Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

Showtime747
post Jun 1 2016, 06:38 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 31 2016, 07:49 PM)
You bought gold since 2002, what is your take of gold price vs djia index for the next 10 years?

You have predicted DJIA last year, which I knew how accurate is your prediction already.

What is your prediction for gold in the next 6-12 months ? (Since you ask other people....)
Showtime747
post Jun 1 2016, 12:43 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 1 2016, 08:14 AM)
How much gold did you buy when price was over $1400/oz?
I didn't buy any gold for investment purpose. I do buy jewelry for present or gold watches.

So, what is your view ? I may invest depending on how you view it
Showtime747
post Jun 1 2016, 12:45 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 1 2016, 08:19 AM)
If i could tell ya that, i won't be sitting here chatting with you. No ONE can tell you what's going to happen definitely.
One can only look at the events happening and try to build the end result from there.

One thing, China is still the elephant in the room. Too many risks here which will affect the world economy, not to mentioned it's rather questionable banking systems and stock market.

The world markets are at a stretch, straining to make the next step up. However, there is no catalyst for that.
Industrial Uses of Gold
Boss, he did make a few predictions, explicitly on Grexit, DJIA, London property, Oil, RM, and Shanghai stock market. All I can say is his prediction is very consistent brows.gif

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Jun 1 2016, 12:47 PM
Showtime747
post Jun 1 2016, 05:36 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jun 1 2016, 04:32 PM)
Oops

Just saw ice's quotes at your tags    biggrin.gif
Just for your consumption and amusement, he made the following predictions :

1. Predicted Greece will exit Euro 1 week before Greece decides
2. Recommended buy DJIA when it was 17xxx late last year. DJIA went down to 15xxx. Luckily recovered back to 17xxx now
3. Recommended London property like Battersea. Early this year it was reported the project was down 20%
4. Predicted oil continue its down trend when it tanked to mid-20s just earlier this year
5. When RM was close to 4.45 in recent months, predicted further depreciation
6. Recommended buy Shanghai stock when it reached 5xxx point mid-last year

I am sure you know what happened to the above predictions.

Let's see what is his recommendation on gold price. And also his predictions in my signature will come true or not biggrin.gif
Showtime747
post Jun 1 2016, 10:04 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 1 2016, 08:43 PM)

showtime747 is my loyal follower, he double his wealth every year and he is going to double again from gold purchase.
Definitely following your prediction. You can see from my signature.

I have made/save a lot of money from your prediction, especially your RM/USD prediction thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Jun 1 2016, 10:15 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(strace @ Jun 1 2016, 09:46 PM)
Wow, that is a very good reverse indicator!!
If you want to make money from his prediction, follow closely what he said in LYN. I have been asking him to follow me to Genting, but he refused cry.gif

And if you see the last page, he has been exchanging and pressing boss prophetjul and even asked him for a prediction on gold doh.gif When I ask him back for a prediction, he answered my question with a question doh.gif

Those prediction I listed out, I am not making up. Those were what he actually predicted. See his reply above...he is not even trying to deny !

Showtime747
post Jun 4 2016, 07:14 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 3 2016, 11:03 PM)
[attachmentid=6771746]

showtime747 don't forget to donate a portion of your gain to charity.
Do you mean you made another prediction gold will increase in price beyond 1240 ? How much will it go up to ? And when will it reach your target ?

Please be specific so that I can consider buying.

Showtime747
post Jun 4 2016, 11:20 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 4 2016, 09:53 AM)
As you are blessed, whenever you buy, price will rise; whenever you short, price will drop. You can buy or short anytime as long as you donate a portion of your gain to charity.
I take it that you made a prediction gold price will rise from 1240 level. Let's see the price in 1 week, 1 month and 3 months time how is your prediction thumbup.gif
Showtime747
post Oct 12 2016, 07:02 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 11 2016, 11:38 AM)
You sounded sarcastic..........plus you are always posting negative gold news and comments.

Where did you get the $3,000?
Not only gold. I have never heard him say any investment is good. Very pessimistic person. I wonder why he stay in FBI ? Maybe he has been burnt before for all his investment endeavor so he is sharing his bad experience to warn people.

icemanfx Every investment has its risk and the associated returns. No 100% sure win investment. Even FD has risk, although very risk risk
Showtime747
post Oct 12 2016, 08:43 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 12 2016, 07:15 AM)
You are dead wrong; every investment has its time period to buy, hold or sell. The trick is when.

The herd find safety in numbers and buy on uptrend. Hence, your o&g stocks, kv property investment are sour.
"Dead wrong" is your view and investment philosophy. To me, there is no right or wrong in investment. Only better or worse. If timing an investment works well for you, then continue to do it

For my investment started 30 years ago, continued investment (instead of timing it) over the years have provided me very good returns. I invest when I have the financial ability, instead of waiting for the right time. On hindsight, the difference of 10% price at the time of making the investment is immaterial when the investment could have appreciated 100%-500% over long term

To me, investment is a very long term game. Just choose the best investment vehicle option available at the time you have the money.
Showtime747
post Oct 12 2016, 09:09 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Oct 12 2016, 09:00 AM)
Ultimately you must be able to make money and justify the IRR for the amount of money and effort put in.
If get IRR of  FD rate or lower, what is the point?

