6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Project Final-Mod (Ex-Project Anti-Establisment), Start Jan 2011, End Jan 2016.... tbc..

TSmcchin
post Dec 15 2015, 03:33 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Dec 15 2015, 02:35 PM)
how many more years? perhaps you can subdivide the project into seasons. Like season 1 cutting, season 2 painting and season 3 assembling. By the time done..PC already outdated. smile.gif

But seriously...awesome worklog....
well
nowadays dun game so much...

csgo, and maybe get some cheap steam games

which i will asume the 2600k and gtx 680 can handle it

wont be around until 23rd

watching this

on foreign land

will continue once back
and my items arrived

This post has been edited by mcchin: Dec 15 2015, 03:33 PM
TSmcchin
post Jan 19 2016, 11:34 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

woahh... more than 30 days from my last updates?

what happen you might ask?

well a 2 week in Indon
then a wedding where I was the best man

then it just.... laziness..

any way
lets get right into it

Going to the cheap stuff
- Noctua Redux 140mm PWM
- Silverstone magnetic ultra fine filter
- 8 pin PWM splitter (not pictured here)

close up on the fan
nothing but the fan and 4 screws, cheap indeed

the filters

then this... jeng jeng jeng!

some more clue...

it's a magnetic strip
oneside with double sided tape and the other for sticking to steel surface

since the fan is not steel body
and it wont have any metal frame
guess I'll have to whip up something

so a simple cut to size and paste to the fan

then stick on the filter right?

NOOO!!!!!

stay tune to the next post!!!!
same time same day .... or maybe not tongue.gif
TSmcchin
post Jan 19 2016, 11:50 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

2nd part of the fans and filters updates...

this!

the filter mesh is soft
Initially, was thinking of putting some screws on the holes and let the filter stick to it

but that idea fell through,because
1. the magnet on the filter not exactly strong to hold on to such small surface
2. the closeness of the filter mesh (touching while not even turned on) makes it not ideal to have it run long term

so the Magnet sticker was suppose to help with these two issue

after done, still the mesh is close to the fan
and the magnet strips double sided tape is not exactly strong

so in come this.

sticky thick double sided tape

so it became like this

a magnet strip and thick d-s tape sandwich between the fan and the filter

much more clearance to the fan

DONE!!!

honestly speaking
I tried out running the fan while writing this post
and I found out sadly, @ 100% pwm control (supposedly 1500rpm)
the fan output seems muffle, hard

really put another spanner into the works....
maybe will add the 3rd fan+filter at the bottom to ensure that the internal is always positive pressure hmm.gif
TSmcchin
post Jan 25 2016, 10:06 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Happy Thaipusam!
or rather yesterday

but with the long weekend

able to do some little things...

here it is!
the last time you will see these kind of pic

fuhhh...
don't do open table in an non-aircon room

my poor GTX 680 Lightning... cry.gif

but no fear

some unscrewing

Close up
WHOA MAMA!!!! Can this be a fire hazard?!!

some more dismantling

then all black out

it got so dirty that no picture was taken

safe to say

use of soap water on soap-able part and CO contact cleaner for the electrical parts

http://www.crcindustries.com.au/products/c...contact-cleaner

This post has been edited by mcchin: Jan 25 2016, 10:10 PM
TSmcchin
post Jan 25 2016, 10:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So lets start with the assembly

Wubba Lubba Dub Dubs

everything assemble and ready for assembly...wait.. what's that?

again some missing pics

and we start here...

mobo in, PSU in, Fans install

now I'm at the part to cable management

HDD rack installed,
From top, 2TB WD red, 1x320GB Seagate, 2x2TB Samsung,

HDD Rack in, GC in

The problem with non-modular PSU

much better..

miles and miles of cables needed to be tucked some where... sweat.gif

TSmcchin
post Jan 25 2016, 11:44 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Side panel Grand opening!

