126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

♠The Google Nexus 5 Official Thread Version 9♠, Lolipop + 1yr anniversary of N5 user!

dEvILrOx
post Oct 5 2014, 02:03 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Oct 5 2014, 01:59 PM)
They are apk and theres no reason why they dont work on a rooted phone.
i just installed junos and it works on my rooted custom rom n5
if you have company using those as device management to monitor employee BYOD , then you will have error / warning prompt out. usually is being use in company IT department. the current policy u download from junos is "default" and not being config customly.

This post has been edited by dEvILrOx: Oct 5 2014, 02:04 PM
SUSXnet
post Oct 5 2014, 02:11 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Oct 5 2014, 02:03 PM)
if you have company using those as device management to monitor employee BYOD , then you will have error / warning prompt out.  usually is being use in company IT department. the current policy u download from junos is "default" and not being config customly.
Noted that and good luck with your samsung whistling.gif
dEvILrOx
post Oct 5 2014, 02:13 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(Xnet @ Oct 5 2014, 02:11 PM)
Noted that and good luck with your samsung  whistling.gif
who is using samsung ?
LuffyPSP
post Oct 5 2014, 02:46 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Oct 5 2014, 02:13 PM)
who is using samsung ?
It's a sarcasm bro.
kllam
post Oct 5 2014, 02:51 PM

1,228 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Oct 5 2014, 01:51 PM)
I disagree,  stock Android is still faster than the fastest iPhone 6. Suits normal users perfectly.  I bought this phone for my gf who was an iPhone 5 user.  Without poisoning her she says the Nexus 5 experience is better than i Phone.
I believe the pupose of a Nexus device is for user to experience an android device the way google want it to be. Rooting and flashing is an extra for those who wanted more from the device.
LuffyPSP
post Oct 5 2014, 02:53 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 5 2014, 01:44 PM)
Pointless to buy this phone if one is not interested to root nn try flashing kernel, ROM or mods on it
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 5 2014, 01:46 PM)
^ +1. 100% agree on this. If no plan to root/flashy flash, I wouldn't even recommend this.
Kinda have to disagree. One of my friends called me few days ago and he asked if he should stick to iPhone (coming from iPhone 4) or try Android. I said I don't know his usage and preferences. He did his research and filtered everything else except the Nexus 5.

Only reason when I asked why. He wanted pure Android experiences, coming from iOS. He had no knowledge of root and flash, etc.

It wasn't me who recommended this phone. The point is, Nexus has reached to the point that even normal users are interested in this. The whole point is to be able to do what normal phones can do, with pure Android experiences, not having to worry to flash this or that.
LuffyPSP
post Oct 5 2014, 02:56 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(kllam @ Oct 5 2014, 02:51 PM)
I believe the pupose of a Nexus device is for user to experience an android device the way google want it to be. Rooting and flashing is an extra for those who wanted more from the device.
Yeah. It's a choice. Not like few years back where you must root for smoother UI and performance optimizations.
DannyOP
post Oct 5 2014, 02:58 PM

5,220 posts

Exactly u got it spot on. Out of curiosity I'm with my gf now so I took out her Nexus 5 to check her battery usage :-

Battery left :- 46%
Standby time :- 14hrs
Sot - 1hr 50 minutes

I belief if fully utilised should be able to get above 24hrs standby time and close to 4 hrs Sot. For 2300 Mah battery it should be able to last a day of use.

Android L supposed to increase battery usage by 30%, so more than enough.
Someonesim
post Oct 5 2014, 03:06 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Oct 5 2014, 01:34 PM)
I heard of it. Some company actually blocked the usage of a rooted phone. I read about this quite some time ago. Forgot the details.
QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Oct 5 2014, 01:54 PM)
common application would be Junos Pulse, IBM Notes Traveler, MaaS360 MDM for Android ... all these app check phone for root access or not
LOLz, afraid users hack/modify it to cheat company ? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Oct 5 2014, 02:53 PM)
Kinda have to disagree. One of my friends called me few days ago and he asked if he should stick to iPhone (coming from iPhone 4) or try Android. I said I don't know his usage and preferences. He did his research and filtered everything else except the Nexus 5.

