Why Nowadays Less and Less People play ICE, Discuss
HeLLonEarTH
Dec 16 2014, 02:02 PM
There are alot of people playing ICE. Some people play ice but dont care to share or just play for their own syiokness. And another reason is buying power. Some type of people i've known goes for cap ayam types and they already song enuf. No matter how sad, how bad, how rubbish the setup is. Its still called ICE. As for some hardcore ICE, they keep lowprofile espcially some guys ive known owns better stuff than mine, they dont go for autoshow. Why? Snatch theif, robbers. They blend along with the people when its autoshow and target the car. They are scared of those. I got a few friends and including my lil bro kaki ICE but dont show off and dont really go to forums.
HeLLonEarTH
Dec 22 2014, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Dec 20 2014, 06:31 PM) not really..if u got the money and knowledge, u can solve it. provided u got enuff time to spend on it...maybe years... Am i thinking, as in custom axis on pillars? so that it reaches a certain target? custom axis on panels? i tried mine and got half way with it and quitted doing custom pannels and installed a DSP. saved me time but still, i prefer to see something custom. Time is what im not willing to sacrifice. i wanna see the whole interior
HeLLonEarTH
Mar 31 2015, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Mar 31 2015, 11:05 AM) bro Sifu's, i want to ask about something i have been wondering. I was wondering if the 80 PRS ( new one) can do 3 way system with a Sub? I realise the network has 3 output. high. Mid and low. There is also another Line out. Has anyone tried if all the output works at one go? or the Line out will not have a signal. Pioneer 80 PRS  I would also like to clarify another thing. Anyone has used a Full range speaker before ? ( replacing the mid and tweeter ) Vs an actual 3 way? what is the difference pro's and cons of each of these setup. I recently got to listen to a RS 3 full range speaker. It sounds really nice. i was wondering if i could have options like this? appreciate the input ...... iinm, the 80PRS u have to switch on the network crossover, should be located on the side or top of the HU chaisis. And the F,R and the other line out L,R will be.. F - Front High R - Front Mid high Output L/R: Front Low and the sub will maintain sub. Not sure on this as i never used this player. Im running my X9533U a.k.a X890 excelon. Regarding the full range speaker. I use to have a 3 way up front. if compared with the typical 2 way, i would have to say that 3 way has better soundstage, much clearer n bright detail. Used with positioning (time alignment) you could bring the vocals up to your dashboard as if the singer is singing in front of you at eye level sight (middle of your screen level). But when blast out loud, it suffers. Either the mids will sound fuzzy. Thats my personal experience. I dont have that much time playing 3 way upfront but i ever did used it before. Now im sticking to 2 way up front. Different people has different opinion. My best advice is to buy one and try.
HeLLonEarTH
Mar 31 2015, 01:57 PM
Some shops are closing down. Very2 old audio accessories shop. So, i went around scouting. This particullar shop had very2 old Sony ES mobile players like XR-C900's, old alpines cd players, old kenwoods, they even had the MB Quart cd decks. That taukeh said nowadays youngsters dont appreciate these kind of players. Now all they want is USB pioneer for below RM400 types. As long it produces sound, they are ok with it. These players were here since early 2000 untill now cant even sell. Checked out the prices on it, very2 old fading price RM3k+ RM2k+. At first i was skeptical about the price too for a very2 old player still retain its price tag. So i took my time to rumble into the old cabinet of all those old2 players. My eye's caught on the KDC-X9533U @ KDC-X890. The price tag on it was unbelievable. RM2.1K. That old man just smiled and said RM500 for you adik, simpan pun susah. Straight grab!. Without doubts. And as i was still browsing around his shop, he had this orion amps. Freakingly long red amps glowing at the bottom pile. I took it and blew off the dust, It was in mint preserve condition. So i asked him if there is the box for this. Kesian also that old fella had to climb up to get the box so i stopped him from climbing and let me climb up. To my surprise there was a old pioneer processor too. It was a DQE-9200 where pioneer used the orion sign. I took it down too with the orion amp box. The orion box had its age out. But the parts was all inside. We hooked it up, sadly it did not turned on. Ok, put that aside, we tried the DEQ-9200. It was alive! i had my fingers crossed at that moment. So we tried to play around with it... Sadly a few buttons on the controller are dead too. Kesian also that apek saw his stuff alot died. So, tested again his Kenwood player, luckily this player was still functioning. Even the screen angle adjust is working fine, played some old chinese cd songs, it works! Took it at a price i cant resist. So i searched again and again. Came across some amps which i was attracted to. RD. What the hell was RD? I pulled it out. Flip to see the connectors, that was when something caught my eye again, i saw a PG logo. Could this be Phoenix Gold? Flip it again to the other side. Yup. Its Phoenix Gold. Checked the bottom part, Made in the U.S.A. Yup its a phoenix gold for sure. Took it out and layed it on his desk. Asked for the price, he took the box and gave it to me. I saw the price on the box fading away RM1840 for the 4 channel and RM1620 for the 2 channel. He gave it to me for RM1.2k for both. So i grabbed both amps and we had a chit chat. He explained, years and years ago. ICE industry was very good. Very possible for people spending RM10-20k just for ICE alone. At that time, buying power was still good. Even the cheapest cap ayam korea cd player cost RM700+. But now, look around. Not everyone comes in and appreciate these stuff. All they want is boom boom shake shake as long can open doors n trunk can shake enough. And some more, when stuff sells at RM1k, they start to ask for best price even tho the price he give to them is dirt cheap. Most people cant afford it, or want something cheap which could shake the car even tho it sounds crap. They use to have a RF vehicle using entirely RF punch ix stuff, morrel vehicle. Even their last customer build a RM40k ice in a honda oddesy. But now, it all fade away.
