314 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

cybermaster98
post Feb 17 2016, 09:07 AM

4,440 posts

Really hilarious reading all the 'pro Gold' comments this past week. All the so called 'experts' proudly proclaiming a gold is on a bull run and will hit 1,300, etc.

I guess some ppl just haven't learnt the logic behind gold. Many still don't know the difference between a HEDGE and an INVESTMENT.

Gold is a hedge not an investment vehicle. You only make money from gold when u sell it. Until then its just money sitting there being eaten away from inflation not earning anything as long as prices remain stagnant.

Investors flock to gold on short term basis e.g days to max a week. They make their money and off they go. But most of the ppl on this thread are in it for the longer term with the hope that gold will hit that miraculous 2,000-3,000 mark. And most of these ppl don't even know how gold fluctuates in the market. They just want and expect quick gains. I know cuz I was like them before. Luckily I 'made' a small gain from the sale of my gold but overall ive 'lost' a lot because if I had invested that money elsewhere I would have made much more.

Anyway fyi, gold is now at 1,200 and will drop more before the end of the week.

See if these articles make any sense to you.

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/02/16/goldman-sac...erreaction.html

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/why-gold-...aven-2016-02-16

XtraLeoGecko
post Feb 17 2016, 09:56 PM

902 posts

No confusion.....

http://www.dailypfennig.com/2016/02/14/real-reason-buy-gold/
jagjag
post Feb 18 2016, 09:25 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(sinbad2k @ Feb 16 2016, 03:58 PM)
if you're looking to make a quick short profit, just forget about gold. if you're buying for hedge against crisis, it's still fine. It's just that you could've got it a bit cheaper last year end.
No..didn't think of short profit ...or any profit..more as a savings...so should be fine..thks
XtraLeoGecko
post Feb 19 2016, 07:56 AM

902 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Feb 17 2016, 09:07 AM)
Really hilarious reading all the 'pro Gold' comments this past week. All the so called 'experts' proudly proclaiming a gold is on a bull run and will hit 1,300, etc.

I guess some ppl just haven't learnt the logic behind gold. Many still don't know the difference between a HEDGE and an INVESTMENT.

Gold is a hedge not an investment vehicle. You only make money from gold when u sell it. Until then its just money sitting there being eaten away from inflation not earning anything as long as prices remain stagnant.

Investors flock to gold on short term basis e.g days to max a week. They make their money and off they go. But most of the ppl on this thread are in it for the longer term with the hope that gold will hit that miraculous 2,000-3,000 mark. And most of these ppl don't even know how gold fluctuates in the market. They just want and expect quick gains. I know cuz I was like them before. Luckily I 'made' a small gain from the sale of my gold but overall ive 'lost' a lot because if I had invested that money elsewhere I would have made much more.

Anyway fyi, gold is now at 1,200 and will drop more before the end of the week.

See if these articles make any sense to you.

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/02/16/goldman-sac...erreaction.html

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/why-gold-...aven-2016-02-16
Time will tell which school of thought is right......

https://srsroccoreport.com/two-gold-charts-...-worried-about/
astrowoon
post Feb 19 2016, 12:53 PM

14 posts

[WTA]
CIMB gold investment account allows physical gold withdrawal but it will not buy back according to the daily price. So is there any other means to sell the physical gold once redeemed? TQ.

This post has been edited by astrowoon: Feb 19 2016, 12:53 PM
turion64
post Feb 19 2016, 04:44 PM

look at all my stars!!
1,332 posts

will gold go up or down after this weekend? hmm
sinbad2k
post Feb 19 2016, 05:58 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(XtraLeoGecko @ Feb 19 2016, 07:56 AM)
Time will tell which school of thought is right......

https://srsroccoreport.com/two-gold-charts-...-worried-about/
that fella are one of those herds going for quick gain, that's why. Their definition of 'investment' are % on papers and their worldview are closed around it. It's understandable.

