Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

max_cavalera
post Nov 7 2014, 06:24 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Sham903n @ Nov 7 2014, 07:15 PM)
economic aka All
BNM is already executing preemptive measures since few years ago.. thats why we dont feel(much) the pinch on the last cycle..
work in a bank the past 6 years and yeah i noticed it too....however some tips for u....BNM can control and regulate credit lending for normal rakyat....but who does the papa mama job and regulate government spending? brows.gif brows.gif

Sovereign debt big bang coming to a cinema near you.... laugh.gif
max_cavalera
post Nov 8 2014, 11:49 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(yan7 @ Nov 7 2014, 08:54 PM)
max cavalera, u mean usd going to fall soon ? dj...
and bear bear coming soon?
Not an expert...anyway bassist just sums up my thought....read his link...
max_cavalera
post Nov 20 2014, 03:31 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Well see.....dow joes also crawling sidewayat resistance lvl...whether the dow shoot upwards or downwards...then gold will react inversely to dow movement.....
max_cavalera
post Nov 20 2014, 06:27 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Nov 20 2014, 05:09 PM)
What is the minimum amount of precious metals I can bring accross malaysia from Singapore.
Can someone give me an answer?
U been saying of this since early of the year....

Gold price is set internationally and if u buy any gold bullion from banks or licensed company the spread is quite competitve...so i dont understand why the insist of buying gold in singapore n brining it back here?

They have gold mine i si gapore n selling it at huge discount there ah?
max_cavalera
post Nov 22 2014, 06:17 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(turion64 @ Nov 22 2014, 03:36 PM)
broken the 1200 mark..
Yup. Suprisingly gold always evade majority prediction lol....
max_cavalera
post Nov 24 2014, 12:24 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Nov 24 2014, 03:41 AM)
Are you even sure about this.
Because it seems that you never do your damn research.

Precious Metals is definitely cheaper in singapore.

Have you even taken the time to do an actual compare? No.
All you have is assumptions.

Obviously you never research about this.
Nope they dun have. But then government regulation over there supports bullion dealership.
There is no similar gov support over here.

Confirm, ppl like you cannot be taken seriously.

And we expect to take you seriously.

Do you even google?

I never ever said that you should buy in singapore and carry over here before.

You said gold is priced the same internationally.
Do you know that in Britain, you have to pay 20% tax when u buy gold?

Think before you talk lah.

https://www.buysilvermalaysia.com/shop/prod...-Mint-RCM-100-/]https://www.buysilvermalaysia.com/shop/prod...-Mint-RCM-100
https://www.bullionstar.com/buy/silver-bars
I hope you know how to use a calculator to do the conversion.
Thrs no gold tax as well if u buy any weight in malaysia. They take a small amount of commission in spread of buy amd sell. No tax on trading it so far so what do u mean by malaysian governemtn dont support it?

And if u buy in sgd in sg im pretty sur gold price set internationally in USD and exchange rate would follow back the green back as the benchmark for conversion...

You would likely even lose more money if u buy there in sgd..when u exchange rm in sgd u already lose a few percentage as the forex counter ppl charge u the commission through their spread.

Carrying stuff from sg to malaysia also cost much more in transport fees. It is also highly risky as u migh get robbed or the customs department seize ur asset. They can charge u with any form of suspicious activity including money laundering an confiscate ur asset at will...

Unless u r saying the governmen of sg subsidize ppl buying gold but then that a big joke....

max_cavalera
post Nov 27 2014, 12:24 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(lyralp @ Nov 26 2014, 11:25 PM)
I am learning this trade myself & If I am not mistaken, there are only six banks in Malaysia where you can trade/invest in "paper gold" with most allowing withdrawal in physical gold. The banks are UOB, Public Bank, Maybank, CIMB, Kuwait Finance House and HSBC. You can check their website for full details on their Gold Account.

For me, the order of importance 1) Purity - is it 999.9, 99.9 or 99.5? this to ensure we can make an apple-apple comparison between the banks offering this product 2) The buy/sell spread i.e. how much I pay when I buy & how much I get when I sell it back and is measured as a percentage. The lowest is UOB at 1.61%, the highest is KFH at 6.1%, HSBC is ????, is in Oz whereas all the others are in grams and still ???? 3) Whether can trade on-line so as to avoid the hassle of traveling to/from the bank, an important factor I think 4) The mark-up compared with the spot price (e.g. London Fix). I believe the rest of the matters are +/- and it includes a) how many grams initial purchase b) how many grams subsequent purchase/sale c) minimum balance in account d) Do I need an associate saving/current account e) Whether our "paper gold" is backed up with physical gold f) passbook or monthly statement, etc etc.

o You can track the banks selling & buying price on their website but HSBC ???
o How much to start is dictated by the bank based on specified "Initial Investment". How much you want to invest is up to you but if you are new better to start with the minimum... get knowledge, tools, skills and experience before building on it.
o There are many factors which affect the price of Gold... USD is just one of it
o  Which banks? I am still checking it out wink.gif

Welcome to "paper gold" trading, lets make money here then talk about physical gold and then on to Bursa's gold futures (FGLD) which is moving quite slow smile.gif
paper gold is the most cheapest when you think about it. You only pay through the spread...and the gold is non tradeable with other customer.