Only reason when I asked why. He wanted pure Android experiences, coming from iOS. He had no knowledge of root and flash, etc.

It wasn't me who recommended this phone. The point is, Nexus has reached to the point that even normal users are interested in this. The whole point is to be able to do what normal phones can do, with pure Android experiences, not having  to worry to flash this or that.
I also got friend who bought Nexus 5, because I demonstrate how smooth it is, and he wasnt interested in root/custom rom.
I can see why iPhone users could want Nexus, because Nexus was purest Google experience, and it's the simplest to start, no crazy features you never use.
Tsukiyomi001
post Oct 5 2014, 04:27 PM

620 posts

does DirectD sell N5 silicon cases? thinking of going there to pick one up later
LuffyPSP
post Oct 5 2014, 04:34 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 5 2014, 03:06 PM)
LOLz, afraid users hack/modify it to cheat company ?  biggrin.gif
Lolz I don't know. Ask the company la. Oh well but company shouldn't be advising their employees to use secure encrypted rooted-phone-not-allowed app on personal phones. They should provide it to them. Well that my 2 cents.
Someonesim
post Oct 5 2014, 04:39 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Oct 5 2014, 04:34 PM)
Lolz I don't know. Ask the company la. Oh well but company shouldn't be advising their employees to use secure encrypted rooted-phone-not-allowed app on personal phones. They should provide it to them. Well that my 2 cents.
Well, BYOD was that you use own phone for company business, which I wont do it. Dont work when you're off work, if possible la biggrin.gif
xxdesire
post Oct 5 2014, 05:04 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Oct 5 2014, 02:00 PM)
Yes,  that's why I pointed out user experience in my 2nd sentence.  Even a normal iPhone user also prefer Nexus 5,  who previously won't consider other phones. In fact if the new Nexus 6 has a bigger battery I would not hesitate to replace my Oneplus One.
QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Oct 5 2014, 02:53 PM)

It wasn't me who recommended this phone. The point is, Nexus has reached to the point that even normal users are interested in this. The whole point is to be able to do what normal phones can do, with pure Android experiences, not having  to worry to flash this or that.
QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Oct 5 2014, 02:56 PM)
Yeah. It's a choice. Not like few years back where you must root for smoother UI and performance optimizations.
my <insert family member title here>'s story below: just kidding, do not mean to offend anyone

edit: amended (in bold)

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Oct 5 2014, 05:32 PM
Someonesim
post Oct 5 2014, 05:11 PM

In my way
9,132 posts

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 5 2014, 05:04 PM)
my <insert family member title here>'s story below: just kidding, do not mean to offend anyone

I dont really recommend Nexus to anyone that hasnt enough knowledge to Android. Like you said, need kernel and ROM tweak to have good battery life, need good app for better camera experience, need custom apps to fill up your personal need etc.
ic-klass
post Oct 5 2014, 05:22 PM

959 posts

I alway recommend Nexus to my friend who want to switch to android. Why?? Coz its cheaper, and they get that vanilla android experienced. I almost ditch android due to horrible Touchwiz. But fate saved me
Honestly, if want to compare IOS vs. Android, it must be idevice with nexus. Even a none tech like me, glad that I found my vanilla, not those "rojak" by sammy, etc...
DannyOP
post Oct 5 2014, 05:37 PM

5,220 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 5 2014, 05:11 PM)
I dont really recommend Nexus to anyone that hasnt enough knowledge to Android. Like you said, need kernel and ROM tweak to have good battery life, need good app for better camera experience, need custom apps to fill up your personal need etc.
Recent rom updates addressed many issues. No need to root or change anything. Just use it. Over 24 hours of standby time and 4 hours SOT is already on par with LG G3 and Find 7. Camera with Ois can take good night shots, day shots also decent. RM1k for 32GB has more memory than other 16gb phones.

