain just sort of hype up these unreasonable thing
plus I like to do stuff, and this is a 2~3 years running project
with tonnes of time before the start, mulling over the flow of the project in whole
so the case is a bit outdated tongue.gif

to realise something i just thought up
that really give a good feeling

as for the empty house
its just a matter of perspective biggrin.gif

For the updates
Did an excel sheet on the stuff to buy for what i call
"The Final Leg"

and it comes up to .......

RM 900+ shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

sigh...
my mom did lecture me that doing this cost as much as paying a deposit of a new car.... sweat.gif

let see how, might got the multi month upgrades path, most prolly....
abubin
post Dec 15 2015, 02:35 PM

10,429 posts

how many more years? perhaps you can subdivide the project into seasons. Like season 1 cutting, season 2 painting and season 3 assembling. By the time done..PC already outdated. smile.gif

But seriously...awesome worklog....
TSmcchin
post Dec 15 2015, 03:33 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 15 2015, 02:35 PM)
how many more years? perhaps you can subdivide the project into seasons. Like season 1 cutting, season 2 painting and season 3 assembling. By the time done..PC already outdated. smile.gif

But seriously...awesome worklog....
well
nowadays dun game so much...

csgo, and maybe get some cheap steam games

which i will asume the 2600k and gtx 680 can handle it

wont be around until 23rd

watching this

on foreign land

will continue once back
and my items arrived

This post has been edited by mcchin: Dec 15 2015, 03:33 PM
TSmcchin
post Jan 19 2016, 11:34 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

woahh... more than 30 days from my last updates?

what happen you might ask?

well a 2 week in Indon
then a wedding where I was the best man

then it just.... laziness..

any way
lets get right into it

Going to the cheap stuff
- Noctua Redux 140mm PWM
- Silverstone magnetic ultra fine filter
- 8 pin PWM splitter (not pictured here)

close up on the fan
nothing but the fan and 4 screws, cheap indeed

the filters

then this... jeng jeng jeng!

some more clue...

it's a magnetic strip
oneside with double sided tape and the other for sticking to steel surface

since the fan is not steel body
and it wont have any metal frame
guess I'll have to whip up something

so a simple cut to size and paste to the fan

then stick on the filter right?

NOOO!!!!!

stay tune to the next post!!!!
same time same day .... or maybe not tongue.gif
TSmcchin
post Jan 19 2016, 11:50 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

2nd part of the fans and filters updates...

this!

the filter mesh is soft
Initially, was thinking of putting some screws on the holes and let the filter stick to it

but that idea fell through,because
1. the magnet on the filter not exactly strong to hold on to such small surface
2. the closeness of the filter mesh (touching while not even turned on) makes it not ideal to have it run long term

so the Magnet sticker was suppose to help with these two issue

after done, still the mesh is close to the fan
and the magnet strips double sided tape is not exactly strong

so in come this.

sticky thick double sided tape

so it became like this

a magnet strip and thick d-s tape sandwich between the fan and the filter

much more clearance to the fan

DONE!!!

honestly speaking
I tried out running the fan while writing this post
and I found out sadly, @ 100% pwm control (supposedly 1500rpm)
the fan output seems muffle, hard

really put another spanner into the works....
maybe will add the 3rd fan+filter at the bottom to ensure that the internal is always positive pressure hmm.gif
TSmcchin
post Jan 25 2016, 10:06 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Happy Thaipusam!
or rather yesterday

but with the long weekend

able to do some little things...

here it is!
the last time you will see these kind of pic

fuhhh...
don't do open table in an non-aircon room

my poor GTX 680 Lightning... cry.gif

but no fear

some unscrewing

Close up
WHOA MAMA!!!! Can this be a fire hazard?!!

some more dismantling

then all black out

it got so dirty that no picture was taken

safe to say

use of soap water on soap-able part and CO contact cleaner for the electrical parts

http://www.crcindustries.com.au/products/c...contact-cleaner

This post has been edited by mcchin: Jan 25 2016, 10:10 PM
TSmcchin
post Jan 25 2016, 10:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So lets start with the assembly