This means paper gold is direct trade between you and the bank. The only way you make a profit is at the banks loss when the price move upwards....the bank stands to earn through the spread and the possibility the gld price might come down further and you dont have the financial discipline of holding power...

However let say you make a correct and big call... and yu profit a few hundred thousand or mils...when you cash out you are profiting at the banks loss....

I hope the banks honour their contract and dont dilly dallying on the payments tongue.gif sweat.gif

So my best advice before investing in paper gold...read the banks term and condition fineprint carefully.

1) The paper gold can be changed to real gold even at an extra service charge if u wish...

2) No grey area clause the bank can avoid/delay buying it back from you when the price is profitable and advantageous to you(at a bank losses)

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Nov 27 2014, 12:34 AM
max_cavalera
post Dec 1 2014, 11:44 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 1 2014, 12:19 AM)
After swiss referendum on gold, bet gold price will drop tomorrow.
R u sure? From Armstrong economics blog his reporting the swiss are in such bad financial shape right now since bowing down to eu and pegging their swiss franc to the euro...the value of theor currency have weakened and drag down....only by going back to gold backed standard can increase the confidence in swiss economy...
max_cavalera
post Dec 1 2014, 01:35 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(ChAOoz @ Dec 1 2014, 01:06 PM)
Swiss voted strongly against the referendum. Wonder will gold fall back to pre 2008 ? 900 ?
Monumental decision that eventually will suppress gold to below 1000usd an ounce...
max_cavalera
post Dec 2 2014, 12:33 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 2 2014, 02:42 AM)
Thx for your blessing today.
Hahah we all got troll by gold man!
max_cavalera
post Dec 2 2014, 07:06 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 2 2014, 03:50 PM)
Trolled?
You said gold will go down. It broke 1200 and even went 1220.

It has form a new support at the 1200 level.

Seriously, you are a joke. You really are.

Cannot be taken seriously at all.

You think that the only factor in Gold is the current paper price. But then, even traders are aware of the demand for the physical right now and they know that if price goes down too much, supply will eventually run out and then real market forces take control.

Supplies are very limited based on gofo rates.

Looking at the charts, you seriously think that Gold price is really based on supply and demand or is it a game of poker. To me, it's more of a game of poker rather then supply and demand but seeing your sophisication, you probably actually think that the gold price is actually based on supply and demand.

I mean what can we expect from someone who cannot even do a price comparison even when the links are provided.

So how much did you lose by shorting.
You bet on up? I bet nothing so far. Im just monitoring it. Let see where it will go long term. Not interested on short term outlook...

max_cavalera
post Dec 2 2014, 08:09 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 2 2014, 08:23 PM)
I know it will not go up forever.
I bought some mining stocks recently.
Because as I said. This market is fixed. It's more of a poker game rather then the real market. Traders playing gold are not interested in gold. They are only interested in "outwitting" each other. Also there will be those large obvious naked shorts on option expiry day. Last Friday was option expiry day and that is why you see precious metals getting whacked.

If you look at the chart last Friday or Thursday and never suspect anything, then really nothing to say.

The thing is, you could probably make some money predicting what would likely be the next move then just holding long. Because it will take some time.

As I said. There are many signs that actual physical gold in the open market is running out. when that happens. Say good bye to the current price mechanism that you are currently using.
Thr are wild swing this 2 days. Last i check yesterday afternoon it was 1150. No suddenpy exceed 1200. Nope i dont dare yet to touch this commodity unless it drop below 1k usd. If not ill just monitor from the side.

max_cavalera
post Dec 2 2014, 08:59 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 2 2014, 09:49 PM)
So you dun even read charts.
And you claim to be an "expert".

Seriously. I overestimated your abilities.
You lack even the most basic skills.

http://goldprice.org/

For the rest who is interested.

I am dealing with a moron all this while.
Give me a timeframe then. Based on the charts, if gold price close at 31st december 2014 above 1310usd. Then early next year we may see a small rally for gold.

If gold unble to beat this rate...long term bearish run until sept 2015 next yr. Accompanied by some small spike of volatility probably in april 2015

For now, if the price closed above 1217usd, a bit potential to the upside is still possible. Even if it did rally right now, max it will only go up to 1275 area.

Oh and btw. Im not an expert. Even my forecast follow back my economic forecast sifu mr martin armstrong forecast. U can see it on his daily blog.

This post has been edited by max_cavalera: Dec 2 2014, 09:23 PM
max_cavalera
post Dec 3 2014, 02:43 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 3 2014, 02:36 PM)
Beside jewelry, gold has hardly any industrial use. Believe over 80% gold mined is recycled mean quantity of gold available is increasing every year.
Keeping and storing gold is a liability and don't generate any income, beside long term gold price is unpredictable. Money could be better invested elsewhere.
Banks and the feds gonna do all they can to suppress the value of physical asset like gold or silver.

