Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

sinbad2k
post Dec 10 2014, 03:39 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 02:56 PM)
Everyone already try to get rid of USD, but only limited success.

If you doing import export, a lot of stuff still quoted in USD, any payment made in USD.
Our company just recently made enquiry to China machinery company and receive quotation which all quoted in USD and payment is USD.

Gold is not a money nor currency but another asset class which investors can diversify into.

Properties can store value, land can store value, share can store value, oil/iron ore/besi buruk also another one can store value, so does gold, silver, copper etc. smile.gif
sidetracking again?It's not as if I said that everyone getting rid of USD today and expect everything to work without USD tomorrow. Again, all I'm trying to say is that the fact that so many countries are repatriating their gold from the Fed, and some bypassing the USD in trade, signifies something. Sure everything will still be in conducted in USD now but they're also anticipating currency crisis, USD crisis to be exact.

"Gold is not a money nor currency but another asset class which investors can diversify into."
I've already mentioned that gold is not a good currency tool. But I do believe gold is money(according to the definition I learned). Your definition of money could be different, so I'm not arguing.

"Properties can store value, land can store value, share can store value, oil/iron ore/besi buruk also another one can store value, so does gold, silver, copper etc."

I'm talking about inherent value. If you put it your way, even pebbles can store value.

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Dec 10 2014, 03:39 PM
sinbad2k
post Dec 15 2014, 06:15 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 04:41 PM)
My money definition.

Money = medium of exchange that enable to buy whatever we want.

Gold cannot buy car, house, unless being converted into RM or USD.

While other want to have other definition, I also cannot argue about it.  smile.gif

Yes, look at those antique stuff, worth millions a single piece.
Everything has a value and store a value, besi buruk also store RM0.90 per kg value.  biggrin.gif
Pebbles also store a few RM per kg, I believed.  tongue.gif
"Yes, look at those antique stuff, worth millions a single piece."
You're talking about numismatics. Our subject here is gold as "store of value".

Your own definition of money is rather "weak" I believe. No wonder besi buruk and pebbles can be a store of value. Fine, let's not get sidetrack or be sidetracked further.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 10 2014, 05:14 PM)
Debt can be perpetual as long as you can service the debt interest, and sufficient cashflow to support the debt.

Debt can be solved by inflation.

No one will ask the debt being paid entirely at anytime.

Banker doesn't wish to see borrower pay down the debt entirely, and raise no debt.
Bank can go broke if everyone repaid their debt and no one borrow.

So does countries front, no one want to see US repaid back its trillion of treasuries.
Received trillion of USD, what to do with it? Nowhere to keep as well.

As long as debt is manageable, serviceable, and supported by income, it is not a big deal.

1st generation, raise 1 billion debt
2nd generation raise 2 billion debt to repay the 1st generation
3rd generation, raise 3 billion to repay 2 billion.

In between have income to support/service the debt, the debt become perpetual just like treasuries, sovereign bond.
And over the time inflation solved the growing debt.
Well, that's the theory, ideally by proponents of Keynesian. "Debt can be solved by inflation"? Really?No wonder you're okay with inflation. You even did the hard work of illustrating debt raising by generations which clearly shows how the worth of the currency is being shaved off gradually and yet it's ok? OK, I guess I'll stop here.

p/s: You might want to look at gold from a monetarist perspective. Check out Alan Greenspan's essay about gold and economy.

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Dec 18 2014, 02:03 AM
sinbad2k
post Dec 23 2014, 07:10 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(drfeelgood @ Dec 23 2014, 05:22 PM)
Hmmm... just for discussion, physical gold more expensive by around 20%....

Hard to recoup initial capital. Unless the price suddenly sky rockets.

But certain bank giving good rates, and if need to withdraw can request for physical gold. Some with charges, some without charges...
If you're looking for short term profit, you shouldn't be investing in gold.

Physical gold more expensive by 20%?? Could you give an example? If you're referring to physical gold that can be withdraw from bank in paper gold accounts (e.g. CIMB), it's around that figure. Doesn't worth it and it's a blatant ripoff. Local goldsmiths shops are ripoffs too.

Physical gold is definitely more expensive that paper gold because of the costs of making it + some profit and usually not that ridiculously more expensive that paper gold (depending on the type of physical gold and from where you buy it).