Wubba Lubba Dub Dubs

everything assemble and ready for assembly...wait.. what's that?

again some missing pics

and we start here...

mobo in, PSU in, Fans install

now I'm at the part to cable management

HDD rack installed,
From top, 2TB WD red, 1x320GB Seagate, 2x2TB Samsung,

HDD Rack in, GC in

The problem with non-modular PSU

much better..

miles and miles of cables needed to be tucked some where... sweat.gif

TSmcchin
post Jan 25 2016, 11:44 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Side panel Grand opening!

Hnnngghhhh...

hnnnggghhhHHH!!!!!!!!!

some minor wiring

side panel installed

Front panel, magnetically hold in place

Front profile pic

The back side panel

the back panel

Current status
- Due to CNY nearing, Have to clear out the area
- Waste of available parts at hand
- One of the fans on GTX680 stop intermittently due to dust

Next up
1. Add New CPU Cooler
2. Add another Fan-filter at the bottom, 1 exhaust at the back
3. Touch up here and there
4. New power wiring
5. ....
TSmcchin
post Jan 26 2016, 12:30 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Main concern at this point was the system be able to run or not

heck the mobo was drench with the CO contact cleaner stuff
like the Moses Flooding

well...

it boot up fine...

and the cost of doing this

So today did some touch up on the system,

moved the SSD location

Placed in current locations
zzzz
all that Window and placed facing the wall

my style, close up

things that added

comparing to the top pic of this post
the USB, audio jack is place more integrated to the system

The look of the system in the dark

TSmcchin
post Jan 26 2016, 12:35 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So
this is Considered Finished project

But there is still some updates to the project
and will update so
andywsa84
post Jan 27 2016, 03:45 PM

13 posts

Wah......Finally......Respect man!!!!
abubin
post Jan 28 2016, 04:47 PM

10,429 posts

Move the table to left side then move the case to the right side of the table instead. Then you can see all the nice transparent side.
TSmcchin
post Jan 28 2016, 07:47 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(andywsa84 @ Jan 27 2016, 03:45 PM)
Wah......Finally......Respect man!!!!
blush.gif

wat for respect blush.gif

a freaking lazy ass, procrastinating bum like me should have whipped, then watch me nayed-nayed

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 28 2016, 04:47 PM)
Move the table to left side then move the case to the right side of the table instead. Then you can see all the nice transparent side.
there is a power plug above the pc unit
that is connected with the Praying altar lights
this lights is turned on and off daily, twice

still some updates

maybe in near future will do some deep dark secrets of this build :ninja:

This post has been edited by mcchin: Jan 28 2016, 07:48 PM
TSmcchin
post Jan 29 2016, 11:25 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Some quick update ohmy.gif so fast??? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

this arrived fast...

some assembly required?

Done!

some quick simple updates for you guys

andywsa84
post Jan 31 2016, 12:37 AM

13 posts

Haha, what I respect is u finally completed the case mod even though spend quite long.

Btw, good idea for using the coffee table, may I know the weight of the coffee table and is there any other colours available? Appreciate if u can provide some info bout it. Thx.
TSmcchin
post Jan 31 2016, 01:13 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(andywsa84 @ Jan 31 2016, 12:37 AM)
Haha, what I respect is u finally completed the case mod even though spend quite long.

