QUOTE(piscesguy1314 @ Jan 6 2015, 04:35 PM)
Hi All,
I am not sure if any SIFUs here have mentioned this before.
This is regarding ASG (Amanah Saham Gemilang).
Sorry I am very new in this, so Im here to seek some of the sifus here...
Due to cannot get ASN (fix priced funds), I may consider to take up ASG.
Before I take up, I really need more understanding from u all here instead just listened to the bankers. (you know there might be some hidden charges which she/he didnt/forgot to mentioned)
The banker told me variable is based on NAV per units, and it is count by units not by how many RM you would like to invest. Plus there is 5% service charge once you enrol into the ASG.
For example :
ASG-Kesihatan (Price per unit on specific Day1 : RM1.122)
If I want to buy 10,000 units,
RM that I need to pay is : RM1.122 x 10,000 = RM11,220 x 1.05 (5% service charge) = RM11,781
So after 12-months (lets say dividen out is 7%)
I told the banker, if 7% dividen, if I withdraw after 12-months, which means 7% (dividen) minus 5% (service charge during I start my ASG) = I only get 2 % dividen for the 1st year...
The banker agreed and asked me to consider to invest for long term in order to get higher dividen...
So I am not sure how true it is, can any sifus here clarify?
Is there any hidden charge like Annual service charge per year?
I have few scenarios in mind to ask all sifus here.
SCENARIO 1
NAV (as of 1.1.2015) : RM1.1000
Sales Charge (Non EPF) : 5%
Bought units (as of 1.1.2015 NAV) : 10,000 units
Calculation :
Cash need to pay = 10,000 units x RM1.1 = RM11,000 + 5% = RM11,550
After 1 year investment,
Dividen = 7% per unit,
NAV (as of 1.1.2016) = still at RM1.1
Calculation :
Units = 10,000 x 7% = 10,700 units
Profits = 700 units x RM1.10 NAV (as of 1.1.2016) = RM770
Nett profit = RM770 - RM550 (paid for 5% sales charge paid during purchase) = RM220 only.
--------------------------------------------------------
SCENARIO 2
After 3 years investment, lets say 7% dividen for all 3 years, NAV = RM1.1
1st year = 10,000 x 7% = 10,700 units
2nd year = 10,700 x 7% = 11,449 units
3rd year = 11,449 x 7% = 12,250 unts
Calculation :
Units = 12,250 units
Profits = 2,250 units x RM1.10 NAV (as of 1.1.2018) = RM2,475.00
Nett profit = RM2,475 - RM550 (paid for 5% sales charge paid during purchase) = RM1,925.
My QUESTIONS :
1) ASG is only worth to be invest for long term in condition NAV price during withdrawal is higher than during purchase/same, am I correct? ~17% profit after 3 years based on above calculations.
2) Lets say, if NAV price bought RM1.10, after 3 years NAV price drop to RM0.50, if withdrawal done I will loss 50% of my capital, am I correct?
3) Is there any annual fees/charges during these 3 years of investment that affect my profits?
Sorry for the long post. I hope some sifus here can guide me as I am newbie.
And sorry too if some terms used above is not appropriate.
TQ!!

Here I come.
Firstly, I am glad to see that you seem like understand how its work basically.
Secondly, your calculation seem too messy for me.
Let me do an easy calculation for you.
NAV of the day you invest - 1.1800
Amount of MYR invested - 10000
Units in hand - 8474.58
Units paid - 524.97
Total units in hand - 8999.55
If you stay for 5 years
Y1 - 8999.55
Dividend - 6.8%
NAV - 1.1500
9531.69 MYR
Y2 - 9531.69
Dividend - 6.8%
NAV - 1.1580
10091.41 MYR
Y3 - 10091.41
Dividend 6.8%
NAV - 1.1600
10682.98 MYR
Y4 - 10682.99
Dividend 6.8%
NAV - 1.1700
11303.88 MYR
Y5 - 11303.88
NAV 1.18
Total cash in hand - 13338.58.
Y3 - 10816
Y4 - 11248.64
Y5 - 11698.58
In MYR.
Novagni Cat - MIXED ASSET MY
Fund rating - 2 stars
Peer ranking - 30/42
Unit in circulation - 311.15 Mil Units.
ASG - Kesihatan
Novagni Cat - EQUITY MY
Fund rating - 3 stars
Peer rating - 53/75
Unit in circulation - 409.32 Mil Units.
ASG - Persaraan
Novagni Cat - MIXXED ASSET MY
Fund rating - 3 stars
Peer rating - 21/42
Unit in circulation - 136.64 Mil Units.
** Collectively the three unit trust under the umbrella of ASG have cumulative maximum size of 1.0 billion unit.
*** Potential investor are those who understand investment risk and rewards and are seeking growth of capital over long term period and plan to fulfil the financial requirement for their education/medical expenses/retirement.