Dont know how long this money printing business backed by nothing tangible will last...
max_cavalera
post Dec 3 2014, 02:59 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(dc28yk @ Dec 3 2014, 11:26 AM)
A true gold bug understand the fundamentals of currency...

If they collect, they aren't looking at a 5-10 years time span.. They are really into selling it..

For them.. is a asset collect.. price go up.. buy lesser.. price go down.. but more only...

Yes.. some "gold bugs" buy with trend... but mostly.. they dont.. trust the older generation.. Work hard.. Be kind.. Collect Gold.. not currency.. coz they been through war and depression. They know what currency is... is paper...
The limitation to collecting it long term is its a static asset. U cant rent it out to people. U wont receive a dividend for keeping it with any financial institution as its not liquid like fiat currency and can be channeled for invesment and given dividend.

There are other assets class like property collecting rental or shares in a companies that is more dynamic and can give u passive return overtime.

However gold still remain the best instrument to hedge against any potential economic collapse
max_cavalera
post Dec 3 2014, 06:04 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 3 2014, 05:07 PM)
icemanfx.

That is precisely why Gold is viewed as the best form of money. Because it has no industrialusage.
Because it has very little usage.

The amount of available gold that are currently open is very limited actually.

Based on your theory, gold should be near zero if gold is just something which is aesthetic and has no real value. The fact that 1kg of gold right now could probably buy you a Honda says otherwise.
If gold was so unvaluable, why is that so. Why is it that people still put such a premium on something that just looks nice on the outside. But has no usage as all in other things.

Well, the amount of gold that can be mined is very limited. I believe market forces has priced that in.

So where do you think you want to invest your money in? Stock Market? Do you know the stock market has been tanking recently? So are you proposing that you put your money right now into "good" company and when a crash comes, can come anytime based on fundamentals not only of Malaysia but of the whole world in general, that you just tell yourself that hey I am after all "contributing" to the economy.

Oh put in bonds whereby governments around the world has been inflating like nobodies business.

Or in the over inflated property market that we have which will most likely crash together with the stock market.

You seem to have an understanding of booms and bust. But then your understanding of Gold and the history of Gold is very limited.
The fact that central banks around the world accumulates Gold shows that the top people still put a premium on Gold. If gold was so useless, why are central banks accumulating something which is useless? Are they stupid?

As an economics student, why dun you understand terms like gofo rates instead of just being under the cave?

I think you should maybe try to look at the world not based on just what your professor says.
I think he try to explain in terms of using gold or silver directly in the trading between community. Our current fiancial model is based on fiat paper printing money.

No doubt gold can be purchased either as paper asset or physical side. But its usage in world economy is rather limited towards perceive 'investment', 'hedge', 'store of value'. If we can somehow integrate gold/silver into daily trade between ppl..im sure the value can go much higjer. Right now the current fiat system used in our community is isolating this physical asset with such limited usage.
max_cavalera
post Dec 3 2014, 11:56 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Dec 3 2014, 10:25 PM)
Those who bought gold in the last few years are mostly under water. Given gold is on the downward trend, buying gold in the near future is likely to loss value for a number of years.
From the comments its obvious we are dealing with a hardcore goldbug, not investor that looks at all type of investment instrument comprehensively...
max_cavalera
post Dec 4 2014, 12:05 AM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(lyralp @ Dec 3 2014, 11:32 PM)
Those who "invested" in Gold and still holding it because they are expecting the price to recover would be suffering losses (maybe just paper loss for now) BUT professional Traders never suffer such losses, they would have shifted to the SHORT position and would be making money on the downside. They make money whether the market is Up or Down and usually breakeven, make small losses or small profits when the market moves sideways.
Yup. If our prediction gone wrong. Either cut lost or continue to hold until its up again...it can eventually go up but at how many years of holding power? By that time.opportunity cost loss already big...
max_cavalera
post Dec 4 2014, 12:42 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 4 2014, 12:15 PM)
I am pro gold.

How you know that I do not consider other investments.

The thing is. You do not know what you are talking about so your only defense is to attack others.

I doubt you made that much in your investments as well.
I would like for it to eventually go up too...but just not now.
Im willing to pick up gold as part of my portfolio next year if it dip below 1000usd...

So we r on the same page but just different time horizon bias.
max_cavalera
post Dec 5 2014, 03:35 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Dec 5 2014, 03:54 PM)
Just because the fed does not value gold, does not mean others dun.

You are obviously myopic. Just looking at 1 side of the coin.

Many central banks every where are starting to accumulate gold silently or openly.

Obviously it shows that gold is in demand right now.
blush.gif this thread used to be a free trade ideas and opinion on gold...

now it seems as if u are trying to corner the market and forces the majority to follow your instruction. rclxms.gif

The way u and the feds-giant bankers behave is the same...u shud join them icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0264sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:54 AM