The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V1, Bigger than bigger

MollyIsler
post Sep 10 2014, 12:01 PM

147 posts

Machines has posted a price update of the iPhone 5S.

16GB - RM1,999
32GB - RM2,199
64GB - RM2,549

------------------
So, how much can I resell my 5S 32gb then? Bought it October 2013, almost a year old. Gotta prepare for iPhone 6 lol!
MollyIsler
post Sep 10 2014, 03:22 PM

147 posts

Coming from Android, this is why I'm staying with the iPhone:

- Fluidity of user interface. Plain and simple. I don't need no customizable widgets that slow down my phone.

- The lag on android phones is really a dealbreaker for me. The struggle is real lol. That extra second to open an app really makes a big difference to me.

- Camera. "The higher the megapixel, the better it is" is a MYTH. I don't need my phone camera to be 21mp, but the sensor is low. You guys should have taken notice at most Samsung phones with higher megapixels, but the quality is just so-so. The 5s' camera is already doing a great job for me for casual photo taking. I don't need to print my pictures in large scale canvas/paper, it's just for social media. If I'm going to need a better camera, then I have my Canon for that.

- Wider selection in the appstore. This is the main reason why I actually switched to iOS. I found myself wanting to download an app but it's not available in the Google Play Store.

- Overall simplicity. I'm not a tech geek, I don't particularly see the need to root/jailbreak my phone. As long as it does the job (call/sms, internet) then I'm fine with it.

What I just don't like with the iPhone is that it always doesn't live up to my battery expectations. Other than that, I'm all good.

So let's enjoy this phone and let's not start fanwars. smile.gif It really is up to personal preference. No need for judgment. Cheers!
MollyIsler
post Sep 10 2014, 03:46 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Secruoser @ Sep 10 2014, 03:42 PM)
Nobody is starting fanwars lol... I'm an iphone user myself and I'm in a bit of dilemma of continuing with iphone since I've never used android, but hearing from you, I feel much convinced now. Thanks!
Well not you, a few pages back. I just don't see the point of these arguments, I mean to each his own right? Cheers! smile.gif

MollyIsler
post Sep 10 2014, 05:58 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Sep 10 2014, 05:54 PM)
Good point. Damn! Means need thicker casing. Means heavier!
It's not like the lens is protruding an inch. Maybe kinda like the iPhone 4/4s? A normal case would do.
MollyIsler
post Sep 10 2014, 06:22 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Sep 10 2014, 06:15 PM)
i guess u dun know how hard it is to scratch a sapphire. it is 2nd hardest material only to diamond.
Thank you for pointing this out. A lot of people are obsessing over things they know nothing about, or petty things. A lot of nitpicking here.
MollyIsler
post Sep 13 2014, 05:30 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Sep 13 2014, 12:12 PM)
So now I also duno whether should I grab the iPhone 6 from US... So scared it's locked then no point spending so much.. hiaz.. any expert can really answer whether the t-mobile contract free iPhone is locked or unlocked? Really really need this help very much........
I bought my 5s in the US last year, in the apple store. I just walked in asking for a T-Mobile and asked to pay in full-price. Those are the keywords - T-Mobile, full price, device only. Some of them will try to convince you otherwise, but it really is UNLOCKED. First hand experience here. There's a looooong discussion about this in macforums, you might want to check it out.

Went home, plugged in my iPhone and voila, there's a popup in iTunes saying it is unlocked.

Edit: Just to add, I'm still using this phone bought from the US, so safe to say it works in Malaysia, correct band. Got LTE coverage as well.

This post has been edited by MollyIsler: Sep 13 2014, 05:34 PM
MollyIsler
post Sep 13 2014, 06:47 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 13 2014, 06:30 PM)
As far as I know, all Sprint models are locked–even when bought device-only at full price. At best, it's only unlocked for international GSM. You'd still be stuck on Sprint in the US.
Thanks for your input. Some people are really hard to convince it's unlocked.
I think it works if you also choose AT&T too but I might be wrong. Don't quote me on this. The general consensus and the safest bet is "T-mobile, device only, fullprice".