Hnnngghhhh...

hnnnggghhhHHH!!!!!!!!!

some minor wiring

side panel installed

Front panel, magnetically hold in place

Front profile pic

The back side panel

the back panel

Current status
- Due to CNY nearing, Have to clear out the area
- Waste of available parts at hand
- One of the fans on GTX680 stop intermittently due to dust

Next up
1. Add New CPU Cooler
2. Add another Fan-filter at the bottom, 1 exhaust at the back
3. Touch up here and there
4. New power wiring
5. ....
TSmcchin
post Jan 26 2016, 12:30 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Main concern at this point was the system be able to run or not

heck the mobo was drench with the CO contact cleaner stuff
like the Moses Flooding

well...

it boot up fine...

and the cost of doing this

So today did some touch up on the system,

moved the SSD location

Placed in current locations
zzzz
all that Window and placed facing the wall

my style, close up

things that added

comparing to the top pic of this post
the USB, audio jack is place more integrated to the system

The look of the system in the dark

TSmcchin
post Jan 26 2016, 12:35 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

So
this is Considered Finished project

But there is still some updates to the project
and will update so
andywsa84
post Jan 27 2016, 03:45 PM

13 posts

Wah......Finally......Respect man!!!!
abubin
post Jan 28 2016, 04:47 PM

10,429 posts

Move the table to left side then move the case to the right side of the table instead. Then you can see all the nice transparent side.
TSmcchin
post Jan 28 2016, 07:47 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(andywsa84 @ Jan 27 2016, 03:45 PM)
Wah......Finally......Respect man!!!!
blush.gif

wat for respect blush.gif

a freaking lazy ass, procrastinating bum like me should have whipped, then watch me nayed-nayed

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 28 2016, 04:47 PM)
Move the table to left side then move the case to the right side of the table instead. Then you can see all the nice transparent side.
there is a power plug above the pc unit
that is connected with the Praying altar lights
this lights is turned on and off daily, twice

still some updates

maybe in near future will do some deep dark secrets of this build :ninja:

This post has been edited by mcchin: Jan 28 2016, 07:48 PM
TSmcchin
post Jan 29 2016, 11:25 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Some quick update ohmy.gif so fast??? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

this arrived fast...

some assembly required?

Done!

some quick simple updates for you guys

andywsa84
post Jan 31 2016, 12:37 AM

13 posts

Haha, what I respect is u finally completed the case mod even though spend quite long.

Btw, good idea for using the coffee table, may I know the weight of the coffee table and is there any other colours available? Appreciate if u can provide some info bout it. Thx.
TSmcchin
post Jan 31 2016, 01:13 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(andywsa84 @ Jan 31 2016, 12:37 AM)
Haha, what I respect is u finally completed the case mod even though spend quite long.

Btw, good idea for using the coffee table, may I know the weight of the coffee table and is there any other colours available? Appreciate if u can provide some info bout it. Thx.
its from ikea

http://www.ikea.com/my/en/catalog/products/70208450/

there is one more colour, white

iniitially intended to get some caster wheel to add directly to the bottom

then after finish installing the system, and a little search

found a suitable one

if you aren't looking a coffee table with wheels, there should be more selection thumbup.gif
andywsa84
post Jan 31 2016, 04:52 PM

13 posts

Thx man, for all ur sharing rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
TSmcchin
post Feb 1 2016, 11:18 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Sigh.....Now for the dark secrets

The side panel fill of dings and scrapes

mark of a lame quality painting....

colour chipping here from the force installation

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

doh.gif doh.gif

yawn.gif shocking.gif

sigh......

paint job not exactly what I'd imagine

then this

the part broke when drilled....
so some epoxy and a Al structure,
it will do for the mean time

On some other news

this is my Mouse pad now

Yep
Carbon fiber
the real deal here, sample molded pre-preg sheet

coupled with the G402 hyperion fury
owning it at CSGo

Ehsan_Root
post Feb 4 2016, 06:40 PM

wow.. very nice
TSmcchin
post Feb 7 2016, 01:52 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

Happy CNY to all!

some planning for the new years

this item migh show up in some of the pictures

if not, this is a Ikea Poang Lazy Chair
http://www.ikea.com/my/en/catalog/products/S29125684/

and then this..

hmmmmm....

Tadaa!

What it would looked like

tbc...
TSmcchin
post Feb 7 2016, 09:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

due to my love for Racing games NFS4Lyfe, Gran Turismo as well

and my recent purchase of Eurotruck Sim

and my two year old Logitech Driving Force GT, that been used less than 5 times

need to setup a table to use it properly

the original design was create 2 years back, coincide with the DFGT purchase

now with proper re-evaluation and redesign

finally have a buy list..

with this
i will buy the needed wood supply and do this, maybe.... another a year or 2 type of project.... again? whistling.gif
Patent
post Feb 10 2016, 06:09 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

Good to see the case finally finished. laugh.gif
Really unfortunate for the paint scratches and the window panel is facing wall. sweat.gif

Good luck on your next project. rclxms.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1055sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:36 PM