You get good IRR well above FD rate, doesn't matter how you do it, it cannot be wrong.
Of course the IRR must be for a period of years. If it is a measly poor IRR after spending so much time and effort,
something is wrong.

But wrong is relative. some can stomach it, no problem also. Even with a negative IRR, boleh tahan rugi, who is to say you are wrong?

As for this gold price going down, take the risk and buy la. ada duit can hold, no problem. tak da duit jangan gamble, play safe.
Agreed ! Always invest with money we can afford to lose thumbup.gif

I see your investment return in FSM thumbup.gif

But why you post the way you post there ? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Oct 12 2016, 09:11 AM
Showtime747
post Oct 12 2016, 01:18 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 12 2016, 10:46 AM)
At 5% compounded, after 30 years is about 4.3 times. Your very good return over the 30years is in real or nominal number?
For properties investment, you have to add in the rental income. At today's rental, the annual return is 15%-20% pa based on on acquisition cost. So you have 2 type of gains/income

For my stocks, you have to add in the dividend income. But there were so many bonus, rights, splits issue I can hardly track what is my capital gain already. But there are also 2 types of gain/income

Tell me which passive investment you have/had that can give 5 times appreciation with annual returns of rental and dividend like the above...

Just 2 of your passive investment will do...
Showtime747
post Oct 12 2016, 03:52 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 12 2016, 03:03 PM)

Since you insist; fb and c stocks, and it didn't take 30 years.
So they are stock too...nothing different. All stock price goes up and down. Nobody can time the market perfectly. Those who say they can are bluffing...or they are God

As I said, there is no "right" or "wrong" in investment. Only "better" or "worse".

Same as gold. On hindsight, we can always time it perfectly. But at current moment, buying or not buying now is all about one's judgement. No "right" or "wrong" decision.

p/s just for records, I mentioned I started investing 30 years ago. I am not saying all my investments were made 30 years ago. In fact, most of my investment were made in the recent 10+ years
Showtime747
post Oct 12 2016, 08:00 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 12 2016, 06:25 PM)
As if you are the only person with 30 years investment experience and people with shorter experience couldn't outperform you.
Since when I claim that my experience is superior than any other person ? That would be down-right arrogant and naive

I am just sharing my experience that timing the market is not my way of investing. And it is not the only way to make money. I have had success without timing the market. I hold a very long term view in investment though.

If timing the market works for you, continue to implement it. And share how you do it. But all I can see you is negativity in all the FBI threads. Including this gold discussion. If you think gold is bad, then what is the alternative ?

Showtime747
post Oct 13 2016, 06:30 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 12 2016, 09:48 PM)
Only now you realize you are a arrogant....

Understand economic and how economic function is not timing the market.

I am only negative when the herd are following blindly against fundamental economic. Most if not all herd will end up worse than the beginning.

There are many investment opportunity available but none is guaranteed or can get rich quick, and is hard for the herd to comprehend.
You know what is arrogant ?

When a person believed he is absolutely right, so right to the extent that he is worried about other people invest in the "wrong" investment and lose money, that is called arrogant.

You don't need to be negative about people here invest in gold. It's their money not yours.

And by the way, they could be "right" biggrin.gif

P/s it would somewhat help to reduce your negativity if you could provide some specific alternative investment to gold. But all you can say is "there are many investment opportunity available...."
Showtime747
post Oct 13 2016, 09:15 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 13 2016, 08:45 AM)
Pot calling the kettle BLACK!  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Boss, at least I am not talking down gold biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Although I don't invest in gold and personally feel it is not attractive, but it is people's choice and their money....

BTW, looks like A$ is climbing...thought oil price increase RM will be better. But RM turns out to be hopeless.
Showtime747
post Oct 13 2016, 11:27 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 13 2016, 10:38 AM)
Sorry. i may have made you misunderstanding.

i meant him calling you black.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah. Everyone has their inesting philosphy. Wrong or Right? Time will tell.

MYR going to the dumps........   sad.gif
Ya everybody has his own preference in investing.

MYR is hopeless in long term. Now short term also hopeless biggrin.gif

Actually come to think about it, gold is a hedge against RM too...

This post has been edited by Showtime747: Oct 13 2016, 11:29 AM
Showtime747
post Oct 13 2016, 11:29 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 13 2016, 10:51 AM)
Suggest you look into mirror or signature, You will find you are not only arrogant and also a hypocrite to the 3rd degree.
You are not talking down gold but persons. Believe in real life you have few friends if any.
You have OT into /k talks

Showtime747
post Sep 9 2017, 12:40 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(robincflee @ Sep 8 2017, 05:58 PM)
Hopefully this chart will give you a sense of how gold performs in the long run
This is really a misleading chart.

If I set the price of a bowl of wanton mee at index 100 (say 1 cent per bowl) in year 1900, the chart of a wanton mee will look similar to gold

Those who are financially interested in gold, please earn your money responsibly. By giving misleading information will only tarnish your image

0.0280sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:57 AM