QUOTE(astrowoon @ Feb 19 2016, 12:53 PM)
[WTA]
CIMB gold investment account allows physical gold withdrawal but it will not buy back according to the daily price. So is there any other means to sell the physical gold once redeemed?  TQ.
Goldsmith shops?But I reckon you'll get low-balled big time. Shouldn't have bought CIMB gold.....the extra charges to get the physical gold is ridiculous. And the physical gold isn't something like LBMA grade.

QUOTE(turion64 @ Feb 19 2016, 04:44 PM)
will gold go up or down after this weekend? hmm
Was anticipating a big drop to below 1K for a long time but it went up instead.
astrowoon
post Feb 19 2016, 06:42 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(sinbad2k @ Feb 19 2016, 05:58 PM)
Goldsmith shops?But I reckon you'll get low-balled big time. Shouldn't have bought CIMB gold.....the extra charges to get the physical gold is ridiculous. And the physical gold isn't something like LBMA grade.
Thanks for the info! Haven't redeemed actually. Read that paper gold market might collapse in the near future:
http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2016-02-17/c...y-be-close-hand

Wanna cash in since it is already in profit...Might settle in cash and buy Kijang Emas later.
XtraLeoGecko
post Feb 19 2016, 07:03 PM

902 posts

QUOTE(astrowoon @ Feb 19 2016, 06:42 PM)
Thanks for the info! Haven't redeemed actually. Read that paper gold market might collapse in the near future:

Wanna cash in since it is already in profit...Might settle in cash and buy Kijang Emas later.
Good for converting paper to physical. But why kijang mas compare to others?
astrowoon
post Feb 19 2016, 07:11 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(XtraLeoGecko @ Feb 19 2016, 07:03 PM)
Good for converting paper to physical.  But why kijang mas compare to others?
Because that is the only one I know locally. And the difference between 1 oz buy/sell price isn't too big, ~4+%.
Would you mind to share other options, thanks!
astrowoon
post Feb 20 2016, 08:53 AM

14 posts

I didn't request for a physical gold withdrawal. So not really sure what kind of gold bar will CIMB offer.
XtraLeoGecko
post Feb 20 2016, 09:39 AM

902 posts

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...ates-below-zero
XtraLeoGecko
post Feb 20 2016, 10:34 AM

902 posts

QUOTE(astrowoon @ Feb 19 2016, 07:11 PM)
Because that is the only one I know locally. And the difference between 1 oz buy/sell price isn't too big, ~4+%.
Would you mind to share other options, thanks!
I would buy international recognised brands like Pamp Suisse or Canada Maple Leaf or Perth Mint.... I might pay slight higher premium upfront but I would certainly get back the premium when I sell later. At least if I need to bring oversea one day, it will b widely accepted.
sinbad2k
post Feb 20 2016, 11:33 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(astrowoon @ Feb 19 2016, 06:42 PM)

Already in profit? Have you take into account for the charges of RM1 for every 1g?I reckon if you're already making profit, might as well cash out and close the account and use the funds to buy gold coin. It should save you more $$ to buy more physical gold bullion. That's what I did previously.

Kijang Emas is fine. It's a sovereign gold coin with 999.9 fineness. It probably also a good idea to consider other gold coin like Canadian Maple Leaf or Kangaroo Nugget as these are well known gold coins internationally. But it probably doesn't matter if you're not travelling out of the country.

QUOTE(angmoreasian @ Feb 20 2016, 12:53 AM)
May I ask what gold bar cimb give u???
Nope, I didn't request to withdraw physical gold from CIMB. I read somewhere that it's some other kind of gold bar. And you have to have minimum 100g of gold to withdraw a gold bar and in multiples of 100g. Also, RM1 is charged for every 1g of gold as withdrawal fee. So, if one want to withdraw physical gold bar, you're set to lose RM100/gold bar. Might as well cash out and close the account and use the funds to buy physical gold right?

