6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Project Final-Mod (Ex-Project Anti-Establisment), Start Jan 2011, End Jan 2016.... tbc..

TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 11:49 AM, updated 9y ago

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

Huargh....

Been sleeping for on my case mod since 2011
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1738405

from like this:

to

Man! Did I let it go to rot.....

What you guys are seeing here..

As of September 2014, my rig:

Intel Core i7 2600K
Asrock P67 Profesional (fatal1ty) motherboard
4x 2GB DDR 1600MHz
2x Nvidia 9600GT 512MB
4+ HDD
Seasonic S12D 750W PSU
Dell U2414h (pictured here is Dell 2407WFP HC, which retired early Aug 2014)

What really re-boot back my old project?

This https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3323198&hl=
(for future reference if thread pruned, the link above goes to a selling page of MSI GTX680 Lightning at irresistible prices, for me at least)

And further compounded with the viewing of Nvidia Mod 24 (an event to commemorate the release of GTX980, with 3 teams to mod case withing 24hrs, and stream live in twitch)
https://www.google.com.my/search?client=ope...WHcvM8gWPv4LoBg

I got the GTX680 a week back and till now not yet connected... sad.gif
TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 11:49 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

Okay so the knick-knack paddy-whack is clear up

Where is the current situation on this mod project

Well this is the overview of the case

Close up on the case

take out the 3.5" dvd cage. Lucky the rigidity is not affected sweat.gif
I guess the Exploded right hand / back panel here:

and the bottom panel

And below is the HDD plates for HDD cage

These plates is taken out of another case, since the original was destroyed in a futile effort to do some "mod"

Have to build up from scratch, since without support top and bottom
the plates warp like hell

so the only way is to hold up the top and bottom
and guess what...

tonnes and tonnes of aluminum profiles, free to boot

ALUMINUM PROFILES = LIGHT, STRONG, EASY. THE CHOICE OF MODDERS

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 26 2014, 05:18 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 11:50 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

So my schedule is limited to weekends or late night (11pm -2am)....

so midnite cutting is not possible (apartment habitat)

What was done yesterday the list

1. Raise up the case from bottom panel with standoffs
--a) gotta get some screws
--b) washers
--c) screws and nuts for HDD cage

Some thing Finalized this week end (hopefully)

After a 3 years hibernate, I analysed what really happen that caused the previous project run to fail

1. I overestimated the possibilities of some modifications, like trying to fit the whole unit into this space

I now know it is impossible, and happy with the cpu place on the floor or on the table

2. Thinking too far ahead. Partially everytime i start to do something to the case, my mind wander of to all the future mods to do, while not really finishing the basic mods required before continuing.

3. Find ways to coat all the surface. Paint spraying is not my forte, anyone providing these kind of service? Hmm... maybe going to opt for powder coating the whole case....

Here i go again.. doh.gif rolleyes.gif thinking too far ahead...

This is the start of a reboot
Lets hope there is an end to it this time sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 26 2014, 06:17 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 26 2014, 05:58 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

My one day backup pic to google plus almost equals my one month imgur view... laugh.gif

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

STOP GETTING DISTRACTEDDD!!!!!!
FOCUS FOCUSSS.... FOCUSSSSS!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 26 2014, 05:58 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 12:14 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

As what Post #3
the addition of standoff to the base to raise the whole case

Why ?
well the original standoff was to raise the base so that I can fit some HDD, screwed to the black board

the spacing is really enough but the plan now changed

I am gonna fit in a dvd drive at the bottom thus need to raise the spacing

but alas, the measurement is a bit off

there is not enough spacing to slot in the drive much less spacing for routing cables and wires

so need to raise more, by using these

left, was the cut off, that i though it is enough, the right is the uncut version

so need to get some longer screws to screw them in

TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 01:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

New day new updates..hopefully

New screws

Taking out the old setup

Comparison old and new extender

All fitted in

And the DVD easily fit in, with some space to boot for use in cabling

Short term list
TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 06:51 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

afternoon progress.... fhew... sweat.gif

cutting my old acrylics,

simple man with simple tool

cut some Al profile... sheeeet long-short... LANAAA!!!!! WHERE'S MY CALIPER???!!! wait.. who Lana? When did I ever have a caliper?