So, i think the reason for less people playing ice is the fluctuation in our economy and buying power. And another is the young generation dont appreciate good stuff and rather go for cheap stuff.
Sorry for the TL;DR
HeLLonEarTH
Mar 31 2015, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(PedangGila @ Mar 31 2015, 06:20 PM) And I was like "FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAK bloody hell lucky bitchh" some pics i took. others have to scout in my fone.   This post has been edited by HeLLonEarTH: Mar 31 2015, 06:34 PM
HeLLonEarTH
Mar 31 2015, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Mar 31 2015, 07:18 PM) its in kuching
HeLLonEarTH
Mar 31 2015, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Mar 31 2015, 07:20 PM) Btw. Anyone care to elaborate on my questions? Thank you so much i thought i did?  checked back on the page before this QUOTE(PedangGila @ Mar 31 2015, 07:49 PM) Well, you knew your stuff la. I have no doubt that (if a gear is well engineered and manufactured, stays in operational condition then properly installed and tuned) it'll will sounds good. It's just I don't know much except what Ive read from the net and info from others. Very hard to find a good sq car too. Got good sq cars but are always low profile  they dont tend to pop out on autoshow. i havent hook my PG amps up yet. Still running my old JBL GTO6000 amp.
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 3 2015, 06:22 PM
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 3 2015, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 3 2015, 06:33 PM) why you keep making me jelly lol... i could use some new component sets as the current speakers/crossover worn out  No intention of making u jelly. BTW, i saw dad he had some MBQuart Formula, Helix blue52 MK ii, blaupunkt velocity components, memphis audio 15-PRS, Alpine SDrive SPS 610, Lanzar's, Lightning Audio speakers. The MBQuart he was willing to let go for RM330. I wanted to get that MBQuart but in the end pulled out that morel box. heh This post has been edited by HeLLonEarTH: Apr 3 2015, 06:57 PM
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 3 2015, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 3 2015, 09:51 PM) I can just imagine. Morel. Maximo with Phoenix gold 4 channel amp. For Morel. And 2 channel for sub. Whoa. If not nice I also bengang Heheh... nice enuf liao  i will ditch out the crossovers tomorrow to bi-amp the front system. Advertistment ah here ah? not sure about price leh. I try to get some prices and pics one of these days. help that old man abit.  who knows he let me have his sinfoni amp for free  i see u're selling that Helix C-DSP This post has been edited by HeLLonEarTH: Apr 3 2015, 10:41 PM
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 3 2015, 10:48 PM
got this too  Price? if i said RM150 will anyone believe?
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 6 2015, 08:14 PM
And again i go see that old man. Today, my main mission was looking for an active xover. I asked what does he have. Pyle, coustic, proton, profile. The pyle, coustic and proton were only 3 way crossover while that Profile was 4 way. Took it for Rm100. He offer me ah not i nego2. Here some pics.   nghee...  cant wait to install em
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 11 2015, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 11 2015, 07:09 PM) Bro. Apa macam with the install? No news? *anymore things from the uncle? bz do my a pillar. Need to kikis tomorow. Now later already. Cannot continue. 
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 12 2015, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 12 2015, 09:15 AM) Morel mix with what mids? mix with SG Acoustics 2.8" mids. Run semi active. Update. 1st layer of putty.  will post more later. bz This post has been edited by HeLLonEarTH: Apr 12 2015, 02:19 PM
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 12 2015, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 12 2015, 07:40 PM) Sorry noob question. Which part is active? I also planning to go 3 way. But not sure which mids to choose mid low will be active. the mid high and high will be passive.
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 12 2015, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 12 2015, 08:33 PM) Hmm. Thats what im planning to do as well. It does work tho. I just tried it just now to hear. Im not quite sure on how is the slopes on this. But from my headunit, the front channel (run passive) i set it at 220hz HPF. That should cut the frequency for the mid high. And usually passive xovers, tweeters are at 5khz. My Mid low, running from rear output, headunit i set at 64hz and i set from my amp at flat. Not sure if im doing it right By the way. Is anybody here interested in a passive 3 way? Its cheap for a brand new set. Brand Stealth (the ones that makes those distro blocks, fuses) for RM650? Beginers item i guess if want to try out 3 way. This post has been edited by HeLLonEarTH: Apr 12 2015, 08:59 PM
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 12 2015, 09:05 PM
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 14 2015, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(sonyman @ Apr 14 2015, 02:43 PM) I wanna ask. Sifu. Xtant 4.4 vs zapco 360.4 which is a better amp? Not sure about xtant 4.4 isint that 50WRMS x4 @ 4 ohms while zapco is 60WRMS x 4 @ 4 ohms? which ever suits your needs. if for me, i always look at the RMS @4ohms first, then bridged. And secondly the variable xover on it. choose whichever that suits you. Oh yea, finished my first ever DIY a pillar. Im going to try to do another one when i have more free time. Here are the pics. Sorry for my noob creativity. 
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 17 2015, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(ahboy2725 @ Apr 16 2015, 02:20 PM) welldone on ur diy a pillar, imho, why not raise ur speakers 3-5 inches higher, ur dash r blocking the mid range speaker, did u adjust ur tweeter and mid to get ur sweet spot? the right side, the angle of the photo makes it look as if its kena blocked. yea i did adjust it by putting strings directly aiming at my headrest (my sitting position) then i hot glue the template. Im doing summore. Since waja a-pillar only cost RM40 per pair.  who knows i can make another style. heheh
HeLLonEarTH
Apr 18 2015, 11:30 PM