If you're into physical gold, you should buy :

1)Gold coins -
Coins minted by Government mints with face value and is legal tender (e.g. Malaysia's Kijang Emas, Canadian Gold Maple Leaf, American Gold/Buffalo Coin, Australian Gold Kangaroo, Chinese Gold Panda, Austrian Philaharmonic,etc.

2)Gold rounds -
Same shape as coins but they can't be called coins because they're not Government minted and does not have face value and is not legal tender. They're minted by private mints. Each private mints have their unique designs and serial number. If you prefer this, make sure to buy rounds minted by internationally recognised mints. e.g. PAMP Suisse, Johnson Matthey, Sunshine Mint, Royal Canadian Mint, Perth Mint, etc..

3)Gold bars -
Same as gold rounds except that they come in bar shape.

sinbad2k
post Jan 30 2015, 06:11 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Jan 30 2015, 03:06 AM)
hmm. lovely.

oh sifus, is there anything i should take note of regarding the storage and caring of the kijang emas coins?

If i were to liquidate the coins when the price is right back to maybank, how do they verify/check the quality of the coins before accepting it?
You would probably need your receipt and also your IC (I think you're informed of this when you were buying it?Damn..can't escape from LHDN now!). The paper cardboard holder and the envelope that comes with the coin will do just fine.

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Jan 30 2015, 06:17 PM
sinbad2k
post Jan 30 2015, 06:22 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Sarah Jessica @ Jan 30 2015, 03:14 PM)
How much Canadian Maple market price now?
It depends from where you're buying from and the weight. Here's from UOB. UOB Gold Bullion Rates Their rate is pretty attractive but requires you to open a saving account to purchase it.

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Jan 30 2015, 06:23 PM
sinbad2k
post Feb 13 2015, 04:19 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 13 2015, 01:58 AM)
does these applies to gold coins? Cause i notice coins price right now is still high doing at RM4691/oz @ USD1221/oz. whereby last time when gold was around USD1220, coins are doing at RM4100-4300/oz. I'm talking about Kijang Emas though.

Any sifu can tell me how BNM fix the price every morning?
I'm no sifu but I think it's because of the weaker RM against USD since gold spot price is priced in USD. It's make sense too since we've two variables that is changing, (A)-Gold spot price itself(in USD) (B)-USD-MYR rate. If (A) is around the same but now price is higher, then it must be (B) that has significant change. Unless it's MBB that is charging more premium now on the coin. Not sure if it'll drop below 1200/Oz. again but I think I'm going to get GML this time when it hovers near 1200/Oz.

QUOTE(gsc @ Feb 13 2015, 02:58 AM)
I am not sifu. Not sure your last time usd1220 is when? Gold is traded in US$, when RM depreciate against US$, it will appear even though there is not much changes in terms of US$ but in RM currency, it fluctuates a lot. BNM follows the Gold price in the world market and convert it back to RM.

In fact I am interested in buying Kijang Emas but undecided when to buy. Last month it was traded at RM49xx..
If you're thinking of flipping it after in short term, you're better off with shares?

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Feb 13 2015, 04:24 PM
sinbad2k
post Feb 15 2015, 08:26 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 14 2015, 11:05 PM)
ahh. it make sense now of the weaker RM during conversion. no wonder the prices are high now even gold has dropped on the international market.

Another question, is it easy to liquidize the kijang emas back to cash to MBB? Means like if i were to sell it back, i'll just walk into the mbb branch and sell it off?
Yes, just go to any MBB branch that sells Kijang Emas(not any MBB branch) or Ar-Rahnu(receipt needed). If you're still not clear how and where to liquidate, jz ask the bank teller when buying Kijang Emas.
sinbad2k
post Feb 18 2015, 11:22 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Feb 18 2015, 03:01 AM)
Gold sliding down @USD 1208 now. Still waiting for it to slide down further before I convert my cash into gold.
Where's the gold price forecaster in this thread?
I think you can start buying at the price level now.
sinbad2k
post Feb 24 2015, 04:46 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(shakiraa @ Feb 18 2015, 12:10 PM)
1206 now..ok to buy? Thx
Can buy anytime now actually when it's nearing USD1200. But it's expected to go below 1200 (but still near 1200) when Greece bailout deal is being finalised.

