Headphones Headphones/ Earphones Recomendation Corner V10, ask options here
Jan 5 2020, 09:28 AM
5,261 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: J@Y B33 |
No highs, no lows, must be Bose!
Jan 5 2020, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 5 2020, 03:43 PM) Bose is too highs, in default some particular song is hurting my ear especially Celine Dion new album. I am not a treble guy, haha! Joking only, it's an old saying about Bose.Lows once adjust it sound brilliant. Actually Bose sound not bad, maybe last time it is just an expensive cosmetic brand but now they are not anymore. Else they won't get 2nd after Sony in ANC headset with great sound quality after Sony as well. Sony is still no. 1 and I may buy Sony WH-1000XM3 after CNY. Haha! I also considering Sennheiser MOMENTUM 3 Wireless but I need to test first as review is mix especially the comfortably. I can't find any shop for testing Sennheiser in JB, I know KL have but I don't see any Sennheiser shop in JB. I am not compare with those crazy price IEM or audiophile headset as those is cost few times than this, some even up to 10x than this. I am compare within RM 2K on the ear ANC wireless headset. I only go for wireless now, nor-matter how great a wired headset are, sorry i don't care. Haha! But the frequency that you decrease the most is the mids, not treble. Actually QC 35 II is already quiet flat frequency response, just a bit boosted on the lows. So maybe is you are more used to sound signature that's emphasis on lows and less on mids. Everyone preference is different. ANC shouldn't be the measurement for great sound quality. Not saying Bose sound is bad, just ANC is only ANC. It's not about the sound quality. Audiophile iem, headphone, not necessarily only those that cost tens of thousands. Around 3 or 4 thousands already can get top of the line such as HD800S or LCD 2. Even few hundreds can get very good sound quality headphone or iem. My view is since there's so many good headphone or iem at every price range, you can get good sound quality at almost any budget. But if only wireless then it is still limited choice. |
Jan 11 2020, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jan 11 2020, 11:30 AM) Hi guys need some recommendation for headphones under RM 250 for PC usage. Superlux HD668BOther info such as the following will also be helpful to get faster and more accurate responses: - Your rig (mp3 players, amps, sound card etc) - Mainly on PC - What type of usage (movies/ gaming/ music etc) - Gaming/Movies - File format used in your source (i.e. flac, mp3 etc) - Not into music - Genre of music you listen to (classical, jazz, metal, etc) - Not into music - Headphone/ earphone type (closed, open, circumaural, IEM etc) - over ear headphone - Other requirements (if any) (mic, volume control, 5.1ch, 7.1ch etc) - Optional Most important i think is comfort for long duration usage since mostly using for gaming/movies. Thank you Change the earpads to something more comfortable. |
Jan 11 2020, 02:45 PM
Jan 15 2020, 11:19 PM
Tin T2 and T2 Pro offer on Drop now for $35 & $45
Jan 15 2020, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 15 2020, 10:57 PM) Hi, ask you all, from Sony release schedule Buy HD 6XX and be done with it. Sony WH-1000XM2 release on June, 2017 Sony WH-1000XM3 release on Jan, 2018 People though WH-1000XM4 will release on Jan, 2020 but nothing is announcing by Sony on CES 2020. Now people hope Sony announced on MWC 2020 (on 24 - 27 Feb) - do you think possible? FCC is appear submit by Sony on 15 Dec, 2019 - https://fccid.io/AK8WH1000XM4 Is that means new version coming soon? But then rumors WH-1000XM4 will be using MediaTek, if yes it is downgrade as aptX and aptX HD will be gone because this two need Qualcomm chipset. if MediaTek, I think it is downgrade. But maybe not affect also, because after install Sony apps will use LDAC right? Hmmm......... help ... haha! wait or buy now? In between I already sold my Bose Quietcomfort 35 II. |
Jan 15 2020, 11:22 PM
Double
This post has been edited by xxboxx: Jan 15 2020, 11:23 PM |
Jan 16 2020, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 15 2020, 11:42 PM) That one is wired and out of my budget. This HD 6XX is cheaper than WH-1000XM3. Wired still better sound. Some more it is 300 Ω, later I need spend for amp and etc. It will cost more than triple than any wireless headset in market. I prefer wireless for big headset. Many use with phone or PC and still it can get loud enough. Portable amp also can get about RM300 Wired a bit inconvenient but to get better sound quality makes up for it. |
Jan 16 2020, 07:17 PM
Jan 25 2020, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jan 23 2020, 10:23 PM) Finally I bought the Sony WH-1000XM3. I am freaking satisfied now and no equalizer set is required at all. Congrats, and Gong Xi Fa Cai.Thanks to Harvey Norman, now promotion at price of RM 1,098.00 only. Harvey Normal Sony WH-1000XM3 Promotion Price ![]() Now no more no highs no lows This post has been edited by xxboxx: Jan 25 2020, 11:11 AM |
Feb 23 2020, 01:47 PM
Well, looks like you need to be careful when and where you turn on your bluetooth now if using Android 9 or lower, unless you already have latest Feb patch.
