empire23
post May 8 2015, 08:24 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(AMDmy @ May 7 2015, 03:30 AM)
Wouldn't this be great!!!?!?!! biggrin.gif
While that is indeed very nice, the reality is that Real Life IPCs are dependent on low cache miss rates, extremely good branch prediction and the "cost" of flushing a pipeline in the case of a miss (which scales with the length of that pipeline).

It would be interesting to see SPEC numbers from AMD's next gen and maybe an architecture brief. During the pre Core-uarch days AMD generally ruled the roost with a stubbier pipeline and a ruthlessly efficient cache, but Intel caught up after the shitfest that was Prescott. It'll be nice to see what AMD has planned for next gen.
empire23
post May 24 2015, 07:56 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(AMDmy @ May 20 2015, 08:14 AM)
[attachmentid=4454423]

What could be heading our way? biggrin.gif
Is there going to be a tech and process brief soon? If so it would be nice to see it.

I'm quite interested with the die stacking and thermal performance of the new memory subsystem.

It has been years since I've written a full review and technical dissertation of a graphics cards but the slew of new chips from both AMD and NVidia are making me interested.
empire23
post Jun 4 2015, 04:53 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

I've had a look at the Carrizo launch slides and it is very interesting.

I really like the idea of the IGPU in the APU itself taking up the graphical load in tandem with an existing graphics card for an extra boost in performance. Very elegant in principle but I suspect that there's a lot of work done in the background and by the drivers to ensure both coherency and scheduling within a graphical load.

AMDmy Do you have a programming/optimization guide for developers available in regards to this new feature?

Also the 10 to 15 percent reduction in leakage current is very good. As a rule of thumb, nearly all power a processor dissipates is via leakage current as FETs are voltage operated devices. Thus not only is the increase in efficiency due to the better branch prediction and prefetch very welcome, but the new proc will run cooler.

I like this new Carrizo. Slap it on a Global Foundries 14nm FINFET process and might be the new go to processor for mobile devices.
empire23
post Jun 17 2015, 07:11 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 17 2015, 04:13 AM)
AMDmy I want the Nano!!!
Review sample for keepsies!

But then again, AMD/ATI owez kedekut review sample, which never endeared them to me when I used to review their graphics cards.

empire23
post Jun 25 2015, 02:42 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(MiseriGhost @ Jun 25 2015, 01:08 PM)
hi. im new in this kind of thing..
can anyone comfirm me that is amd cpu can make ur electrical bill raise so high??
i already kena complaint by my parents about the bills that naik very tinggi.
Depends on what you're using and what you're using it for.
empire23
post Jun 29 2015, 05:33 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 28 2015, 09:25 PM)
I've not come by many people, other than empire23 and myself, that's capable of (or more like INTENTIONALLY)  generating more than 200W per second power draw. smile.gif

You look at most people's usage, they'll probably game.

Gaming for 5 hours? pfftt, that barely loads the CPU and GPU to reach the full power draw of each, to the power draw fluctuates.

To give you an idea, my Core i5-4670K without GPU idles at 40w power draw, on 100% processor load (video encoding) it draws 125w from the wall. Running cards like say the Fury X or Radeon R9 390X on Furmark stress test drains some 360w from the wall. If you add Full CPU load to it it'll probably reach 420w on the wall.

Again that 420w is from extreme circumstances where all items are stressed.

LOL if people think that putting 4 high-end graphic cards and 1200w PSU immediately raises your electricity bill to the roof. It doesn't.

If you see your electricity bill raised - monitor your air cond usage perhaps?
Power usage in my house can be chalked down to a few things. Namely my fridges, storage water heater and aircon.

Mostly computers don't take much up power even while gaming. The heaviest load I've had was actually running ANYSYS 15 FLUENT and MECH using my badly programmed personal pipe mixer benchmark (running all models, on 1024 steps, full parallel), computer topped out at 550-ish watts for an SLI-ed GTX-980 (haven't tested on the TIs) measured via Fluke 43B Power analyzer.

At the highest tariff of 33 sen per kWh. An absurdly specced computer running at 500 watts running for 12 hours a day at full blast will cost 2 ringgit a day. But most gaming computers top out at about 250 watts, so you're looking at 1 ringgit a day realistically.
empire23
post Mar 5 2016, 05:41 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KiriKaniathran @ Feb 24 2016, 02:41 PM)
AMD is meant to be liquid cooled and overclocked smile.gif

ASUS R9 290X X2 IN CROSSFIRE with EK FC waterblocks
Nice, what are the temps like on it?

empire23
post Mar 5 2016, 09:07 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 5 2016, 06:54 PM)
You're using 980Ti. Shoo shoo whistling.gif
Hooked up the SLI and just realized that I don't have a 3-way SLI bridge lol!

Definitely will be watercooling the rig. The tight space between the first and second GC means it's about 10 celsius hotter than the other 2 cards.

0.0609sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:41 PM