QUOTE(redbull30 @ Feb 18 2015, 11:56 PM)
Sifus, appreciate your advise.

My dad wants to sell his small gold bars (50g each) that he bought from Poh Kong over the years.
Rather than selling back to Poh Kong, he asked me to check if can get better price anywhere outside.

Would you know where I can check to sell them?

Try Ar-Rahnu?
sinbad2k
post Mar 19 2015, 11:50 AM

525 posts

maybank kijang emas is still more or less the same price as yesterday despite a big jump on gold price. not sure why.but it should be good to buy today before they adjust to the current international price level.
sinbad2k
post Apr 19 2015, 12:08 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 12 2015, 08:27 PM)
guys, as gold investors i would encourage read up both Mike Maloney's and Jim Rickards resource.

Mike Maloney's has a simple presentation at 'hidden secrets of money'. Google that.

Jim Rickards, the author of the 'Death of Money', is a good source of reference also.

Both no need buy, just look up internet resources about them.

Due to that US could not raise interest rate, there is no means the Fed (US) is able to conduct contractionary monetary policy.

The US debt is a staggering $18,000,000,000,000 now... the point is, the debt is not decreasing, nor does US has any foreseeable plan to repay their debt.

The loss of confidence of major market players, i.e., EU, Russia, China, Japan, India are now looking for an alternative instead of letting US printing their way to prosperity. Google AAIB, CIPS....both are new banking systems trying to rival World Bank and IMF.

Correct me if my facts are wrong =)

On a side note, i am buying silver too. Historically it shows 16:1 gold silver price ratio, as of writing it is an awesome 73:1....

On another side note, pay close attention to possible collapse of petrodollar system =)
Finally, I see someone doing some good homework. If you have time, take a look at Bill Still's "The Money Masters". Note that, Mike Maloney and Jim Rickards are mostly educating people on how to preserve their wealth as much as possible but Bill Still is seeking to end the inherently unfair monetary system.
sinbad2k
post Apr 19 2015, 10:03 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Apr 19 2015, 07:30 AM)
If gold is fairer. Why should industrial and agricultural countries and service provider must buy gold from miners in order to trade? Should value of goods and services, and inflation rate to be controlled by gold miners?
Have you look at Mike Maloney's and Jim Rickards' articles and interviews yet? If you've done so, look at Bill Still's one.
sinbad2k
post Apr 22 2015, 08:34 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 22 2015, 06:39 PM)
Forget gold, buy a Vancouver condo if you want to stash your wealth, says world’s top money manager  laugh.gif
http://business.financialpost.com/personal...t-money-manager
real estate/property indeed is the best place to stash one's wealth. Mike Maloney did mentioned that ultimately, our store of wealth should be in real estate/property. Precious metals like gold and silver is just the 'vehicle' for us to get there.
sinbad2k
post Apr 23 2015, 05:00 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 22 2015, 10:01 PM)
yup....but to acquire real estate with debt at present point is not encouraged.

The government may raise interest rate, of which, one needs to service a higher mortgage payment...
(for the benefit of others) I'm actually talking about store of wealth itself without taking any kind of debt.
sinbad2k
post Apr 28 2015, 03:20 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 27 2015, 10:04 PM)
Bro, i've roughly skimmed Bill Still's money master as well as the secret of oz....

to my disappointment, he actually said something quite right....

gold standard may not be the ultimate answer. Still is advocating monetary reform, i.e., fractional reserve lending cancelled, and secondly, issue interest-free government note, citing North Dakota State Bank as successful example.

But....i bought alot of gold and silver d.....cham liao lor.... cry.gif
Bill Still's idea of creating money based on population growth (one of his idea), is not the silver bullet for this whole thing and it's not the ultimate solution. But it does did away debt based money though. You might want to watch two other educational video called "97% Owned" and "Overdose:The Next Financial Crisis".

You have to keep in mind that people like Mike Maloney, Jim Rickards ,etc. are just educating ppl on how to preserve their wealth as much as possible and giving warning of the impending crisis that they see will happen in the near future. Because our lives are deeply entrenched in this system since we're born, we've no choice but to ride along. Mike's advice to put our wealth in precious metals is to reduce the possibility of total wipeout of wealth when the crisis happens. If you recalled, Mike Maloney, at the end of his series of videos did invite all interested ppl to a forum to brainstorm a new monetary system.