Bust out my ol' trusty ~❤~Boschie~❤~

Screwed in One side

The other side

Remove all the drive and it stand straight enough
Lucky I go with the addition of the acrylic plates. I don't see the Al brace can hold the cage unwarped

Still very bendable to a degree, maybe 6 degree? #Bendgate

Light start to go out, shitty Xperia Z camera. How it looked in position

The location of the extra length AL profile

TBC
TSmcchin
post Sep 27 2014, 07:00 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

What the function of the Extra AL profile length

the idea here is
- to place a brace below the metal case (blue)
- screw in two long screw (red)
- AL profile on the HDD cage has the middle straight down. The bottom would be shaved down to a radius (Black)
- Find the way to lock the opposite side to the case
- A simple relatively easy to remove whole HDD cage

Bonus:

Check the clearence

Lucky there is a gap there sweat.gif phew.... thumbup.gif

Thats for the day/night

see if there is any progress tommorow yawn.gif

This post has been edited by mcchin: Sep 27 2014, 07:01 PM
TSmcchin
post Sep 30 2014, 10:00 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

Some last night updates

Got some AL profiles cut at various length

The special one (Chelsea! Chelsea!)

What exactly is this part?
It goes in here.... perfectly thumbup.gif

Close up of the slotting in progress... hnnnnghhh...

Some of the profiles was on the longer side. Need some elbow grease to shave down those millimeters sweat.gif

Reinforcement to the front of the Case

Basically it's to mate with the Special One @hdd cage so to hold it down
user posted image user posted image

Drills some holes through those two profiles and lock the bottom and walla! "Easy Move HDD Cage" (patent pending) whistling.gif

no pic here yet
Taking it slow and steady

TSmcchin
post Oct 2 2014, 10:22 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

Yesterday night was a productive one

Vertical Mobo tray brace installed, the Horizontal Brace installed 2 years back

Front Mid Brace

For strengthening the soft thin metal and hold it back to straight line
user posted image    user posted image

Back Mid brace

Since we talking about the braces, a set of 3 bottom brace, really strengthen the whole case

The front mid brace connection with HDD cage
THIS NEED TO BE REDONE!

The back Vertical Mid brace

All assemble back for the night

Stuff to do:
1. Cut Acrylic for front
2. Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration
3. Cut holes on top panel for USB and power
4. Clean all cutting edges
5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel
6. Cut side panel
7. …
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint

TSmcchin
post Oct 8 2014, 12:51 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

It's Tuesday...

3 day weekend and almost nothing gets done... sad.gif

Partially... I live in apartment and there is not much common area and/or neighbour mad.gif for the bisingness of the grinder/ drill... sweat.gif

Well, Did get some work done on Monday, but no picture blush.gif
Basically got some acrylic cut out (a simple rectangle) and some Al connector re-imagined

Today, well with the part prepare and brought to work place
Finally go some professionally cut and drill done, by myself no less tongue.gif

Remember this one?

Shitty drill holes and not level shakehead.gif

So got some new replacement (Left Old, Right New)

You can see the old piece have the hole drill out in a sloppy manner, along with several re-drill
While the right pieces wan properly clamped and drill in a level from the edge
All using a milling machine. brows.gif

Here's the look on test attachment to the HDD cage

The long piece will be riveted to the case
with the shorter piece attached to the HDD cage and held together with 2 screw through them

Then there is the Acrylics
again showing side by side what a proper machined/drilled parts (left) thumbup.gif vs home free hand stuff (right) doh.gif (crack and broke into 2 pieces.. shakehead.gif )

Close up

Drill out the corners to facilitate the smooth cutting with an angle grinder

Acrylic installed, mind you this is not the Front Panel, just the Fan Jig/Connector to the case

