AMD (Malaysia) Official Thread

Mubarak90
post Feb 23 2017, 12:13 PM

482 posts

Ryzen has risen but I still need to wait, since the cheapest high-end CPU starts at RM1599. cry.gif
Mubarak90
post Feb 23 2017, 04:45 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Feb 23 2017, 12:25 PM)
Chill. That's the 8 core part. I'm waiting for the 6 core parts..
But then the price here could be different compared to mrsp like what happened to RX480 doh.gif
I know, but last time we have the cheapest highest end at RM999. Sad. I thought when I start to work, this things becomes more approachable, but now seems like it's getting further and further away. T.T

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Feb 23 2017, 01:18 PM)
Sadly for now they launch Ryzen 7 only, so I would likely go 1700 or 1700X, depends on how well 1700 could overclock, waiting real world test now.
If they launch Ryzen 5 ( 6 cores ) now also, I would just get the highest price Ryzen 5 then.
Hopefully not too far apart.
Yeah, definitely they need to show their best for the mainstream first. They said they're returning to compete Intel at the top of the crop level, it would not make such a bang to see the Ryzen 3 series beat Core i3 with 10% more performance at 30% lower price. Hehe. I'm really eager too to see what they bring to the table this time, planning for an AMD system this year. smile.gif
Mubarak90
post Feb 27 2017, 04:18 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 24 2017, 09:24 PM)
wah suddenly thread exploded with RYZEN in here it seems laugh.gif  rclxms.gif
haha glad i took my intel while slightly increase over 1099 back in 2015 laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Well, lets just hope our currency improve soon cry.gif
Mubarak90
post Mar 13 2017, 11:19 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 13 2017, 11:15 AM)
Haha ryzen hype died already? laugh.gif hmm.gif
No la, people are still waiting for the budget models to be introduced. Seems like gaming is one thing that Ryzen chip isn't much optimized for.
Mubarak90
post Mar 13 2017, 12:04 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Mar 13 2017, 11:55 AM)
Wait more mobo choices.
More like games need to optimize for Ryzen, which AMD claimed they work closely with developers now.
Yeah, but AMD still need to guide devs for it. I hope they'll manage to put Ryzen back on it's track.
Mubarak90
post Mar 13 2017, 01:58 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Mar 13 2017, 01:15 PM)
Can only hope AMD success, they did the same promise on Bulldozer but not success. Ryzen should have no issue as it's quite close to Intel already, some optimization then  rclxms.gif

I think only cons for current Ryzen are OC capability, most user cant reach 4GHz even with water cooler. It might improve with better yield from 14nm but I was kinda sad over current overclock.
My last AMD was Athlon 64 3000+ ( feeling old )
Well, it's okay if it doesn't overclock great I think, as long as they can compete with Intel's parts. Bulldozer last time, even clock until 5GHz also still can't compete. Sad. My last AMD was Phenom II x4 960. smile.gif
Mubarak90
post Mar 13 2017, 04:54 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Mar 13 2017, 04:51 PM)
Planning to get 1700, normal cooler can only reach 3.7GHz. Worst part, may not have 3rd party cooler available now.
Just went Rextech Cheras, they had to use zip tie with current available cooler  biggrin.gif
MSI and Gigabyte got, but may need to preorder ?
Haha, the parts will come la, so be patient. tongue.gif
For now, need to be satisfied with the bundled cooler.
Mubarak90
post Mar 16 2017, 03:45 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(BlitzAce @ Mar 16 2017, 03:25 PM)
Errr a noob question. How would the Ryzen 5, say 1400 stack up with, say FX6350..?
Should be better in every way imaginable. smile.gif
Mubarak90
post Mar 20 2017, 04:35 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Mar 19 2017, 08:01 AM)
Hello guys. Im going to get R7 1700 + MSi B350 Tomahawk. Now only left which ram to choose. Does 3200mhz ram really matters? Im going to use this rig for gaming and heavy multitasking (VMwares)
Im open to any suggestions. Thanks
From Digital Foundry review of Ryzen, they mentioned that faster RAM will benefit any system. smile.gif
Mubarak90
post Mar 22 2017, 11:04 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 22 2017, 06:33 AM)
Question is how much the benefit.

I used at 2133 vs 3000. Nope, little to no difference.
I believe they running benchmark (tools and games) when they mention it. From what I know, the basic use case for most people using PC, won't benefit much from faster RAM.
Mubarak90
post Mar 31 2017, 11:02 AM

482 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Mar 31 2017, 10:41 AM)
Game developer updates shows optimization for AMD Ryzen get double-digit performance increase  rclxms.gif

Ashes Of The Singularity: Escalation

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-ryzen...tion,34021.html
Great result~
Looking forward for further updates regarding this issue. smile.gif
Mubarak90
post Apr 14 2017, 03:52 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Apr 14 2017, 02:57 PM)
1600 and 1600x are unlocked and both can be overclock.

Only thing with X is XFR where it's like a automatic turbo boost to higher frequency when the CPU detects ample of temperature + voltage that can support higher frequency range.