QUOTE The vulnerability is called CVE-2020-0022 and could allow an attacker to exploit Bluetooth to execute arbitrary code on devices running Android 8 (Oreo) or 9 (Pie). Devices with Android 10 are not affected. On Android 8.0 to 9.0, a remote attacker within proximity can silently execute arbitrary code with the privileges of the Bluetooth daemon as long as Bluetooth is enabled. No user interaction is required and only the Bluetooth MAC address of the target devices has to be known. For some devices, the Bluetooth MAC address can be deduced from the WiFi MAC address. This vulnerability can lead to theft of personal data and could potentially be used to spread malware (Short-Distance Worm). On Android 10, this vulnerability is not exploitable for technical reasons and only results in a crash of the Bluetooth daemon. Android versions even older than 8.0 might also be affected but we have not evaluated the impact. Users are strongly advised to install the latest available security patch from February 2020. If you have no patch available yet or your device is not supported anymore, you can try to mitigate the impact by some generic behavior rules: Only enable Bluetooth if strictly necessary. Keep in mind that most Bluetooth enabled headphones also support wired analog audio. Keep your device non-discoverable. Most are only discoverable if you enter the Bluetooth scanning menu. Nevertheless, some older phones might be discoverable permanently. https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...oth-for-a-while https://techsecurity.news/2020/02/bluefrag-...-cve-2020-0022/ |
Mar 18 2020, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(heyamazingpeople @ Mar 17 2020, 11:58 PM) Hi, Are you talking about earpads? Usually headphone earpads are replaceable. If you can show a picture of the issue will be better.This might not be the right place to ask.. But just trying my luck. I got a sennheiser HD4. 50 BT head phone. The ear cup outer plastic layer peeled off, also one of the plsdtic to plastic joint somehow give way and exposed the joint.. For just 2 years old+ headphone, don't think it is durable. Anyone tried to replace ear cup by ownself? Can only get the spare part from sennheiser shop? |
Mar 21 2020, 07:59 PM
Mar 22 2020, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(heyamazingpeople @ Mar 22 2020, 11:41 AM) Sorry, didn’t know that i have posted my question n somehow missed the notification that u replied. It's an oval type of ear pads. If you want to buy from other place, measure the size and look for oval ear pads with such measurements from most online platforms such as shopee/lazada/aliexpress.It is similar to below.. but worse .. Some joint break n exposed the sponge inside too ![]() QUOTE There are three methods to determine the diameter: Round Earpieces - measure the distance across the earpiece, from edge to edge Oval Earpieces - measure the height and width, then add those values, and then divide by 2 to get the average diameter Most Accurate Method - use a thin string (using dental floss, shoe string or thin paper) and measure around the earpiece outer edge to get the circumference. Using the circumference, divide by 3.14 (pi) to determine the diameter. You can even experiments to have it sound difference with leather or velvet ear pads. Or with perforated ear pads. For comfort get those with memory foam. Original is slightly angled pads? Also got sell for such pads. To remove current ear pads, just pull the ear pads near the body of headphone. It is same like most headphone. there's a small groove/opening for you to insert the ear pads back flap. You see this video you can easily understand what I say. For replacing the plastic part I think only Sennheiser have it, or can try your luck find at aliexpress This post has been edited by xxboxx: Mar 22 2020, 01:51 PM |