Stuff to do:
1. Cut Acrylic for internal-front DONE but needs to touch up the edges
2. Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration DONE (show later)
6. Cut side panel
7. Cut front panel
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint

Next pictures hope to put in some milling machine area pics

This post has been edited by mcchin: Oct 8 2014, 12:51 AM
TSmcchin
post Oct 8 2014, 08:19 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

As said yesterday
Some little updates on the acrylics and rubber mat/feet

The milling machine, for touching up the edges

Getting a straight edge so to look "professional"

End Product ... ssmmmmooottthhhh wub.gif

Looks much much better

much better than this .. sweat.gif

then the rubber mat/feet
Any one can guess what this is from?

Pliable rubber, should be good enough vibration isolation

Stuff to do:
1. Cut Acrylic for internal-front but needs to touch up the edges DONE
2. [s]Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration[s] DONE (show later) DONE
6. Cut side panel
7. Cut front panel
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint

SUSAmeiN
post Oct 8 2014, 08:33 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

unker.. any leftover gooding part sell cheap2 lar..huehue
TSmcchin
post Oct 9 2014, 11:33 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Oct 8 2014, 08:33 PM)
unker.. any leftover gooding part sell cheap2 lar..huehue
Ehh? DUN CALL ME UNKER!!! lol
but a lot of kids at my apartment called unker... sad.gif cry.gif

Really, afte I done, not much left over lehh...

Though I might have an 8mm thick acrylic 3' x 4' @ RM230
(I need not much but supplier selling @ 6' x 4')

or maybe I might go with a 6mm 3' x 4' @ RM180

whistling.gif

Any way doing some metal cutting

Top panel

Close up

The long holes is for
a USB 3.0 front panel connector

and the square is for USB 2.0 type (not pictured)
mapTray
post Oct 9 2014, 03:04 PM

36 posts

Nice hard work! tongue.gif

You should considering buying this dremel saw for you fancy cuts
price I guess between RM370-Rm400 but you can do as many fancy cut as you like..

Keep the update coming man! rclxm9.gif
TSmcchin
post Oct 9 2014, 07:08 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

QUOTE(mapTray @ Oct 9 2014, 03:04 PM)
Nice hard work! 

You should considering buying this dremel saw for you fancy cuts
price I guess between RM370-Rm400 but you can do as many fancy cut as you like..
CODE
[img]http://i.pictr.com/yfxrd1wozs.jpg[/img]

Keep the update coming man! 
I really did considered about getting a dremel and more equipment

but as you can see from the modding of a cheap old case
a RM 300 is quite a number, considering I still have to get some acrylics... sweat.gif

Furthermore, I lack the space area for a proper work place
as most of my drilling is done in my bed room shocking.gif

Very enticing..... but limited budget... sad.gif

Well the cutting updates!!!

Finnally got some cuts...or drills to be precise. Have to rope in a friends help. sweat.gif

Drill in action

Time to clean up my 2 y.o paint. My ex-workspace cleaning area(now I got someone to be responsible for this area... Tsk...tsk... so unkept shakehead.gif tongue.gif )

This stuff is MEK (methyl ethyl ketones) Stronk Stuff, can be considered paint stripper, eats up Road Line Paints like nothing
user posted image user posted image user posted image

All cleaned up

Close up on the holes, need serious touchup

With the USB adapter in place

Very Nice! Very Nice! thumbup.gif

Now have to touch up the holes, like seriously

Stuff to do:
2. Find rubber mat for HDD cage anti-vibration DONE (show later) DONE
3. Cut holes on top panel for USB DONE and power button moved to front panel
4. Clean all cutting edges - For the week ends???
5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!!
6. Cut side panel Acrylic - Find the acrylic FIRST!!!!!
7. Cut front panel - OII!!! NO SEE ABOVE??? FIND THE BLARDY ACRYLIC FIRST LAHHH!!!! Then we talk. wink.gif
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint or..or..or... hear me out... what if....Powder Coat?.... sheet... $$$ cry.gif $$$