The Apple saleslady I was talking to was giving me the eye, with a smirk and let out "You did your research". I mean who am I kidding, they know I'm not a US Citizen and they perfectly know I'm bringing it overseas lol. So yeah, it's a rather backhanded approach to buying an unlocked iPhone in the Apple Stores in the US. They are completely aware about it but they will advertise as otherwise and will keep on saying it's locked.

Let's move on people.
MollyIsler
post Sep 13 2014, 09:37 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(lazybump_nonsense @ Sep 13 2014, 07:41 PM)
looks like it works fine for you until now, no claiming warranty right? Wonder will apple re-seller here accept it or not... will they close 1 eye and let the warranty go thru? XD
Until now? My phone is still A-OK and working perfectly, don't need no warranty. Tbh I don't understand your question.
MollyIsler
post Sep 16 2014, 04:18 PM

147 posts

FYI though, for iPhones from Japan/Korea. The camera shutter sound cannot be turned off. It's a government thing I think to prevent perverts from shooting everything lol. If you can live with the camera shutter sound, then Japan's the cheapest bet you got.
MollyIsler
post Sep 16 2014, 06:34 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 16 2014, 06:15 PM)
that's all in the software, If I'm not mistaken. just don't select Japan as your region when you set it up.
It's actually hardcoded in the phone's firmware, so I'm guessing there really is no fix to it either than jailbreaking.
MollyIsler
post Sep 16 2014, 09:03 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 16 2014, 08:13 PM)
how do you know? can you give source? because the model sold in japan should have the same hardware and therefore firmware. i would think it's like the European Union volume limit–just don't select a European country as your region and no more volume limit.

P.S. Those who want to join shipping must PM me, I'll not entertain otherwise.
I'm not an expert, so I can't really answer you on the technicality. But all of my Japanese and Korean colleagues have the same dilemma. A few searches on google would yield the same reports, that it's a government-mandated thing.

http://www.wired.com/2008/07/pervert-alert-j/
http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+109445
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/5199589

Of course some of the above are forums, may or may not be correct. To quote one:

"The shutter sound is mandatory in phones sold in Japan, because SOME Japanese men have a fetish of taking secret pictures of women, especially their underpants. This has led to a booming app industry to silence the sound. Those apps are a little dodgy in legal sense though. The shutter silencing may not be available even if you take the phone to another country and change the carrier, because it is hard coded into the phone firmware. "

So if this has been going on since 2008 and yet it still cannot be turned off via silencing the phone other than jailbreaking/apps, then it must be hardcoded. I'm pretty sure the Japanese/Koreans may have tried your solution (not to select Japan as country during setup) but it still persists, safe to say it doesn't work.
MollyIsler
post Sep 17 2014, 12:01 PM

147 posts

So ironic that iPhones are manufactured in China, but they can't get it until next year. LOL.
MollyIsler
post Sep 24 2014, 05:41 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Sep 24 2014, 05:28 PM)
tough choice, to choose between the note 4 and iphone 6+...totally opposite and different ecosystem..

the note 4 has many multitasking features and the pen is quite helpful...

anyone can give me some pointers to choose the 6+ over the note 4...as of now, i cant think of any major pointers to choose 6+

the note 4 has better front camera, higher resolution rear camera, better display, expandable storage, the spen, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY ANDROID L COMING SOON..

do advice guys because i really cant decide between these two..and please no trolling..go kopitiam to troll tongue.gif
It's quite funny actually, when people tend to go for the phone that has the HIGHER megapixel. I mean in all seriousness, even the iPhone 5s 8mp camera is soooooooo much better than the Note 3. Like miles apart. What matters is the sensor size people! My brother's Note 3 takes really crappy pictures when compared to my 5s.

Also with the processor. Who would've thought that the iPhone's A7 and A8 processor would have outlasted all of Samsung's quad core processor. Coming from an android phone for almost 3 years, I wouldn't go back with all the lags.