Mar 24 2020, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(snowberry @ Mar 24 2020, 01:01 PM) Eyeing on M40X currently. It's a fantastic headphone for that price range. Only drawback is the ear pads too thin. You should change it's ear pads to angled thick ear pads, a lot such ear pads that looks like Brainwavz pads selling in lazada/shopee/aliexpress. Myself is using ATH-MSR7 sheep skin ear pads as it is much softer than faux leather.Purpose of headset: gaming+music+movie Budget RM300-400 is there any alternative i should be looking in to as well? Another choice for such price is Philips SHP9500. It have lesser bass than M40X but have more sharper and louder highs. SHP9500 have better soundstage since it is open back. The sound is more wide and natural, also good for gaming. Drawback for open back of course if your surrounding is noisy then it doesn't block those noise. Also people can hear if you watching prawn. |
Mar 24 2020, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(snowberry @ Mar 24 2020, 03:49 PM) I see, thanks for the input bro appreciate it. Ya brainwavz hm5 ori is pricey. You can find similar ear pads at lazada/shopee for much cheaper price. Been some time I purchase the ear pads so don't have any recommendation. lazada/shopee less choices for ear pads. This is similar to hm5 https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32845427081.htmlAny specific earpads on lazada/shopee u recommending? I saw the brainwavz HM5 ones are quite pricey. M50X ear pads same size with M40X. MSR7 tight fit but still can be used. This is cheaper https://www.aliexpress.com/item/33015115527.html This post has been edited by xxboxx: Mar 24 2020, 04:13 PM |
Apr 5 2020, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(ericling @ Apr 4 2020, 06:10 PM) Hi guys, RM400 got plenty of choices for IEM. You can check out Tin HiFi, Blon BL-03, KZ, to name a few.looking for WIRED earbuds/IEM (not sure what's the differences). Need wired I want to use on devices without bluetooth (eg: Nintendo Switch, my desktop PC). Budget is <RM400. Was initially considering Galaxy Buds + but I need it to be wired as mentioned above.. Any sifu advise please? |
Apr 6 2020, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(ericling @ Apr 6 2020, 03:48 PM) Searched Blon BL-03 on Shopee and this is selling RM123. That's surprisingly cheap for such solid looking IEM! Just double checking, RM123 is a normal price (not too good to be true price right)? Yes, those I named are China brand, good quality good audio but not pricey.Are you personally using this earphones? Any reviews? https://shopee.com.my/BLON-BL-03-10mm-Carbo...3131.5402225491 I didn't use it, but heard many praise for it's sound. Personally using Tin T2 and KZ ZSN PRO. I like T2 as it have very neutral sound, ZSN PRO are more V shaped sound, good if you want more bass. KZ ZS10 PRO also receive a lot of praise. I think important thing is what kind of music you like to listen? More bass? EDM, Rock, Pop, Jazz? Then get the IEM that have strength on such genre. |
Apr 7 2020, 09:48 AM
Apr 7 2020, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(refacedier @ Apr 6 2020, 09:12 PM) ![]() Received mine today impression: Coming from the SHP9500 the HD6XX is pretty dark, but not as dark as the Koss kph30i I got. I like the warm but detailed sounds of the headphones. Sound stage not as wide compared to the shps. Bass is very well balanced (well for my taste). More time is needed for me to fully get used to and appreciate the sound. Also I've heard from reddit that tube amp is needed to get the most out of the headphone? Sounds pretty good with DAC-X6 and lgv30 I have ... but I'm afraid I'm missing out. Any advice? guys. Best https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/in...fiio-e10k.2097/ That DAC doesn't look like to have good result. Also roll off from 5khz, you hear less treble ![]() This guy review with his 6XX also not positive. He feel mids and high is less than his laptop onboard, it's probably because of the roll off from 5khz https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/in...-18#post-124862 |
| Change to: | 0.0302sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:58 AM |