Btw, good idea for using the coffee table, may I know the weight of the coffee table and is there any other colours available? Appreciate if u can provide some info bout it. Thx.
its from ikea

http://www.ikea.com/my/en/catalog/products/70208450/

there is one more colour, white

iniitially intended to get some caster wheel to add directly to the bottom

then after finish installing the system, and a little search

found a suitable one

if you aren't looking a coffee table with wheels, there should be more selection thumbup.gif
andywsa84
post Jan 31 2016, 04:52 PM

13 posts

Thx man, for all ur sharing rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSmcchin
post Feb 1 2016, 11:18 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Sigh.....Now for the dark secrets

The side panel fill of dings and scrapes

mark of a lame quality painting....

colour chipping here from the force installation

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

doh.gif doh.gif

yawn.gif shocking.gif

sigh......

paint job not exactly what I'd imagine

then this

the part broke when drilled....
so some epoxy and a Al structure,
it will do for the mean time

On some other news

this is my Mouse pad now

Yep
Carbon fiber
the real deal here, sample molded pre-preg sheet

coupled with the G402 hyperion fury
owning it at CSGo

Ehsan_Root
post Feb 4 2016, 06:40 PM

wow.. very nice
TSmcchin
post Feb 7 2016, 01:52 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Happy CNY to all!

some planning for the new years

this item migh show up in some of the pictures

if not, this is a Ikea Poang Lazy Chair
http://www.ikea.com/my/en/catalog/products/S29125684/

and then this..

hmmmmm....

Tadaa!

What it would looked like

tbc...
TSmcchin
post Feb 7 2016, 09:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

due to my love for Racing games NFS4Lyfe, Gran Turismo as well

and my recent purchase of Eurotruck Sim

and my two year old Logitech Driving Force GT, that been used less than 5 times

need to setup a table to use it properly

the original design was create 2 years back, coincide with the DFGT purchase

now with proper re-evaluation and redesign

finally have a buy list..

with this
i will buy the needed wood supply and do this, maybe.... another a year or 2 type of project.... again? whistling.gif
Patent
post Feb 10 2016, 06:09 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Good to see the case finally finished. laugh.gif
Really unfortunate for the paint scratches and the window panel is facing wall. sweat.gif

Good luck on your next project. rclxms.gif
1qaz1qaz
post Feb 19 2016, 12:30 PM

What Are You Looking At???!
1,894 posts

just a question, why is there a window when u can see it?
TSmcchin
post Feb 19 2016, 12:56 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(1qaz1qaz @ Feb 19 2016, 12:30 PM)
just a question, why is there a window when u can see it?
Well in the original plan
The window is always hard coded into the design
It sort of carry over till the end

Maybe in near far future 🔮
Will rearrange the whole area to show off the innards brows.gif
TSmcchin
post Feb 19 2016, 12:58 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 10 2016, 06:09 PM)
Good to see the case finally finished. laugh.gif
Really unfortunate for the paint scratches and the window panel is facing wall. sweat.gif

Good luck on your next project.  rclxms.gif
Thanks man
Live and learn I guess

Maybe it's abuse I didn't bake the painted parts.... hmm.gif
TSmcchin
post Mar 3 2016, 03:23 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

the updates, they now only be trickle in...

I'm you all know my keyboard right?

this is a close up..

sad sordid pieces of S#!T

I mean, just look at it!

doh.gif MY GOD!!

who ever does this to their keyboards should be shot like a dog.... ehh... sweat.gif

mind you this is not a mecha type, but a dome type keyboard,
it it handles the abuse well above my expectation,

ain't no way I'm gonna abandoned it

open time!

(PS: The Ctrl and Shift was taken out for simple cleaning before I realised how bad izzit rclxub.gif , Full disassembly required rclxm9.gif )

all taken apart cleaning proceed!

my ol' trusty CRC CO Contact cleaner, and some cotton earbud for the nooks and crannies

blip-blap-blip-blap

all Assembled! rclxms.gif

the frame actually been scrub down with a 400 grit sandpaper, water sanded
and thats why the small patch around the HP logo is left yellowed

The keys themselves is yellow due to ABS oxidise and the Flame retardant additives
there is a way (chemically) to get back the whiteness (search Retr0bright or DIY them)

but i think gonna leave them yellow in contrast to the whiter-r frame

other thing i spent my time doing

This post has been edited by mcchin: Mar 5 2016, 03:46 PM
TSmcchin
post Mar 5 2016, 03:47 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So now, it looks more presentable