AMD (Malaysia) Official Thread

AMDAthlon
post Feb 23 2017, 12:25 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Mubarak90 @ Feb 23 2017, 12:13 PM)
Ryzen has risen but I still need to wait, since the cheapest high-end CPU starts at RM1599. cry.gif
Chill. That's the 8 core part. I'm waiting for the 6 core parts..
But then the price here could be different compared to mrsp like what happened to RX480 doh.gif
AMDAthlon
post Feb 24 2017, 06:44 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Feb 24 2017, 06:04 PM)
still thinking should i wait for their ryzen 5 1500 priced at rm1017 (usd229), or just get kaby lake i5 7500 priced at rm920. kaby lake 7500 has higher base clock but lower core / threads compared to ryzen 5 1500. just purely for gaming.
At least wait untill official review of Ryzen 7 then decide.
If purely for gaming maybe then kaby lake is enough for you. But it seems that upcoming games might utilise more cores.
AMDAthlon
post Feb 24 2017, 07:17 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Feb 24 2017, 06:50 PM)
thanks for the input but ryzen 7 is way out of my budget, even their lowest 1700.
Ya I know. Me too tongue.gif. But at least from Ryzen 7 official benchmark, we can see how it perform in games compared to skylake. If the R7 performance difference compared to skylake, then you can decide since R5 is just the lower part of the SKUs.
AMDAthlon
post Feb 28 2017, 11:21 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(mywingame @ Feb 28 2017, 09:36 AM)
Guys, any recommended AMD powered laptop below 2k ? Its hard to see laptop that powered by AMD...
No use buy amd laptop now. If you can, better wait untill ryzen based laptop is released. If you cannot wait, just buy normal Intel powered laptop.
AMDAthlon
post Mar 2 2017, 02:55 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Mar 2 2017, 12:27 PM)
Roughly calculate jump-ship fee for me

Ryzen 7 1700 + Asrock X370 SLI + 8GB x 2 DDR4 2667 + M.2 256GB = 3.3K  cry.gif
Don't waste money if you only plan to game only laugh.gif
Or you could always wait for a cheaper ryzen which is end of the year for 4C whistling.gif
AMDAthlon
post Mar 2 2017, 04:49 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(BlitzAce @ Mar 2 2017, 04:15 PM)
Perhaps I missed something but uh.. where's the discussion for AM4 boards?
Motherboard i think will be abit late to arrive. Even at US/UK they are having problems with that regarding the availability and the performance.
Most of it are still doing last-minute touch up due to some issue with motherboard rclxub.gif
AMDAthlon
post Mar 2 2017, 10:35 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

As expected. Gaming performance falls behind Kaby lake but others higher than that. thumbsup.gif

Gotta wait for R5 to see any difference in performance especially in games
AMDAthlon
post Mar 2 2017, 10:40 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 2 2017, 10:37 PM)
Not too shabby for a first time  hmm.gif

This should mean AMD can claw back some market share, and that means more competition.  More competition = happy consumers icon_idea.gif
Agreed. In the end it benefits us the consumer.

But from what i see,gaming benchmark varies with websites. I dont know why rclxub.gif

From this review http://www.toptengamer.com/amd-ryzen-7-170...i7-7700k-1800x/

It seems the performance not far from Kaby lake rclxub.gif
AMDAthlon
post Mar 2 2017, 11:43 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Zicron @ Mar 2 2017, 11:38 PM)
The 1700 performance looks good! And 1700 about same price as 7700k right?
Ya it is priced similarly.

R7 1700 priced around RM 1600 whereas 7700k around 1.5k?

But strangely, the review that i gave differs from most popular reviews
Most reviews state that Ryzen gaming is behind 7700k but from the link that i gave it is closer or on par with 7700k.
Something not right here rclxub.gif

Maybe goldfries can confirm why the discrepancy?
AMDAthlon
post Mar 2 2017, 11:49 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 2 2017, 11:46 PM)
Yeah i'm a little puzzled as well after watching Joker review of the R7-1700 vs i7-7700k. Still waiting for more review of the 1700s and then left R5-1600x/1600 before i decide i need an upgrade or not.
Agreed.. I think better wait for Ryzen R5.. Maybe by then those minor problems should be fixed.
There are also reports of new drivers for Ryzen coming up later on as well as BIOS updates.
AMDAthlon
post Mar 3 2017, 12:07 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Mar 2 2017, 11:58 PM)
This should hopefully mean that software devs can stop slacking off and begin optimizing their software for multithreading  icon_idea.gif