This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Feb 20 2016, 11:46 AM
sinbad2k
post Feb 20 2016, 04:12 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(angmoreasian @ Feb 20 2016, 04:02 PM)
Hmmmmmm as long as its pamp and cheaper then outside I think its worth it...hmmmm
well, that u have to survey around first. I reckon it's not cheaper.
sinbad2k
post Feb 20 2016, 07:35 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(angmoreasian @ Feb 20 2016, 05:38 PM)
Hahha now too late liao I bought around 443 gram of physical gold all pamp gold bars plus some gold coins while it was much cheaper hopefully it will go back down real soon..I am hopping... I still want to collect more as some of my friends has 14kg of physical gold!!!! I ask them to sell me cheap cheap they don't want lol haih still have much much much physical gold to store b4 im satisfied... I dun think I will ever reach 14kg sad.gif
MY whole point is, you can close your CIMB GIA and take the $ to buy PAMP gold bars with it instead of buying from CIMB(if they do indeed give PAMP) since you're set to lose RM100/gold bar.

443g? Wow....that's a lot.. 14kg! That's like >RM1m worth of gold! You and your friends are loaded??
sinbad2k
post Feb 20 2016, 09:58 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(angmoreasian @ Feb 20 2016, 07:46 PM)
443 a lot?? Not really lah... sweat.gif its like punny compared to my friend 14kg friend...my friend is a gold smith his grandfather and father has been collecting physical gold since 1950 when u know lah gold is very cheappp!! Really jealous of him everytime he show me those gold bar ka na sai!!!!
that's y i ask are you and your friend loaded? Since 50's? I see. I thought all those 14kg belongs to your friend. Your friend is definitely loaded...
Tavia88
post Feb 21 2016, 12:02 PM

~More Stars Coming...~
1,087 posts

Hi Guys,

Any advise where is the best place and type of physical gold that i could purchase around Klang Valley / KL ? As if not mistaken those in Poh Kong is charged with design fees right so not worth for investment.

Im purely wish to keep some for small investment..

Any advise?

XtraLeoGecko
post Feb 21 2016, 09:12 PM

902 posts

QUOTE(Tavia88 @ Feb 21 2016, 12:02 PM)
Hi Guys,

Any advise where is the best place and type of physical gold that i could purchase around Klang Valley / KL ? As if not mistaken those in Poh Kong is charged with design fees right so not worth for investment.

Any advise?
I do hv Pamp Suisse multigram at good price..... selling better than below.

https://www.nubex.my/index.php/pamp-suisse-...-version-cond-a
sinbad2k
post Feb 21 2016, 09:16 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(angmoreasian @ Feb 20 2016, 10:24 PM)
My friends is definitely damn rich those gold kg gold bar are in the million shocking.gif... Me poor guy just that after my friend educate me on how gold can protect my weath when RM going down!! Many think gold is an investment when its not. Anyway thanks to him and his father advice me I got to the gold game...he told me to buy when the time was right i and advice me to only buy pamp gold bars... and now looking back it was a pretty good desicion...also he told me never never sell my gold unless I absolutely need to not even when gold reach 2000usd doh.gif I dun know lah...I see how lah if gold ever reach 2000usd lol I think that's how they reach 14kg since they never sell lol

Hmmmm now that I think of it I feel like steal my friends gold brows.gif

Anyway any of u guys plan to buy additional gold at the price of usd1226/ounce??? U guys think it will go up or down...personally I hope it goes down to 980usd so I can buy more tongue.gif
Ok fine, it's a relative comparison. I'm even poorer. It depends on who you're talking to when it comes to the word "investment". In general, to people in general, it's an investment. And as with other investments, you could either make gain or loss. To some other people, their definition of "investment" are something that earn % and because gold doesn't, they shun away from gold and despise them, jeer, sneer and ridicule those who owns them based on that. Lot's of people buy them as a hedge against currency depreciation but I got them as a hedge against crisis.
I'm waiting for it to go under 1K....

QUOTE(Tavia88 @ Feb 21 2016, 12:02 PM)
Hi Guys,

Any advise?
For "investment", never buy from gold jewellery shops. Try Ar-Rahnu?Or gold coins like Kijang Emas or Canadian Maple Leaf, Kangaroo nugget from UOB?

314 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0270sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:02 PM