23 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Crayfish Thread, spread the passion!

TSshadowcaster
post Sep 4 2006, 11:56 AM, updated 12y ago

566 posts

Anyone here share the same interest as me in rearing crayfish? I know all petshops call them lobsters but in fact they're crayfishes. Why? coz crayfish = freshwater; lobster = saltwater.

I have 1 electric blue crayfish and 1 red one (what do u call them?..i think there's some fancy name). Will post more pics later.

This post has been edited by shadowcaster: Sep 5 2006, 04:48 PM
Cahill
post Sep 5 2006, 09:25 AM

-- Type (R) --
2,754 posts

hey can u tell me more on it, interested to have some. what u feed? how frequent need to change water and need oxygen stuff?
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 09:54 AM

566 posts

i feed them sinking fish pellets that i bought from the shop. They eat those pretty happily everyday but if u want variety, try giving them other things...practically anything that u can give to hermit crabs. Or if u want it to be interesting, get some live feeding fish for them to hunt. Of course u can make it easier by slightly hurting the fish before putting them into the water.

i change the water only when it's dirty or i see lots of residue floating around. The most important part is not overfeeding..i only put in like 5 pellets max for each crayfish per day. If u want a submerged tank (coz its nicer with all the plants and maybe put in some chiclids too), then u need a pump. Filters are sufficient i guess...but pumps are better coz they aerate the water more efficiently.

For me, i didnt need a pump or filter coz my water level is just 1 - 2 inches above their body when all their legs are fully on the ground. If u submerge the entire tank with water but with no pump, the oxygen will go to the top of the tank rendering ur crayfish to suffocate due to lack of oxygen.

If u want extensive information go to this site - www.bluecrayfish.com. smile.gif
Cahill
post Sep 5 2006, 01:51 PM

-- Type (R) --
2,754 posts

thanks for your reply biggrin.gif
looks like not too hard i might consider then. can feed them with gold fish food? haha..
alligator_28
post Sep 5 2006, 01:57 PM

188 posts

I saw some pet shop in melaka selling it.........but the crayfish staying with other types of fish........
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 02:01 PM

566 posts

Any fish food will be fine..but most importantly it must be sinking pellets coz if the food float too high they cant reach it. Another thing to note is they need a hiding place like drift wood or something as simple as cheap pvc pipes. Btw they're pretty cheap to purchase too (about rm 5 - 15 depend on the species)...so dont get con by fancy petshops.
alligator_28
post Sep 5 2006, 03:24 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 02:01 PM)
Any fish food will be fine..but most importantly it must be sinking pellets coz if the food float too high they cant reach it. Another thing to note is they need a hiding place like drift wood or something as simple as cheap pvc pipes. Btw they're pretty cheap to purchase too (about rm 5 - 15 depend on the species)...so dont get con by fancy petshops.
wow....quite cheap ah.....RM5 only.......
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 03:46 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(alligator_28 @ Sep 5 2006, 03:24 PM)
wow....quite cheap ah.....RM5 only.......
yep..surprise surprise...haha. But if u wana get those cooler looking ones like zebra crayfish...prepare to dish out > rm 15 la.
Cahill
post Sep 5 2006, 04:16 PM

-- Type (R) --
2,754 posts

actually crayfish & lobster the same kind, just salt & fresh water diff? not easy to die one lar them? biggrin.gif
eat once per day? they not hungry?
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 04:29 PM

566 posts

QUOTE(Cahill @ Sep 5 2006, 04:16 PM)
actually crayfish & lobster the same kind, just salt & fresh water diff? not easy to die one lar them?  biggrin.gif 
eat once per day? they not hungry?
yes from what i understand they're pretty much the same thing...except lobsters can grow to much larger sizes than crayfish. To answer all ur questions = yes.
Later i set up my new aquarium edi then i post up new fresh pictures. biggrin.gif
jaswwp
post Sep 5 2006, 05:13 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

I like crayfish too, plan to keep one someday. Do post pics when your setup is ready smile.gif
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 08:19 PM

566 posts

Here are the pictures as promised! laugh.gif
My red female crayfish named 007. I name all my pets with codenames. Lolz.

My blue crayfish codenamed 006. She's smaller in size compared to the red one.

My crayfish habitat. It's pretty basic...quite small coz there's no space in my house to put a bigger glass tank.

This post has been edited by shadowcaster: Sep 5 2006, 08:20 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:24 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

I had a zebra but it died of sickness... loss of appetite and it slowly died... then 3 australian red claws died from killing off all my fish in the aquarium and suffocating themselves in polluted water.... it happened over night coz my filter and pump died a day before and I couldn't get a new replacement fast... sigh....

I wanna get Purple exotic and orange ones... gonna cost RM30 over each.

In Pudu market.... 3 medium size crayfish only RM10 ehheeh... large ones RM5 or RM8 each... The RM10 for 3 is the same one as 006, same size too.
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 08:27 PM

566 posts

where to get the purple and orange ones? i've never seen them before anywhere..lol. And the large ones u mentioned maximum size only about 6 - 7 inches wat...how much larger can it be? haha
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:31 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:27 PM)
where to get the purple and orange ones? i've never seen them before anywhere..lol. And the large ones u mentioned maximum size only about 6 - 7 inches wat...how much larger can it be? haha
Large means reached full size... about 7 inches... the medium ones are like 5 inches... if I remember correctly... I know crayfish don't grow big, they are just nice for us to have in our aquariums but I heard the maroon can grow quite big.... and it cost Rm110 hahaha....

Pet Safari got lah.... you go and see... left 1 orange only.... I wanna see when got new stock lol....
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 08:41 PM

566 posts

oh...so sad..1 left only ar...but orange not so cool. Purple sounds cooler! LOLz .. How many pets u have man? Seems like u have everything under the sun
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:43 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:41 PM)
oh...so sad..1 left only ar...but orange not so cool. Purple sounds cooler! LOLz .. How many pets u have man? Seems like u have everything under the sun
Hahaha... The purple looks real nice... I like the zebra too.... well, I wanna get a zebra and the purple when I got money.... coz now my tank is left to become dusty ahahah...

Now ah? Hm... got about 50 pets.... tongue.gif
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 08:47 PM

566 posts

There's some zebra ones at the pet family near my house. Cost rm 18 each. How much u bought your previous one?
crazymouse_yyh
post Sep 5 2006, 08:54 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ Sep 5 2006, 08:47 PM)
There's some zebra ones at the pet family near my house. Cost rm 18 each. How much u bought your previous one?
I bought Rm15.... hmmm... I was at Pet family 2 days ago but I forgot to view the fish part lol.... wasted... how big are they? Mine was quite small... less than 4 inches I think... or was it 3 inches? Can't remember...
TSshadowcaster
post Sep 5 2006, 08:59 PM

566 posts

the one i saw is in pet family KLANG! lolz. 4 inches i guess.

23 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:38 AM