As a guy that works with video transcoding, virtual machines and games...  this thing is perfect  brows.gif
Good for you then... thumbup.gif

But i found something from LegitReviews

You hit the nail on the head on all your comments. I really wish the Windows drivers were ready before we were given the parts to review. Instead we got a statement 24 hours before launch from AMD saying that they'll be coming in 30 days if all goes well. Game optimizations will be hit or miss when they come, but they appear to be coming. That takes time though and we'll see what happens.

I put it in the conclusion on the last page. The quote came direct from AMD's John Taylor. There was talk of it coming with Ryzen 5 and then they said 'in the next month' in an official statement that was e-mailed out last night.

doh.gif doh.gif AMD never learnt from past.
Really hope that performance improved later on
AMDAthlon
post Mar 3 2017, 03:02 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Mar 3 2017, 02:48 PM)
I've been following Ryzen for a month now. Since Ryzen r7 benchmark is out, am i safe to assume that even if i continue to wait for their Ryzen r5 1400x the performance is same as Kabylake i5 7500? Purely just for gaming. rclxub.gif
Maybe and maybe not. AMD said they are in the process of delivering fixes via Windows Driver and BIOS which could help improve performance. I suggest you to wait though if you are not on a rush since Ryzen R5 is expected to release around April - June
AMDAthlon
post Mar 3 2017, 03:54 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(meons @ Mar 3 2017, 03:41 PM)
waiting  upcoming Raven Ridge  APU  what kind igpu they will pack?  R9  blink.gif
Unknown.. Either Polaris or Vega.. But i think it would be Vega
AMDAthlon
post Mar 5 2017, 02:21 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Mar 5 2017, 02:19 PM)
haha
not sure is it worth if i sell off my i7-3770 for ryzen 7 -1700x
Depends on what your usage. Right now Ryzen is not matured yet. Wait at least till some of the bugs ironed out then decide. Myself haven't jump ship yet. Waiting for the bugs to be ironed out hopefully by next month..
AMDAthlon
post Mar 13 2017, 02:16 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 13 2017, 02:07 PM)
Any update about B350 stock and price? Or there is no Ryzen mobo available in Bolehland?
Lelong got plenty of stocks. Even at lowyat also stocks already in.

But im still waiting for minor issues to be fixed before purchasing it. thumbsup.gif
AMDAthlon
post Mar 16 2017, 01:17 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Mar 16 2017, 10:34 AM)
I hope it's not the manufacturing process limitation that limit R7 around 4.0Ghz-4.2Ghz, if it is then these lower end chip will get similar oc ceiling.
The overclock ceiling I think will be about the same.
It's just the manufacturing process. Just like before if you starts over clocking, the power goes up quite high. It is not designed for such thing.
It may improve if it uses different Revision/stepping. Otherwise Zen 2 hopefully should be better.
AMDAthlon
post Mar 18 2017, 02:26 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Mar 18 2017, 10:18 AM)
Guys, is it better to pair ryzen 5 with gtx 1060 or rx 480? long ago heard amd cpu and gpu can combo, still the same or doesn't matter anymore?
Doesn't matter. And no such thing exist..
AMDAthlon
post Mar 18 2017, 07:30 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 18 2017, 06:40 PM)
It does exist. It's APU crossfire with Radeon. AMD Dual Graphics.
Oh ya left out with that.. Only crossfire with apu though. And models for crossfire usually mid to low end Radeon.
For his case has no difference..
AMDAthlon
post Mar 21 2017, 06:03 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Mar 21 2017, 05:24 PM)
That's my last solution.

But then this cooler anchor point kinda hard to zip tie. No holes on the cooler. Damn
Find any aluminium or alloy.. Modify it to fit the AM4 hole.. Viola tongue.gif
AMDAthlon
post Mar 21 2017, 10:52 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Mar 21 2017, 10:34 PM)
cant...only cable tie can solve my problem

it require physical holes in the motherboard
Cable tie works meh? I mean if put inside casing wont fall ka due to gravity? sweat.gif
If put outside casing ok la because flat but in casing?

0.1010sec    1.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:26 PM