Pls correct me if I am wrong smile.gif
It is as what you've explained.

"AMD's upcoming Ryzen processors are "unlocked," in that they feature unlocked base-clock multipliers that let you easily overclock them; yet a few of its variants feature a brand extension "X." As our older article details, the "X" refers to availability of the XFR (extended frequency range) feature. Think of it as a second stage boost that rewards good CPU cooling with higher CPU clocks set automatically. The Ryzen R7-1800X, R7-1700X, R5-1600X, R5-1400X, and R3-1200X feature this. "
source : https://www.techpowerup.com/230609/amd-ryze...encies-revealed
Mubarak90
post Apr 14 2017, 04:13 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 14 2017, 04:08 PM)
Just because TPU published it doesn't mean it's correct.

Many sites rush to publish but don't bother to update.
Ah, I see. So it's just 50Mhz extra for the auto-overclock. Is there any other distinction between the regular and the X model to justify the increase in price? Thanks smile.gif
Mubarak90
post Apr 14 2017, 04:22 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 14 2017, 04:15 PM)
X model is typically higher clocked out of the box.

That's basically it.

I have 5 Ryzens with me.

1800X, 1700X, 1700, 1600X and 1500X.

Guess which one is my favorite? tongue.gif
I see, I see. That doesn't seem like a very good move from AMD since it basically means that the 1700 can perform as fast as the 1800X if manually overclocked right?

The 1600X and 1500X do look very tempting from a regular consumer point of view. Or would the middle 1600 non-X a better buy? Thanks for sharing the information with us, I'll be looking into your reviews for more insight. thumbup.gif
Mubarak90
post Apr 14 2017, 04:30 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 14 2017, 04:24 PM)
Supposed to publish my 1500X / 1600X review on Tuesday but meh, taking my sweet time.

Yes if overclocking is your cuppa tea then non-X model it is.
Overclocking isn't really my cup of tea though, but, I do am interested.
Overclocked an atom netbook previously, it was running fine with the benchmark they recommend on trying, but somehow, refuses to ever turn on after several days. tongue.gif
Mubarak90
post Apr 14 2017, 04:56 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 14 2017, 04:41 PM)
Malaysia doesn't have 1500. In fact I don't know whether there's 1500.

Currently it is as follows

Ryzen 5 1400: 4C/8T, 3.2/3.4 GHz – RM 819
Ryzen 5 1500X: 4C/8T, 3.5/3.7GHz – RM 899
Ryzen 5 1600: 6C/12T, 3.2/3.6GHz – RM 1,039
Ryzen 5 1600X: 6C/12T, 3.6/4.0 GHz – RM 1,199

Given the above arrangement, I do feel that the 1600 has better value than the 1500X. Clock speeds aren't too much apart but you get additional cores.
Yeah, the difference of RM 900 and RM 1040 isn't that much to be missing out on the 2 additional cores, and if overclocked, can reach the 1600X's speed while saving RM 160. But, I do expect AMD to price the new Ryzen CPUs cheaper though, but hey, it's not too shabby still.

This post has been edited by Mubarak90: Apr 14 2017, 04:57 PM
Mubarak90
post Apr 27 2017, 03:58 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Apr 27 2017, 03:07 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2210592&hl= IdealTech selling for a whooping 899~~ (that a AMD Ryzen Price)
Wow, 899 was the price of RAM...I thought it was CPU. I missed the old days where RAM is cheap. cry.gif
Mubarak90
post Apr 27 2017, 04:22 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 27 2017, 04:18 PM)
Price for 1600 almost fixed, the rest are up to your choice actually, if you want 3200mhz ddr4 then can escaped from that price range.
I think the price is almost there, i check newegg price is USD187
It is, the problem isn't due to our falling currency only. The price of desktop RAM has been steadily increasing, more so from last year. This is due to RAM chip makers are changing from making desktop RAM to making smartphone RAM, because of more demand...
Mubarak90
post Apr 27 2017, 04:38 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 27 2017, 04:28 PM)
Yup, basically 2 reasons, our ringgit depreciation & demand of DRAM, last year i sold my Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000mhz 4x4gb@RM500 & Kingston Predator 3000mhz 4x4gb@RM450  sweat.gif
Yeah, kinda frustrated to see the price is significantly higher already. They mentioned that there is no indication of the price getting any lower in the near future as desktop sales is still on downward trend. Now, 2x 4GB normal RAM is already more than RM300...which makes it more sad
Mubarak90
post Apr 27 2017, 05:26 PM

482 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Apr 27 2017, 05:14 PM)
Haha, that's why till now i still think should i pull the trigger for the CL14 ram kit or just stick with my existing kit which only able to run 2666mhz, if the price below RM700 i will not hesitate to order another set
I see, haha. If you have the extra income, why not? Unless they develop a RAM that can be shared between phones, notebooks, and desktops, it'll be hard that RAM for desktop is going cheaper by the day.

0.0215sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:04 AM