TSmcchin
post Oct 11 2014, 05:02 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

Friday no go
colleague wedding
$$$ fly, next week another... sweat.gif

Got some work done on saTURDay tongue.gif

FINALLY got the shape I want, USB 3.0 panel installed

Inside view:

the back view:

The place where the connector meet the mobo plug, this will be just long enough (might need to find extension cable)

Then onward to the square shape. Need to grind down rounded corner to fit in:
Another USB Header!!! ohmy.gif This time a USB 2.0

The internal look (dun mind the bent pin, fixed later)

Both assembled

Internal look

The look from the back

Too bad the USB 3.0 header have blue colour plates
gonna clash with the future case colour sweat.gif

Plus a search online might solve the short USB 3.0 cable
http://www.lelong.com.my/usb-3-0-motherboa...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Stuff to do:
4. Clean all cutting edges - SEMI-DONE For the week ends???
5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!! FOUND!!!
6. Cut side panel Acrylic - Find the acrylic FIRST!!!!! Need buy, but that is maybe next month case liou... sweat.gif sad.gif
7. Cut front panel - OII!!! NO SEE ABOVE??? FIND THE BLARDY ACRYLIC FIRST LAHHH!!!! Then we talk. wink.gif
8. ..
9. .
10. Paint or..or..or... hear me out... what if....Powder Coat?.... sheet... $$$ cry.gif $$$
TSmcchin
post Oct 13 2014, 09:28 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

Sunday comes and gone
not much was done

Morning B-ball
afternoon becomes too lazy to do anything

But whip out the trusty old equipments

Cut with scissor and pump out the holes

Close up

What is the function of the rubber pads?
This is the front of the case:

Along with the rivet heads and the side protrusion, the Acrylic cutout will not sit flat to the front of the panel.

Force clamping will just bend the thin acrylic to the shapes of this protusion

plus having some dampening effect would be nice thumbup.gif

Screwed down and close up

All six big screw clamp down and tested to be just.... flat enough

Stuff to do:
---4a. Prepare acrylic for painting
---4b. HDD cage screw alignment
---4c. Bottom Fan Holes, Acquire fan filters

5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!! FOUND!!!
6. Cut side panel Acrylic - Find the acrylic FIRST!!!!! Need buy, but that is maybe next month case liou... sweat.gif sad.gif
8. ..
9. .
TSmcchin
post Oct 16 2014, 11:16 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

Man running out of gazzzz...

3 days since last uppie

Well lets get straight to it

Start with Tuesday, took a whole day off from work to do some serious work in

Bottom cutting plan for fan

The on Wednesday at lunch gone out to grab some nuts and screws, and washers

On today Thursday, Test install the screws and nuts, mostly would fit in, though a bit close to the moving edges

The look of the bottom cut out

Assembly of the screw/nuts/washer - Front

And these screws?

It would installed like this
The AL profile would have a hole drilled to the point of the screw, and the length shorten down with the hole is open with a gap to the edges. This is so the AL end can slide in and hole down by the Big black washer

Then at the front, be locked down with the through hole with a couple of screws

TBC next post

TSmcchin
post Oct 16 2014, 11:30 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,892 posts

The after assembly
as you can see here

Though it seems like there is space to maneuver around
once the fans installed the removal of the HDD (either for servicing, add/remove HDD or moving system)
is very very hard

So the front fan plate needs an opening so that place to enable some fingering brows.gif of the screws, of course whistling.gif

On another note, projects bracing process is 80% done and only left with this much AL profiles..

ermmm.. wait...

Stuff to do:
---4a. Prepare acrylic for painting... wait
---4b. HDD cage screw alignment SATISFIED!!!
---4c. Bottom Fan Holes, Acquire fan filters ... 1st half done, 2nd half... eehh ...

5. Buy New Acrylic for side panel - Search search search!!!! FOUND!!! MID of THE MONTH... STILL HAVE $$$ MEH?
8. ..
9. .

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:03 PM