Not that cham if you have a lot of gold and silver now. Just keep it for now. How much have you bought btw? Anyhow, when the currency system crashes, they can't create an entirely new monetary system like Bill Still's one overnight. What they most probably do to save the situation quickly is to fall back to some kind of hybrid monetary system maybe that involves precious metal at least for temporarily while working out a new monetary system, as Mike Maloney and Jim Rickards think. That's when gold and silver will rise. You get rid of it at this time. After that they will probably slowly fall in worth as the world transition to the new monetary system. This is the message they're trying to get across.

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Apr 28 2015, 03:26 PM
sinbad2k
post Apr 29 2015, 03:44 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 28 2015, 08:29 PM)
i think i throw in 80% of my portfolio in precious metal....sob....

i think you're right. I am waiting for monetary system transition as a result of total fiat currency collapse.... so during this phase the gold and silver will probably catch up with increasing demand.

That's when i shift my portfolio to other asset class.

Thank you for sharing on "97% Owned" and "Overdose:The Next Financial Crisis". ....will go thru it...
it's fine if you put that much. Just be sure your other 20% is enough for emergency situation and other basic financial needs first.
sinbad2k
post Apr 30 2015, 01:36 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 29 2015, 05:04 PM)
yup...im stocking up daily use goods...should be enough for 1 month supply....water, carbs, protein, but problem with vege....

i don't have a garden to plant vege...
wow..you even go to the extent of stocking up food and water....jz like the show "doomsday preppers"....salute! notworthy.gif
For the vege, if you want to go all out, have you considered hydroponic?

I was actually meaning to say that the 20% should be enough to carry out your daily activities and to support your lifestyle, for holidays, for some purchases, splurging, etc...
sinbad2k
post Apr 30 2015, 03:51 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Apr 30 2015, 09:42 AM)
well...ya...prepper is the word =)

also include liquid cash in hand, some balance in foreign bank, passport ready, 72-hour bag ready, some junk silvers in hand ready, lighters, matches, portable cooking stove, food tins, lifesaver bottle water, then there is this self-defense equipment.....but i stopped there.... because if i go overboard I will feel like being a super selfish human being.

During hyperinflation, when nobody sells food, and all starving to death, I don't think i can live comfortably with my 1 month food supply at home. I'll end up giving  doh.gif  or  laugh.gif

good idea about hydroponic.....any idea to get one?

btw back to topic....gold past 1200, tapi msia ringgit appreciate against usd.....so no effect =(
probably you can ask those ppl at plants nursery about the hydroponic.

I don't think the big jump in price is in USD1200/Oz region. Just keep watch on it and not worried on small fluctuation.

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: May 1 2015, 11:42 PM
sinbad2k
post May 5 2015, 03:46 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(iHeartJewelry @ May 4 2015, 10:43 PM)
Actually how do we earn from gold investment?
it's a no brainer investment. buy low and sell high as mentioned. but the period of waiting for it to go real high could be real long usually. if your want something quicker go buy shares.

QUOTE(iHeartJewelry @ May 5 2015, 08:40 AM)
Wat do u mean by physical? How about public bank gold?
physical means gold that you can hold in your hands like gold bar,coins,wafers, rounds and jewelry. Public Bank's gold is a bank account ('paper gold') where the gold only exist in electronic digits in computer screens or numbers in the account book. There's no actual physical gold there but the price is usually based on international gold spot price coupled with the bank rates.
sinbad2k
post May 7 2015, 01:57 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(robotica @ May 5 2015, 10:23 PM)
are u sure? very sure? or u guess only wink.gif
I have CIMB gold investment account(but closed it already). This paper gold account has a special feature though where I can choose to take out real physical gold but the minimum amount to take out is 100g if I recall correctly and for every gram I take out, I'm charged RM10 for a so called admin fee. To the best of my knowledge, only CIMB has the option to convert the gold to physical and I heard PBB stopped that some time ago. Not sure if they have it back again and I can't find anything on PBB website about this. So yes, I reckon, PBB's gold investment account is truly paper gold.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:49 PM