This post has been edited by DannyOP: Oct 5 2014, 05:38 PM
LuffyPSP
post Oct 5 2014, 06:04 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 5 2014, 04:39 PM)
Well, BYOD was that you use own phone for company business, which I wont do it. Dont work when you're off work, if possible la  biggrin.gif
Haha damn right. Work is never ending. Bring work home also got new work waiting for you. Bahahahahahahaha.

QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 5 2014, 05:04 PM)

edit: amended (in bold)
Probably I misread your words, but I won't recommend them also. Based on my story in previous post, he did his research. And when he called me, he just asked what to check and what downside will he expect. I said probably camera based on his usage, and battery life don't expect too much. I also mention about the speaker.

He didn't mind. So yeah he said he is good to go to get a Nexus. If he still complaints after that, none of my issue. I don't care.

Oh and I mention about warranty also, no issue. Good to go too.

Most laziest way I did was, its a Google phone for tinkerer, you should not get this. Easy. Unless they did their research, I won't bother explaining. I will use the above template.

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Oct 5 2014, 05:11 PM)
And I never mention about custom stuff to them. Like example of the guy is coming from Note series, i will mention about the battery life, don't expect much. If he came from iPhone 5, mention about the camera.

I will then backup my statement about camera, as long as I feel good about sharing in insta or fb, its good enough. They are sharp and quite good IMO anyway.

But battery cannot backup. It's bad. I will say, carry a powerbank. If the guy was an iPhone user or smaller battery capacity phones, he won't mind.

Try recommend this to those using opo or note(those normal users) , they will outright reject this phone edy.

This post has been edited by LuffyPSP: Oct 5 2014, 06:06 PM
LuffyPSP
post Oct 5 2014, 06:09 PM

3,771 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Oct 5 2014, 05:37 PM)
Recent rom updates addressed many issues. No need to root or change anything.  Just use it.  Over 24 hours of standby time and 4 hours SOT is already on par with LG G3 and Find 7. Camera with Ois can take good night shots,  day shots also decent. RM1k for 32GB has more memory than other 16gb phones.
I have to agree, I never thought of using my oneplus camera for pics. Always pulled out my Nexus. OIS reallyyyyyy made the difference.
vostro78
post Oct 5 2014, 09:36 PM

6,804 posts

so far only 1 of my fren using nexus5, the rest all comon phone like samsung s3/note3,s5,xiaomi mi3 , minote. colleague ask me what phone to buy i only recommend them comon product like xiao mi if no budet, or samsung if "no budget", why? cause i know every 1 want easy to get casing lah and sp and good service. so far these 2 brand service record still good base on my experience.

that day deal with a forumrer here i was surprise that she also using red nexus 5... i was like kind of salute... no offense to ladies but i hardly see any ladies using this phone...
xxdesire
post Oct 5 2014, 09:44 PM

Iris Heart-sama ❤
3,354 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Oct 5 2014, 09:36 PM)
so far only 1 of my fren using nexus5, the rest all comon phone like samsung s3/note3,s5,xiaomi mi3 , minote. colleague ask me what phone to buy i only recommend them comon product like xiao mi if no budet, or samsung if "no budget", why? cause i know every 1 want easy to get casing lah and sp and good service. so far these 2 brand service record still good base on my experience.

that day deal with a forumrer here i was surprise that she also using red nexus 5... i was like kind of salute... no offense to ladies but i hardly see any ladies using this phone...
I hardly see anyone (from my location). Saw 4 in the wild which are 2 forumers here, 1 colleague, and 1 in my client office. laugh.gif

edit: oh wait, another +1 forumer where met up with him to help him flashed back to stock, so 5 in total.

This post has been edited by xxdesire: Oct 5 2014, 09:48 PM

126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:53 PM