The thing is, it's all numbers. Android tend to bloat up these numbers because the higher number, the better. Well guess, what, not really. biggrin.gif
MollyIsler
post Sep 24 2014, 05:46 PM

147 posts

People are obsessing about the SPECS. But they really are useless. The specs are just on paper, sometimes it don't even deliver to the expectation. The real test is the BENCHMARK TEST. Side-by-side photo comparisons. Browser speed comparisons. And now we're talking. It will show how the 8mp camera beats the 16mp camera.

This post has been edited by MollyIsler: Sep 24 2014, 05:51 PM
MollyIsler
post Sep 24 2014, 08:25 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 24 2014, 06:50 PM)
True Blue Hardcore IFag.  thumbup.gif
None taken hahaha I was about to say the same upon reading my post! Spoken like a true apple fangirl lol! icon_idea.gif
MollyIsler
post Sep 26 2014, 12:12 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 26 2014, 11:59 AM)
I'm getting kinda suspicious of forumers commenting on the "good" price for the iscalper units. Cute.
LOL it's not just me, I see. I'm getting the same vibe.

Anyway, it's not gonna be long, we're going to have it sooner than 5s (wishful thinking).
MollyIsler
post Sep 26 2014, 05:54 PM

147 posts

Here is the first of the many benchmark tests! Apple iPhone 6 vs. Samsung Galaxy S5 Photo Shootout: Why Megapixels Mean Nothing

http://blogs.wsj.com/personal-technology/2...s-mean-nothing/

This post has been edited by MollyIsler: Sep 26 2014, 06:04 PM
MollyIsler
post Sep 27 2014, 11:57 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Sep 27 2014, 11:44 AM)
so unbox therapy proved himself! Haha! Your move , apple.
That's right. And Unbox Therapy is cashing in $$$ with the total views. Smart guy lol, well he proved himself.

What I'm wondering is that judging from his bending videos, it takes a considerable amount of effort to pin-point pressure and bend it. Just how exactly are these people sitting to be able to bend the phone lol.

I'm wondering if there are tests right now being done at normal use the phone is just in the pocket with different sitting positions at extended number of hours. It's really crazy to think that the phone can just bend like that whilst in your pocket. And it's scary.
MollyIsler
post Sep 27 2014, 12:47 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Sep 27 2014, 12:33 PM)
I believe u put same force to iPhone 5 it will bend also. just that iPhone 6/6+ is much thinner now. and our ass/ thighs spread the force more than those fingers.

this is just out:

http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/20...dgate/index.htm
Yeah, if I'm not mistaken there are also bend videos for the 5 and 5s last year, it may not be an old issue. I'm just wishing Apple really thought about the balance between the aesthetic/design and durability. Anyway, moving on.

With all these bendgate videos, it surely is a PR nightmare for Apple. But then again, all eyes are on Apple. Everyone's tuning in from the announcement, waiting for the release, then try all these "tests" and if they find any faults, it's a whole lot of circus and android fantards are rejoicing. I don't see many people causing all the hullabaloo when the latest from any android phone is announced, heck there are only a few tests being done. Because well, nobody really cares that much about them lol.
MollyIsler
post Sep 27 2014, 01:03 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Sep 27 2014, 12:54 PM)
If I was the Apple CEO, I would rather make it thicker to cover the protruding camera and pack it with bigger battery. laugh.gif
This is true, totally agree. I'd rather have a thicker iPhone with a larger battery capacity to get me through the day!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Totally unrelated, why are so many people saying that "if Steve Jobs is still alive dadada he wouldn't let this happen, hail the Apple god genius, now Apple just sucks without Steve, no innovations, not thinking etc. " omg move on people. He's dead (no disrespect). It has still been a very good run for Apple after Steve Jobs, they're still cashing all you $$$, I'm perfectly still at awe with iOS (not the 8.0.1 lol) and my hardware, so all of your Steve Jobs arguments are invalid. Lol what kind of innovation do they like, a flying phone?

DONE WITH MY WHINING. CARRY ON. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

0.0249sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:58 AM